Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Navigator by Dirty Larry Golf

Published

on

Pros: The Navigator offers immediate feedback on alignment. It’s compact, lightweight and attaches directly to any putter. At $60, it’s cheaper than most lessons and new putters.

Cons: Users must be careful not to bend the lightweight aluminum aiming arms.

Who’s it for: Golfers looking to aim their putter down the target line on a more consistent basis. It’s great for the putting green or the carpet at home.

The Review

It is said that a golfer’s putting stroke is as unique as their fingerprint. So while it’s true that most strokes can be classified into a few general categories (strong arc, slight arc, straight back/straight through), every golfer moves their putter from Point A to Point B a different way. This is where the Navigator looks to find its place, maximizing a golfer’s aim and accuracy on the green regardless of their stroke type or the putter they use.

There’s also a great back story about the development of the product, which you can read about here.

Here’s the company’s boastful video on how the Navigator works.

Designed to improve a golfer’s aim in 5 minutes or less, the Navigator succeeds, at least for myself, where many other training aids do not. The positive effects begin to take effect immediately, as promised.

In order to test the claims that the Navigator can improve a golfer’s stroke in 5 minutes, I set out to gather the data to prove, or disprove that statement. I used SAM Puttlab to test my aim and direction before and after using the Navigator. The putter used to gather the data was a Cleveland Classic 2, 35 inches long, with a 71 degree lie angle and 3 degrees of loft.

Before using the Navigator, my aim on average was 2.5 degrees open to my target. My variance ranged from 1.17 degrees open to as much as 3.43 degrees open, a difference of 2.26 degrees. While those numbers don’t initially sound too high, they’re not very good.

On a straight 10-foot putt, a ball that starts on a line that’s 2.4 degrees open to the target will miss the hole on the right by 4.63 inches. As a reference, the diameter of the hole is only 4.25 inches. That means the putt will be missed by more than one cup to the right.

aim before (2)

After using the Navigator, my aim was 0.1 degrees closed to my target on average, an an improvement of 2.6 degrees. My variance was -0.63 degrees closed to 0.28 degrees open, a total difference of 0.91 degrees. That was an improvement of 1.35 degrees.

aim after (2)

If you look at the two bars on the right side of the charts, you can see that my aim initially was in the 58th percentile while my consistency, or how close I was to aiming the same way each time, was in the 59th percentile.

After using the Navigator, my aim improved to the 95th percentile and my consistency improved to the 94th percentile.

A second effect that the Navigator had, above and beyond my aim, was on my club face alignment at impact. Before using the Navigator, my putter face was on average 0.8 degrees open at impact and my variance was -0.18 degrees closed to 1.92 degrees open, a total difference of 2.1 degrees. These numbers put me in the 71st percentile while my consistency was only in the 58th.

direction before (2)

After spending five minutes with the Navigator, my club face angle at impact, on average, was completely square and my range in club face angle was -0.46 degrees closed to 0.76 degrees open, a difference of 1.22 degrees. In this case, my face angle improved to the 88th percentile, and my consistency improved to the 91st percentile.

direction after (2)

The Takeaway

Dave Nastalski - IMG_9271

The Navigator produces immediate results, and at $60 it won’t break the bank. Its ready-to-use design allows golfers to go from setup to practice in just a few seconds, which sets it apart from its larger and more complicated counterparts.

In my experience, golfers are always more likely to use a training aid they can covertly slip in their bag. It’ll be there when they want it, and if their results are anything like mine they’ll want to practice with it a lot.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”https://www.dirtylarrygolf.com/” oemtext=”Learn more from Dirty Larry Golf” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UC3X83G/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00UC3X83G&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=EZQF64YLGACSIOY4″]

Your Reaction?
  • 587
  • LEGIT263
  • WOW159
  • LOL10
  • IDHT10
  • FLOP11
  • OB11
  • SHANK56

32 Comments

32 Comments

  1. Jay

    Mar 8, 2016 at 9:50 am

    Had mine for about a month and very pleased – high quality and easy to use. Can definitely see a difference in the 3-6 footers on the course

  2. Hanz Freidleberg

    Jan 12, 2016 at 6:15 pm

    I have used the Navigator during the last 6 months and it has definitely helped me reduce the amount of putting strokes when I play. I am sports neuroscientist and can vouch for The Puttlab Test.
    To keep things simple it is an innovative and very suitable ultra sound technology which is an effective tool to use to measure all aspects of a putting stroke with high precision and encourages successful motor learning and high repeatability that is seen on tour. There is definite value in the Test for multi disciplinary research in the science and psychology of putting. One of my colleagues mentioned it was even used to show results of a series of putts done on a putting robot (
    Dave Pelz’s “Perfy”).

    The Navigator is an extremely well thought out design aid for technical putters like myself.

    Congratulations on this product–it’s a winner.

  3. John Carpenter

    Jan 6, 2016 at 7:56 am

    Train Your Aim is the easiest and simplest way to help your putter face alignment. I have tried both Dirty Larry and Train Your Aim and they both work well….but TYA is much cheaper, weighs next to nothing, so not affecting your putter weight or stroke and can be kept in your pocket or bag. TYA is good for checking face alignment on all clubs.

  4. Jonathan

    Jan 6, 2016 at 1:04 am

    Tip for yall – just bought the Navigator on dirtylarrygolf.com for $49.95 using the code ONETIME and they shipped it for free.

  5. JOAN

    Jan 5, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    Sorry but 59.99 is wayyyyy overpriced. Ill go with the Putter Pointer. Theirs is made in the U.S.A also and its half the price. The navigators colors are tacky also and its to big for my taste.

  6. P3

    Jan 5, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    Looked at their website. They wanted 107 us for shipping to Sweden :-0. That must be one heavy training aid….

    • Dave

      Jan 5, 2016 at 5:37 pm

      Hi P3,

      Dave here with DLG. We offer a flat rate of $15 USD for all international shipments. The Navigator itself weighs 1.2 oz, and in the shipping box just under 8 oz total. Sorry for any confusion! If you have any questions or trouble feel free to shoot me a direct message.

      dnastalski@pga.com

  7. Joel

    Jan 5, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    What does this do that the line on the ball can not?

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:25 pm

      Hi Joel,

      The line on the ball acts as a sight, though not as pronounced as the Navigator. The real training comes from the alignment rods and what they do to increase visual awareness and acuity. We built the Navigator to train your eyes, and not to force any huge stroke changes. The benefits received from continued use will build confidence and improve your ability to aim the putter face where you want to, and return it to square at impact as noted by the SAM PuttLab study referenced above. If you can do that, you’re going to make a lot more putts.

      Let me know if I can answer any other questions!

      -Dave
      dnastalski@pga.com

  8. Joe

    Jan 5, 2016 at 11:39 am

    Putter Pointer is half the cost and built way better.
    http://www.theputterpointer.com

    • Don

      Jan 5, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      The Putter Pointer completely ripped off Dirty Larry Golf. Try the Navigator, it’s the ORIGINAL.

    • Carol

      Jan 5, 2016 at 4:32 pm

      Joe I took a look at your putter pointer and with the promo code discounts that Dirty Larry Golf has when you buy direct from them it’s about the same price by the time you apply your shipping fees. Plus the navigator is made in USA. I trust that level of quality!

  9. gregg

    Jan 5, 2016 at 10:00 am

    I have used Navigator and it has definitely created a sense of how square my putter is at impact. Several leading instructors in the world have also found it to be very effective as a tool to help their students–Tour pro’s and the average player.

    For all of you people who have bashed the product and have not used it as a training aid just keep 3 putting.

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:40 pm

      Hi Gregg,

      Thanks for the comments! We’re glad to hear the Navigator has helped your putting and look forward to hearing more of your success stories with the game!

      If I can help you in any way, please don’t hesitate to reach out.

      -Dave
      dnastalski@pga.com

  10. Richard

    Jan 4, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    The line on the putter does not extend far enough to do what the Navigator does as is evidenced by the results the writer of the review had. I bought one and it does what they say it does. After practicing with it, the benefits stay with you because it trained my eye to finally know what it looks like when the club face is square to the ball. Another benefit of having the aiming rod extend outward by about 6 inches, it shows you flaws in your stroke. I love this thing!!!!

  11. Will

    Jan 4, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    never mind, sorry

  12. Will

    Jan 4, 2016 at 12:44 pm

    What device or equipment did you use to compile the face angle data?

    • Dylan

      Jan 12, 2016 at 9:22 am

      ” I used SAM Puttlab to test my aim and direction before and after using the Navigator.”

      Hope that helps

      • Stanley

        Feb 9, 2016 at 9:31 pm

        Do you think the improvement came from practicing with the Navigator or simply making the adjustment after seeing the “before-Navigator” SAM Puttlab results and realizing that your clubface had been aligned way open?

  13. ron

    Jan 4, 2016 at 10:37 am

    Maybe I’m missing something (not trying to be facetious), but cant this lesson be thought by having a putter with a long alignment line? Say, like a Ping Ketsch? Then you can take your “alignment aid” along with you during your round.

    • Jack

      Jan 5, 2016 at 3:52 am

      exactly what I was thinking. I can see that line quite well with my putter.

    • Dave

      Jan 8, 2016 at 3:32 pm

      Hi Ron,

      The Navigator serves as a forward pointing sight in contrast to the native aiming lines of the putter head which are only ever found behind the face. We’ve found with our own testing, and subsequent SAM PuttLab testing, that having a pronounced forward pointing aiming rod improves the skill of starting the ball over a “spot” on your line. Some of the best putters in the world use spot putting — as trained by Dave Stockton, world renowned putting expert. Feel free to reference the following video for a little more info: https://vimeo.com/143163894

      Let me know if I can answer any other questions!

      -Dave
      dnastalski@pga.com

  14. Desmond

    Jan 4, 2016 at 9:04 am

    I would think the benefits go out the door unless you use it before each round. I’d rather go for the holistic treatment and just aim where I think I’m aiming from the get-go, and buy a putter with which I am straight.

  15. Chuck D

    Jan 3, 2016 at 10:07 pm

    Golf God’s help us! This looks like a Flamingo’s prosthetic device! Please stop the nonsense!

  16. west

    Jan 3, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I thought that alignment aid on the putter itself was enough for most?

    • Desmond

      Jan 4, 2016 at 2:51 pm

      Depends on what your brain-eye coordinate the shape of the putterhead, hosel/offset and sight lines

  17. Jeff

    Jan 3, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    I bought a few of these on their site as Christmas gifts after seeing them on ESPN (on sale for under 50 bucks + free shipping) and was super impressed by these guys. The packaging is awesome and the product really works. @Courtney, I considered TYA, but that thing looks like it comes out of a gumball machine. It also doesn’t have the adjustability factor that the Navigator does.

  18. Mat

    Jan 3, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    Stupid question, but what makes this illegal for in-game play exactly?

  19. Courtney

    Jan 3, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    Definitely slicker looking than the Train Your Aim, but come on…$60 plus shipping ? Train Your Aim is $10 plus shipping and there are no touchy aluminum pieces to keep straight. (not trying to Bogart the product and I don’t work for TYA – but $50 is significant)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending