Pros: The CB57’s have an incredibly soft feel. They’re made to some of the tightest tolerances in the industry, and have a beautiful nickel satin chrome finish.

Cons: Price. They’re roughly $275 per iron.

Who they’re for: Golfers who aren’t scared to pay a premium for a set of top-notch forged irons. These are slightly bigger than blades, and will work best for better players looking for irons with great feedback, workability and impressive consistency in their class.

The Review

I’ve spent my golfing life trying every club made from pretty much every brand. Although I have never designed a club myself, I often sit back staring at my clubs wishing that there was a different grind, toe shape or hosel shape. Getting those tiny details right, at least to my eye, is what I’ve found Miura does better than just about any other forged iron maker.

post-1-0-27446000-1409428229_thumb

According to Miura, the design of the CB57’s had been percolating in the minds of the Miura family for quite a long time. They have a lot of technology packaged in these beautiful forged clubs, and the Miuras wanted to make sure it was absolutely right before they released it.

Before we go any further, let’s discuss the price. When you come across these at a Miura authorized fitting center, they will run approximately $275 per club, depending on the shaft. That’s about $2200 for an eight-piece set. Still with me? OK, read on.

The Series 1957 class has been reserved for the benchmarks of the Miura line. From the small blades, the K-Grind wedge and the KM-350 putter, these clubs are in a special class of distinction that is reserved for the most favored designs of the Miura company.

post-1-0-24981300-1409428232_thumb

I’ve been playing the CB57’s for more than a few months now, and have spent some time examining the heads during range sessions and rounds of golf. I try to picture myself as Katsuhiro or Yoshitaka Miura and wonder what they saw when they designed clubs. What made them feel a change or development was necessary?

When I look at these irons, I’m amazed at how so much of the little features I liked in past Miura irons are how they are incorporated into the CB57 design.

Performance

post-1-0-82062700-1409428240_thumb

For this review, I tested the CB57’s (3-PW) with Nippon N.S. Pro Modus 3 Tour 130 shafts. I’ve been playing the clubs for a few months now and have been working on this review throughout. Each time I’d have something down in print, I would have to keep updating this review, as the CB57’s continued to amazed me.

Having played several sets of Miura irons this past year including the Passing Point 9003, CB-501 and MB-001 blades, the CB57 was a set I was especially looking forward to testing.

post-1-0-15168600-1409428381_thumb

There were many features I liked in the PP-9003, CB-501 and MB-001, but like any golf club aficionado, there were qualities in performance and looks that I wished were improved in each club. When testing the CB57’s, it seemed that all my wishes were answered and amazingly completed — in one club.

After picking up my set of CB57’s from my certified Miura fitter, I stepped into the hitting bay to give the set a few test shots. The familiar Miura feel was there, along with that lovely sound that premium forged clubs emit. The strike of the CB57 was pure and made me wish there was daylight left to get to a golf course. For that, I’d have to wait a few days.

Even after many (many) rounds with my CB57’s, they’ve continually impressed me. The forgiveness in the head, which was only slightly larger than my MB-001 set, was thrilling.

Early in the testing, I found myself wishing a shot to get legs over water. It easily hit the green, even though I struck it off the heel. I returned to my club fitter to do a few sessions on the Trackman and found that I was correct in my on-course assumptions. The CB57’s lost very little ball speed and an average, compared to similar forged cavity backs.

The irons also pleased me throughout the configuration. The 3 iron (22 degrees) was just as much of a joy to hit as the pitching wedge (47 degrees). Much of that performance, as well as the great feel of the irons, can be attributed to the weight bar in the cavity. It’s a design that not only looks great, but works tremendously as well.

post-1-0-80861000-1409428230_thumb
A Miura CB57 4 iron.

In the long irons, the weight bar is smaller and positioned lower in the head. That lowers the center of gravity (CG) of the irons, which helps golfers launch the long irons higher. The fact that the weight bar is smaller in the long irons also allows more weight to be redistributed around the perimeter of the club, improving forgiveness, or moment of inertia (MOI) on mishits.

The weight bar in the short irons is positioned higher in the cavity, raising the CG, which causes shots to launch lower and with more spin. I usually hit my 8 and 9 irons much higher than I did with the CB57’s, but I didn’t mind the more piercing shots that stopped where they landed.

post-1-0-54653200-1409428294_thumb
A Miura CB57 pitching wedge.

Another contribution of the weight bar is that solid feel you get when hitting shots with the CB57. Unlike many cavity back irons, where many golfers feel that they don’t get that solid “punch” behind the sweet spot, the weight bar of the CB57 creates a feeling of mass to the strike.

As for turf interaction, I felt that the soles of the clubs worked through the turf very well throughout the set. I tend to get steeper with my angle of attack, but I still appreciated the leading edge grind on the sole. It works great on tightly mowed grass, as well as on some of the more lush rough areas, and golfers with shallower angles of attack will likely get more benefit than I did.

I’ve heard many golfers say that they tend to “dig” too much with Miura irons, but it’s something I didn’t find in my testing. The sole allowed for a clean delivery of the club head to the ball no matter the lie at hand.

Looks and Feel

Like all Miura clubs, the first impression for me has always been wonderful. I love the rich satin finish the company puts on its irons, and the CB57 set is no different.

The Series 1957 crest is set in the middle of the weight bar on the back of each club. The kanji character for “noble” and “striving” that I first saw on the New Wedge Series is located on the heel side of the cavity.

post-1-0-99890000-1409428289_thumb

The words “FORGED” are neatly placed in a gentle curve below the kanji, and they remind me that I am playing some of the best forgings from Himeji, Japan. I doubt if it was purposely done, but that upside down curve puts a smile on my face.

The top line has been flattened and squared off a bit more compared to other sets from Miura, which tend to be much more round. This visually gives the impression of much more forgiveness in the head, yet the top lines are still thin enough to not project any clunkiness.

Heel to toe, the CB57 is very similar in size to the MB-001’s, but they are a tad deeper in the face. A very slight offset is present in each head, again projecting a bit of forgiveness, but they’re still very pleasing to the eye of those who prefer minimal offset.

The CB57 sole is similar in width to the CB-501, yet it has the leading edge grind I first saw on the MB-001 set. I absolutely loved this leading edge grind on the MB-001’s and was extremely pleased that it was included in the CB57’s.

Compared to prior Miura sets, the number stamps on the sole have a slightly different typeface, but still project so much class on the silver nickel satin finish.

The Takeaway

post-1-0-07513000-1409428296_thumb

There are clubs with vibration dampeners, slots, and all kinds of additions to the cavity that feel the same from heel to toe and from their bottom to the top groove. Those clubs might also allow you to hit them a mile with their boosted lofts, but that is not the golf I want to play.

The CB57’s will not allow you to do or feel any of that.  

Yes, you’ll feel vibration if you mishit your shot, as I feel you should, but you’ll be left with a total unadulterated feeling of a greatly forged club.

If you’re looking for some of the most precise irons we’ve seen in the forged cavity back category, and can stomach the price tag, the CB57’s are a must-hit.

They’re not the longest irons, but they’re one of the most forgiving models in their class, offer excellent versatility, and of course, have the feel for which Miura is known. And this time around, the feel.. well, it feels just a little better.

Your Reaction?
  • 364
  • LEGIT69
  • WOW61
  • LOL3
  • IDHT34
  • FLOP14
  • OB8
  • SHANK51

Previous articleTiger will not play the Arnold Palmer Invitational
Next articleBest Grips: A company that lives up to the name?
Reid's been an avid golfer for more than 40 years. During that time, he's amassed quite a putter collection and has become one of GolfWRX's leading equipment nuts.

Reid tries all the latest equipment in hopes of finding the latest and greatest of them all to add to his bag. He was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where the courses are green and the golf is great!
  1. I made the leap and bought 5-P, Wedges and Hybrids –definitely a gift to myself. The biggest surprise? They’re forgiving and while the lofts are not jacked-up (I went ahead and bent mine 1 degree strong), I’m not losing anywhere near the distance I anticipated (maybe a 5 yard adjustment over Apex). Finally, I was fitted with MCI 120’s in my irons; SP Orange in my wedges and the MCH’s in my hybrids. Those are all expensive shafts, the irons and wedges were custom fit, great grips, etc., and there was no up-charge. If I had gone to elsewhere and ordered the very same set up in an Apex set, the margin of difference would have been? My point is, a lot less than you think! Love ‘em. I enjoy practicing again…

  2. Great set of irons! I previously had the Japan version Miura Giken CB1007 which were a little draw biased. I also have the Miura MB001, Titleist CB 714, and Mizuno MP4. So I can honestly say how good the Miura CB57s are compared to these listed. They are my pick of the bunch. I believe the key is the smash factor which generates better results. All of these listed feel good but the Miura CB57s feel better.

    • Mike, I have a set of the MB001’s. Which set do you prefer and why? I love the way these looks but before i pluck down another car payment, I’d like your thoughts.
      Thx

      • Sorry for the delay. I prefer the CB57 simply because of dead center hits. I love the look of a blade and still love to play and hit my mb001 and mp4 but the CB57 will outperform the blades. I am still confused if I like the Mizuno MP4 more than the Miura mb001. I have a hard time convincing myself to sell any of these three. I do need to thin my herd of irons but all three of these will probably make the cut. The CB57s are still my go to clubs when I need to score low…

  3. These are beautiful and look eerily similar to my Taylormade X-300 FCI’s, which were also made by Miura! I know modern tech lets them move the cg away from the hosel and closer to the physical center of the face, along with traj adjustment and better forgiveness, but I can’t imagine they actually feel softer and smoother than mine. But if they do, I’m in!!

  4. It would be fun to know what the touring pros would really play if they weren’t getting paid to play something. I used to always check out the pros who were in between contracts when they came through Dublin, Ohio for the Memorial Tournament. This was back in the 90’s and 2000’s. Lots of guys going back to Mizuno blades, even older models of Mizunos. Even today you see a few guys playing old Titleist 690 MBs. My other source was college players, but their teams all have equipment deals so that’s not even a good source anymore.

    • Jeff one of the best places to do that sort of a check on what experienced players use when they don’t get paid to play any particular brand is a US Mid-Amateur championship. You’ll see not just a lot of mixed bags; you’ll see an awful lot of OLD equipment.

      As for Dublin and Columbus, I suggest that you take a day off on the Monday after the Memorial and head up to Brookside to watch the Open qualifier (Sectional). Again, you’ll see the usual flock of tour pros (half of them wearing shorts and letting their caddies carry stand bags); but you’ll also see a lot of ams without equipment contracts. It is one of the best days in golf for spectating. No ropes; galleries numbering in the dozens; lots of pressure.

    • I completely understand where you are coming from, but having owned both, I can easily say that the CB57’s are easily in a different world in terms of feel and forgiveness. Time does march on.

    • They look similar, but the Miura will have subtle design differences that add up to a “difference” in your hands and on the course. And too many golfers discount the sole grind and ability to get the club out of the turf – Miura has improved their grind over the years. Ten years ago, all one heard were complaints of digging. While they are still not the equal of Edel, or even the Callaway X Forged that Phil plays in terms of grind, their irons have a well thought out design in mild steel … just mild steel, and only mild steel.

  5. Wow, these look like old MacGregors. Is this the set that reflects the new relationship between Jack Nicklaus and Miura that was discussed on this site a couple of months ago?

    As far as I can see, the only thing missing is the iconic MacGregor logo and the two vertical rows of diamonds on either side of the grooves.

    I have absolutely nothing against Miura; they are works of art. And for a rich and discerning golfer, they might be just the thing. For a bargain-hunter, I can’t believe that a great-condition set of JNP’s wouldn’t perform the same at a fraction of the price.

  6. I can’t believe the comments here bashing Miura fans for snobbery while name dropping the other major brands. Guess what, Titleist etc. also have major snob appeal. If you really are liberated from the influence of branding, go to your local club fitter and get a component set. Until then, go easy on the hypocrisy.

  7. Absolutely a beautiful feel when striking the ball, but if you believe that they have better technology than the the rest you are deluded. No company is better than the other…those days are over. Its all about the shaft and feel now.

      • There may be too many people in this thread diminishing these Miuras on the basis of cost. It could be true, if you are a golfer who can easily fit into a standard old-model forging, perhaps with a new set of shafts to fit you.

        But you raise a really excellent point. For the price of these Miuras, as I understand it, you are getting a flock of custom options. And if you know exactly what you need and want from a sole grind, a heel grind, a toe shape, swingweights, lofts, lies, etc., then a set of custom Miuras don’t seem like such a bad deal at all. If you amortize the cost of an extra $1000 over, say, a ten-year life span for a set of superior irons, then that’s about one day of golf or one lesson per year.

  8. The cure to the common HO. I think a lot of the iron flipping and jumping ship would end with the purchase of a set of CB57’s. And likely save the Ho some money. Ho’ing isn’t cheap, but it can quickly become more costly than a new set of $2000 Miuras.

    • I also thought my ho’ing would stop after Miuras. And then I hit the Edel with their grind.

      Miura Irons look wonderful, have a different sound, and are custom fit. The best part is if you don’t use all 8 irons, then you can buy 5 or 6, and save some $$.

      I’m sure some a few lucky guys will love these CB’s.

  9. Out of the 92 people who clicked like, wow, legit, or i would hit that. Only one person has clicked I would hit that, as of my reading. That just shows you how small the market is for a $275 iron. I would hit it, if I didn’t have to pay for it.

  10. They’re fine irons. Mostly placebo. For that price I’d rather design my own set of irons and have Don White make them through Scratch. Even the author settled for sole grinds that are not perfect for him illustrating the power of placebo.

    • Everything in golf is placebo! There’s no major difference between golf clubs, anymore. Within categories of course, putters-drivers-etc, if it “fits your eye” or “feels” better you play better period. Everybody needs all the placebo effect they can get in golf, especially the Pros.

  11. Only hit a handful of shots with Miuras and whilst they felt good the heads were smaller than my old FG17s. Absolutely no forgiveness. I see them as like a Patek Philipe watch. Ultra high quality but no better than a mid range TAG, Omega or Breitling and much less durable. In the UK they are more than $900 more than a set of AP2s or Mizuno blades and that is simply not justifiable.

      • I play Mizuno’s (MP 53’s) because I like a soft feel in an iron. But don’t kid yourself, there is no softer feeling club in the world than a Miura. To soft for me, but don’t think for a second you can buy that feeling and precision in a cheaper club, that is absolutely wrong.

LEAVE A REPLY