Connect with us

Reviews

Review: DST Compressor training aid

Published

on

Pros: The DST Compressor has a significant shaft bend that places golfers in position at address and impact that encourages a delayed strike. This can help golfers improve ball compression for more distance and accuracy.

Cons: Do you really need more of a delayed strike? Golfers will need to answer that question before purchase.

Who’s it for? Golfers looking to create more of a delayed strike at impact.

What does the bent shaft accomplish?

The notion of a delayed strike is misunderstood by most golfers. Even the most talented players can have a misconception of what it feels like and whether they actually do it.

post-123025-0-30597800-1412627414_thumb

As top instructor Adam Young says in a recent piece, the pursuit of a delayed strike or “lag” for golfers with slower club head speeds may even be quite damaging to proper ball height and trajectory.

That being said, a delayed strike has been proven to help many golfers hit better shots, and a training club such as the DST Compressor can help them do that in lieu or in addition to golf lessons. The training aid can teach golfers what a delayed strike is, how it feels and the manner in which they might adjust their swing to incorporate it into their games.

The Review

DST stands for Delayed Strike Technology. In truth, we read about the delayed strike, lag and shaft lean in nearly every golf publication in print or on the web. We hear about it in most golf telecasts we watch. And yet the majority of golfers are unwitting proponents of the early release-and-scoop method that has frustrated golfers for centuries.

dst curved training aid

By releasing early, golfers add loft to the club at impact. Hoping to help the ball into the air (help it doesn’t need, thanks to the actual loft of each club), the golfer breaks the leading wrist early, causing the ball to fly weakly. Sometimes this is desired, as in flop shots around the green, but for the majority of shots some amount of delayed strike is encouraged.

post-123025-0-65620000-1412627439_thumb

It is incumbent upon the purchaser to visit this page and watch this video. The reason is simple: If one does not align the club grip with the front leg, the proper impact position will not be achieved. On my first attempt with the DST Compressor Warm-Up wedge and 8-iron I went out cold, put my hands/the grip in my usual position and wondered, “What’s the big deal?”

dst training aid

The second outing took place after I had wised up and watched the video. Not only were my shots with the DST clubs better (read, compressed with that sizzle you want from your swings), but my transition to my usual wedge and 8-iron was near flawless. I amazed myself by hitting baby draws with both clubs, with precisely the movement and at the trajectories I sought. The good vibes carried through the entire set; I gained confidence in my 5-iron, hybrid, 3-metal off the deck and driver. Simple, really.

I’d say that my swing speeds are at the bottom end of the chart for those in search of lag. I get to about 97 mph with my driver and 87 mph or so with my irons. I’m 50 years old and in above-average physical shape. These numbers make me the proper litmus test for a training aid of this ilk.

69533f661c969b474a6b983733d61115-640x426

GolfWRX has spotted multiple touring pros with DST Compressor irons and wedges in their bag.

To summarize, there are three points that affirm the validity of the DST Compressor as a golf training aid that delivers what it promises:

  1. You must assume the proper position at address. Any concavity of the lead wrist will negate the effects of the club.
  2. Your swing, particularly your hand action, will shift naturally to accommodate the curved shaft. Don’t do anything consciously unless your teaching pro offers a suggestion.
  3. Know that the ball will fly the proper distance for each training club (wedge or 8-iron). You can gauge trajectory as well.

DST makes another line with a less curved shaft; the CR-10 transition club. I did not test this club, but this second, straight-shafted club has only 10 degrees of shaft lean, effected in the hosel. The CR-10 clubs constitute step two in the DST training sequence and they also come with a video.

golf training aid

All of the clubs are available in RH, LH and junior models. They each retail for $100, so the financial commitment is similar to buying a new wedge.

The Takeaway

Take video of yourself from the side, slow it down and determine if you are releasing early or if you are lagging the proper amount for your swing and physique. If you are releasing early and wish to learn how to delay the hit to a proper, professional place, you can do so with DST. If you don’t know the difference, go see a pro and have her/him take on the task.

As DST says in its own video, only you or a trusted instructor can tell if this club will help your game.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”47″]

Your Reaction?
  • 106
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW3
  • LOL3
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP8
  • OB0
  • SHANK18

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

28 Comments

28 Comments

  1. Jon Dohnson

    Sep 2, 2015 at 3:47 pm

    No longer, will I be ashamed to have a curved shaft. Thanks DST!

  2. Stretch

    Sep 1, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    Ping had a forged iron made that had a shaft with a bend just below the grip. USGA declared them illegal. Made in 67 or 68.

  3. Just one?

    Sep 1, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    If you only got one, would you recommend the wedge or the 8-iron?

    • Andy

      Sep 1, 2015 at 2:32 pm

      8-iron. Some people aren’t a fan of the wedge because it promotes too much shaft lean for such a short club. Also, the 8-iron is more applicable to the rest of clubs in your bag.

  4. marcel

    Aug 31, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    pile of ^%#$%$ what the…!!! so instead of getting normal coach and hitting gym… an average Joey golfer gets completely ^%$%$e by bent shaft… aren’t US citizen suing car makers for not turning off their car engines too?

  5. Andy

    Aug 31, 2015 at 6:04 pm

    I bought one and am pretty happy so far (8 iron).. It really forces you to swing from the inside and keep you hands in front of the ball at impact. If you come over the top or have an early extension, you will shank or thin it with this club. It only takes a couple swings to get yourself back in the right swing pattern, and the swing transitions back to your other clubs which makes its worth it.

  6. Mark

    Aug 30, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    The DST is the real deal! Use coupon code “ruhga305” for a 10% discount at dstgolf.com. Play well!

  7. Chris

    Aug 30, 2015 at 3:30 pm

    I have hit these and they do work well. At first look, I didn’t think it was possible to hit the ball, but was surprised how it forces you to be in the correct position at impact. They work great and I would recommend them.

  8. Bo Didly

    Aug 30, 2015 at 1:01 pm

    I have a strong feeling that, club manufacturers may start making clubs with shafts like this through the entire set. If the shaft helps teach the proper swing release then why wouldn’t it work in all your clubs to play with all the time. Why wouldn’t we all want this built in advantage? How does it differ from the built in advantages of tungsten, titanium, Slots, Boron, Cavity with perimeter weighting….etc….etc…

    • Jacob Nelson

      Aug 30, 2015 at 5:19 pm

      “The shaft must be straight from the top of the grip to a point not more than 5 inches (127 mm) above the sole, measured from the point where the shaft ceases to be straight along the axis of the bent part of the shaft and/or socket.” Straight from the rules of golf.
      It is illegal to play with a bent club.

    • Dave S

      Sep 3, 2015 at 11:21 am

      Also, I’m not sure the average golfer wants their slight mis-hits to end up as s*anks or dribblers. At lease with normal irons, if you cast a little, there’s still a decent chance you’ll make OK contact and send the ball in the vicinity of the target.

  9. Jamie

    Aug 29, 2015 at 11:34 pm

    To me, this just looks like a knock off of the Tour Striker…

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 30, 2015 at 8:30 am

      Jamie,

      At first blush, you would be correct. The curved shaft and the full iron head are what make the physical difference. The intent may be the same, but I cannot speak to that insinuation. If one or both teach you to compress the ball, then golfers win.

      Thanks for your comment. Keep on contributing.

      RM

    • Rich

      Aug 31, 2015 at 12:43 pm

      Jamie,
      just to give you some information. The difference between the Tour Striker and the DST Compressor is that the Tour Striker only helps with the angle of attack and leaning the shaft forward at impact. The Tour Striker can be cheated by just hitting down on the ball. this does not mean that your swing is better, it just means that you chopped down on the ball (you could be hitting a big slice)The DST Compressor club helps the players create the feel for the proper impact position (hands ahead of the line of tension) and it teaches the players how to properly pivot both their body and arms through impact. The DST Compressor club cannot be cheated. You either keep your hands ahead of the line of tension and pivot properly with your arms and body, or the error in your swing gets exaggerated. Both the Tour Striker and the DST Compressor clubs are great training tools, I would just say that the DST clubs offer more feedback and feel to help your overall swing. Thank you. Rich

  10. Golfraven

    Aug 29, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    Was actually considering to order the 8-iron version in last weeks now. Think its a good training tool for years to come.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 30, 2015 at 8:29 am

      I think back to Jack Nicklaus’ story of how he would go to Jack Grout every winter and say “Mr. Grout, teach me the golf swing,” returning to the basics each time. I equate this club with that notion. This club reminds you what you have to do and is an excellent tool for off-season improvement or beginning-of-season return to the basics.

  11. Clarence

    Aug 29, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    Been looking at these for a while, very popular with some euro tour players as a warm up tool.

    My pro has me hit 8 irons off the back foot as a muscle memory thing so after reading the article, definitely think it could help.

  12. Ronald Montesano

    Aug 29, 2015 at 12:00 pm

    That’s kind of you, but I can’t say that I agree. Other thoughts?

  13. Tom Duckworth

    Aug 29, 2015 at 11:24 am

    This seems to me to be a tool to teach golfers to stop an early release. If you make your focus on setting the wrists and then just dropping your arms into position and not throwing the club head you should be able to learn this. Too many times we get into a hurry to HIT!!!! that ball.
    Not saying it’s a bad tool just saying to stop and think about what makes us hit that bad shot in the first place.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 29, 2015 at 11:58 am

      Tom,

      You are correct. Some folks need the physical reminder. I found that it helped me to avoid that early release. I actually pulled it out during a few fun rounds and had some laughs. My partners watched me with wedge or 8-iron and finally asked, “What the hell did you do to your shaft?” This was after I had hit the shot onto the green!!

  14. Christestrogen

    Aug 29, 2015 at 10:55 am

    Will it work with nails?!?!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Aug 29, 2015 at 11:59 am

      I don’t follow. Finger nails? Metals for hammers?

      • Nathan

        Aug 30, 2015 at 12:52 am

        Ron,

        You clearly do not read this website if you don’t get the joke…

        • Ronald Montesano

          Aug 30, 2015 at 8:27 am

          Thanks, Nathan. Clearly I don’t read all that I need to read. Could you enlighten me?

          • Nathan

            Aug 30, 2015 at 10:09 pm

            Search function of this website. Type the word ‘nail’. First 3 search results. 3 articles that were (rightfully) criticized suggested imaging driving a nail through the ball to improve ones swing.

            This training aid…’will it work with nails?!?!’

            • ooffa

              Sep 1, 2015 at 8:27 am

              ya, if ya gotta explain it then it’s not funny. BTW, it wasn’t funny, but thanks for playing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

GolfWRX Spotlight: Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro hybrid

Published

on

Hybrids, for many of us, are one of the clubs that don’t get replaced very often. Once we find one that we can confidently hit in pressure situations, it stays in the bag for as long as possible.

I am exactly one of those players as my hybrid has been in the bag since 2015 and has the paint chips and embedded dirt to prove it. That club has been my crutch to lean on when I couldn’t hit anything else straight off the tee, needed to hit the green on a long par 3, or go for the green in two on a par 5.

I wasn’t really looking for a new one when the Exotics EXS Pro showed up at my door, but the shape grabbed my attention, and I had to give it a try.

Tour Edge just announced the Exotics EXS Pro line of woods and they are “from the tour van” with tour-inspired shapes and performance. You can read the whole launch story we did HERE and also read about the new fairway woods.

The EXS Pro hybrid is smaller and has a deeper face than its EXS 220 sibling, giving it a look that better players look for. The shape is initially what got me, as it isn’t a tiny hybrid like we have seen with some other “tour” versions, but it isn’t too large either. The head is also a little more rounded overall, without a sharp toe or other lines. As I am one to hit my hybrid off the tee a good amount, the deep face was welcome—while it isn’t so deep that you can’t hit it off a tight fairway lie. The moveable weights in the sole allow you to adjust the head in order to make it an “anti-left” club that many better players fear.

On the course, I really felt comfortable with the EXS Pro right away. The first shot came off the face feeling hot thanks to the Beta Ti Face that is brazed onto the stainless steel body. The ball speed is really fast and the shot shape was flatter than my previous hybrid setup. If you are a high ball hitter and have a hard time with hybrids, the EXS Pro should be on your shortlist of new ones to try. Better players are going to love being able to flight the ball for windy conditions. Distance is of course fantastic, but it is repeatable and consistent.

The EXS Pro is a little longer than my previous hybrid, but still fitting into the distance that I require. Tour Edge didn’t just make the club longer to add distance, the lofts are pretty standard as the 19-degree I have is only 40.25” long and has a lie angle of 57.25 degrees. Dialing in the EXS Pro should be no problem since they make six lofts between 16 to 22 degrees to fit your gapping needs.

Over the past two weeks, I have found that this EXS Pro does remove the left side of the course. Tour Edge claims it is an anti-left hybrid, and so far I have found that to be nothing short of the truth. Shots are slightly fade biased with the heavier weight in the toe, but you can still easily turn it over and hit it straight. Tight lies or fairly deep rough are no problem with the compact shape and Slipstream sole, making it versatile all over the course. I

like the deeper face for hitting if off the tee and shots where the ball is sitting up in the rough. That deep face just gives me a little more confidence that if I get a little steep with my swing I will still be able to save a decent shot.

My only real complaint is that the EXS Pro’s Slipstream sole collects some dirt, and you have to grab a tee to clean it out, but really nothing that should stop anyone from putting this in their bag.

Overall The Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro is an anti-left hybrid that is built for better players. What is might not have in total forgiveness it makes up for in lower launch, great distance, and its fade bias. If you have been struggling to find a hybrid to fit your game, the Tour Edge Exotics EXS Pro could be your answer.

Your Reaction?
  • 67
  • LEGIT14
  • WOW6
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

GolfWRX Spotlight: Crossrope weighted jump rope & app

Published

on

An 18-hole round of golf averages out to just under five miles of walking, which on its own is a good workout. Once you throw in some potential uphill trekking you get some serious cardio too, but if you all looking for a quick workout between rounds of golf look no further than Crossrope.

Crossrope – The details

Crossrope is a system of the weighted jump rope that allows you to quickly switch the weight of the ropes you are using to boost your workout—they range from 1/4 lbs all the way up to 2 lbs depending on the kit you start out with. There is an accompanying app that helps you go through multiple workout routines and is available free, or you can upgrade to the entire library of workout routines along with more workout tracking options.

This is NOT your middle school jump rope

The handles are heavy duty and feature precision bearings to allow the rope to move smoothly around as you go through a routine. They are also ergonomic and fit into your hand naturally, which making gripping easy, something that is really nice when you’re swinging a 2 lbs coated steel cable around. The handles also come with a fast clip system to make changing cables depending on your selected workout easier too.

The ropes themselves are made from braided steel and are almost impossible to tangle, allowing them to be easily transported and stored when not in use. All in you are getting a premium piece of workout equipment that is effective and easy to store—hard to same the same thing about a treadmill.

When it comes to a workout, skipping rope is one of the most effective cardio workouts you can do, and with Crossrope, you can get both cardio and low impact weight training when using the heaviest ropes, and follow along with the guided workouts.

As someone that hadn’t used a jump rope in over a decade, starting out lighter was a nice way to ease in before moving up, and I was pleasantly surprised how easy and fun some of the workouts in the app were. If you are looking for a fun way to add something to your workouts, or you just want to try something new to get you into golf course walking shape, this could be right up your alley. To learn more check out crossrope.com

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

TaylorMade SIM and SIM Max driver review

Published

on

New for 2020, TaylorMade has launched the new SIM driver family. First the lower spinning SIM then a more forgiving higher spinning SIM Max and a SIM Max D head to help draw the ball for those that need it.

We have seen the tour players using all three of the SIM drivers.

Technical Details

The SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers from TaylorMade feature an asymmetric sole shape as well as a redesigned Inertia Generator. The asymmetric sole shape of the drivers is designed to reduce drag while providing faster clubhead speed, with the redesigned Inertia Generator redistributing weight at the very low-and-back portion of the club in a bid to provide improved forgiveness.

The SIM Max D clubhead contains a heel-bias internal weight with a topline masking to make the clubhead look more open at address to help golfers who struggle with a right-miss.

Other features of the SIM, SIM Max, and SIM Max D drivers includes a speed injected twist face, inverted cone technology, a thru-slot speed pocket, multi-material construction and an adjustable loft sleeve.

Exclusive to the SIM driver is sliding weight technology which allows face angle and flight bias preferences of up to +/-2° loft change and up to +/-20 yards of draw-fade bias.

(Top Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM Max & 2019 TM M6, (Bottom Left to Right) 2020 TM SIM & 2019 TM M5

Reviews

Here are the individual reviews from GolfWRXers’ trip to The Kingdom.

Tester: Rob “osubuckeyes691

I’ll start by saying this. SIM is very good. It’s not a magical 30 yards like everyone is talking about here. That comes from being properly fit. But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have.

My current set up is a Callaway Epic Flash SZ Double Diamond with a Fuji Ventus Black 6x. LOW LOW LOW combo…and I still hit it high haha. I live in the low to mid 170s ball speed with spin sometimes getting up to 2700 2800. Drives I hit well, spin around 2100. My miss is a big push slice.

But it is good, and with a proper fitting I’d be shocked if you couldn’t find at least slightly better numbers with SIM over any gamer you have. -Rob

I ended up being fit in to a SIM 9* with the new KBS Tour Driven 70 Category 5. This shaft is super interesting. It’s really hard for me to describe but it has feel, and a lot of it. Spin dropped to about 2400 on my miss right and really, that’s what I was hoping would happen. I wanted something that when I missed, wouldn’t lose me 30 yards. We put the weight in the heel and it really did help straighten out the miss. Huge advantage for me. I knew as someone who swings 120ish I wasn’t going to pick up 20 yards. I wanted to reduce my miss and that’s exactly what SIM was able to do for me.  Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Will “fillwelix

For my driver fitting, I was with Perry, who was a blast to get to work with. I started by hitting my gamer on Trackman, talking with Perry about what my misses usually are, and what I wanted to get out of the fitting.

I usually don’t have a problem with distance so I told him the biggest thing I was looking for was a tighter dispersion. I don’t have the trackman numbers yet but with my gamer, I was averaging about 110 club head speed, 160-something ball speed, 270-275 carry, 285-290 total. Launching a bit too high but spin was okay.

The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. -Will

We tried the 10.5 SIM in a Ventus Black 6x, and he gave me a couple tips in my setup, because my AOA was something like 4 or 5 degrees up. The thing was seriously nuclear. My club head speed bumped up only about 1 or 2 MPH, but the launch and spin were incredible, as well as ball speed. I topped out at 170 ball speed, which I had never gotten before. Carrying 295-300, total of 315-320. One shot carried the fence of the driving range at The Kingdom.

Spent some time going through different shafts to see if there was an improvement, played with weights, etc. but the best numbers were with the 10.5 SIM with Ventus Black 6x and the weight all the way in the toe, because my miss is usually left. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: Nick “n_rones

I started off with my fittings working with Joe. After some warmup we started with the drivers. Coming in I was playing a Srixon Z785 with a Hzrdus black 6.5 70 gram shaft at 45 inches.

I’m a really tough fit because I have an unusual swing and hit down on the ball heavily with every club. My AOA with the driver was between 5 and 7 down which is pretty nuts I always knew I hit down on it but not that much. I’m still waiting on the trackman date to be emailed to me but with my own driver I was somewhere in the neighborhood of 109 swing speed with a launch angle of 4 degrees and 4000 spin (Ridiculous I know right).

I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. -Nick

His main goal for me was to get launch up and spin down. The first club he handed me was the Sim 10.5 turned up to 11.25 with a Graphite design IZ 7x. Instantly my launch angle increased and spin dropped. We then went through a few other shafts like graphite design ad di 7x. We came back to the IZ and with a quick change in tee height we ended up where we wanted. We knew with my angle of attack we were never going to get me to super low spin and high launch we just wanted to get it to a manageable number.

By the end of the fit I was hitting the sim with the iz under 3k spin with a couple down at 2500 and 9 degree launch increasing my carry from the 244 range up to the 260-265 range on good swings and we neutralized my cut massively. I was fortunate enough to finish my fit while other guys were still busy so we went right into the build shop and he built me my driver on the spot and gave me a super cool kingdom exclusive headcover. I was able to take it on the course with me that afternoon and hit 12-14 fairways a new record for me and ever ball was easily 15-20 yards longer than I was used to. Most of that is me never being through a proper fitting before but a big factor was I was able to get into the sim head with high loft but it was a great spin killing head for me. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Tester: “jimbonecrusher”

I am one that gained a good bit of ball speed from getting fit for the SIM driver. My gamer is a Titleist 915D3 9.5* with a Rogue Silver 70X. I wasn’t fit for the driver as I just bought the parts off of the BST. I always felt that I lost yardage due to high spin. The Trackman didn’t lie as I was getting 166mph ball speed and 3000 rpm of spin on well-struck shots. Where this posed a problem was when I was off-center, the ball would be a high right spinner that would lose a lot of distance. 

Where I saw great gains was in dispersion. TwistFace just flat out works. Toe shots came back to closer to center, and heal shots faded right back towards center. I also didn’t lose as much yardage. I did pick up about five mph in ball speed. There are a plethora of reasons for this gain and the resulting 20 yard gain in ball flight.

Some could attribute the gain to almost 30 feet of height in ball flight. It could also be because there was 300 less RPM, or over a degree increase in launch angle. Either way, it has proven to me that getting fit by a knowledgeable fitter is crucial. This is the first time that I have been fit for a driver. All the expectations of mine going into this fitting have been met.

The SIM is forgiving. The SIM is aerodynamically superior to what I have been playing. The SIM just flat out performs for me because it doesn’t balloon, it is forgiving on mishits with good direction and ball speed, and it reduced my spin rate. – 

The sounds of the SIM line is amazing. The solid “thwack” sound it makes at contact is extremely welcoming. Gone are the days of high pitched aluminum baseball bat sounds. Now, some sounds just sound perfect to me. Johnny Wunder posted a video on Instagram of me hitting a driver, and you can hear the sound. Here is a link to his post in the forums.

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT8
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending