Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Adams CMB Forged Iron Review

Published

on

GolfWRX Editor Review by: LeftRev, and Jim Cardo

Pros: Solid feel at impact, very versatile sole grind that will help for swings that produce a good divot, perfect overall size and minimal offset.

Cons: Very blunt leading edge for shallow swingers. for higher handicaps they might like some offset to help get the ball up.

Bottom Line: Solid feel at impact, awesome looks if you like a players type irons. Little offset and thinnish toplines.

WRX is going to review these irons a little differently. We are going to have 3 different veteran equipment reviewers combined in an official WRX editor review. Why? Subjectivity is the weakness in club reviews. Art is in the eye of the beholder. There are so many small details that can be missed and also amplified for the good and the bad we want to try to offer the best review possible.

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

Editor Review-

LeftRev: I’m not much of a technical writer but here is my review:

I have been playing a set of Adams Idea Pro Black MBs [1/2 inch over and standard lie-DGSL S-300] since there were introduced several years ago and have been satisfied that no other iron could compare with the MB’s overall playability. I had my first range session on Monday with the CMB irons [standard length 2 degrees upright C-Tapers X]. Honestly, I had reservations about whether the cavity back CMBs would compare favorably to my revered Black MBs. I also had never hit the KBS C-taper shafts so the afternoon was devoted to experimentation.

It took me 4 or 5 balls to get the feel of the 130 gram shafts [as compared to DGSL S-300s] and then I pured my first shot. Honestly, I can’t remember that exact feeling in an iron/shaft combination before in my four decades of golf. 100 balls later I had gone through the bag and to my amazement duplicated that same solid, flushed type feeling on a high percentage of those swings. It was one of those rare times of ball hitting at a range that was addictive. I got 100 more balls and kept hitting the irons.

I’m not sure how Adams did it with this set of irons [maybe the 1025 carbon steel, the tungsten, the technology] but the feel is solid and soft yet powerful. Misses didn’t punish distance or direction much at all. The grind on the CMBs is better than the Black MBs. I’m more of a picker but I was producing nice small divots and loving every piece of sod that flew out in front of me. I thought the C-Tapers would produce a low, piercing type trajectory and that shot could be hit but the normal shot for me was a high ball that stayed in the air for a longer time than I expected.

The C-Tapers totally surprised me. I am not a fan of the Project X shafts. I expected the C-Taper to feel and perform similarly. Everything I have read on WRX suggested that they are extremely stiff but with a better feel than PXs. Instead, I was hitting high shots that turned over a little. It felt like I was compressing the shaft adequately. The ball jumps off the face of the irons and straighter, target-oriented shots are the norm. The profile of the shaft is like no other I have hit. The X flex C-Taper shafts were in the set I was lucky enough to purchase. I expected them to be too stiff but the shaft actually feels less stiff to me than DG X-100s and that’s a borderline fit for me.

I asked the Pro if he wanted to hit the CMBs. He is on staff with another OEM. On his second shot he hit that pured ball that gets up and is gone with an 8 iron. He turned around, raised his eyebrows, and then kept hitting. After hitting about 10 balls with the 8 iron, he came back to the bag, picked up the 6 iron and hit some more. At the end of the session he mentioned that he thought he had found his next set of irons.

After two additional range sessions my results continue to confirm what I experienced in that first range session. I know members want to know about distance. I am carrying the ball longer with the CMBs…I would say 5 yards through the set on average…sometimes more. Since the CMBs are 1 degree stronger in loft, that’s about right. The CBM’s greatest attributes are how solid they are though the hit and accuracy.

I hope that Adams will be allowed to continue to use their great technology to produce innovative equipment without interference from TM. In the evolution of their player’s cavity back irons the CMBs have changed the paradigm and upped the ante.

Rev.

Idea CMB Irons Technology Features:

  • Performance Advantage Through Multi-Material Design
  • Forged 1025 carbon steel body provides exceptional feel
  • Unique tungsten weight inserts strategically placed low in the toe to position the center of gravity in the exact center of the scorelines. This creates enhanced feel and minimal twisting at impact
  • Two-piece, laser plasma-welded forged construction
  • Nickel-chrome satin finish gives these irons a unique and better player look
  • 3-way cambered sole improves turf interaction
  • Triple-milled (face, grooves & cavity) improves the scoreline design
  • Progressive performance provides consistent forgiveness and ball flight control from long irons to scoring clubs.

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

Hifade: Not a full review as promised, yet, but some info below non the less, follow by sickness and heartbreak.

Actually, I only got a chance to get out and hit about 60 balls last night, after my new CMB’s arrived earlier in the day. I took the W, 8, 7 and 4 irons with me. Mine are in the “S” flex C-taper and feel great as expected. I had messed with the C-tapers the end of last year in a set of JPX-800 Pros so I was aware of what to expect (“feel-wise”). With the CMB’s being 1025 carbon steel and my trusty TaylorMade JDM r7 Forged being a similar (S25C) grade steel, I figured the “softness” to be about the same.

Two things stand out with little time to experiment thus far: (1) awesome at address as expected (2) very high ball flight with C-tapers. More so than I expected and experienced prior.

Here’s the part that made me incredibly SICK…….when I got home, I took the 4 clubs I had with me at the range, to the sink to rinse them and wash them up. As I washed one after the next, I got to the 4th and last club that I used…..the 8 iron. To my shock, horror was now setting in. What I noticed as I was drying it off was that the chrome around the hosel of that 8 iron looked cracked, and even like it was starting to almost flake. I’ve only see this one time before and it was on a set of TM forgings from several years back. Now, I know that flaking chrome is very sharp so I, obviously, didn’t try to pick any of it off to see if there was any damage below to the actual metal. I don’t think there is but that’s not the point. Obviously, there was an air pocket or bubble or defect of some kind between the chrome plating and the steel below it, or just a bad spot where the chrome did not adhere (pic below). You can imagine the sick feeling I was experiencing. Needless to say, I put everything away and retired to the couch.

This morning, I was going to check every other club and see if there were any signs of problems with any of the others. It’s looks like the GW may have a smaller hairline “issue” as well (WTF???). So, I’ve already e-mailed Adams, via the website, and will call them first thing, when they open at 9AM EDT. I’m hoping they will FedEx out a replacement because I want to put these into play in a tournament I have this weekend. Oh yeah, these clubs are that good, and that similar to what I’m used to using the past 5 seasons (TM r7 Forged), so the transition to these is almost instant.

I’m going to give Adams a chance to make this right and am confident they will (great company). I just hope they will do so in time for this weekend. I’ve become a huge Adams convert and hope that a warranty or customer service issue will maintain that confidence level I now have in their products, instead of letting me down. The next hour or two will tell.

If anyone has a “special” contact, idea or advice on how to get this replaced in a day or so, I’m all ears. I really don’t want to exercise a favor, from an exec I know, for something like this. That said, they are pure and my review will reflect that with a little more time spent later tonight.

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

Hifade: Well, just to update: Adams has agreed to immediately send an entire set to replace these rather than one by one. Talk about incredible customer service. In addition, they are letting me keep these for my tournament this weekend and when the new ones arrive, box these up and send them back. I gotta say having had many years in this business that this is what customer service is all about.

Adams……..you have a fan for the rest of my playing days. Don’t let the big boys at TM screw anything up.

HiFade: Okay, so while I don’t have my replacement irons yet, I will add a few comments. First, these irons have an incredible feel. Mind you, I’m coming from a set of TaylorMade JDM r7 Forged which are the 2nd best feeling set of irons I’ve ever played right behind my Miura forged, tour issue, TaylorMade 300 Forged Lehmans I played before the r7’s. So, I’m coming from 10+ years of the sweetest feeling in golf. Second, the length of these is still something I’m dialing in. I had 133 yards to a back pin on a two-tiered green, that was all over water, last Friday. I pulled the wedge and after a very solid strike was shocked to see the ball land 15 yards over the green. I didn’t get a jumper, and it’s not due to hot spots (I don’t think???)….I plain flushed it. What I’m realizing is that they are a club(+) longer for me that I’m used to. Third, the ball flight is noticeably higher than I’m used to. I enjoy flighting my shots and adjusting my trajectory when the shot calls for it. While I can do so with these CMB’s, the initial, normal launch is higher. That’s not a bad thing. If the C-tapers truly reduce spin, then the added elevation is a nice counter to the 5% reduction in spin, allowing for well struck shots to still stop.

While I have some continued “dialing-in” to do with these, they are one of those sets that you instantly know….”these will work.” If I don’t have that feeling with a club, or a set, they don’t get a thorough work out. These will and look like they could be here to stay. The one thing I may try is a slightly heavier shaft (TI DGS400’s). I love the C-tapers but I’m wondering if a slightly heavier version of it may help avoid the shots I tend to hit left a bit too often and seemingly more so than before. I’ve seen those tendencies before with slightly lighter weight shafts and, at 120 grams, it may make a difference. In addition to my S400’s, I’m tempted to pick up a 125 gram (S+) or a 130 gram (X) C-taper, soft-step accordingly and see what happens with them.

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

LeftRev: After my earlier review following a few range sessions, I have now played the CMBs one time and had additional range sessions.

Round performance: I confirmed over the first few holes after hitting the same iron on approaches and one par three that I normally hit on a course I know well that the CMBs are one club longer than my Adams black mbs [the mbs are 1 degree weaker in loft]. The trajectory of the CMBs with X Flex C-Tapers is similar to the DGSL S-300s shafts that are in my mbs. Though the flight is similar the C-Taper shafts produce extra air time and distance at a similar height. I hit more right to left shots than usual which is a pattern that Hifade also noted in his review. Mishits were generally lower flighted straight shots which often ended up close to my desired distance. By the end of the round, I was more comfortable with the 130 gram shafts and actually prefer them to the DGSL. It was a Jekyll and Hyde round of experimentation… 5 birdies [a couple of which were attributable to good iron shots] and 5 bogies [driver jealousy over attention to irons] and 8 pars.

I can confirm Hifade’s wedge experience–not during my round but on the range. I might be hitting a series of 8 irons that are solidly struck and landing at my normal distance and then hit another that feels identical but the ball lands 10-15 yards beyond my other shots. This has happened with several of the irons. I don’t suspect a hot spot on the iron face, though,and hope that maybe I just made a more efficient swing.

This is a great iron/shaft combination and worth a demo now that they are out.

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

Specs:

Click here to read the discussion and see more photos in the forums

 

Here is a video from a very reputable Sponsor of GolfWRX and a retailer

Your Reaction?
  • 12
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW8
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

Continue Reading
19 Comments

19 Comments

  1. MarcosM

    Nov 6, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    An amazing set of irons. My first experience with forged and players iron. I was gaming TM r9 before, which I thought was a good set. But the CMB surpassed all expectations. Regarding the shaft C taper S, I was also surprised in a positive way. And the last thing is price, a bargain for such a quality and performance.

  2. Cale

    Apr 29, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    I absolutely love my set, but before my favorable attitude toward them could develop into a love for them I had to switch out their standard KBS tour C-taper shaft to a DG X-100 shaft. Actually got fitted at Roger Dunn using the Mizzuno fitting cart that they had there after about a year and a half of owning the clubs. If you are wanting to get yourself a set of these I would suggest getting fitted on the Mizzuno cart or seeing if Adams has a demo day with shaft fitting included somewhere near you. The C-taper is not for everyone and I think it is kind of strange that Adams would use them as the standard retail shaft. In my opinion the C-taper is good for old men who have lost some club head speed over the years but still have an aggressive angle of attack. If your club head speed is 90+ MPH though you probably need an X-Stiff 120 to 130 gram shaft. 120 grams to 125 grams if you get achy and fatigued half way through or after playing a round or hitting a bucket of balls with a 130 gram shaft. If you do strength training regularly and are feeling strong like myself you really need a 130 gram shaft . I have always used the S-300 DG shafts with my 92 MPH club head speed and I am having a much easier time hitting my target now that I have graduated. To conclude, your optimum shaft combined with these club heads will yield a set of irons you will love. Also forgiving for a blade style iron. I have been playing muscle back and cavity back blades my entire life and these are very forgiving. Could be the tungsten inserts or the small cavity they cut out of the muscle behind the sweet spot or both working together. Just a great club head.

  3. Doug

    Mar 18, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Hey everyone, big hitting Doug L. from Sacramento here. Just wanna let everybody know that I give my stamp of approval on the Adams CMB irons with the KBS c-taper shafts. As most anyone in our area knows, I’m probably one of the top two, or three ball-strikers around California, and even I am shaking my head at these irons. Here’s an example of how they’ve tightened up my already impressive shot patterns: from 195, I usually just cut a soft 5 iron in there about 15 feet below the hole. Well, now I’m able to AVERAGE about 9 feet from the same yardage. Do you people have ANY idea how hard it is to keep everyone happy in our Sunday skins, and rabbit group, when they can’t ALL be my partner? Anyway, these irons have even helped ME hit better shots, which I honestly did not think was possible. Great clubs, and you’ve got my word on it. Take that straight to the bank!

  4. IRISH P1MP

    Oct 3, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Amazing irons !!!!!! I was a 19 handicap before purchasing these Adams cmb irons with kbs tour c-taper stiff shafts. Have been playing these for a month now about 15 rounds and currently sit at a 9 handicap. Always hovering around 80 and breaking 80 four times in those 15 rounds since purchase. I am a golf equipment nut always trying the latest equipment. Everything I bought up until now was of the game improvement variety. The problem I had was I was ballooning the ball too much or losing the club on its path at the top of my backswing thus having a wide dispersion pattern and inconsistent distances. I always played stiff shaft irons as my driver club head speed is between 104-107 mph.
    I was handed these cmb irons at my local golf pro shop. I told the pro there that I doubt I could hit a forged iron of the players variety. He had seen my swing on the range and suggested I give it a try. I couldn’t believe it when I hit the irons. My flight is down and my accuracy is spot on. I never lose the club head in the backswing now and feel very confident over every shot. Yes I still mishit a shot form time to time, but because the irons produce less spin it is still easy to recover from.
    If you are a golfer with similar swing speed and have no problem getting the ball airborne then I highly recommend giving these a try, you just might be surprised as I was. My golf buddies can’t believe the improvement I have made just from this iron and shaft combo. Awesome job Adams golf, you guys have nailed it with these irons.

  5. Sinkingputts

    Jul 24, 2013 at 11:29 pm

    I bought these on eBay for half off and ill say that they feel awesome. Super soft and straight. I was hitting mizzunos and these at the range and they both had that feel that the ball stays of the face forever. Great feeling! But with the CMB’s I was getting 10 more yard and higher ball flight and less expensive. Who doesn’t want to hit it higher and longer and spend less money? Anyway, CMB’s are sick. I one thing that I think I’ve noticed is hotspot. Every once in a while I hit a ball off the fairway that takes off like a flyer lie. Not sure if I’m tripping out or what but at least once a round I hit a ball that goes 20 yards father then my normal yardage. Not very comforting with O.B. long

  6. John

    Jun 14, 2013 at 2:28 am

    the CMBs are legit, but that video is garbage. you’re pumping them up the whole time, but from watching your swing, divot and follow through, you thinned half those shots easily. and all you kept talking about was how it doesn’t spin, doesn’t spin, doesn’t spin. blah blah blah blah freaking blah. not really sure what to make of this, other than you’re trying to make them look good. but what’s the point, when they are good? next time put somebody that can hit in the video.

    • Steve

      Mar 14, 2014 at 12:07 pm

      Actually, no he wasn’t thinning them. He was making good solid swings. Maybe it looked like that to you because you’re not used to seeing someone with the ability to put the club face on the ball without having to take a giant chunk of sod with it just to prove he hit down. He did hit one ball just a little heavy, but he strikes it well. Next time you watch the touring pros hit on the range, notice how they take little shallow divots. That’s because they too can put the face on the ball. I just got a set of them a couple of weeks ago, and they are very solid clubs. They are replacing my Cleveland CG-1’s which are just gorgeous clubs, and have that great address look. I hit the CMB’s more consistently straight with the KBS tour C-taper stiff in them than I did the CG-1’s, which I loved for seven years. IMO, these are the best clubs I have ever owned. I feel I can back my words up as I have won the ’95 city championship, the ’79 county championship, and several others as an amateur. As a professional, I was the player of the year in the Las Vegas chapter of the southwest section in 1983. I was on several manufacturers staffs, titleist, hogan, and powerbilt, but none of them ever felt this solid. Just wanted to throw my two cents into the conversation.

  7. antonio

    May 16, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    Articolo molto interessante… di sicuro non sempre i soliti consigli triti e ritriti… grazie per lo spunto.

  8. Liam O

    Feb 28, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    Just before I forget, my short irons have been woeful, going everywhere but very seldom where I wanted them to go. With CBM’s that has also changed, my short irons are pure perfection, I have not had one shock coming back into my hands though I feel a little something when I don’t hit well, but that is so seldom.

    Another thing I was hitting balls and it was like the clubs were telling me, what I was doing wrong, if I hit too thickly, you got instant ‘results’, now I have never had anything like that before. I have always been a Ping man, but I am now a believer in Adams clubs, they are worth hunting for. I could have got the Ping 56s, but I went miles out of my way to get the Adams irons and man, these will never again leave my side on the course!

    They are perfection! Try them please, you will love them, especially if you can play and your irons are letting you down.

  9. Liam O

    Feb 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    I have just bought these, I’m extremely critical of what good clubs are, an I have tested some but never got one that repeated perfection one shot after another, that is what I loved doing as a kid, just repeating the same shot over and over again.

    Well I went to the driving range this week because it was winter here still and I knew it would take a few weeks to change, and I just couldn’t wait. Now I am totally bamboozled by my game! I had got down to 12 hcp and was heading back up to 17.5, but from my first few hits I am sure that, my hcp will be down to single figure soon, not because I have changed anything, but because these clubs are the bees knees, they are absolutely incredible, I have totally fallen in love. My trust in my irons was gone, but this week, I just kept creaming that ball down to the spot that I had chosen again and again and again!

    Now normally I don’t write stuff on sites because I feel that it is all subjective and it depends on you and the match you have with your clubs. But thus has changed my game completely, I am back to the sunny 70s, when I repeated the same shot again and again. Try them they are so very inspirational. One thing though, you have to hit down on the ball to get the full feel of these delightful weapons.

  10. Pingback: July 2012 Editors Choice- Best Players Irons - MaxMag WRX

  11. Ricopar

    Oct 15, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    I just bought a set of these irons and had them adjusted 2 Deg. flat at the store. Just like Hifade, when I got home and was putting them in the bag, I noticed two of the irons had hairline cracks and flaking on the hosel so something’s going on with these clubs. Anyway, back to the store tomorrow and hopefully a happy resolution like Hifade.

    By the way on the sim at the store as I was considering my purchase I hit and the CMB and an Adams CB3. The CMB 7 -iron was consistently 10 yards longer the CB3.

  12. chris

    Aug 12, 2012 at 7:23 am

    Already big discounts on the web … priced at around $699, Adams just holds no resale value, therefore the retail price had to drop. Which it always does….

  13. Timfrk

    Jul 26, 2012 at 9:39 am

    like Victoria implied I am amazed that any body able to earn $4962 in a few weeks on the computer. have you seen this web link (Click on menu Home more information) http://goo.gl/tEsAZ

  14. hmurray

    Jul 25, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Beware of these irons! You will lose your family, friends and job. They are so good you’ll never leave the course or range. They are so much fun and rewarding to hit, you’ll never want to put them down.

    As a recovering Club Ho and victim of the economic meltdown, I have beaten my club addiction out of necessity until this spring when I joined the PING i20 fan club and traded my Mizunos for something easier to hit and play on a less addicted basis. I have never owned a bag of like-branded clubs from a single manufacturer – ever. But I currently have a full bag of i20s: driver, hybrids, irons and even wedges.

    After revisiting the WRX website after a lengthy absence, I noticed the excellent reviews of the Adams CMB irons and was intrigued. Then, I walked into my local golf shop Tuesday and there was a shiny new set of demo CMBs that the owners of the shop happily let me borrow. I spent this afternoon hitting the wedge, 8 iron and 5 iron.

    I was not expecting my (current) skill level to get much out these irons, mainly because I didn’t think I had enough horsepower to adequately load the gorgeous, stiff-flex KBS C-Tapers. Much to surprise, I was wrong. I’m not sure I can remember hitting a tighter, more solid-feeling iron in my 20-plus years of golf. As well documented above, the heads are solid – beyond description – and the shafts were so smooth I almost couldn’t believe the way the entire package performed. In my previous Mizunos with DG300, I felt like I could feel the heads doing the work and providing the feedback and “feel” associated with Mizunos. In a few experiments, I had PX 6.0s in my Mizunos and the PXs detracted from the legendary Mizuno feel and performance (for me). In the Adams CMBs, the shaft and head worked so perfectly in unison, I couldn’t tell which component was the main contributor to the club’s outstanding performance.

    In closing, I am sincerely impressed with the Adams CMB. I feel the urge coming back to re-join the “Ho-ing” community, by turning the demo clubs into my own. The Adams are that good. That also means I’ll have to close my eyes and avoid waggling PING’s new Answer line of irons when they hit the shelves next month. Then again, I’ve been four years “clean” so I guess I can justify the money I saved during my recovery and splurge on my second (and possibly third) set of irons in 2012. Choices, choices, choices…

  15. Nathan

    Jul 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Hit the 7 and 8 at a demo on the range. I was hitting the new Adams 7 irons (a 12, redline…) then I picked up this club. I hit the 8 iron farther than I hit the brand new a 12 irons. Easily 15 extra yards. I don’t have the money to get them, but these clubs are great just from the range test.

  16. Levi

    Jul 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Look Great!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 129
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK20

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 22
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 229
  • LEGIT30
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Trending