Connect with us

Equipment

Review: Ben Hogan Ft. Worth 15 irons vs. Hogan irons of old

Published

on

Hogan irons

The Ben Hogan Company returned to the golf equipment business with the introduction of its Ft. Worth irons in January. We detailed the release at the time, and a bevy of reviews have populated the internet in the time since.

Let’s recap the Ft. Worth marketing literature and features.

The Ft. Worths (and TK Wedge) come in 44 loft options from 20 to 63 degrees. While it may take some getting used to, the company’s slogan, “precision is back,” is driven home by the arrangement.

The irons are forged from 1025 carbon steel and feature the V Sole design developed by company CEO Terry Koehler, which maximizes playability from any lie, according to the company, thanks to a high-bounce leading edge and lower-bounce sole.

Also visually apparent and a centerpiece feature of the irons: perimeter weighting.

Again, we wondered how the new Hogans would stack up against some of the great Hogan irons from the past 50 years. Further, we wondered how those irons compared to one another. How would, say, the Power Thrust iron of the early 60s compare to the 1999 Apex?

7

(L-R) Irons 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 listed below

The irons we tested

  1. Power Thrust (1962)
  2. Apex II (1979)
  3. Apex Redline (1988)
  4. Apex (1999)
  5. Ft Worth
3

From the Power Thrust (1962) to the Ft Worth (2015)

The lengths, lie, lofts were all within a degree of each other (30-31), standard length (37.50 inches – with the Power Thrust, despite being a 5 iron, 0.5-inches shorter) and standard lie of 60 degrees on all.

In our testing, conducted on an outdoor driving range with 5-10 mph of wind and using a TrackMan to record the data, the Ft. Worth irons were longer, generally higher flying, generally more precise, and at least as efficient as any other Hogan iron in terms of smash factor.

Conducting the testing, your intrepid writer and a pair of Class A PGA pros.

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 4.07.49 PMDispersion graphics

Screen Shot 2015-08-31 at 5.45.07 PM

David’s dispersion

Screen Shot 2015-08-31 at 5.44.47 PM

Jeff’s dispersion

Screen Shot 2015-08-31 at 5.44.36 PM

Ben’s dispersion

The Hogan Company also did its own testing using 15 golfers with club speeds from the mid-70s to the mid-90s. In all of the company’s tests, the Ft. Worth was either the longest or second-longest club.

For the single-digit handicapper, the club represents a modest improvement over the previous iron models. For the mid-handicapper, however, it’s a playable forged iron, as the data indicates.

4

The Ft. Worth possessed a more solid feeling strike and a significant amount of feedback, all while performing better than expected on off-center hits. Enthusiasts will definitely see and feel the similarities between the Ft. Worths and the most recent Hogan Apex. However, they’ll also likely see better performance on the launch monitor and plenty of workability on course.

The player will certainly feel any misses, but won’t get the hand-numbing sting of older blades. Good, solid sound, and soft feel on center strikes. Great turf interaction, especially on steeper swings (thanks V Sole).

5

There’s no doubt these clubs mark a step forward for the Hogan Company and open cast a wider net for potential players.

A forged blade iron may be a difficult sell in an environment where the best golfers in the world are playing multi-material clubs. However, if you’re a purist and/or a Hogan disciple, don’t hesitate to go through the HoganFit process.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”22″]

Your Reaction?
  • 216
  • LEGIT32
  • WOW24
  • LOL7
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB5
  • SHANK19

30 Comments

30 Comments

  1. iSeeClearly

    May 22, 2018 at 12:28 am

    “…an environment where the best golfers in the world are playing multi-material clubs.”
    …or an environment where the best golfers in the world are selling multi-material clubs. Ya think??!!!

  2. Panther73

    Sep 9, 2016 at 6:31 pm

    I would really like to find my first Hogan set, Apex II, Apex 5 shaft, 2-Pw Black filled Cameo. The one thing to change would be CC grooves, the original sets were V grooves, Hogan Balata balls had super thin covers. Same thing now with ball covers softer to match up with current groove regulations. Any ideas? Fly to Japan to Miura and recreate them?

  3. Billy Bondaruk

    Jan 15, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    I first played Hogan Irons in the 70’s in High School and jr. Golf. My dad was a state am champ and he played them… Every few years we would get a new set and I’d take his, until the apex set cam put….. We both played them and I had a great year playing so did he….. Last year I went the PGA Show, with out my Dad… He’s gone now….. But the feeling of hitting a Ben Hogan iron…. That Hogan Apex iron the one we bothe bought that year back in the 1980’s…. I found it at last years show, but it was better…. Much better and it was a shock that that was even possible. Couple that with the history and the hero that you loved thru life, his stories and jokes…. What the man stood up for in this game….. I bought two sets. The 21 degree iron my friends call it the sniper rifle. I have never had an easier 3 iron to hit….. You fell the speed off the face. Carve it anyway you want. And the tradition to keep lofts at least close to what they should be….. Com om Man…… Hogan was the a man that changed golf

  4. Dave

    Oct 20, 2015 at 2:44 am

    My first full set of irons was a used set of apex irons, with some powerbilt persimmons, some 30+ yrs ago. Looked great but not very forgiving. Still to this day at address, I like the look of a straight sole line and not too thick a top line.

  5. Peter Whitford

    Oct 8, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    I played Hogan Apex’s with a # 4 Hogan shaft–loved those blades. I had them refinished and restored 3 times–they finally wore out unfortunately. I am interested in these but they don’t have any shaft options to speak of. I now play Titleist 710 MB’s with a Project X 5.5 Shaft–I would switch to these in a heartbeat if they could put a decent shaft in them–KBS isn’t that great a shaft.

    • JP Sourdellia

      Oct 14, 2015 at 12:41 pm

      Peter – You can order your Ft. Worth 15 irons with the Project X 5.5 shaft, if that’s your preference. We offer a wide selection of custom shafts and I’m sure we can accommodate your needs. Please call our customer service line to speak with one of our experts. 844-53-HOGAN(46426)

  6. Walt Pendleton

    Oct 6, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    I have just three words to say about the new Hogan irons I just bought…smallest dispersion ratio! It’s all about the misses, gentlemen! We all create them.

  7. Mark

    Oct 5, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    Regardless of outcome, that is a timeless lineup. Pure class.

  8. Brian K

    Oct 5, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    Did each iron have the original stock shaft or reloaded with the same shaft? Wouldn’t the original shafts in power thrust, Apex II and Apex 88 be too worn and degraded to make and accurate comparsion?

  9. Carlos Danger

    Oct 5, 2015 at 11:12 am

    I have a set of the 89 Apex sitting in my office looking clean and pretty. I grew up with them and have always wished Hogan would make a comeback…so needless to say I was pretty excited to see the Ft Worth come out. I love the website process of building them out and of course they look beautiful.

    However, I think I will wait to order them until a cavity back or slightly larger iron head is released. At this point in my life, trying to hit a 4 iron blade is just not all that enticing. Im currently playing Adams CMBs (which are not terribly far off from a blade) so if Hogan releases something slightly bigger I dont think I could stop myself from ordering a mixed set.

    • John C

      Oct 5, 2015 at 9:54 pm

      You like Hogan.. Just get the Lofts that are 6 Iron and down.. Worth it.. Why wait if Hogan is your favorite..

      • Carlos Danger

        Oct 6, 2015 at 9:25 am

        to be clear…the thought of beautiful Hogan blades in my bag is my favorite. the reality of trying to hit a blade 4 iron consistently is another thing.

        Im sure they will expand and make a slightly bigger iron, by then I will be due for some new ones:)

  10. rex235

    Oct 5, 2015 at 3:09 am

    RH ONLY.

  11. barf

    Oct 4, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    Were the shafts standardized for this test? The shafts alone in the older clubs make the comparison lopsided.

  12. Jamie

    Oct 3, 2015 at 11:14 am

    You can really see the influence of SCOR clubs. I guess same owners!

  13. mhendon

    Oct 3, 2015 at 10:25 am

    I got to say that’s an extreme release cycle there. 17 years followed by 11 and 11

  14. birly-shirly

    Oct 2, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    Kudos for carrying out the test, but does it really mean anything? Ignore the scatter graphics, and what is the data saying?
    Smash factor – 2 out of 3 testers saw no advantage to the new club.
    Spin – 2 out of 3 testers got more spin from older clubs.
    Height – 2 out of 3 testers hit older clubs higher.
    Landing angle – all 3 testers had older clubs landing steeper.
    I’m not saying that proves the older clubs are better. I am asking what conclusions can you really draw from this? Is this a test of how the clubs perform, or the swings the testers made?

    • billm311

      Oct 4, 2015 at 8:02 pm

      I currently play with Hogan anniversary blades, dynamic gold shafts. I used the hogan demo pack to test the new irons head to head with mine. Though the lofts were not exact matches, the biggest difference for me was shaft used. I’d like to try them again with matching shaft and length of shaft. In the end, I did really enjoy the new club. Very clean look, slightly thicker and rounder than my current blades, but produced very nice results.

      In the end, I did not make the switch. My clubs are custom fit, so they feel perfect to me. A little extra forgiveness would be nice – for that reason, I am considering getting just 4, maybe 5 iron replacements with slightly different loft spacing.

      Well designed club if you are looking at forged blades, just make sure to get the right shaft for you!

      • HR

        Oct 5, 2015 at 12:45 am

        Well at $149 per club, it ain’t cheap. With no custom shaft options, it’s highway robbery

        • JP Sourdellia

          Oct 14, 2015 at 12:45 pm

          HR – We do offer a large selection of custom shafts. You can call one of our experts at 844-53-HOGAN(46426) to discuss what shaft options we offer. I’m sure we can accommodate your needs.

  15. cbails00

    Oct 2, 2015 at 5:25 pm

    I think this is a fantastic exercise and cool to see how Hogan compares to Hogan. I would be curious how the new Hogan Ft. Worth 15 irons would stand up in a similar test against the new multi-material irons – 716 AP2, new Apex Pro’s, TM PSi, Ping i Series etc. If the results were good for the Ft. Worth 15’s it might make them more appealing to purchase.

  16. Bogeypro

    Oct 2, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    I just feel that it is completely confusing to not put an iron number. I don’t want to have to remember the loft. Just say, 6 iron, not 31 or whatever it is…

  17. michael

    Oct 2, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    I play the apex ii plus and I love them had the lofts tweaked a bit due to my slower swing speed but they feel great. Love the feel of forged irons.

  18. Joe

    Oct 2, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    I play the Hogan Apex 1999 model, love them. Also, am selling a refinished Hogan Apex 1999 model in the classified.

    I much refer these to the current Apex by Callaway.

  19. RB

    Oct 2, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    The spreadsheet descriptions for the irons should match the descriptions at the start of the review. And in the same order. It’s quite confusing which Apex is which. Consistency would help.

    • Cliff

      Oct 2, 2015 at 3:17 pm

      it’s not THAT difficult to follow!

    • Rich

      Oct 2, 2015 at 9:28 pm

      I agree it should be more consistent at a glance. If you take a few minutes, you can figure out which one is which. Not very well done though in regards to ease of understanding.

  20. BS

    Oct 2, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    I see no similarities at all. That is BS

  21. Craigar

    Oct 2, 2015 at 11:51 am

    Just out of curiosity what were the differences in shafts as far as frequency?

  22. TR1PTIK

    Oct 2, 2015 at 11:22 am

    I learned how to play golf with an old set of blades, and prefer a more classic looking club despite my higher handicap. I’d love to give these irons a try sometime.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

New XXIO Prime woods, hybrids, and irons aim for lightweight power

Published

on

xxio-prime-feat

XXIO’s latest club offerings, XXIO Prime, looks to offer easy distance and easy accuracy for the moderate swing speed golfer, according to the company.

XXIO Prime woods

xxio-prime

XXIO Prime Woods feature a new re-designed hosel structure, and reduced stiffness at the tip of the driver shaft, which is designed to help moderate swing speed golfers to close the clubface through impact.

Forged from Super-TIX PLUS Titanium, the new cup face includes a sweet spot that is noticeably larger than previous designs, which aims to increase distance performance significantly. The Super-TIX PLUS Titanium Cup Face is thinner, lighter and stronger than previous additions, creating a maximum COR across the face, which aims to increase ball speed and distance.

According to Chuck Thiry, Vice President of XXIO USA

“The speed increases, higher launch angles, and draw bias of the new Prime will show immediate results from swing one. It’s legit lightweight power for the players that absolutely need it the most.”

Featured in the XXIO prime woods is the SP-1000 shaft, with TORAYCA T1100G carbon fiber and NANOALLOY resin, which creates a strong but lightweight club. Along with the lightness in the shaft, XXIO has made weight savings in the grip and club head, which aims to produce woods that are both fast and easy to swing.

The XXIO Prime woods feature an expanded toe and narrowed heel, a tungsten-nickel inner weight that is low and deep, a lighter hosel repositioned closer to the center of the face, and reduced stiffness at the tip of the shaft, all with the aim of offering golfers with maximum forgiveness from their woods.

The XXIO Prime woods will be available from March 1 and will cost $579,99.

XXIO Prime hybrids and irons

The new XXIO Prime hybrids feature an expanded COR and a lower center of gravity, which is designed to increase distance and ball speed while delivering a straighter ball flight.

The hybrids from XXIO contain a Forged Maraging Steel Cup Face which includes a large sweet spot which aims to increase distance performance.

Just as with the woods, the XXIO irons also feature the Super-TIX PLUS Titanium Cup Face, though along with this, they also contain a CNC milled speed groove, which significantly increases the COR, creating a larger sweet spot, designed to provide greater distance, ball speed and accuracy.

Both the hybrids and irons include the SP-1000 Shaft, with TORAYCA T1100G carbon fiber and NANOALLOY resin. The hybrids and irons also feature weight savings in the grip and club head, with the aim of increasing swing speed.

With an expanded toe and narrowed heel, plus a crown step that moves weight low and deep, XXIO claim that this is their most forgiving suite of Prime hybrids. While with two high-density tungsten nickel sole weights and an overall profile that is 3mm shorter than the previous model, the company also claims to have created their most forgiving irons yet.

Speaking on the new XXIO Prime series, Chuck Thiry stated

“XXIO Prime is, quite frankly, the most unique and beneficial product ever available to moderate swing speed players. Period. People might think that is marketing hype, but they simply haven’t hit Prime yet.”

Both the XXIO Prime hybrids and irons will hit retail stores on March 1. The Prime hybrids will cost $379.99, while a single graphite iron will be available for $259.99.

 

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 14
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK11

Continue Reading

Equipment

SPOTTED: 2019 Mitsubishi shafts

Published

on

2019-mitsubishi-diamana-shafts

The Diamana shaft line from Mitsubishi Chemical is probably one of the most iconic in the sport. Released in 2005, Blueboard, Whiteboard, and Redboard, were the first generation of shafts.

Photos of the full fourth generation Diamana lineup, offering new materials and technology, along with new names, have surfaced in the GolfWRX forums. Like previous generations, each color shaft offers different ball flight and spin characteristics.

“RF” is the highest launching and spinning in the Diamana line, offering high launch and mid spin, while the “BF” is the mid-launch and mid/low-spin model. Finally, the “DF” is mid/low-launching and the lowest-spinning shaft in the lineup.

All of the fourth generation Diamana shafts use updated technologies and materials that you would expect from a premium lineup. DIALEAD pitch fiber is helps reduce shaft deformation, while still producing exceptional energy transfer.

Each shaft contains MR70 carbon fiber that is 20 percent stronger than conventional materials and Boron fiber for its compression strength and shaft reinforcement. ION plating has been done before in the Diamana line, in vacuum chambers — silver alloy ions are bonded to the shaft to give it a chrome-like finish that can’t be replicated by paint.

See what GolfWRX Members are saying in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 49
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

Equipment

SPOTTED: 2019 Aldila shafts

Published

on

aldila-2019-shafts

With the beginning of the PGA Tour’s West Coast swing on now, we are really starting to see more 2019 gear work it way onto tour trucks, and onto the range for player testing…and into our forums (in picture format, at least).

Some of the most recently spotted pieces are the 2019 Aldila ATX shafts, including what appears to be an 85g hybrid shaft and a 120g iron shaft.

aldila-2019-shafts

We can only speculate that the hybrid is a low launch shaft — based on the PGA  Tour testing being done, but this could be a shaft more suited for the growing popularity of the driving iron category vs. wood-like hybrids in the previous couple of seasons.

The 120g iron shaft has a lot of people talking, since Aldila has leaked some information in our picture thread

“It utilizes a custom prepreg made at our facility in Poway that features a “Metal Mesh” material that is combined with Carbon Fiber to help add stability and weight in the irons.”

aldila-metal-mesh

By using this custom material, Aldila could be solving the common problem that a lot of people have with graphite, and that is the club total weight — although in this case 120g is similar to a lot of steel iron shafts already being used on Tour. As prototyping goes, this material could be put to use in lighter versions of the shaft and have a greater benefit in the sub-100g category — if they plan on going that route.

For the drivers, if previous versions and colorways are any indication, it looks like we will have some new technology packed into popular bend profiles like the NV (Green) and the VS (Blue).  As some members on the forums have already discussed, these shafts will be utilizing graphene (an extremely strong carbon material) for additional stability. 

We also have new Rogue 130 MSI models following along similar lines with both a black and silver.

Here’s some additional information from Aldila

“Building off of the success of the ROGUE® Limited Edition – which featured 125 M.S.I. Graphitic Carbon Fiber, we have taken ROGUE® to performance to another level by incorporating even stronger 130 M.S.I. Graphitic Carbon Fiber. The ROGUE® Silver 130 M.S.I. is a low-launch, low-spin shaft with a low torque tip-section fortified with 130 M.S.I. Graphitic Carbon Fiber, a higher balance point, and a premium ion plated finish.”

Join the discussion in our forums

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending