Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Lamkin UTx and Wrap-Tech Grips

Published

on

Pros: The UTx ($6.99), UTx Wrap ($6.99) and Wrap-Tech ($4.99) grips offer top-shelf performance at an affordable price. The UTx and UTx Wrap are full-cord grips with an impressively soft touch, while the softer Wrap-Tech offers more tack and shock absorption.

Cons: The Wrap-Tech performs nicely in different weather conditions, but don’t expect the traction of firmer, corded grips in extreme humidity or the rain.

Who are they for? The Utx line is for players who want a corded grip that is firm, yet responsive. Wrap-Tech grips are for those seeking maximum comfort with minimum grip pressure from a grip that can handle tour-level swing speeds.

Overview

Golfers are routinely consumed by how their equipment feels — and rightfully so. A purely struck 7-iron that draws on command, lands softly and spins down the slope toward the hole makes us feel in control, if not downright giddy.

The club head, ball and shaft generally get most of the credit for these hallowed events, but what about the grip? It’s the golfers most basic and fundamental connection to the club, and if we’re to have a serious conversation about how our equipment feels maybe this is exactly where we should start.

For this review, I tested three of Lamkin’s newest grips on my driver, mid irons and wedges:

  • The UTx
  • The UTx Wrap
  • The Wrap-Tech

Each grip has a standard size of 0.580 inches (round), and I added 2-3 extra wraps to get it more in line with my preferred size. I subjected the grips to a variety of temperatures, playing conditions and even spilled (unintentionally mind you) my Diet Coke on one. A quick wipe down with a wet towel and it was good as new.

The UTx

 

product-utx-all-red-std

 

Lamkin’s UTx is a fully corded grip with a softer ACE 3GEN base layer and a firmer, yet tacky outer layer. The challenge in creating a firm grip — especially one with cord — is striking a balance of feedback and control, while mitigating any abrasive tendencies. The UTx was extremely comfortable and well-balanced, and offered plenty of feedback without ever feeling hard or inflexible.

Aesthetically, the UTx has a hexagonal texture, which obscures the cord and ranges in color from basic black, red or blue to slightly psychedelic blue or red.

I need a grip to navigate the dry Colorado heat, as well as one versatile enough to play in the rainy spring and colder fall conditions. If it’s too soft, I lose valuable feedback on my shots. If it’s too firm, the tendency is to grip the club too hard, leading to increased tension and inconsistent ball-striking.

It is precisely in this space of comfort where the UTx exists. It’s tacky without being sticky, and it’s sturdy without being squishy. I can’t say the grip is perfect, but the more I played it, the more I struggled to come up with criticisms that didn’t seem a bit contrived. That said, I wouldn’t be sad if the standard UTx had a bit more cord, particularly in the lower hand.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/max-performance/utx” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GTIPPIO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GTIPPIO&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=N2DY2LOX3T4E5ZXC”]

 

The UTx Wrap

 

product-utx-wrap-blue

 

The UTx Wrap delivers the same high-level performance as the UTx, but is molded to resemble a wrap-style grip and is currently available in two colors: blue or black. Essentially, the UTx Wrap is a slight modification on the standard UTx for players desiring the playing attributes of the UTx in a wrap style grip.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/max-performance/utx-wrap” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00P00SHRS/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00P00SHRS&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=A6P7EC7BTJ3GJORO”]

 

The Wrap-Tech

 

product-wrap-tech-blue

 

Lamkin’s Wrap-Tech is quite different from the UTx line, as it is a much softer grip and utilizes dual surface textures to give the player every opportunity to go all Aerosmith and “get a grip.” For players without naturally strong grip pressure, or those who want to be able to play without a glove and maintain maximum tack, the Wrap-Tech is sublime. It’s ridiculously comfortable like super plush couch you can’t help but try it out — and after a couple minutes you’re either thoroughly impressed or convinced it’s a bit too much of a good thing.

With the Wrap-Tech grip, a double-helix pattern features a thin ribbon of white, red or blue that traces the wrap the entire length of the grip. The dual surfaces are marked by juxtaposing smooth and rough surfaces. Overall, the Wrap-Tech has a clean, yet snappy look without trying too hard to get attention.

If there is a knock on this grip, it’s the ability to perform in very humid or wet weather. Granted, rubber grips and rain typically get along like Rory McIlroy and 3 irons at Doral, but when it started to rain, I either needed to keep the Wrap-Tech grips very dry or reach for my rain gloves. On that note, rain gloves stuck to the Wrap-Tech like a dream, so keep them in the bag if you choose to use this grip.

Generally, softer grips tend to show wear more quickly than firm grips, but the Wrap-Tech broke in nicely after a couple rounds and showed very few early signs of wear. The only maintenance required on these is a quick wipe down with a damp towel after each use — or if you’re up for it, try the Lamkin Grip Wipes.

If you’re a player thirsting for maximum tack with minimum grip pressure, the Wrap-Tech is going to be as good, if not better than anything else in the $5-per-grip price range.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.lamkingrips.com/comfortable-performance/wrap-tech” oemtext=”Learn more from Lamkin” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00P00SHLO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00P00SHLO&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=3VNBXOAQFASRXAW2″]

 

Odds and Ends

  • If you want the same grip of Justin Rose, Brandt Snedeker or Keegan Bradley — or you want to play tour-authentic Lamkin ribbed grips — they can be ordered directly from the Tour Van section of Lamkin’s website.
  • Be sure to get fit for your grips. Most Lamkin standard grips have a core diameter of 0.580 inches, meaning they’ll play slightly larger than grips with a 0.600-inch diameter.
  • Grips don’t last forever. Change your grips each year, or every 30-40 rounds — whichever comes first.
  • If you can make Hamburger Helper, you can re-grip your own clubs. Check out this link to see how easy it is!

The Takeaway

Lamkin claims to have “the perfect grip for every golfer.” The company’s not wrong, and if you haven’t looked their way in the past, you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the current quality, price and selection.

Your Reaction?
  • 59
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW5
  • LOL1
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. webbstar

    May 30, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    I have used the tour wrap bct full cords for years but they were discontinued a few years back. (unless your name is henrik stenson)
    I had been buying up the remaining stock online but my supplier had sold out never to be seen again. Just regripped with the UTx wrap and i could not be happier. Very similar to the bct wrap. I too didn’t care for the multi coumpound grip that would not even last a full season. Thank you lamkin for filling a gap that was missing in the grip market.

  2. jonno

    May 30, 2015 at 1:43 am

    the 2014 version was terrible, wore out super fast, but it feels like they’ve firmed it up for 2015 – taking away some of the “point of difference” they had with the first soft-cord grip last year, but i appreciate the extra wear rate and hope they’ve found a good middle ground.
    i’ve got the blue ones on all 13 clubs – the 2015 ones, so i’ll you know in 6 months if they wear properly instead of two weeks like the 2014 version!

  3. Jeez Utz

    May 29, 2015 at 9:58 pm

    Winn Dri Tac 1/8
    Best grips ever made

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:17 pm

      Hard to say anything is the “best ever made” – The Dri Tac is great for someone who wants a super soft/comfy grip and in my experience, doesn’t mind regripping fairly often.

  4. 1973

    May 29, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    So here’s a question for those in the know…Do wrap grips work/fit lefthanders in the same way right handers? As a lefty I always feel as though the spiral wrap runs against the fingers?

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:15 pm

      That’s a great question – and honestly one I’ve never considered as a RH player who rarely uses wrap style grips – I’ll do some digging and see what I can come up with…Thanks for the question!

      • 1973

        May 30, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        Thanks Chris appreciate it – excited to see what you find! Perhaps if Lamkin, Golf Pride are watching…

  5. Nolanski

    May 29, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    I have a UTx on a wedge. It feels great. But for some reason I like the full cord Golf prides BCTs better. I sweat a lot…

    • Chris

      May 29, 2015 at 11:14 pm

      If you like more cord – especially a more pronounced cord – the BCT’s are tough to beat – Perhaps it has something to do with moisture management – but at the end of the day, play what works best for ya!

  6. Progolfer

    May 29, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    I’ve been playing the UTx grips for the past year, and couldn’t be happier. I used to play Golf Pride’s MultiCompound grips, but they got slick quickly and I had to replace them often. Lamkin’s UTx last a very long time and keep their traction. They’re the best grips out there!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 28
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 75
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending