Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

FootJoy StaSof Glove Review

Published

on

Pros: Extremely soft, Cabretta leather. Well-placed seams. Exceptional durability.

Cons: Roughly $22 each. Available in just two colors, pearl and black.

Who they’re for: Better golfers are the ones who tend to buy premium golf gloves, but the durability and comfort of the StaSof means it’s not just a luxury item. There’s value here for all golfers.

Overview

The first thing I normally do after donning my usual “How cheap can I get them” golf gloves is to wiggle my thumb and fingers for a minute. Why? To adjust a seam (sometimes plural) that invariably isn’t where it’s supposed to be. No worries, since I probably paid about $7 per glove.

On a recent roadie, I played 20 courses across America with one glove: a 2015 FootJoy StaSof. I wear a Men’s Cadet Medium on my left hand. I chose the Pearl (white) color, but you can also opt for a black StaSof if you’re going for the J.B. Holmes look.

The glove was provided by FootJoy to GolfWRX for the purposes of this review, and it saw time in Texas, California, Oregon and Washington state.

Performance

StaSofGloveReview

 

I pulled on that StaSof and began to wiggle my fingers in that phantom way that your leg shakes when your cell phone isn’t in your pocket, but you think it is. Those wiggles are ingrained in me, but they weren’t necessary. The StaSof seams were precisely where needed. Incredulous, I pulled the glove off, spun around, did a jumping jack, and put it on again. Same result.

I emphasize this initial reaction because there’s not a lot to golf glove performance. Break it down like this: fit, comfort, grip, staying power. That’s it. Once you know your size, fit is all about the seams. The FootJoy StaSof scored A+ on the seam quiz.

Moving on to grip: If you drop the name “Pittards of England,” I go all gooey like the hyenas in Lion King, when the Whoopie Goldberg character says “Mufasa.” It’s Pittards! What it means is high-end leather, stitched together properly, ensuring a great grip in normal (and some abnormal) weather conditions. If it’s pouring, will the club slip? Yes, it will. FootJoy has other gloves to remedy that concern. But as long as the weather forecast is somewhat dry, you’re good to go with this glove.

Looks and Feel

FootJoyGlove

Unless you’re wearing psychedelic colors on your mitts, no one is going to comment on your glove. Or ask, “Dude, you stuck that approach so tight! Was it the glove?” You might be ready with the answer, “Yes, it was,” if the glove is awesome. And this one is. It feels luxurious.

It feels like the time I checked in to the Mandalay Bay, took a nap on my couch, and it was nicer than any mattress I’ve slept on. Never mind how nice the mattress was…that couch! That’s how this glove feels. It felt that way through all 20 rounds. I put it in the bag when I arrived back in Western New York (where the temps are mid-50s in December and we’re still playing golf) and pulled on the second glove they sent. Ooohh, Mufasa!

The Takeaway

A glance at the back of the glove package reveals these terms: Taction2 Advanced Performance Leather; Moisture-wicking Elastic Cuff; Finer Gauge Elastics; Angled ComforTab Velcro Closure; and PowerNet Mesh. Call them techie terms, or marketing mantras, whatever. I’ll address each one here and give you my final verdict.

  • Leather: Top notch. Softest thing I’ve felt on my skin since that couch at the Mandalay Bay.
  • Elastic Cuff: Part of the overall feel and nothing stood out as egregiously annoying or dysfunctional. The glove didn’t fit “too long or too short,” and even after all my rounds stretching was hardly noticeably in the cuff.
  • Elastics: These are the threads that secure the glove in the palm area. They did their job well.
  • Velcro Closure: It is angled and it does work properly. Is it better than a straight-across closure, the typical arrangement? I think so.
  • Mesh: Sewn into the knuckles with perforations for breathability. One issue I invariably have with my budget-rate gloves is a stiffening of the material after 5-10 rounds. Take a seat and listen up, son: this glove didn’t stiffen after 20 rounds. That’s saying something.

Final Verdict

Try on a FootJoy StaSof glove, and if you like the fit (you probably will) put it through the paces. If you’re paying $6 a glove like me and getting 7 rounds out of it, is it worth it to buy one premium glove instead of several cheaper ones? If you can get 25 rounds out of one glove like me, the answer is absolutely. Simple math that adds up!

[wrx_retail_links productid=”11″]

Your Reaction?
  • 63
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW5
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK17

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

21 Comments

21 Comments

  1. Huub

    Apr 22, 2016 at 11:39 am

    My only (big) problem with leather gloves which are made in Asia is, that they usually made ??from dogs and cats. A terrible cruel industry!

  2. Chuck Zirkle

    Jan 13, 2016 at 8:08 pm

    Great review on the FJ glove. You are absolutely correct about buying cheaper gloves. You get what you are willing to pay for. Most gloves wear out sooner, because they do not fit properly.

  3. Pablo

    Jan 5, 2016 at 7:52 pm

    Nice review… You get what you pay for. Great product and well worth the extra pennies. Would also like to see a players/ sta soft comparison as I wear players glove. Just love that thin leather feel. Peace

  4. Steve

    Jan 5, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    Great article. Started with the Player’s Glove, moved to Sci-Flex but found a keeper with Sta-Sof.

  5. BirdieBarage

    Jan 5, 2016 at 1:19 am

    For a glove that provides the same level of performance at 60% less, you need to try/buy the MG Golf DynaGrip Elite Premier Cabretta Leather golf glove. Soft, durable and fits like a second skin. I have also used Titleist Players, FootJoy StaSoft and Callaway Tour Premium.

  6. Mike

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    I hit a ton of balls and if money were no problem, I’d use this glove exclusively. I want to find something like this that is say, 1/4 the price.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 3, 2016 at 1:44 pm

      Any leads?

      Alternatively, you could use a cheaper model on the range and save your StaSofs for the course.

      • 2chi

        Jan 4, 2016 at 11:12 am

        I usually play the Footjoy WeatherSofs. I buy them in 2-packs for roughly $20. I played 22 rounds in 2015, plus a fair amount of range time and got through the entire season with one glove…which gives me one in the hopper for next year!

        • Ronald Montesano

          Jan 5, 2016 at 6:42 am

          These are the two gloves for the same hand, right? Have you ever played the wet/cold weather gloves, that come with one glove for each hand?

          That’s an impressive tally for 2015. You must not strangle the club! So much of glove wear is a too-tight grip on the club.

          • 2chi

            Jan 8, 2016 at 11:32 am

            Yes, two gloves for the same hand. And I actually took a lesson a couple years ago, and the first thing he “fixed” was that I was gripping the club way too tight. Took me a while to loosen it, but it paid dividends when I did.

            But I have played with the cold weather gloves, that come with one for each hand. I believe they were also the Footjoys. I don’t remember the actual name for the glove. They were bought in a pro-shop before a 36-hole outing in April. Cold front came in and temp dropped 15 degrees from expected, shame on me for not checking weather before I went. They paid for themselves though. I’ve used them probably 4-5 more times and am pleasantly surprised with them. Sometimes I will also where a standard left hand glove (I’m a righty), and then the warm weather right-hand glove. or swap between them on between shots.

    • rymail00

      Jan 5, 2016 at 12:31 am

      CAUTION-mini glove “rant”

      Like another member poster in this comment thread named “Mike” mentioned I’m fortunate to be able hit tons of balls so I always went the cheap route with the Footjoy (I believe) WeatherSof gloves that were buy one get one for like $20. I always preferred the leather gloves but hitting the range, plus short game area for 2-2.5 before each round, roughly 3-4x’s a week really kinda wore them faster than I liked so the cheaper version helped because I could also retire gloves early due to the how cheap the price was. I use a new glove and once it’s wore to where I wanted to switch it out (probably to early but the two for one deal made it easier to switch them out regularly), a that glove then became my warmup/practice glove. Only because it’d get kinda wet from sweat and then I’d have a dry and fresh “gamer” glove, that would get 2-3 weeks before becoming a range glove, again do the how cheap they were. So the nicer and more desirable leather gloves got passed up for a cheaper style glove.

      Although I did recently switch to the MG Golf Cabretta leather gloves for the last month of our season. They’re cheap, like I believe $11-12 for two of their leather grips. They are Cabretta leather feel like the Footjoy and Titleist leather thickness wise. Also I tried their tour or pro leather glove that’s much thinner for as they say “better feel” but seems to wear quicker (their a couple bucks more) and stretch a bit from the original size like the author mentioned that these Footjoys don’t seem to do. I did a review on here on them. But it seems a lot members had Velcro problems letting lose during their swing which is the worse thing a glove could do.

      I guess you really get what you pay for with gloves. If I had tons of disposable income I’d play these Footjoy or their new (limited edition glove with black emblem I believe). Or a Titleist leather glove.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Jan 8, 2016 at 12:39 pm

        Rymail00

        Thanks for that eloquent and expansive breakdown. I envy your opportunity to practice. Many people have the time, but not the desire. You seem to have both. Tour players, who don’t pay for gloves, can afford to wear a thinner glove for feel; not always so for the paying public.

  7. Scott

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    You know what’s funny, I totally agree with this article. I used to use the Scieflex and when I switched to mutlicompound grips after a round or a hole would start in my palm. I started to think I was gripping too right. Anyways, the next time I went to buy a glove they only had StaSofs so I was like, “screw it, guess I’m paying more today.” I’m pretty sure I still have that glove and it’s in decent shape. Laugh all you want people, great article by Ronald.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 3, 2016 at 11:10 pm

      Thanks, Scott. I understand the jovial reactions of guys who think a tried-and-true product need not be reviewed. If anyone rests on their laurels, though, we’re not doing our job. I ordered a pair of black StaSofs on the web, I was so taken by this product.

  8. Ronald Montesano

    Jan 3, 2016 at 1:14 am

    And for Tim and David on Facebook, thanks for the laughs. I can take what you dish out. For all the people that are new to golf (and there are new people to golf, friends!) we hope that this review will help them in their search for the perfect golf glove.

  9. Poppa

    Jan 3, 2016 at 12:18 am

    I want a review of the Titleist Player’s Glove next. Complete with comparisons and differences to this FJ product. Thanks!

  10. Dude

    Jan 2, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Great glove but too long in the pinky finger.

  11. Square

    Jan 2, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    You know you’re in the silly season when there is a review of the best glove already on the market.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 31
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending