Tiger Woods New Shoe- Nike FREE Review

by   |   June 30, 2012
2Y9G5010_resize
Tiger Woods New Shoe- Nike FREE Review GolfWRX
Comfort
Performance
Style

4


Editor Review by Richard 6/30/12
Inspired TW ‘13 shoes


Pros:
Got to have them if you watch a lot if golf and look to Tiger for a win. What Tiger plays many want to have. He wears these shoes therefore many will to. Ohhh- they are comfortable and Nike makes great shoes by the way.

Cons: Some just cant go there. Athletic shoes are very new for many of the old school golfers.

Overall: Fun and fresh. These shoes are hot as hot right now. All the rage and cutting edge styling. The athletic look is very trendy right now and Tiger can move a needle. First couple of rounds wearing the shoes you will feel some break in but we are waiting to see that disappear.

_______________________________________________________________

Full Review: After receiving the shoes days before the US Open we were excited. Tiger had just posted a win in the same shoe at the Memorial and every Tiger fan was hot to trot to find their own pair of Nike Free’s.

Click here to see more pics and read the discussion in the forums

They do look very unique. The soles are odd looking and seem to have been brought back from the future. First looks they appear to be wide and will provide a good foundation to hit from.

I play to a 4 handicap and wear typically traditional shoes. I put these on and went to the course. Bright white I felt like that guy in “Friends” that bleached his teeth 10x to much and went out at night. But as I got to the course nobody noticed but me.

The fit right out of the box didn’t feel great. The tongue and toe areas were either pressing or binding a little. Another golfer and friend thought they were a 1/2 size to small. As the day went on though I found those conditions were starting to loosing up the the shoe started to meld together with my foot.

Performance was fine. I was able to get great stability firing through the swing. I was nervous the sole would be to mushy and soft to stabilize as I started the down swing. I have tried to play in running shoes before and the soft sole gives to much to hold up.

Nike claims a lot of technology that I cant begin to understand. As a golfer I am interested in looks, performance and comfort is a must. No cruel shoes for me.

I added a press release below and a tech video that explains more.

In closing great shoe if you like the style. I say get used to it because these designs in WRX opinion are here to stay. In 5 years we predict there will be more of these type designs that a dress shoe look.

Click here to see more pics and read the discussion in the forums

______________________________________________________

Press release and more tech information:

 

Nike Golf’s relentless pursuit of innovation continues to deliver technology that makes golfers better. Proof positive is the creation of one of the most talked about golf shoes in the industry, the new Nike TW ‘13, inspired by Nike FREE technology.


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

Tiger Woods began the marketplace buzz when he debuted the prototypes on Tour last summer. The distinctive shoes will now be available to consumers starting June 8, 2012.

The inspiration behind the Nike TW ‘13 footwear began with Woods himself. He asked for a shoe that gave him the performance fit and feel as his Nike FREE shoes when he runs and trains. That question ignited collaboration between Woods, Nike Golf’s footwear creation team and Nike’s Innovation Kitchen, led by Tobie Hatfield.

“I train with Nike FREE technology all the time,” said Woods. “I love training in it, running in it, lifting in it. So I asked, why can’t I play golf in it?”

After Woods shared his insights, Nike’s footwear team immediately went to work. The result is an iconic shoe with Nike’s natural motion engineered outsole, inspired by Nike FREE technology.

“Now my feet are stronger and I feel more athletic,” said Woods. “These shoes provide freedom of movement and allow me to release more power through my swing.”


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

To view the Nike FREE-Inspired TW ’13 commercial, click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4wGVv-d0d8

The natural motion engineered outsole is designed to mimic and conform to the natural motion of the foot, coupled with the protection and traction of a lightweight performance golf shoe. This innovative outsole allows the athlete to keep contact with the ground longer, better harnessing the energy of the foot to the shoe and, therefore, the shoe to the ground.

“An athlete trains every other part of their body, except maybe their foot,” said Hatfield. “Natural motion technology helps increase the strength of the muscles and flexibility within the foot. It brings out the human potential for each athlete.”

The Nike TW ’13 also features the new Nike Dynamic Fit support system. Targeted support delivers unprecedented strength-to-weight ratio and one-to-one fitted support. Flywire-infused nylon straps extend 360° from the footbed to the lacing system, securing the foot for an adaptive fit that provides golfers stability with mobility.

To ensure that the TW ’13 upper moves in concert with the Dynamic Fit system, designers turned to Nike’s Innovation Kitchen to source the multidirectional stretch synthetic available in Tiger’s signature colors of White or Black with Red accents.


Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums

Available June 8, 2012
MSRP: $220 MAP/Street Price: $180
Available Colors: White or Black

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


13 Comments

  1. power wheels cars

    December 6, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    I’ve a project that I’m just now working
    on, and I have been on the look out for such info.

  2. cheap nike free run shoes

    May 19, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before end I am reading this enormous article to improve my experience.

  3. qsilodifjlcz

    March 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    jtevrbydyuxk

  4. Fred

    March 28, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    I generally find NIKE shoes to be way too narrow for my foot. It doesn’t matter how much tech goes into the design if the shoe pinches the side of your foot. They do look nice however. I saw some pictures of a green and white version Tiger is going to use at the Masters and I would love to try those out.

  5. Mossdale

    March 25, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I am ‘old school’ but bought a pair of these having read reviews. THE most comfortable shoes I have worn, especially straight out of the box. Excellent grip and stability. Normally suffer with sore feet after 18 holes but not after wearing these. Mild concern about sizing issues after reading some customer feedback and opted for half size bigger. I don’t think size is an issue though. It is not often that I can’t wait to wear these shoes again.

    • jason

      May 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

      the shoes i wear normally r 9/9.5 ,these shoes i wear a size ten and they feel so good im thinking about wearing them to work,,,,so be sure to try some on if u plan on ordering on line

  6. sabres13

    August 10, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I love these shoes. In my opinion Nike makes the most comfortable golf shoes. These are very comfortable and definitely support much higher on my foot than any of my previous pairs of Nikes. They don’t look too bad either haha

  7. Bford

    July 25, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Bought a pair out of pure intrigue…I actually like them a lot. I normally wear Adi-Z’s, and I wasn’t looking to replace them by any means, just to add a more casual shoe for fun. I only have one round on these, but several days at the range proved perfectly comfortable. The only issue for me is the outer “mid-sole” spike, especially on the left, after a strong weight transfer. After 60-70 shots on the range, I can feel the mount exerting pressure on the ball of my foot. This is a non-issue on the course, and the shoes are COMPLETELY comfortable walking, but I worry that if this isn’t part of the break-in, it will possibly get worse.

  8. Tim

    July 18, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    Still trying to find a way to get a pair to demo, I’ll write an honest review. Right now I can’t find a better shoe then Truelinkswear Tours!

  9. Troy Vayanos

    July 16, 2012 at 6:34 am

    Not the best looking shoe in my opinion but no doubt very good support for the foot. Can’t argue with how they are doing for Tiger Woods.

  10. Michael

    July 16, 2012 at 1:35 am

    I love these shoes, and fyi They don’t even come in that box! lol

  11. JNGolf

    July 9, 2012 at 1:22 am

    The box they come in is definitely unique looking…

  12. Three Guys Golf Blog

    July 1, 2012 at 12:11 am

    I love tiger but there is no way I ever put my dogs in these shoes. “Mike, its gotta be the shoes right?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>