Titleist 910 D2 & D3 Drivers

by   |   May 22, 2012
22a87b007b095e8ea89b375de28a5709
Titleist 910 D2 & D3 Drivers GolfWRX
Performance
Looks
Feel/Quality

5


 

It’s no secret that Titleist have something to prove with the new 910 drivers.

A few years ago you would have been hard pressed to find any lower handicapper or pro playing something other than a 905 but the woeful performance of the 907 and increasingly impressive offerings from the likes of TaylorMade and Callaway saw them slip from the pinnacle of driver manufacturers. The 909 was far better received than the 907 but never seemed to have the attraction of the 905 – a fact borne out by how many Tour players stayed with the older drivers.

The 910 aims to change all this. With ground-breaking adjustability, the 910 aims to reclaim the dominance of the 905 days show players that Titleist can still make awesome drivers. To introduce this level of adjustability, Titleist tell us that these clubs are made to more than twice the normal level of manufacturing tolerance to be the best drivers that they have ever made.

Appearance

The aberration of the 907 D1 aside, Titleist have never really made an ugly driver. The 910 D2/D3 are no exceptions. With the all black PVD finish and classic pear shaped lines, both the 910 D2 and D3 heads look great from any angle. The D2 is the larger at 460cc while the D3 is only 445cc but unless you have them next to each other they are almost identical in appearance. While how the shaft is attached to the head is normally a technical issue but because of how some systems work they can have cosmetic impact.

D2

The 910′s system locks the shaft via a screw on the bottom of the head. This means that the hosel avoids the spiked collar look that dogs neck locking systems and looks very similar to a normal hosel, so of course it looks great at address. The alignment marking on the top of the crown might not be to everyone’s liking but that is a tiny quibble and all in all, these clubs are gorgeous.

Performance

A lot has been made about Titleist’s introduction of the SureFit dual angle hosel. Some have said that Titleist was the last manufacturer they expected to go down this route. Others have said that the other similar hosel technologies from Nike, TaylorMade and Callaway have been great but not perfect. The main issue with the other technologies has been that as you open or close the face, the loft changes along with the face angle. Ideally of course, you would want to change the loft without changing the face angle and vice versa. Enter Titleist’s SureFit system.

Unlike other hosel technologies, the SureFit system has two mechanisms for changing how the shaft sits in the head, the sleeve at the end of the hosel and a separate ring that sits between the sleeve and the head. The result is that you can finally change the lie (and so the face angle) and the loft independently for 16 different combinations. This means that not only can you get Tour van like fitting but you now have the freedom to change the loft angle without enforcing a draw or a fade. If the ground is wet, you might want more carry so you can add 1.5 degrees more loft. If the wind is up, you might want a lower more boring flight and remove 0.75 degrees loft. So your 9.5 degree can become an 11 degree or an 8.75 degree driver depending on the conditions. The changes can also vary the spin levels by almost 1000 rpm. The now ever present torque wrench allows you to quickly change these setting and what ever you are looking for, you can make the change without having the alter the face angle.

What this is not is a system aiming to cure a crippling hook or slice. Titleist stress that the SureFit system is aimed at launch optimisation rather than massive right to left flight adjustment and it is noticeable that the amount of left to right adjustment is a fair bit less than with other similar systems. This is more of a 10 yard adjustment rather than a 50+ yard adjustment. The height adjustment is the full deal though. Any chances you make result in obvious changes in ball flight. This does not mean that you can take any loft head and change it to the one you want as changing the loft also increases the spin rate as we mentioned above so make sure that you get fit.

fitting matrix

It’s fairly apparent that the larger D2 has more forgiveness and is easier to hit straight and with a higher natural ballflight. The D3 is more workable but still very forgiving with a mid-high trajectory. Both versions seem to have a higher ball-flight that the 909 versions with pretty much the same levels of spin. Because of the ability to change the face angle, launch and spin angles can be varied so these comparisons are only fair against the standard set-ups.

Both have chemically milled crowns which are 17% thinner than the 909 which allow for more mass to be relocated where it can most help the golfer. The back lower portion of both clubs have been redesigned and a rear bezel weight placed to lower the COG as much as possible. The rear weight is also directly behind the centre of the club face so you get the most out of a pure contact and is adjustable with options 2g, 5g, 7g, 9g, 12g. weights allowing precise swingweight and feel preference.

So what does that mean when you actually hit the ball? Simply awesome, awesome performance. There is a lethal combination of forgiveness and workability and as for distance, the ball explodes off the clubhead. Titleist have improved the face over the 909 with an enhanced version of their Variable Face Technology to give higher ball speeds across a larger area. The D2 has a 15% larger maximum ball speed area and the D3 has a 10% larger area than the previous 909 versions. And you get to choose from 80 shafts including many of the best of the premium brands. The stock “made for Titleist” shafts have been improved over the previous versions and while they may not be the full versions they are not bad at all. Stock shafts include the Titleist Diamana ‘ahina 72, Titleist Diamana Kai’li 65, Titleist Diamana ‘ilima 61, Aldila RIP 60 and Project X Tour Issue Graphite.

Conclusion

It’s a hotly contested claim but the 910 D2 and D3 are going to be vying for the title of best drivers on the market. Titleist have shown that they are able to remain true to their better player roots while offering something more to the average player. Validation from Tour players has been exceptional too; Ross Fisher, Rory McIlroy, Adam Scott and Geoff Ogilvy have all put the 910 in play and almost as tellingly, a host of die-hard 905 fans who previously stayed away from the 907 and 909 have put the a 910 in the bag.

Game changing in the same way the first adjustable hosel systems were, Titleist have also shown that they know how to introduce technology that makes a difference and we expect these to fly off the shelves.

For more information, visit http://www.titleist.com or http://www.titleist.co.uk

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


39 Comments

  1. Dave

    April 10, 2013 at 12:21 am

    I have the 910 D2 it is a great driver stock shaft is better than most. I had been playing the R11 and never seemed to get the confidence with it. Now with the 910 I am hitting a nice reliable fade, and the draw when called for. Love this driver.

  2. Jeffery

    March 4, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Very good, I always love using Titleist gear. The 910 drivers are great. I don’t see myself switching anytime soon.

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Golf Drivers | Best Golf Drivers, Callaway X Hot Reviews, Callaway X Hot Driver, Callaway X Hot Irons, R11S Fairway Wood Reviews

  4. Red Dog

    January 3, 2013 at 6:39 am

    I have the D2 in 9.5 cranked down to 8.75 .Project X 6.0 shaft.I find it long, accurate and easy to hit.Ive found I hit ALOT more fairways .I also have the 910 F in a 15 , ( P X 6.0)thats gorgeous as well.Small little head and its really easy to get great fairway shots.I like the confidence both these Metals give me.I have them both turned down in loft as low as they can go as they can go a bit high .

  5. Harry

    December 20, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Tried the D2 demo at my club and liked it very much.I bought one 2 weeks ago and have it in the C3 setting.Hitting straighter drives and finding more fairways.Changed the grip for my own preference and would advise anyone changing drivers to give the D2 a look.Hope to get my handicap down lower than 8 next year.

  6. swingking

    December 4, 2012 at 10:06 pm

    Love it! Sweet spot like no other! I’m getting all my kids one for Christmas!

  7. john

    September 23, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Titleist keeps pretty tight control over its procut prices i would say you probably wont see much of a price drop. i doubt you will at all but i could be wrong at at most it will be maybe a 50 dollar drop and they will just let them cycle out of suplply. titleist trys not to flood the market

  8. Big O Rick

    August 16, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I wonder if the price drop you saw is in response to the new 913 that is coming soon? If so I may just check this out and see if it can replace my TM Classic. I am finding it has some guidance issues.

  9. Big O Rick

    August 16, 2012 at 11:30 am

    I wonder if the price drop you saw is in response to the new 913 that is coming soon? If so I may just check this out and see if it my TM Classic. I am finding it has some guidance issues.

  10. Yo Yo

    August 15, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    By the way, I saw some brand new D2s and D3s for $249 at golf shop today. It was bit of disappointment since I paid nearly $400 for my 910 D2.

  11. Yo Yo

    August 15, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    I tested both the D3 and the D2. I found D2 has more feel at a impact. It has sweeter sound and feel. My swing speed for driver is 105 mph.
    My average drive with D2 is about 270 to 290 yards with run. However, I do like the look of the D3 better at address. It is a good match with Diamanna Ahina 72g stock shaft. I keep my setting all standard for better feel at a impact.
    Is it me that feels funny when the setting is changed other setting it loses the good feel?

  12. SuperTiger

    August 12, 2012 at 12:12 am

    The 910 d2 is the best driver in the world , matched with the RIPshaft i have since picked.up a hot girlfriend , won a few scratch and win tickets , i drive 270+ everytime , (hex black) 300+(prov1x) . Because of this club i have been on one luckyroll:-P . My car gets better gas mileage now and i lost 25lbs too

  13. Hoss

    July 12, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Just got the 910 D2. and my favourite shot to hit is a little fade, however, with the 910 D2 i feel my fade is going higher and fading way more. any thoughts?

  14. Dufner

    July 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    biggest waste of my hard earned cash ever. short and crooked..what a combo!

  15. Trevor

    July 10, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Got fitted to the D3 with the rip and it just didn’t work. Switched to the D2 with the gd tour AD DI and I’m just killing it! Couldn’t be happier and never had a driver feel so good!

  16. Eric

    June 25, 2012 at 2:18 am

    I have the d3 with RIP shaft and love this driver. I have been bombing it ever since I got it.

  17. Patrick

    June 12, 2012 at 6:16 am

    I was a Cobra guy… then I got custom fitted for a D2 and a 910F. With my Cobra Z driver I was LUCKY to get 220yds off the tee. The D2 I’m hitting 240 to 260. Love the 910F too – easier to hit then the Cobra Baffler. I have since replaced my 5 and 4 irons with a 24 and 21 degree 910H and couldn’t be happier… so much easier to hit than the irons.
    One thing I like and respect Titleist for is they do not flood the market every 2-3 months with the “latest and greatest” club that’s going to fix your swing like the other manufactures.

  18. unkaj

    June 7, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    Need guidance from players, not just salesmen. just returned to playing after a break for a few years. I ordered a set if Mizuno 800 irons, and now I’m trying out drivers and 3 woods. i’m not geting the yardage that i used to get with my old taylor made steel driver with X100′s. I was averaging about 265 yds. But at the range i am only hitting about 250 with several drivers and stock stiff shafts.
    Can anyone help a guy who is overwhelmed by all the new tech stuf?

    thanks!

  19. Elliot

    May 17, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I just ordered the 910D3 and a GD DI6. I tend to hit the ball mid/high and with little/no roll. This combo will hopefully keep my launch low, improve roll, and maximize distance. The feel, in my opinion, is unmatched by any club on the market. Very responsive head allowing for shot making ability. Changing the loft/lie is also a great tool to have!

  20. Mark Christie

    May 7, 2012 at 8:32 am

    Went to Pete’s Golf in Mineola, NY to get fitted for my new driver. While I would have went with the larger head D2, Pete convinced me the D3 was the way to go with an Ahina’ 83 gram shaft. WOW! Went from a 909D2 with a ballooning tee shot going 250-260 to 285-290 with the 910. Just an amazing driver!

  21. Steve Valtas

    May 4, 2012 at 8:59 am

    Had my first nine holes with the 910 D2 Driver, it is in a word AWESOME !!! Did not miss a fairway. Usually
    fade/slice and rarely hit drivers consistently straight. This club is easy to use, superbly balanced, with high trajectory. Am curious to see what will happen when I change the loft. Am so happy with this, definitely the best driver I have ever owned.

  22. Hause

    May 3, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Just ordered a 910 D3 with a 73g whiteboard cut down to 45″. Can’t wait to hit it and from the comments my anticipation seems well predicated.

  23. Wayland

    March 4, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Owned the 975D, 983, 907D2, and now a 909, all used 3rd generation clubs in the $150 range. Every club was a step-up until the 909. The dry click sound and the fact that my 907 and my 6 year old clone 3-wood out drive it are disappointing.

  24. Chris

    February 26, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I had a Taylor Made R11 and I loved it until I hit the 910 D2. It gives me a lower ball flight and 10 more yards. I love the feel and good looks. I look forward to a great year of finding fairways.

  25. Jarrod

    February 21, 2012 at 8:47 am

    I matched the 910D3 with the Ahina shaft and I get a nice low boring trajectory.

  26. Sharan

    February 21, 2012 at 7:02 am

    I had a Taylormade burner draw driver earlier on and did not enjoy it as much as my new 910 D2.It has given me a lot of confidence on the drives and am surely getting lot more distance.The feel of the driver is just awesome!!

  27. Pete S

    February 5, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Dylan, you may want to check out the D2; it’s got a 460cc head while the D3′s is 445cc.

  28. Dylan Watts

    February 4, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Does anyone know why Titleist went away from 460 cc heads? I love their new drivers but the 905r was one of the best drivers that I have had.

  29. Luke

    February 3, 2012 at 2:20 am

    When I first got it with the stock shaft i felt it lacked, even after fidling with the adjustments, giving me the penetrating ball flight I was looking for. I since reshafted with the Graphite Design AD DJ 6 and it is now the best driver I have ever owned and like most of us when it comes to owning drivers and looking for that elusive 15+ yards, well…you know…I have enough metal, graphite and titanium in my basement to build a plane.

  30. kirk roberts

    January 31, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    just bought the 910 d2. i am going crazy trying to get out of the office to try it. hope it is everything it is hyped up to be.

  31. Mike Dennehy

    January 30, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Suprisingly does not jump off the face.Instead it travels higher and farther than any driver I have EVER used.

    Really, really solid.

  32. Kasey Yardley

    January 28, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I love my D2. I had an R11 for a while and just didn’t like the look or feel of the club. I repented, and switched back over to the Titleist and I’m now feeling much more comfortable over the ball, and hitting it great.

  33. Mark

    January 27, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    For me there is a serious flaw with the 910 – it has been designed with a high flight “drop and stop” performance in mind – just as your review indicates. The previous model, the 909 was in my experience a “longer” driver.

    The 910 reflects the performance demands of the USA market in my view – if like me you are a traditional links player in Scotland, where the game is played as much along the ground as in the air, look no further than the 909. It keeps the ball lower through the air and longer on the ground.

    Next model Titleist – please consider including a D4 variant with the head size and flight characteristics of the 909D3, combined with the SureFit system that really would be a winner!

  34. psychsurfer

    January 18, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    I have been playing my 910 D2 for the past 4 months with the UST Mamiya x flex shaft. I am very happy with my club however I am considering getting another shaft in S flex. I have never hit any of the other offerings and was wanting to know if any ne out there has any suggestions. My swing speed use to be 108 when I was last fitted about 6 years ago. I recently turned fifty and wonder if I should drop down to a stiff shaft or at least give it a try. thanks

  35. Bob

    January 10, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    I echo the comments of Brian, ryan, and scott. I’ve worked in retail golf and was able to pretty much try everything on the market. The 910 D2 is by far the best driver I’ve ever hit and the 45″ shaft gives me more control and straighter drives. As well as the D2, their fairway woods and hybrids are also excellent. I can’t wait to see what they come out with this year.

  36. scott

    January 8, 2012 at 6:56 am

    I have the 901 D2 and it is by far the best driver I have ever owned. It has really helped me to enjoy the game much more than I had been. I have hit the D3 and it was just as good.

  37. ryan

    January 5, 2012 at 8:53 am

    I have the 910 d3 and it is the best driver I’ve ever hit. I have played the 983k, 905r, 907 d2, and now this. 910 is just amazing!

  38. Brian Cass

    December 30, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Best driver I’ve ever owned hands down.

    Never thought I’d go to an adjustable stick…this club has changed that.

  39. 10000golf

    December 26, 2011 at 3:43 am

    good items,we have the item

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>