Connect with us

Hybrid Reviews

Review: Titleist 915H and 915Hd Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: This is how hybrids should look. Both models are exceptionally consistent, and two of the longest of 2015.

Cons: None.

Who are they for?: The 915H and 915Hd will work well for a wide range of golfers.

The Review

Titleist’s 915 hybrids make choosing the right hybrid rather simple, and once you do, it’s just as easy to dial in the look and ball flight you need to play your best.

Simplicity has been a strongpoint of Titleist hybrids since 2011, when the company gave them Sure-Fit adjustable hosel that allowed golfers to tweak the loft, lie angle of face angle of the hybrids for their exact needs.

Not every golfer utilizes an adjustable hosel, but everyone who upgrades from a previous Titleist hybrid to the 915H or 915Hd model will see a nice jump in performance thanks to the new technologies in the clubs.

c79c22870066ffbe41d40541c2557233

The most visible change to the hybrids (and all the 915 metal woods) is the addition of Titleist’s Active Recoil Channel, a deep slot that is positioned behind the face of the hybrids. It makes the front of the club heads more flexible at impact, and works with the new 455 stainless steel club faces to create a lot more ball speed, a lot less spin, and a slightly higher launch angle. It also makes them more forgiving.

Our Testing

In our testing at the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., we saw the 915H and 915Hd fly as much as one club farther than the 913H and 913Hd hybrids. Ok, that sounds a bit too much like a claim you might here in a new club commercial, so let me explain.

e93b85e061ee3e9928d9e4944a01bf0b

With the same shaft, the 20.5-degree 915Hd carried and rolled the same distance for me as the 913Hd — at 18 degrees. The 915H actually carried 7 yards farther and rolled 1 yard farther.

Not all golfers will see that much improvement, but they will likely see at least some improvement if they’re currently playing an older Titleist hybrid.

Compared to their competitors, the 915H and 915Hd have also proven to be as long, if not longer, and offer one of the best blends of distance and consistency that we’ve seen in our 2015 Gear Trials testing. And both models tend to fly very straight in their neutral setting, with no noticeable draw or fade bias.

915H or 915Hd?

ba785fbd2b753da6cd25ae00937c3edc

The 915Hd (left) and 915H at address.

Compared to each other, the 915H and 915Hd performed quite similarly. Titleist says 915Hd is about 0.7 degrees lower launching and 120 rpm lower spinning than the 915H, which again, isn’t a lot.

The fact that both clubs are great performers will free golfers up to do what comes natural to them — pick the one that looks and feels the best.

If you’re not able to see the hybrids in person, here’s what you need to know.

The 915H (118cc) has a larger, rounder appearance than the 915Hd (107cc). Both hybrids are pear shaped, but the 915Hd has a noticeable amount of offset that makes it look a bit more iron-like than the 915H.

The Takeaway

The 915H Hybrids are available in lofts of 18, 21, 24 and 27 degrees. The 915Hd hybrids are available in lofts of 17.5, 20.5 and 23.5 degrees. As long as you get the right shaft, which is easy to do with the five available stock options, you can’t go wrong with either.

Titleist’s stock shaft options includes:

  • Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana M+ (50 and 60)
  • Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana S+ 70
  • Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana D+ 90
  • Aldila Rogue Black 85

Both the 915H and 915Hd have an MSRP of $269.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.titleist.com/golf-clubs/fairways/915H.aspx” oemtext=”Learn more from Titleist” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00ODKKBI4/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00ODKKBI4&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=WHFPMXSLKR2F6DT4″]

Related

2015-titleist-driver-2

Your Reaction?
  • 226
  • LEGIT32
  • WOW13
  • LOL8
  • IDHT13
  • FLOP5
  • OB4
  • SHANK36

Zak is the Editor-in-Chief of GolfWRX.com. He's been a part of the company since 2011, when he was hired to lead GolfWRX's Editorial Department. Zak developed GolfWRX's Featured Writer Program, which supports aspiring writers and golf industry professionals. He played college golf at the University of Richmond (Go Spiders!) and still likes to compete in tournaments. You can follow Zak on Twitter @ZakKoz, where he's happy to discuss his game and all the cool stuff that's part of his job.

23 Comments

23 Comments

  1. jayman1984

    Apr 4, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    The stock shafts offered in the 915 line are all legit. For example check the specs of the Diamana S+ 70 on Mitsubishi’s website…then compare these to the specs listed on Titleist’s website, they are identical. As explained to me by an official Titleist fitter, Titleist buys large numbers of the shafts so are able to offer these shafts at a discounted price to the consumer…it operates much like Walmart…buy bulk, get deals, (sometimes) pass savings on to consumer.

  2. bradford

    Mar 4, 2015 at 8:51 am

    So, No cons? $250-270 for a hybrid isn’t a con? $250 for “made-for” shafts and technology borrowed straight from TM and Nike? What are you paying for, the lawsuits? Certainly isn’t any R&D, and that price would be high even if they WERE legit shafts (and no, they’re not).

    • Eh

      May 13, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      actually, the slot technology was patented by Titleist almost six years ago. The reason they haven’t released it until recently was because engineers had to figure out a way to get the smash factor limit down to a legal limit, and now they finally found a way to get the limit to the USGA regulation by making the center of the face thicker, and thinning out the edges of the club face.

      • Eh2

        Oct 21, 2015 at 9:54 am

        They didn’t figure it out until other companies did. Typical titleist fan. They may have patented the idea, but they waited on other companies to to try and succeed, before they tried.

  3. Bar

    Mar 3, 2015 at 9:11 am

    If they want to make a longer hybrid, why did god give us 14 clubs.They will be making a longer putter next. How about making a club that goes straight all the time, i’ll buy one of those in fact i’ll buy 13 of them.

    • theo

      Mar 3, 2015 at 7:21 pm

      Ooops. You missed the point of longer. Toe shots are longer that they were with previous generation through the use of technology. So when you are hitting them all over the face when you’re in over your head in a money game, you won’t suffer as much and have a panic attack and leave the course crying.

  4. Joe Golfer

    Mar 3, 2015 at 3:24 am

    Glad to see five different shaft options all offered as stock.

    • bradford

      Mar 4, 2015 at 8:42 am

      Problem is, they’re charging you the price of a legit aftermarket shaft and you’re not actually getting one.

  5. Golfraven

    Mar 2, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Who cares how those compare to previous model as long thise will appear your eye, ear and badget. I had a choice between the 913 and 915 hybrid and I chose the 915 H 18*. Love the looks and technology. Sure I could save 100$ buying the 913 but I don’t want to make compromises as this club will be in the bag for couple of years. Just go with what gives you confidence.

  6. theo

    Mar 2, 2015 at 10:34 am

    You guys can complain all you want, call them Taylor Made, etc… But the Titleist 21° 915h which i uses is one of the best performing golf clubs in my bag. It replaced my 913h 19* which was also great, but the 21* goes as high and straight (and far) as my previous 19*. So adding loft and i still get the same carry. It’s not shaft length because the shafts are NOT longer. GREAT quality clubs which goes where you are thinking, and bias very straight.

  7. Steve

    Mar 2, 2015 at 10:03 am

    What a joke. There is no advancement in hybrids. Make the shaft longer and the distance increases. Wow what a break through.

  8. Ha

    Mar 2, 2015 at 8:29 am

    LOL look it’s a re-badged Taylormade!

  9. RG

    Mar 2, 2015 at 6:51 am

    This site used to be exciting and informative. Now I just feel like I’m being suckered in to OEM marketing b.s and I think half of the comments are posted by marketers from the OEM’s just pumping their products.

  10. Love my 915's

    Mar 2, 2015 at 6:43 am

    I love and enjoy all of the 915’s that found a spot in my bag. The only question, besides appearance which I believe was hard to differentiate unless both were sitting side-by-side in front of you, and it was still minimal at Most. My question is why would you create a 2 clubs so similar where one spins 120 RPMs less (I’m guessing robot average?), nothing really else is too much different. Is that a big enough difference to make two different clubs? Or is it just based more on visual comfort.

  11. other paul

    Mar 2, 2015 at 12:04 am

    Since we use hybrids to fill in distance gaps between woods and our longest iron, adding a clubs length in distance just means if we upgrade then we need a different loft. So be careful buying. I built my set for my style.
    (carry)
    Driver 270
    3wood 250
    2hybrid 230
    3hybrid210
    4 iron195
    Longer hybrid means everything else needs change as well.

    • bradford

      Mar 4, 2015 at 8:45 am

      Wow, your carry is just longer than the average touring pro. This is the internet, I’m sure you could have gone longer–just add a few more yards. This site has become ridiculous…

  12. Curt

    Mar 1, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    Titleist did a great job with the 915 lineup. Although I am playing all Ping woods this year, Titleist is every bit as good, per the numbers.

  13. Joe Peel

    Mar 1, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    Do they ever review anything they don’t like?

    • Honest Joe

      Mar 2, 2015 at 12:53 am

      Honestly, I tried both the 913hd and 915hd. Ball flight, distance etc were all about the same, forgiveness was the same too. Save your money and pick up the 913 line and have a nice steak dinner after the round with your savings. I wasn’t impressed. Seems like all the reviews on here, year after year say the same thing. Boring.

      • Jonzone

        Mar 2, 2015 at 1:06 am

        ummm epic fail on this comment ^^^^^

        Easily 10 yards longer with the same shaft…I have a 24* I carry exactly 235 yards and that was the distance with my 21* 913.

        The only con that they should have included was the cleaning of the recoil channel…not a deal killer but a pain nonetheless.

        • adam

          Mar 3, 2015 at 3:06 pm

          ^^^^ Epic fail. No two people have the same swing. Different strokes for different folks people. What works best for you may not work best for the other.

  14. adam

    Mar 1, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    How does the Surefit hostel change face angle?

  15. David M

    Mar 1, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    These bad boys are amazing. I am not sure how to compare it to the 913 models since I went from the 910 hybrid to the 915 now; however, I absolutely love mine. I have the 21* model with the Aldila Rogue Black and it’s money.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hybrid Reviews

Review: Callaway XR and XR Pro Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: The hottest hybrids in golf. The XR and XR Pro are also exceptionally well-rounded, with pleasing looks, feel and performance from the tee, fairway and rough.

Cons: Not adjustable.

Who are they for? Golfers who desire a more iron-like hybrid will likely prefer the XR Pro, whereas those seeking a slightly larger, more forgiving club that plays more like a fairway wood will find the standard XR a better fit.

The Review

Copy and paste. By that I mean, copy the review for the XR and XR Pro fairway woods and paste it right here. Everything I loved about the XR fairway woods applies to the hybrids, and the criticisms are nearly identical as well. Essentially, these clubs are long, forgiving and visually appealing. The only knock? No adjustability.

0fa7fbabbfbe3b1c016f15bfa0ee3273

Callaway’s XR and XR Pro (right) hybrids.

Sometimes an equipment manufacturer will redesign a product in hopes of invigorating sales. Sometimes the redesign provides tangible benefits for the player. With the XR and XR Pro hybrids, Callaway has done both.

A redesigned internal standing wave, which boosts MOI, a measure of ball speed retention on mishits, offers golfers more distance regardless of where they hit shots on the face. Couple that with a center of gravity that is as low as Callaway has ever engineered in a hybrid (for a higher launch and less spin), and you have one bad mama jama.

Generally, golfers who opt for a hybrid do so for one of two reasons. They either want a club that performs a lot like a long iron, but is more forgiving… or they want a club that launches high like a fairway wood, but offers more control. Either way, the XR series has you covered. In both on-course and launch monitor testing, both hybrids launched higher than previous models. So if you prefer to see a flatter ball flight, going down in loft or pairing the head with a lower-trajectory shaft will help.

I’ve never hit a hybrid so high while still maintaining an ideal trajectory. Don’t be shocked if you demo either club and find that it launches higher and carries farther than what’s currently in your bag — especially if you currently carry a long iron or driving iron.

With these hybrids, the sweet spot is gone. It’s more like the sweet zone. As long as you can make semi-solid contact, the results are acceptable. If you’re an above average ball striker, you’ll likely find your misses to be decidedly more consistent.

In testing, both clubs excelled as secondary options off the tee, and more than held their own from the ground — even in light and deep rough. That said, where both clubs differentiated themselves for me was on long approach shots or second shots into a par 5. Being able to hit a club high enough (and far enough) to hold a green from 220+ is something the XR series does better than any other hybrid I’ve tested.

5fd7e50be88d80238fef5802bb90b580

The XR and XR Pro (right) hybrids at address.

A note for better players: The smaller profile of the XR Pro is not indicative of its forgiveness. In fact, I found it to be pleasantly forgiving — much more so than other hybrids with similar shape and playing attributes. Ultimately, if you select the XR over the XR Pro it will be because the XR gave you better trajectory and distance numbers, not because one model was significantly more forgiving than the other. In fact, both models exhibit the holy grail of exceptional distance, hardy forgiveness and precise workability. It’s why no hybrid did better than the XR in GolfWRX’s 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids List. 

The XR and XR Pro hybrids come in a variety of lofts. The XR Pro is offered in lofts of 16, 18, 20 and 23 degrees, whereas the XR is available in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees. Stock length on the 20-degree XR Pro is 40 inches, whereas stock length on the 19-degree XR is 40.5 inches. If you do get fitted and ultimately select one of these models, be sure to discuss length, as the iron you’re replacing is likely at least 0.5-inches shorter.

f127cc66effe1ce8fa42db912c1bb813

The XR hybrid (bottom) has a larger face area than the XR Pro, making it slightly more forgiving.

For people who might only look at the number associated with the club (i.e. 3H = 19 degrees), caveat emptor. In testing, the 3 hybrid had carry distances closer to a 5 wood than a 3 iron. As such, if you’re looking to replace a specific iron, I’d suggest starting at a number one higher than the iron you’re looking to replace. Specifically, if you’re dropping a 3 iron, start by testing the 4 hybrid. In addition, I found the 19-degree XR hybrid to launch nearly identically to the 20-degree XR Pro, albeit with less spin. I can’t help but think that was intentional on the part of the Callaway engineers.

Again, I’d like to see both models with the same array of shafts, as some might look at the stock shaft in the XR and presume the club is geared toward slower-swinging or less demanding players. This simply isn’t true.

The Numbers

Head: Callaway XR (19 degrees)
Shaft: Project X LZ (Stiff)

  • Average Ball Speed: 145 mph
  • Average Backspin: 5400 rpm
  • Average Launch Angle 22 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 237 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 214 yards

Head: Callaway XR Pro (20 degrees)
Shaft: Project X LZ Pro 6.0 (Stock)

  • Average Ball Speed: 145
  • Average Backspin: 5100 RPM
  • Average Launch Angle 21.5 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 239 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 215 yards

Gamer Head: Callaway Alpha 815 (20 degrees)
Gamer Shaft: Veylix Rome 988 (Stiff)

  • Average Ball Speed 143.8 MPH
  • Average Backspin 4975 RPM
  • Average Launch Angle 19 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 238 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 215 yards

The Takeaway

fc814b59bb8f96204a752212c9b1200c

Callaway’s XR Hybrids received top ratings for distance and forgiveness on GolfWRX’s 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids List.

The XR and XR Pro hybrids from Callaway, with apologies to Tina Turner, are “simply the best” — at least for me. The lone shortcoming is a lack of adjustability, and depending on where you fall on this topic that may not be a significant weakness.

In describing the XR series, one quickly runs short of superlatives. Selecting either model as an upgrade to what’s currently in your bag is akin to throwing a rock into the ocean and hoping it gets wet. It’s nearly a can’t-miss proposition.

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT24
  • WOW7
  • LOL5
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP6
  • OB3
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

Hybrid Reviews

2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids

Published

on

Following the trend of new drivers and fairway woods, hybrid clubs have become much lower spinning than their predecessors in recent years. It’s a change that has widened their target audience from golfers looking to replace their long irons with clubs that fly higher and stop quicker on the greens, to… just about any golfer.

How do you know if you should consider a new hybrid? If you’ve ever wished that your current long irons or hybrids carried farther, that’s a pretty good indication that an updated model could be good for your game.

Our 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids are plenty long, but they’re also very forgiving. So even if you’re not interested in hitting your clubs farther, you could still find more consistency from one of the six models below.

The Winners

composite_hybrids_v2

The clubs and subsequent ratings were selected by our Gear Trials Panel, six of the top-rated custom golf clubs fitters in the world. Our 2015 Gear Trials Panel includes:

Learn more about our Gear Trials: Best Clubs Lists

The Ratings

chart_geartrials15_bar_hybrid_v3

While reviewing each of the 2015 Best Hybrids below, remember the purpose of the clubs. They bridge the gap between a golfer’s shortest fairway wood and the longest iron they can hit consistently. Some golfers can make that transition without a hybrid, while others may need several hybrids.

The best way to learn if a hybrid is good for you, or how many hybrids you might need, is to go through a professional fitting — but if that’s not an option for you, you can use our rating to your advantage. The hybrids that scored highest in our Distance Ratings tend to work best for golfers looking to shed spin, while the clubs that score high in our Forgiveness Ratings tend to be more consistent on mishits.

Along with our six winners, we’ve also listed three lower-spinning alternatives: Callaway’s XR Pro, TaylorMade’s AeroBurner TP and Titleist’s 915Hd. These clubs will work best for a smaller percentage of golfers than our six best hybrids, but they’re fueled by the same technologies as our winners.

Note: The list below is in alphabetical order.

Callaway Big Bertha

geartrials_slider_hybrids_callawaybigbertha

  • Headsize: 126cc (3 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 3-degree range
  • Price: $249.99

You might be surprised to see Callaway’s Big Bertha hybrids, which were released alongside the company’s Big Bertha irons in the Fall of 2014, make our list. If so, you probably haven’t hit them.

[quote_box_center]”The Big Bertha is hard to miss,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

The reason to play a Big Bertha hybrid over the higher-rated XR hybrids are:

  1. Their larger size, which makes them appear more fairway wood-like than any other hybrid on this list.
  2. They’re adjustable, which allows golfers to dial in the exact loft and lie angle they need to get the most out of the clubs.

Like the XR hybrids, the Big Bertha hybrids use Callaway’s Hyper Speed Face cups to boost their ball speeds and forgiveness. They’re slightly higher-spinning than the XR, however, which will work very well for their target audience of slower swing speed golfers. But higher swing speed players shouldn’t count them out — particularly the 3 hybrid when adjusted to 18 degrees.

The Big Bertha hybrids are offered in lofts of 19, 22, 25, 28 and 32 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolf.com/golf-clubs/hybrids-2015-big-bertha.html” oemtext=”Buy it from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NURXJHG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00NURXJHG&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=AJVRSOTPPURINDGU”]

Callaway XR

geartrials_slider_hybrids_callawayxr

  • Headsize: 122cc (3 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $219.99

Callaway’s XR is likely the longest hybrid on this list, receiving the highest possible rating of 10 in distance, and thanks to Callaway’s slick engineering, it also ties for first in forgiveness (9.5) with Ping’s G30 hybrid.

[quote_box_center]”This should be the first hybrid you test,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

Like Callaway’s XR fairway woods, the XR hybrids set themselves apart from the competition with a mid-sized club head that offers a high launch, relatively low spin and more forgiveness than its predecessors. They’re offered in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees.

Our lone request for 2016: Can you make future models adjustable, Callaway?

Want a more iron-like hybrid? Callaway’s XR Pro hybrids ($229.99) measure a slim 98cc at 20 degrees, and offer a lower-spinning trajectory that many better players prefer from their hybrids. They’re offered in lofts of 16, 18, 20 and 23 degrees, but we recommend the 20- and 23-degree models in particular as 3- and 4-iron replacements. We wouldn’t be surprised if you carried them as far, if not farther, than your older, lower-lofted hybrids

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolf.com/golf-clubs/hybrids-2015-xr.html” oemtext=”Buy it from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QRJBY44/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QRJBY44&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=TWFKUSUCISU34PQ7″]

Cobra Fly-Z

geartrials_slider_hybrids_cobrafly-z

  • Headsize: 105cc (3-4 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 4-degree range
  • Price: $199.99

Cobra’s Fly-Z hybrid is sized like a better-player hybrid, but packs the forgiveness we’d expect from a larger model. That’s thanks to its rearward center of gravity (CG), which boosts consistency.

[quote_box_center]”Fly-Z, like [Cobra’s] Bio Cell last year, will still perform for the average player,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

If you’re a high-spin player, however, the Fly-Z might not be for you. It’s one of the highest-spinning models on this list, which is the reason for its relatively low Distance Rating (8).

Like the Fly-Z fairway woods, the strength of the Fly-Z hybrids is their versatility. They’re offered in three models: a 2-3 hybrid that adjusts from 16-19 degrees, a 3-4 hybrid that adjusts from 19-22 degrees and a 4-5 hybrid that adjusts from 22-25 degrees. Its wide-ranging adjustability is a great tool to have if you need to fill a specific yardage gap in your bag.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.cobragolf.com/fly-z-hybrid” oemtext=”Buy it from Cobra” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00R4ADF3S/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00R4ADF3S&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=E2QEQHVEQB22TUEP”]

Ping G30

geartrials_slider_hybrids_pingg30

  • Headsize: 110cc
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $229.99

[quote_box_center]”G30 gets the ball up in the air easy, and is on par with the G25 with slightly more ease to height,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists.”[/quote_box_center]

The G30 hybrids use a new heat-treated 17-4 stainless steel face that boosts their characteristic time (CT), a measure of spring-like effect, 20 points higher than the G25 hybrids. They’re still not as long as other hybrids on this list, but they offer a noticeable improvement in ball speed over past G-Series hybrids, and with their similar trajectory that means they’ll likely carry a few yards farther for most golfers.

There’s no turbulators on the G30 hybrids, due to their smaller, more aerodynamic size, but the shape of the hybrids was tweaked from the G25 to include a flatter top rail and a higher heel section that gives them a more square appearance at address. We like the look, and see it as a change that will be enjoyed by the majority of golfers.

We wish the G30 hybrids were adjustable, but they are offered in five lofts: 17, 19, 22, 26 and 30 degrees. The higher-lofted models, because of the G30’s higher-spinning nature, are great for golfers looking for more stopping power on the greens, while the 17-degree model will be enjoyed by better players seeking a replacement for a pesky driving iron or a troublesome 4 or 5 wood.

TaylorMade AeroBurner

geartrials_slider_hybrids_aeroburner_v3

  • Headsize: 112cc (19 degrees)
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $229.99

What the AeroBurner lacks in forgiveness, it makes up for in horsepower. Golfers may or may not be able to hit it as far as Callaway’s XR, but the AeroBurner offers a unique shape that’s intriguing for those who haven’t found much success with traditional hybrid shapes. It’s also one of the highest-launching, if not the highest-launching hybrid on this list.

The calling card of the AeroBurner, however, is speed — from its Aerodynamic crown shape and its lighter weight, which will convert to more swing speed and more distance for some golfers. The AeroBurner hybrids are not adjustable, but they are available in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees.

Need more fade bias? TaylorMade’s AeroBurner TP hybrids ($269.99) offer golfers a more traditionally weighted hybrid. They’re the same size as the standard versions, but come with heavier heads and shafts that tend to give better players more control over trajectory. They also have a 2-degree flatter lie angle and a 1-degree more upright face angle that will please golfers who have struggled with the hybrid hooks in the past. They’re available in lofts of 19 and 22 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/AeroBurner-Rescue/DW-WZ206.html” oemtext=”Buy it from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVP7JG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVP7JG&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=O5BLTFF3VXFAZFYA”]

Titleist 915H

geartrials_slider_titleist915H

  • Headsize: 118cc
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 2.25-degree range
  • Price: $249.99

Looks aren’t a factor in our Best Hybrids list ratings, but if they were, Titleist’s 915H would likely be the winner.

The 915H’s pear-shaped head is large enough to inspire confidence, but not too large as to limit versatility. While the 915H is not the longest hybrid on this list, or the most forgiving, it’s great in both areas, and offers noticeably more ball speed than previous hybrids from Titleist thanks to the company’s new Active Recoil Channel — a deep slot that extends across the entirety of the club face. For that reason, we recommend trying a higher-lofted version of your current hybrid, if you carry one.

Titleist’s 915H is fully adjustable, and is available in lofts of 18, 21, 24 and 27 degrees. It comes stock with the best selection of stock shafts on this list: four “real deal” models from Aldila and Mitsubishi Rayon that are available in a wide range of weights, bend points and flexes.

Need less spin? Titleist’s 915Hd ($249.99) offers the same technology as the 915H hybrids, and is roughly 100-200 rpm lower spinning. It also has a slightly smaller club head (107cc) that many better players will prefer. The 915Hd hybrids are offered in lofts of 17.5, 20.5 and 23.5 degrees. We recommend the 20.5-degree model as a 3-iron replacement for better players looking for more carry distance and consistency.

Related

GT_15_B

Your Reaction?
  • 135
  • LEGIT22
  • WOW4
  • LOL6
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK29

Continue Reading

Hybrid Reviews

Review: Taylormade R15 and AeroBurner Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: The R15 and AeroBurner hybrids offer faster ball speeds and more distance than the SLDR or JetSpeed hybrids.

Cons: The smaller, peanut-shaped R15 might turn some golfers away who like to see more meat behind the ball. Like the driver and fairway woods, the AeroBurner offers no adjustability.

Who are they for: The R15 is aimed at better players looking for a more compact hybrid that still delivers fast ball speeds across the face. The AeroBurner is aimed at any golfer looking for more forgiveness and more ball speed from their hybrid, even on slight mishits.

The Review

8da6f846e7c29f2e447abdd4c74bd7c7

The moment you pick up an R15 hybrid, you’ll know that this club was built for versatility. The smaller, tour-inspired shape is designed to maximize playability from virtually any lie. I found the club to be equally good from tight lies, off a tee and out of the rough.

f89729faef0ddb8a2241fb6ebc064077

At Address: A TaylorMade R15 hybrid (19 degrees).

The smaller shape, which better players will appreciate, sets up square behind the ball and like the fairway woods, feels like you’ve got a powerful, precision mallet in your hands. Even with the smaller footprint, an open channel at the front of the sole increases ball speeds across the face.

Like other hybrids on the market with adjustable hosels, the R15 also has a 3-degree loft sleeve, which allows golfers to optimize launch conditions. The standard setting promotes a neutral ball flight, something I confirmed during testing.

0b5d2c3969e7d84022c539b0c7babbff

The AeroBurner Rescue is a blend of performance and forgiveness. Like the other AeroBurner metal woods, the Rescue has an aerodynamic shape with a raised center crown, the company’s new hosel fin, and a low, forward center of gravity, all working together to deliver maximum speed and distance.

The sweet spot is up to twice as large as previous models thanks to an improved Speed Pocket and Thru-Slot technology, according to TaylorMade, and instead of trying to gain clubhead speed with a longer shaft, the AeroBurner hybrids actually have a shaft that is 0.5-inches shorter the company’s previous hybrids, which will give most golfers more control.

e9351ca626c8b85e76a38f570b4a424d

At Address: TaylorMade’s AeroBurner Hybrid (22 degrees).

Unlike the R15, the Aeroburner Rescue is also available in 5 (25 degrees) and 6 (28 degrees), giving golfers the freedom to drop their 4, 5, and 6 irons from the bag and replace them with more forgiving and easier-to-hit clubs. Even if you want to keep your 4 and 5 irons in the bag, the AeroBurner might fill that gap giving you the chance to hit shots you might never have tried before.

Testing

To this point, I’ve been split between the R15 and AeroBurner metal woods, with the R15 driver and AeroBurner fairway woods performing the best for me during testing. As I always do, I started the testing at the driving range. Just as I saw with the fairway woods, the launch angle, distance and peak height of both clubs appeared to be slightly higher than my current gamer. This time however, the R15 was the stand out. The feel at impact, a stable, neutral-to-slight-draw shot shape, and good distance was exactly what I was hoping to see.

That said, the AeroBurner didn’t disappoint. The flight was slightly higher and with more draw bias, but the distance was extremely close.

Unfortunately the weather has been hit or miss in Georgia, so I had to complete my launch monitor testing indoors. I headed to Golfsmith Extreme in Smyrna, Ga., where I tested the R15 and AeroBurner hybrids with a GC2 launch monitor and an Ernest Sports ES14 Doppler-based launch monitor simultaneously using premium golf balls. To get comparison data, I also tested TaylorMade’s SLDR and JetSpeed hybrids from 2014.

The Numbers

R15_Chart
Launch monitor testing confirmed my initial impressions on the driving range that the R15 was outperforming the AeroBurmer, but not by much. In fact, the margin between these clubs when you look at the numbers alone is razor-sharp.

The R15 produced 1 mph more ball speed and 1 more yard of carry on average over the AeroBurner, with slightly more spin and a slightly lower launch. The shot shape bias was neutral to a slight draw, which is what I was expecting. The AeroBurner on the other hand, produced consistent draws for me.

106c1b73e64a1e021a07b91088d646be

The R15 hybrid has a 3-degree adjustable hosel, allowing golfers to dial in launch, spin rate and trajectory bias.

While the margin between the R15 and AeroBurner was extremely close, both clubs outperformed the SLDR and Jetspeed hybrids. The R15 was 5 yards longer than the SLDR and 6 yards longer than the JetSpeed. Looking at the best shots with all the clubs, the longest during the testing session came with the R15 — even though the SLDR and JetSpeed produced very similar ball speeds.

Distance isn’t the only reason we should buy a golf club, and with the R15 and AeroBuner hybrids producing similar numbers, I also wanted to look at the consistency of the two clubs. I did this in two ways.

First, I assessed the dispersion of the shots. In this case, the AeroBuner edged out the R15 with a slightly tighter dispersion, albeit further left of target.

Second, I took a look at the difference between the best shot and the average shots of the clubs. We all love stomping on a shot that ends up flying further than we expect, but the majority of golfers, myself included, prefer reliability and consistency to the rare bomb. In this case, the R15 was more consistent than any of the 3 clubs in every category except spin and peak height, where the AeroBurner was slightly more consistent.

30601208ce04f15947e6f0f943d927b5

We found the AeroBurner hybrid (above) to be slightly more forgiving than the R15 hybrid.

With more consistent distance, a compact and versatile head shape, and the ability to adjust the loft with the 3-degree loft sleeve, the R15 rescue has found a place in my bag. That said, the AeroBurner Rescue also comes in a TP version which has a flatter lie angle and a slightly more open face, which might give the R15 a run for its money.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/AeroBurner-Rescue/DW-WZ206.html#start=3″ oemtext=”Buy the AeroBurner hybrid from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVP7AU/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVP7AU&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=I37VEEWUWBLIISTJ”]

The Takeaway

The R15 hybrids have a 3-degree Loft Sleeve and come in lofts of 17, 19, 21 and 24 degrees. The stock shaft is Fujikura’s Speeder 77 Evolution hybrid (X, S, R and M Flexes). A TP version is also available for $279 with Fujikura’s Speeder 869 Evolution Tour Spec shaft.

The AeroBurner hybrids ($199) are offered in the following models: 3 (19 degrees) 4 (22 degrees), 5 (25 degrees) and 6 (28 degrees).

For the better player looking for versatility from a classically-shaped club, the R15 is a great option. The larger, more forgiving AeroBurner is an excellent choice for golfers looking to maximize forgiveness.

Also, for those golfers looking to replace their long irons with hybrids, the AeroBurner will allow you the consistency to play the same model hybrid from your 3 all the way to your 6-hybrid.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/R15-Rescue/DW-WZ150.html#start=1″ oemtext=”Buy the R15 hybrid from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVM1JK/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVM1JK&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HZKLNWIIIMZAKKNW”]

Related

cf51d6550539b02863e12d2d5bf881c0

Your Reaction?
  • 72
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending