Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Precision Pro Nexus rangefinder

Published

on

Pros: Weighs only 7.9 ounces. Its small frame (about the size of an iPhone 6) fits easily in the palm of your hand and is small enough to stuff in your pants pocket in-between shots. Golfers will like the device’s Dynamic Scanning Technology, which quickly obtains yardages for multiple targets with one press/hold of a button. Most of all, golfers will love the $199 price point.

Cons: Golfers who like their rangefinders to vibrate, jolt, dance or sing will be disappointed that the Nexus just provides distance. Some may find the viewing lens to be too small at 25 millimeters (about the diameter of a quarter).

Who’s it for? Anyone interested in obtaining precise distance to flags and hazards from a device that won’t break the bank.

The Review

Back in February, I had a conversation with World Golf Hall of Fame member Gary Player. In between stories about his brilliant playing career and his life-long pursuit of physical fitness and wellness, he bemoaned about today’s golfer being spoiled. He wasn’t referring to the small fortune found in the winner’s checks, but rather the difference in course conditions, advancements in equipment, convenience of travel, and of course, the traveling gyms. While 99 percent of us can’t relate to the “private jet” comments, we can concede that equipment specifically, has improved for the better.

Nexus_Rangefinder_back

Unlike Mr. Player’s era, we are fortunate to have an abundance of equipment choices, training aids, accessories and now technology-driven devices controlled by a phone. Perhaps the most significant contribution in today’s era is the laser rangefinder. Unlike a driver, a shiny new set of irons or a flashy putter, a rangefinder is a surefire piece of golf equipment that will deliver in the clutch in spite of your sweaty palms, beating heart or whatever quirk that interferes with a good result. Moreover, rangefinders promote smarter and faster play while simplifying club selection. These inherent benefits alone are reason for every golfer to employ a rangefinder during their round. I can only imagine Player’s reaction when it dawned on him that he didn’t have to locate a sprinkler head, and step off the distance like the old days. Distance at the palms of your hands!

Nexus_Rangefinder_in_hand_2

As this category continues to emerge, golfers are benefiting from a wider selection. While most golfers are familiar with Bushnell and Leupold, there is a strong possibility you have not heard of Precision Pro’s Nexus rangefinder. The company coins it the golf industry’s most advanced laser rangefinder under $200. A unit that packs many of the same bells and whistles as its higher-priced competition.

We recently had a chance to give it a proper field test:

The Specs

  • 400 yard range
  • Accurate +/- 1yard (1/10th yard measurements)
  • Advanced target lock
  • 6x magnification
  • Tournament legal
  • 1-year warranty
  • CR2 battery included
  • Soft Shell Case

Initial Reaction

Nexus_Rangefinder_iPhone

The Nexus Rangefinder is very sleek. From its outer casing, soft-coat material and green-nose plate, the device looks like the real deal. In addition to weighing next to nothing and easily fitting in the palm of a hand, the Nexus has only two buttons, giving it a solid approachability factor. As I stood on the range and quickly flipped the rangefinder up in the air like a pitcher would toss a Rosin bag, the device felt durable and capable of withstanding all the typical rigors on the golf course.

I peered through the lens and locked in on my first flag 100 yards away. One of the benefits the company touts is the Nexus’ ability to report distance 1/10th of a yard. My first official reading was 101.2. While 101.2 yards — compared to 101.8 yards — wouldn’t cause me to tweak my club selection, I felt a sense of comfort in getting THE EXACT yardage.

Nexus_Rangefinder_front

Next, I tested the range of the device, which is capable of hitting targets 400 yards away. I locked in at a pin 248 yards away. Then I panned over to a nearby stake in the ground and obtained a 252.5 reading. Farther back was a flagstick being used by the golfers on the opposite driving range. The Nexus read 336.3. There is no problem hitting various distances, which is an absolute MUST to be in the rangefinder conversation.

Ease of use

If you are easily intimated by buttons and levers, then you will love the Nexus, which has just two buttons. The green “on” button is easily identifiable and is the one used to acquire the desired target. The black button, located an inch above the green button, is the “mode” button which includes Advanced Target Lock and Dynamic Scanning. The Advanced Target Lock Function (standard mode) scans both the background and the target. It eliminates the background yardages and locks in on the flag to provide an accurate distance.

Nexus_Rangefinder_top

Maybe the most subtle highlight of the Nexus is the deliberate nature in which it acquires the flag. Often times, golfers say (I hear this all the time) “my hands are too shaky to use one of those things.” The Nexus laser hits the flag several times while simultaneously scanning the background behind the target to not only ensure accuracy, but to compensate for the golfer who doesn’t have sniper-like precision.

Key Feature

Nexus_Rangefinder_in_hand

The feature that is really intriguing is the Dynamic Scanning technology (D.S.T.), which allows the user to press/hold the green button and scan multiple targets to see distance readings instantly. For instance, on a par-3, switch the Nexus to D.S.T., hold the green button to retrieve the distance to the pin and then scan around the green to see distance to hazards, cart paths, etc. I can admit firsthand, this is an addictive mode, and one users may favor over the standard mode, especially on approach shots.

So Why Nexus?

The team at Precision Pro is adamant that consumers won’t find another rangefinder with the same technology for under $200. Moreover, the Cincinnati-based company wants to earn a reputation for having superb customer service, a small touch often over-looked in a business’ quest to reach the top. It is likely that a call from a customer will be fielded by one of the owners of the company. For any reason if the product has an issue, the company says a new unit is sent out that same day.

The Takeaway

Nexus_Rangefinder_case_1

While it may not shake or provide a slope reading, the Nexus meets all of the necessary qualifications to be the rangefinder of choice for golfers of any level. It’s stylish, durable and its small size is a convenience around the golf course. With only two buttons, the Nexus won’t intimidate, yet its Advanced Target Lock and Dynamic Scanning functions provide the appropriate amount of sophistication desired by the most astute gearhead.

Currently available in stores for under $200, the company has firmly put its competition on notice with the arrival of the Nexus.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.precisionprogolf.com/” oemtext=”Learn more from Precision Pro” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017JIT6EG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B017JIT6EG&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=UEN7LMMOPRRATNKL”]

Your Reaction?
  • 317
  • LEGIT123
  • WOW121
  • LOL7
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP14
  • OB6
  • SHANK28

We share your golf passion. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX, Facebook and Instagram.

46 Comments

46 Comments

  1. Joe Carrow

    Jul 23, 2017 at 8:06 pm

    Though I am using Pro X7 but interested to know is there any update version of this Rangefinder?

  2. Jonah Mytro

    Nov 18, 2016 at 11:41 am

    Precision Pro is offering a $30 mail in rebate on the Nexus Rangefinder through 12/31/2016. Order online or at an authorized retailer. https://www.precisionprogolf.com/products/nexus-laser-rangefinder

  3. Dave R

    Sep 19, 2016 at 10:34 pm

    Just bought one so nice glad I read the reviews on this one

  4. Tom G

    Jul 4, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    I bought this, played in a few tournaments and the yardage is way off, spent the extra $100 for a quality V#… wish I would have…

    • Jonah Mytro

      Jul 4, 2016 at 10:45 pm

      Tom,

      Each Nexus Rangefinder is checked to be +/- 1 yard compared to a Bushnell and Leupold models. If you had an issue with yardage, you may have been in the wrong mode (scanning vs target lock). We are happy to exchange the Nexus Rangefinder to make sure the yardages are accurate. We know how important accuracy is and we will work to make sure you have a great experience with our Nexus Rangefinder.

      Please contact our team at help@precisionprogolf.com or call our 800# for support.
      888-568-6770 ext 2

  5. Jonah Mytro

    Apr 12, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    Precision Pro Golf has launched a $30 mail in rebate program from April 1-May 30 2016. Order the Nexus online or at a participating retailer and get a $30 mail in rebate coupon. Details at: http://get.precisionprogolf.com/nexus-laser-rangefinder/

  6. “We tested the Precision Pro Golf nexus laser rangefinder side by side against an industry leading rangefinder and found it as accurate and as easy to use vs. the competitor. The price at $199 makes it an unbeatable product.”

    John Dunigan Golf Academy
    2015 PGA Philadelphia Section Teacher of the Year

  7. We tested the Precision Pro Golf nexus laser rangefinder side by side against an industry leading rangefinder and found it as accurate and as easy to use vs. the competitor. The price at $199 makes it an unbeatable product. (March 2016)

    John Dunigan Golf Academy
    2015 PGA Philadelphia Section Teacher of the Year

  8. Matt

    Feb 29, 2016 at 11:09 am

    I saw the Nexus Rangefinder in a retail store and took a I took a flyer on this product because I think the usual brands of rangefinders are way overpriced. Nexus Rangefinder has been a great product. Its easy to lock on to target even with my normally shaky hands.

  9. Dan C

    Jan 22, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    Precision Golf has awesome customer service and support. The reviewer’s comment that you will get a call from one of the owner’s is true. I had questions about operating my new NEXUS rangefinder and I got an email response from one of the owners who was available to assist me. His explanation and assistance in operating my NEXUS helped me understand how to properly us my NEXUS. I am looking forward to using it on the course when the weather gets warmer. Bottomline, I know I would not get this type of personal attention from Bushnell or Leupold. Thank you Precision Golf for your outstsnding customer service.

  10. KGoodwin

    Jan 21, 2016 at 10:18 am

    The Nexus Rangefinder does a great job for a reasonable price. I am very pleased with this product.

  11. Kevin Bostwick

    Jan 17, 2016 at 1:24 pm

    I have to say, this product works nicely but there are some huge QC problems. My first one from Amazon had black string or lint, behind the lens. Returned it and was sent a new one. The new one also has some sort of debris behind the lens. For 200 bucks that shouldn’t be happening. I am pretty disappointed and have wasted to much time to bother with them anymore. Ill return this and purchase something else.

    • Kevin Bostwick

      Jan 18, 2016 at 11:26 am

      Just an update, I was emailed by Precision and they have offered to replace my device, rather than Amazon. They will check the lens before shipping. Great service and with that I will recommend them as a less expensive range finder to friends and colleagues.

      • jonah mytro

        Jan 18, 2016 at 12:48 pm

        Kevin,

        I am glad our team was able to work with you to get this issue resolved. Typically there the debris or lint on the lens can be removed using a soft cloth but when the lens is scratched, we will replace the unit as it is still under our warranty.

        Thanks

        Jonah Mytro
        Precision Pro Golf
        Co-founder

    • Kevin

      Feb 23, 2016 at 3:33 pm

      I wanted to leave an updated review on the unit, as I have now used it for over a month. My replacement unit came in and it was pristine, I am thinking maybe it was just a batch issue with my Amazon seller. Anyways, onto the Rangefinder. This thing is fast, I love being able to just point, shoot and get a reading. I also have a bushnell, but when comparing the two I felt the nexus was faster. Readings were similar between the two. The feature I like the most, is the ability to scan and hit multiple targets without really any delay, it makes hitting those bunkers and anything surrounding the green pretty darn easy. The case they provide you with is nice and you also get a lens cloth. For the price, I dont really see anything that can beat it and have already recommended it to my playing partners. Solid product with great customer service.

  12. seth b

    Jan 1, 2016 at 6:49 am

    Anyone else having issues with the yardages consistently being a couple yards shorter than other brands? (i.e bushnell, leupold, etc) I thought I had bought a defective unit however the company sent me a new one and it is the exact same. I put it up against my playing partners lasers they all had the same yardage and my nexus was consistently 3 yards or so shorter every time. Anyone else experience this?

    • jonah mytro

      Jan 1, 2016 at 12:47 pm

      Seth

      We test our yardages in our factory and warehouse before shipping out. We also test out with some other larger brand models as well. Laser rangefinders can become miscalibrated based a number of factors however we stand behind the distance measurements on all of our products.
      Feel free to contact our team at help at precisionprogolf.com.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision pro golf

      • seth b

        Jan 2, 2016 at 2:29 pm

        Jonah thanks for the reply, I think you have a wonderful product, how do I go about recalibrating the unit?

        • jonah mytro

          Jan 21, 2016 at 10:15 am

          Seth

          Recalibrating the laser has to occur in our factory and takes 2-3 weeks to complete.

          Thanks

      • seth b

        Jan 19, 2016 at 1:06 pm

        The product is not up the standards of other high end range finders such as bushnell, leupold etc. My first unit wsa 3-4 yards short every time compared to every other range finder I could get my hands on. They all produced the same yardage each time with the nexus a few yards short every time. I gave the product to a few pros and mini tour players and caddies to test and they all said the same thing the yardages are way off. I thought maybe I had a defective unit but the replacement they sent had the same issues. I bought this product brand new on the internet in a sealed box however the company would not issue a refund

  13. MP-4

    Dec 21, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    How does the Precision Pro Nexus compare to the Leupold Pincaddie 2 and the Nikon Coolshot 20?

    • Jonah Mytro

      Dec 22, 2015 at 8:58 pm

      Besides the price, the Nexus rangefinder has an advanced target lock mode to eliminate background images. It also has the scanning mode to scan multiple objects quickly (bunkers, dog legs, etc). We calculate the yardage in 1/10th yard vs. full yard (Leupold and Nikon) and the Nexus has a ergonomical design and soft-coating for superior feel. We also offer a 30-day money back guarantee. If you use the Nexus and are not happy with the performance, send it to us for a full refund.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

      • MP-4

        Dec 24, 2015 at 1:44 am

        Great, thanks for the info!

      • Scott

        Mar 15, 2016 at 10:36 am

        Jonah, what is the difference between the Nexus and the V400 you have?

  14. kn

    Dec 18, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    I’m glad to see the price per unit coming down a bit, although this is a stripped laser rangefinder. Nothing about whether or not it’s water/rain repellent. Does golf merchandise always have to come in neon or lime green? Is there a run on that color in the last 5 years? Gawd awful. How ’bout just nice black or blue?

    • Jonah m

      Dec 18, 2015 at 9:20 pm

      The nexus rangefinder is water resistant but not water proof. We chose the green nose plate color since it is one of our accent colors of the Precision Pro brand. The green nose plate stands out when being used on the course as other players can easily recognize it based on the nose color. Some golfers may not love the green lime nose plate but its definitely a unique color.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

  15. Chuck Zirkle

    Dec 17, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    I currently play the Bushnell Tour Z6 Rangefinder and love the features of this product. Quick response and the optics are over the top. Not a fan of an rangefinder that has the slope feature. Not USGA approved. Was able to pick mine up under $300 brand new and have not looked back. Good luck with your new product but a lesser priced product is not always the answer.

    • Jonah m

      Dec 18, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      The Nexus was built to compete with a $299 rangefinder in terms of specs optics and performance. We have set the price correctly to capitalize on the price gap in the laser and gps market.

      Anyone who purchases the Nexus will be extremely happy.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      PRECISION PRO GOlF

  16. Chris

    Dec 17, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    Please explain to me the purpose of having a range finder give you measurements in anything other than whole numbers that has a tolerance of +/- 1yard. If the tolerance is +/- 1 yard the decimal point has no meaning. Other than that, I personally use a Nikon Coolshot that cost the same and love it.

    • Cliff

      Dec 18, 2015 at 8:26 am

      Accuracy and repeatablity. More than likely a device that only showed whole numbers would have an accuracy of +/-2 yards.

      • Chris

        Dec 19, 2015 at 10:39 am

        They can program the device to display any number they want regardless of the tolerance. They could simply truncate the decimal. Programming wise this is very simple to do.

        • Cliff

          Dec 23, 2015 at 11:04 am

          Good point! I didn’t realize rounding up or down was so difficult for people.

  17. John Grossi

    Dec 16, 2015 at 9:16 am

    Very impressive sounding unit. I am still using a Bushnell yardagepro 1500???. Got it maybe 15 years ago. I have created a list so when it finally gives up, I can get a new unit. This has moved to the top of that list

    • jonah mytro

      Dec 17, 2015 at 10:18 am

      John,

      I think you will be very impressed with the optics, accuracy and design of the NEXUS rangefinder. We built a product that competes with any $299 (Bushnell/Leupold) model.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

  18. Ben

    Dec 16, 2015 at 8:23 am

    Very nice! Currently using a bushnell. Any plans on coming up with a slope version? I’d be all over it!

    • jonah mytro

      Dec 17, 2015 at 10:16 am

      Ben,

      No plans for a slope model since its maybe 5% of the market and its not USGA legal.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

      • ParHunter

        Dec 19, 2015 at 3:22 am

        You should check the USGA/R&A rules changes for 2016. Devices with slope can be used if slope is switched off during round and not used.

        • Jonah Mytro

          Jul 16, 2016 at 11:20 pm

          You are correct, the USGA changed their rules and you may want to be on the lookout for some new products from Precision Pro Golf in the coming months…

  19. Joey Dirte

    Dec 15, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    How long does the battery last? A CR2 is small and seems like it will eat power within a round or two?
    My Bushnell rangefinder uses a 9v battery and last for months playing every weekend…that is a factor to consider when purchasing rangefinders

    • Cliff

      Dec 15, 2015 at 2:53 pm

      It should last months…maybe 2 batteries a year.

    • jonah mytro

      Dec 15, 2015 at 7:32 pm

      The Nexus rangefinder takes the CR2 battery and they typically last 5,000 shots (or about 1 year if you play once a week. The Nexus has a 10 second auto shut off so it turns off to conserve the battery.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

    • nunya

      Dec 15, 2015 at 8:44 pm

      I use a Callaway (nikon) xhot range finder. It uses a cr2 battery and I have replaced it once. I bought it used June of 2014 and replaced the battery in april or so of this year. I play golf multiple times a week and the battery lasts forever compared to the 9volt in my bros bushnell

  20. Displayname

    Dec 15, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    Awesome intro story, and sharp looking device. I’d love to see a comparison vs the Bushnell Medalist. At $50 less, with significantly more features, this could really shake things up!

    • jonah mytro

      Dec 15, 2015 at 7:34 pm

      The Medallist from Bushnell has a 4x magnification and a slow laser speed. The Nexus was built to compete with the v3 ($299 price) from Bushnell (with a 6x magnification and advanced target lock system) and when we do our testing, we use the Bushnell v3 to gauge performance, accuracy, and laser speed.

      Thanks

      Jonah Mytro
      Precision Pro Golf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

Top-3 men’s golf polos at the 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Vegas

Published

on

GolfWRX’s fashion expert Jordan Madley picks her top-3 favorite men’s polo shirts from the recent 2018 PGA Fashion Show in Las Vegas. Enjoy the video below!

Your Reaction?
  • 45
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW10
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP16
  • OB6
  • SHANK67

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

I tried the great Golfboarding experiment… here’s how it went

Published

on

Corica Park Golf Course is not exactly the first place you’d expect to find one of the most experimental sports movements sweeping the nation. Sitting on a pristine swath of land along the southern rim of Alameda Island, deep in the heart of the San Francisco Bay, the course’s municipal roots and no-frills clubhouse give it an unpretentious air that seems to fit better with Sam Snead’s style of play than, say, Rickie Fowler’s.

Yet here I am, one perfectly sunny morning on a recent Saturday in December planning to try something that is about as unconventional as it gets for a 90-year-old golf course.

It’s called Golfboarding, and it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like: an amalgam of golf and skateboarding, or maybe surfing. The brainchild of surfing legend Laird Hamilton — who can be assumed to have mastered, and has clearly grown bored of, all normal sports — Golfboarding is catching on at courses throughout the country, from local municipal courses like Corica Park to luxury country clubs like Cog Hill and TPC Las Colinas. Since winning Innovation Of the Year at the PGA Merchandising Show in 2014, Golfboards can now be found at 250 courses and have powered nearly a million rounds of golf already. Corica Park currently owns eight of them.

The man in pro shop gets a twinkle in his eyes when our foursome tells him we’d like to take them out. “Have you ridden them before?” he asks. When we admit that we are uninitiated, he grins and tells us we’re in for a treat.

But first, we need to sign a waiver and watch a seven-minute instructional video. A slow, lawyerly voice reads off pedantic warnings like “Stepping on the golfboard should be done slowly and carefully” and “Always hold onto the handlebars when the board is in motion.” When it cautions us to “operate the board a safe distance from all…other golfboarders,” we exchange glances, knowing that one of us will more than likely break this rule later on.

Then we venture outside, where one of the clubhouse attendants shows us the ropes. The controls are pretty simple. One switch sends it forward or in reverse, another toggles between low and high gear. To make it go, there’s a throttle on the thumb of the handle. The attendant explains that the only thing we have to worry about is our clubs banging against our knuckles.

“Don’t be afraid to really lean into the turns,” he offers. “You pretty much can’t roll it over.”

“That sounds like a challenge,” I joke. No one laughs.

On a test spin through the parking lot, the Golfboard feels strong and sturdy, even when I shift around on it. It starts and stops smoothly with only the slightest of jerks. In low gear its top speed is about 5 mph, so even at full throttle it never feels out of control.

The only challenge, as far as I can tell, is getting it to turn. For some reason, I’d expected the handlebar to offer at least some degree of steering, but it is purely for balance. The thing has the Ackerman angle of a Mack Truck, and you really do have to lean into the turns to get it to respond. For someone who is not particularly adept at either surfing or skateboarding, this comes a little unnaturally. I have to do a number of three-point turns in order to get back to where I started and make my way over to the first tee box.

We tee off and climb on. The fairway is flat and wide, and we shift into high gear as we speed off toward our balls. The engine had produced just the faintest of whirrs as it accelerated, but it is practically soundless as the board rolls along at full speed. The motor nevertheless feels surprisingly powerful under my feet (the drivetrain is literally located directly underneath the deck) as the board maintains a smooth, steady pace of 10 mph — about the same as a golf cart. I try making a couple of S curves like I’d seen in the video and realize that high-speed turning will take a little practice for me to get right, but that it doesn’t seem overly difficult.

Indeed, within a few holes I might as well be Laird himself, “surfing the earth” from shot to shot. I am able to hold the handlebar and lean way out, getting the board to turn, if not quite sharply, then at least closer to that of a large moving van than a full-sized semi. I take the hills aggressively (although the automatic speed control on the drivetrain enables it to keep a steady pace both up and down any hills, so this isn’t exactly dangerous), and I speed throughout the course like Mario Andretti on the freeway (the company claims increased pace-of-play as one of the Golfboard’s primary benefits, but on a Saturday in the Bay Area, it is impossible avoid a five-hour round anyway.)

Gliding along, my feet a few inches above the grass, the wind in my face as the fairways unfurl below my feet, it is easy to see Golfboards as the next evolution in mankind’s mastery of wheels; the same instincts to overcome inertia that brought us bicycles, rollerblades, scooters, skateboards, and more recent inventions such as Segways, Hoverboards and Onewheels are clearly manifest in Golfboards as well. They might not offer quite the same thrill as storming down a snowy mountainside or catching a giant wave, but they are definitely more fun than your standard golf cart.

Yet, there are obvious downsides as well. The attendant’s warning notwithstanding, my knuckles are in fact battered and sore by the time we make the turn, and even though I rearrange all my clubs into the front slots of my bag, they still rap my knuckles every time I hit a bump. Speaking of which, the board’s shock absorber system leaves something to be desired, as the ride is so bumpy that near the end I start to feel as if I’ve had my insides rattled. Then there is the unforgivable fact of its missing a cup holder for my beer.

But these are mere design flaws that might easily be fixed in the next generation of Golfboards. (A knuckle shield is a must!) My larger problem with Golfboards is what they do to the game itself. When walking or riding a traditional cart, the moments in between shots are a time to plan your next shot, or to chat about your last shot, or to simply find your zen out there among the trees and the birds and the spaciousness of the course. Instead, my focus is on staying upright.

Down the stretch, I start to fade. The muscles in my core have endured a pretty serious workout, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult to muster the strength for my golf swing. It is no coincidence that my game starts to unravel, and I am on the way to one of my worst rounds in recent memory.

Walking off the 18th green, our foursome agrees that the Golfboards were fun — definitely worth trying — but that we probably wouldn’t ride them again. Call me a purist, but as someone lacking Laird Hamilton’s physical gifts, I’m happy to stick to just one sport at a time.

Your Reaction?
  • 106
  • LEGIT19
  • WOW0
  • LOL9
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK24

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: The QOD Electric Caddy

Published

on

If you want an electric golf caddy that doesn’t require that you wear a sensor or carry a remote — one that will be reliable and allow you to focus on your game, and not your cart — then the Australian-manufactured QOD is worth checking out.

The QOD (an acronym for Quality of Design and a nod to its four wheels) is powered by a 14.4-volt lithium battery, good for 36 holes or more on a single charge. It has nine different speeds (with the fastest settings moving closer to jogging velocity) so the QOD can handle your ideal pace, whether that be a casual stroll or a more rapid clip around the course.

The QOD is also built to last. Its injection-molded, aircraft-grade aluminum frame has no welded joints. Steel bolts and locking teeth take care of the hinging points. The battery and frame are both guaranteed for three full years. If you need a new battery after the three-year window, the folks at QOD will replace it at cost.

Its front-wheel suspension gives the QOD a smooth ride down the fairway, and the trolley is easy to navigate with a gentle nudge here and there. The QOD is always in free-wheel mode, so it is smooth and easy to maneuver manually in tight spaces and around the green.

The caddy also features three timed interval modes for situations where you might wish to send it up ahead on its own: when helping a friend find a lost ball or when you will be exiting on the far side of the green after putting, for example. The clip below includes a look at the caddy in timed mode.

When folded, the QOD measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall.

Another area where the QOD excels is in its small size and portability. When folded, it measures a mere 17-inches wide, 15-inches deep and 12-inches tall, making it the smallest electric caddy on the market.

Folks Down Under have been enjoying the QOD for some time, but it wasn’t until a few years ago when Malachi McGlone was looking for a way to continue walking the course without putting undue strain on an injured wrist that the QOD found U.S. fairways. After first becoming a satisfied customer, McGlone convinced CEO Collin Hiss, who developed the product and oversees its production in Australia, to allow him to distribute and service the QOD here in the states.

The QOD has no self-balancing gyroscope, bluetooth sensor or remote control. Bells and whistles just aren’t its thing — though it does have a USB port for cell phone charging that can come in handy. However, if you are looking for a no-fuss workhorse to move your bag down the fairway, the QOD should be on your radar.

The 2018 model has begun shipping and will be on sale at $1,299 for a limited time. It normally retails at $1,499.

Your Reaction?
  • 95
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending