Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

FootJoy StaSof Glove Review

Published

on

Pros: Extremely soft, Cabretta leather. Well-placed seams. Exceptional durability.

Cons: Roughly $22 each. Available in just two colors, pearl and black.

Who they’re for: Better golfers are the ones who tend to buy premium golf gloves, but the durability and comfort of the StaSof means it’s not just a luxury item. There’s value here for all golfers.

Overview

The first thing I normally do after donning my usual “How cheap can I get them” golf gloves is to wiggle my thumb and fingers for a minute. Why? To adjust a seam (sometimes plural) that invariably isn’t where it’s supposed to be. No worries, since I probably paid about $7 per glove.

On a recent roadie, I played 20 courses across America with one glove: a 2015 FootJoy StaSof. I wear a Men’s Cadet Medium on my left hand. I chose the Pearl (white) color, but you can also opt for a black StaSof if you’re going for the J.B. Holmes look.

The glove was provided by FootJoy to GolfWRX for the purposes of this review, and it saw time in Texas, California, Oregon and Washington state.

Performance

StaSofGloveReview

 

I pulled on that StaSof and began to wiggle my fingers in that phantom way that your leg shakes when your cell phone isn’t in your pocket, but you think it is. Those wiggles are ingrained in me, but they weren’t necessary. The StaSof seams were precisely where needed. Incredulous, I pulled the glove off, spun around, did a jumping jack, and put it on again. Same result.

I emphasize this initial reaction because there’s not a lot to golf glove performance. Break it down like this: fit, comfort, grip, staying power. That’s it. Once you know your size, fit is all about the seams. The FootJoy StaSof scored A+ on the seam quiz.

Moving on to grip: If you drop the name “Pittards of England,” I go all gooey like the hyenas in Lion King, when the Whoopie Goldberg character says “Mufasa.” It’s Pittards! What it means is high-end leather, stitched together properly, ensuring a great grip in normal (and some abnormal) weather conditions. If it’s pouring, will the club slip? Yes, it will. FootJoy has other gloves to remedy that concern. But as long as the weather forecast is somewhat dry, you’re good to go with this glove.

Looks and Feel

FootJoyGlove

Unless you’re wearing psychedelic colors on your mitts, no one is going to comment on your glove. Or ask, “Dude, you stuck that approach so tight! Was it the glove?” You might be ready with the answer, “Yes, it was,” if the glove is awesome. And this one is. It feels luxurious.

It feels like the time I checked in to the Mandalay Bay, took a nap on my couch, and it was nicer than any mattress I’ve slept on. Never mind how nice the mattress was…that couch! That’s how this glove feels. It felt that way through all 20 rounds. I put it in the bag when I arrived back in Western New York (where the temps are mid-50s in December and we’re still playing golf) and pulled on the second glove they sent. Ooohh, Mufasa!

The Takeaway

A glance at the back of the glove package reveals these terms: Taction2 Advanced Performance Leather; Moisture-wicking Elastic Cuff; Finer Gauge Elastics; Angled ComforTab Velcro Closure; and PowerNet Mesh. Call them techie terms, or marketing mantras, whatever. I’ll address each one here and give you my final verdict.

  • Leather: Top notch. Softest thing I’ve felt on my skin since that couch at the Mandalay Bay.
  • Elastic Cuff: Part of the overall feel and nothing stood out as egregiously annoying or dysfunctional. The glove didn’t fit “too long or too short,” and even after all my rounds stretching was hardly noticeably in the cuff.
  • Elastics: These are the threads that secure the glove in the palm area. They did their job well.
  • Velcro Closure: It is angled and it does work properly. Is it better than a straight-across closure, the typical arrangement? I think so.
  • Mesh: Sewn into the knuckles with perforations for breathability. One issue I invariably have with my budget-rate gloves is a stiffening of the material after 5-10 rounds. Take a seat and listen up, son: this glove didn’t stiffen after 20 rounds. That’s saying something.

Final Verdict

Try on a FootJoy StaSof glove, and if you like the fit (you probably will) put it through the paces. If you’re paying $6 a glove like me and getting 7 rounds out of it, is it worth it to buy one premium glove instead of several cheaper ones? If you can get 25 rounds out of one glove like me, the answer is absolutely. Simple math that adds up!

[wrx_retail_links productid=”11″]

Your Reaction?
  • 62
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW5
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK17

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. Huub

    Apr 22, 2016 at 11:39 am

    My only (big) problem with leather gloves which are made in Asia is, that they usually made ??from dogs and cats. A terrible cruel industry!

  2. Chuck Zirkle

    Jan 13, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    Great review on the FJ glove. You are absolutely correct about buying cheaper gloves. You get what you are willing to pay for. Most gloves wear out sooner, because they do not fit properly.

  3. Pablo

    Jan 5, 2016 at 7:52 pm

    Nice review… You get what you pay for. Great product and well worth the extra pennies. Would also like to see a players/ sta soft comparison as I wear players glove. Just love that thin leather feel. Peace

  4. Steve

    Jan 5, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    Great article. Started with the Player’s Glove, moved to Sci-Flex but found a keeper with Sta-Sof.

  5. BirdieBarage

    Jan 5, 2016 at 1:19 am

    For a glove that provides the same level of performance at 60% less, you need to try/buy the MG Golf DynaGrip Elite Premier Cabretta Leather golf glove. Soft, durable and fits like a second skin. I have also used Titleist Players, FootJoy StaSoft and Callaway Tour Premium.

  6. Mike

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    I hit a ton of balls and if money were no problem, I’d use this glove exclusively. I want to find something like this that is say, 1/4 the price.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 3, 2016 at 1:44 pm

      Any leads?

      Alternatively, you could use a cheaper model on the range and save your StaSofs for the course.

      • 2chi

        Jan 4, 2016 at 11:12 am

        I usually play the Footjoy WeatherSofs. I buy them in 2-packs for roughly $20. I played 22 rounds in 2015, plus a fair amount of range time and got through the entire season with one glove…which gives me one in the hopper for next year!

        • Ronald Montesano

          Jan 5, 2016 at 6:42 am

          These are the two gloves for the same hand, right? Have you ever played the wet/cold weather gloves, that come with one glove for each hand?

          That’s an impressive tally for 2015. You must not strangle the club! So much of glove wear is a too-tight grip on the club.

          • 2chi

            Jan 8, 2016 at 11:32 am

            Yes, two gloves for the same hand. And I actually took a lesson a couple years ago, and the first thing he “fixed” was that I was gripping the club way too tight. Took me a while to loosen it, but it paid dividends when I did.

            But I have played with the cold weather gloves, that come with one for each hand. I believe they were also the Footjoys. I don’t remember the actual name for the glove. They were bought in a pro-shop before a 36-hole outing in April. Cold front came in and temp dropped 15 degrees from expected, shame on me for not checking weather before I went. They paid for themselves though. I’ve used them probably 4-5 more times and am pleasantly surprised with them. Sometimes I will also where a standard left hand glove (I’m a righty), and then the warm weather right-hand glove. or swap between them on between shots.

    • rymail00

      Jan 5, 2016 at 12:31 am

      CAUTION-mini glove “rant”

      Like another member poster in this comment thread named “Mike” mentioned I’m fortunate to be able hit tons of balls so I always went the cheap route with the Footjoy (I believe) WeatherSof gloves that were buy one get one for like $20. I always preferred the leather gloves but hitting the range, plus short game area for 2-2.5 before each round, roughly 3-4x’s a week really kinda wore them faster than I liked so the cheaper version helped because I could also retire gloves early due to the how cheap the price was. I use a new glove and once it’s wore to where I wanted to switch it out (probably to early but the two for one deal made it easier to switch them out regularly), a that glove then became my warmup/practice glove. Only because it’d get kinda wet from sweat and then I’d have a dry and fresh “gamer” glove, that would get 2-3 weeks before becoming a range glove, again do the how cheap they were. So the nicer and more desirable leather gloves got passed up for a cheaper style glove.

      Although I did recently switch to the MG Golf Cabretta leather gloves for the last month of our season. They’re cheap, like I believe $11-12 for two of their leather grips. They are Cabretta leather feel like the Footjoy and Titleist leather thickness wise. Also I tried their tour or pro leather glove that’s much thinner for as they say “better feel” but seems to wear quicker (their a couple bucks more) and stretch a bit from the original size like the author mentioned that these Footjoys don’t seem to do. I did a review on here on them. But it seems a lot members had Velcro problems letting lose during their swing which is the worse thing a glove could do.

      I guess you really get what you pay for with gloves. If I had tons of disposable income I’d play these Footjoy or their new (limited edition glove with black emblem I believe). Or a Titleist leather glove.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Jan 8, 2016 at 12:39 pm

        Rymail00

        Thanks for that eloquent and expansive breakdown. I envy your opportunity to practice. Many people have the time, but not the desire. You seem to have both. Tour players, who don’t pay for gloves, can afford to wear a thinner glove for feel; not always so for the paying public.

  7. Scott

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    You know what’s funny, I totally agree with this article. I used to use the Scieflex and when I switched to mutlicompound grips after a round or a hole would start in my palm. I started to think I was gripping too right. Anyways, the next time I went to buy a glove they only had StaSofs so I was like, “screw it, guess I’m paying more today.” I’m pretty sure I still have that glove and it’s in decent shape. Laugh all you want people, great article by Ronald.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 3, 2016 at 11:10 pm

      Thanks, Scott. I understand the jovial reactions of guys who think a tried-and-true product need not be reviewed. If anyone rests on their laurels, though, we’re not doing our job. I ordered a pair of black StaSofs on the web, I was so taken by this product.

  8. Ronald Montesano

    Jan 3, 2016 at 1:14 am

    And for Tim and David on Facebook, thanks for the laughs. I can take what you dish out. For all the people that are new to golf (and there are new people to golf, friends!) we hope that this review will help them in their search for the perfect golf glove.

  9. Poppa

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:18 am

    I want a review of the Titleist Player’s Glove next. Complete with comparisons and differences to this FJ product. Thanks!

  10. Dude

    Jan 2, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Great glove but too long in the pinky finger.

  11. Square

    Jan 2, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    You know you’re in the silly season when there is a review of the best glove already on the market.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

Top-3 men’s golf polos at the 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Vegas

Published

on

GolfWRX’s fashion expert Jordan Madley picks her top-3 favorite men’s polo shirts from the recent 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Las Vegas. Enjoy the video below!

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW10
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP16
  • OB6
  • SHANK68

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 107
  • LEGIT19
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK24

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 95
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending