Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Tiger Woods New Shoe- Nike FREE Review

Published

on

Editor Review by Richard 6/30/12
Inspired TW ‘13 shoes


Pros:
Got to have them if you watch a lot if golf and look to Tiger for a win. What Tiger plays many want to have. He wears these shoes therefore many will to. Ohhh- they are comfortable and Nike makes great shoes by the way.

Cons: Some just cant go there. Athletic shoes are very new for many of the old school golfers.

Overall: Fun and fresh. These shoes are hot as hot right now. All the rage and cutting edge styling. The athletic look is very trendy right now and Tiger can move a needle. First couple of rounds wearing the shoes you will feel some break in but we are waiting to see that disappear.

_______________________________________________________________

Full Review: After receiving the shoes days before the US Open we were excited. Tiger had just posted a win in the same shoe at the Memorial and every Tiger fan was hot to trot to find their own pair of Nike Free’s.

Click here to see more pics and read the discussion in the forums

They do look very unique. The soles are odd looking and seem to have been brought back from the future. First looks they appear to be wide and will provide a good foundation to hit from.

I play to a 4 handicap and wear typically traditional shoes. I put these on and went to the course. Bright white I felt like that guy in “Friends” that bleached his teeth 10x to much and went out at night. But as I got to the course nobody noticed but me.

The fit right out of the box didn’t feel great. The tongue and toe areas were either pressing or binding a little. Another golfer and friend thought they were a 1/2 size to small. As the day went on though I found those conditions were starting to loosing up the the shoe started to meld together with my foot.

Performance was fine. I was able to get great stability firing through the swing. I was nervous the sole would be to mushy and soft to stabilize as I started the down swing. I have tried to play in running shoes before and the soft sole gives to much to hold up.

Nike claims a lot of technology that I cant begin to understand. As a golfer I am interested in looks, performance and comfort is a must. No cruel shoes for me.

I added a press release below and a tech video that explains more.

In closing great shoe if you like the style. I say get used to it because these designs in WRX opinion are here to stay. In 5 years we predict there will be more of these type designs that a dress shoe look.

Click here to see more pics and read the discussion in the forums

______________________________________________________

Press release and more tech information:

 

Nike Golf’s relentless pursuit of innovation continues to deliver technology that makes golfers better. Proof positive is the creation of one of the most talked about golf shoes in the industry, the new Nike TW ‘13, inspired by Nike FREE technology.


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

Tiger Woods began the marketplace buzz when he debuted the prototypes on Tour last summer. The distinctive shoes will now be available to consumers starting June 8, 2012.

The inspiration behind the Nike TW ‘13 footwear began with Woods himself. He asked for a shoe that gave him the performance fit and feel as his Nike FREE shoes when he runs and trains. That question ignited collaboration between Woods, Nike Golf’s footwear creation team and Nike’s Innovation Kitchen, led by Tobie Hatfield.

“I train with Nike FREE technology all the time,” said Woods. “I love training in it, running in it, lifting in it. So I asked, why can’t I play golf in it?”

After Woods shared his insights, Nike’s footwear team immediately went to work. The result is an iconic shoe with Nike’s natural motion engineered outsole, inspired by Nike FREE technology.

“Now my feet are stronger and I feel more athletic,” said Woods. “These shoes provide freedom of movement and allow me to release more power through my swing.”


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

To view the Nike FREE-Inspired TW ’13 commercial, click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4wGVv-d0d8

The natural motion engineered outsole is designed to mimic and conform to the natural motion of the foot, coupled with the protection and traction of a lightweight performance golf shoe. This innovative outsole allows the athlete to keep contact with the ground longer, better harnessing the energy of the foot to the shoe and, therefore, the shoe to the ground.

“An athlete trains every other part of their body, except maybe their foot,” said Hatfield. “Natural motion technology helps increase the strength of the muscles and flexibility within the foot. It brings out the human potential for each athlete.”

The Nike TW ’13 also features the new Nike Dynamic Fit support system. Targeted support delivers unprecedented strength-to-weight ratio and one-to-one fitted support. Flywire-infused nylon straps extend 360° from the footbed to the lacing system, securing the foot for an adaptive fit that provides golfers stability with mobility.

To ensure that the TW ’13 upper moves in concert with the Dynamic Fit system, designers turned to Nike’s Innovation Kitchen to source the multidirectional stretch synthetic available in Tiger’s signature colors of White or Black with Red accents.


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

Available June 8, 2012
MSRP: $220 MAP/Street Price: $180
Available Colors: White or Black

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

14 Comments

14 Comments

  1. Jariel G. Espinosa

    Feb 4, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    i really love this Tiger Woods New Shoe- Nike, haha i got this for only $20 haha

  2. power wheels cars

    Dec 6, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    I’ve a project that I’m just now working
    on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  3. cheap nike free run shoes

    May 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before end I am reading this enormous article to improve my experience.

  4. qsilodifjlcz

    Mar 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    jtevrbydyuxk

  5. Fred

    Mar 28, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    I generally find NIKE shoes to be way too narrow for my foot. It doesn’t matter how much tech goes into the design if the shoe pinches the side of your foot. They do look nice however. I saw some pictures of a green and white version Tiger is going to use at the Masters and I would love to try those out.

  6. Mossdale

    Mar 25, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I am ‘old school’ but bought a pair of these having read reviews. THE most comfortable shoes I have worn, especially straight out of the box. Excellent grip and stability. Normally suffer with sore feet after 18 holes but not after wearing these. Mild concern about sizing issues after reading some customer feedback and opted for half size bigger. I don’t think size is an issue though. It is not often that I can’t wait to wear these shoes again.

    • jason

      May 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

      the shoes i wear normally r 9/9.5 ,these shoes i wear a size ten and they feel so good im thinking about wearing them to work,,,,so be sure to try some on if u plan on ordering on line

  7. sabres13

    Aug 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I love these shoes. In my opinion Nike makes the most comfortable golf shoes. These are very comfortable and definitely support much higher on my foot than any of my previous pairs of Nikes. They don’t look too bad either haha

  8. Bford

    Jul 25, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Bought a pair out of pure intrigue…I actually like them a lot. I normally wear Adi-Z’s, and I wasn’t looking to replace them by any means, just to add a more casual shoe for fun. I only have one round on these, but several days at the range proved perfectly comfortable. The only issue for me is the outer “mid-sole” spike, especially on the left, after a strong weight transfer. After 60-70 shots on the range, I can feel the mount exerting pressure on the ball of my foot. This is a non-issue on the course, and the shoes are COMPLETELY comfortable walking, but I worry that if this isn’t part of the break-in, it will possibly get worse.

  9. Tim

    Jul 18, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    Still trying to find a way to get a pair to demo, I’ll write an honest review. Right now I can’t find a better shoe then Truelinkswear Tours!

  10. Troy Vayanos

    Jul 16, 2012 at 6:34 am

    Not the best looking shoe in my opinion but no doubt very good support for the foot. Can’t argue with how they are doing for Tiger Woods.

  11. Michael

    Jul 16, 2012 at 1:35 am

    I love these shoes, and fyi They don’t even come in that box! lol

  12. JNGolf

    Jul 9, 2012 at 1:22 am

    The box they come in is definitely unique looking…

  13. Three Guys Golf Blog

    Jul 1, 2012 at 12:11 am

    I love tiger but there is no way I ever put my dogs in these shoes. “Mike, its gotta be the shoes right?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Putting Perfecter

Published

on

Putting can be one of the most frustrating parts of the game, it mystifies scratch golfers as much as high handicaps and can make anybody tremble over a three-footers. It’s one of the biggest factors in scoring, especially for the club-level player, but it’s often one of the last things people actually work on. Let’s be honest, it’s a lot of fun to pound drivers on the range, am I right?

But if you are seriously looking for a simple tool to help get you into the proper address position, the Putting Perfecter is a great one to start with.

The beauty of the device is in its simplicity. Fitting under your arms and across your midsection, it “locks” the player into the proper position to create a pendulum putting stroke. After giving it a shot and hitting putts for just a few minutes, then going back to putting without it made me feel like I was much more connected.

Don’t think it’s just for putting though.

Funny story, when I first took it out to work on my putting, I used it for about 30 minutes and then moved onto my chipping. After a few trips around the putting green I tried chipping with the Putting Perfecter in the same position and “WOW” same connected feeling was produced—it was perfect for working on low-flying “runners.” I was excited to tell my friend about it, until I went home and realized they actually advertise it to help with that too. Guess I’m not as clever as I thought…

No matter how you use it, the Putting Perfecter is a simple and effective training tool that can be carried in a bag to be used before or after a round, takes NO time to set up (a big plus), and is light—so you don’t feel like its dragging you down if you actually keep it in your bag. Since it’s a putting tool, you can even use it indoors very easily. If you are someone that struggles with consistent address position on putts or disconnecting when chipping, I believe the Putting Perfecter is a great tool to try.

For more information check out the Putting Perfecter website.

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 50
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW4
  • LOL2
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP2
  • OB1
  • SHANK18

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 31
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 76
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending