Connect with us
Advertisement

News

Mizuno MP-600 Driver Review

Published

on

Mizuno has long been known as one of the better iron manufacturers in the world. They are also innovators in the industry they have been a major part of.

There are a few little known facts about the manufacturer that include being the first company to offer a mobile workshop for the PGA Tour in 1984, and they were also the first company in the world to launch a titanium driver, the Mizuno Pro Ti-110/120.  Although Mizuno offers many selections in the game improvement arena, they are known for their equipment in the low handicap area of the market.  Their forged irons have been played on all of the tours and have won many majors and even more golf championships.

Their latest offering in the driver market is the MP-600 driver with Fast Track technology.  Is this just another driver geared toward the better player or is it a driver that can benefit both the better player and the high handicapper?  How does it compare with the other offerings that are currently out in the market right now?

Technology

The MP-600 with Fast Track technology is teeming with up to date modern advances.  The CNC milled, plasma welded CORTECH™ face insert will deliver the maximum USGA allowable ball speed across the entire area of the face for explosive distance, according to Mizuno. The size of the club head is 460cc, the largest allowable volume by the USGA.  This driver also possesses the classic, traditional head shape which is rare in comparison to some of the other high tech drivers that are out in the market today.

The Fast Track technology has to be the coolest feature of this driver. This 460cc Titanium driver will allow players to quickly tweak their ball flight through the use of the revolutionary Fast Track. It has two adjustable eight gram weights that the player can easily move into 15 ball flight settings to fine tune the center of gravity and achieve their ideal ball flight and shape, for maximum control.  This is a twist to the moveable weight technology that is offered by other manufacturers and allows for easier and faster movement of the weight around the perimeter of the golf club.

The stock shaft that is offered with the driver is the Exsar DS3 Driver shaft.  It is only offered in stiff, regular, lite, and ladies.  There are custom shaft options available and they include Fujikura Fit on 360, Aldila NV and NVS, Graffalloy Pro Launch Blue and Red, UST Proforce V2, Harrison Mugen, and the Tava for the ladies.  Despite not being the largest selection offered by a manufacturer today, it covers most of the neccesary bases. 

The driver is offered in three lofts, 8.5, 9.5, and 10.5.  It is not offered in a left handed version. 

Aesthetics

Mizuno has had a history of making aesthetically pleasing golf clubs, and this one is certainly no different.  The classic shape of this driver is visually appealing to the discerning golfer.  If you appreciate the look of a traditional driver this will be one driver that you should try.  At address it sets very square and tall.  The face is normal height but appears to be deeper than it actually is.  This is a classic, traditional, good looking golf club at address, something that you would come to expect from a company like Mizuno. 

The deep black paint on the driver goes perfectly with the traditional shape of the head.  The omission of an alignment aide was a plus for me.  Just a clean, classic looking head, that sits perfectly behind the golf ball. 

Performance

The driver that I received to test was the 9.5 version with the stock Exsar DS3, stiff flex shaft.  The shaft weighed in at 59 grams, and had a torque rating of 3.7.  This is a mid flight shaft.  I was actually quite surprised by this shaft, as it performed better than expected.  I am leery about some of the stock shaft offerings from manufacturers, as sometimes they are not exactly what they advertise to be.  But this one felt right on.  Was not overly stiff, yet not to whippy either.  Just a nice comfortable flex, that if need be I could go after on and not feel like the shaft would over-flex and I was going to snipe hook it.

The sound of the driver was great.  Unlike many of the offerings today, this driver does not sound like an aluminum baseball bat; it has a more muted sound to it.  It took me a few balls to get used to it, as my current driver is quite loud, and ear piercing at times.

Distance from this driver was impressive.  The ball flight with this set up was mid to high with fairly low spin.  So I was getting a great launch angle, with a good spin rate, and apparently (according to most fitters) this is an ideal combination for maximum distance.  Even on the miss hits I had, the results were very good and fairly good distance wise.  I would say that it is on par with most of the better drivers on the market today with regard to the potential distance of the driver.

After changing the weights on the fast track to get my desired set up and preferred ball shape, I then started to mess around with the settings to see if I could create some different ball flights and such.  This was actually the fun part of the review as I got to mess around a little bit and try and hit some different shots.  This did manipulate the spin of the ball a little bit and if you are looking for a driver that will allow you to fine tune your spin rate or desired shot shape, this could be one to check out.

Conclusion

Should you buy this driver or not?  That is not really for me to tell you, all I can do is give you my opinion on the driver and hope that helps or answers some of the questions you might have had about it.

If was going to purchase a new driver, this driver would be on, or right near the top of my list.  It accomplishes everything that I look for in a driver.  It has the adjustability aspect, great distance, appearance, and quality, that as a former professional, I expect from my current golf clubs.  This is a forgiving driver, but definitely is a better player’s driver, in my opinion.  I am not sure that a higher handicap player would reap the benefits of a driver like this.  But if you are a mid to low handicap golfer looking for a quality driver at a reasonable price, this might be the ticket.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. norberto bajandi

    Jun 17, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I have in me Mizuno Ti-110 and I have read it’s the first Titanium Driver ever made.Am I lucky?.Yes sure I am.

  2. Charlie

    Dec 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    It’s helpful when reviewers and especially commenters mention their SS and/or typical driving distance, along with the shaft they choose. I know that custom fitting is ideal, but for most of us it’s nice to know what shaft MIGHT work better for us. Thanks.

  3. Al

    Jan 29, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Just got back from the range with the new 10.5. Perfect ball flight for me and very easy to hit. I like the set up and the sound.

  4. Al

    Jan 28, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    I received my 10.5 today and will be at the range tomorrow. I have hit the 9.5, so I will report on the 10.5 and see how they compare.

  5. Dan G

    Jan 24, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I think you will be very pleased with your purchase. Very solid driver.

    Dan

  6. Al

    Jan 24, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Hit this club today and was very impressed. Great look, sound, and control. I moved the weights and it did have a significant impact on ball flight. I’m buying this one.

  7. james

    Jan 22, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    i’ve just brought this club and its a fantastic club

  8. RJ

    Jan 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Also thanks for the review, it is very helpful

  9. RJ

    Jan 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I thought that the stock shaft was the Fit-On 360

  10. Dan

    Jan 14, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    In comparing this driver to other drivers in the similar market, such as the superquad, I feel that it is on par if not better than those drivers. The spin rate was better for me with the MP-600 than the superquad, and the TP460. Very similar spin rates to my tour issued TP 425 that was made for me by the Tour Dept. at TM. So in seeing that the MP-600 is basically off the rack, to have similar spin rates is outstanding.

    This driver is geared toward the lower to mid handicap player. It is not a forgiving high MOI driver like the sumo sqaured or the Titleist D1. Those drivers are geared toward the higher handicap player and are much easier to hit and gain better performance results than the MP-600. I am not saying that no high handicapper will enjoy this driver, all I was saying is that they could be better off with something that is designed to help a non-repetitive swing and off center hits (which is what alot of the square and high MOI drivers are aimed at doing).

    The weight system is good and one of the neat things about the driver. IF you are looking for the 8 gram weights to massively change your ballflight it is not going to happen. But if you want to slightly modify some spin (reduce a hook, enhance a slight fade…etc.) then they will help. These weights will not dramatically change the ballflight, which is true for most all of the moveable weight technology drivers.

    Hope that helps……

  11. ColinMB

    Jan 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Nice review, I only wish you could have compared it to something else…. anything like perhaps a superquad which is aimed at a similar market.

    One thing I like about this driver that I don’t think you mentioned is the standard shaft length! In an age where OEM’s are pushing harder to handle, longer shafts, this one is the standard 45″, is it not?

    I’m curious for what reasons did you find the club to not be a higher handicapper’s type of driver. Do the weights not compensate well for a slicer? Or is it simply punishing on misshits?

    Also I’ve heard the weighting system might be too insignificant to truly adjust ball flight. You mentioned ‘spin’ adjustments, but did -you- find the weighting system move your ball from draw to fade adequately?

    Thanks again for the review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Popular Photo Galleries

10 interesting photos from Tuesday at the Fort Worth Invitational

Published

on

GolfWRX is on the ground at Marvin Leonard’s famed pet project, Colonial Country Club, peeking into players bags and taking in the action on the driving range.

While you’ll want to take a trip through the buffet line, we’ve made you a plate of some of the tastiest morsels.

Absolutely savage new putter cover for Jon “Rahmbo” Rahm. Just killer.

Prettier than a new penny.

Spotted: Aldila Rogue Silver 130 MSI

Everything here is excellent. Just excellent.

More like Garsen Murray. Am I right?

If you were Aaron Wise standing over the winning putt at last week’s Byron Nelson, this is what it’d have looked like (of course, you’d have had a ball and the putter would be soled on the green, but you get the point…)

Abraham Ancer’s new Artisan wedges are simply incredible… All of this: Artisan star stellar stuff.

Rickie Fowler has gone grape.

You can’t fool me. You’re not Adam Hadwin, you’re a golf bag.

Is Patrick Cantlay considering a switch to a Cameron Napa?

Check out all our photos from the 2018 Forth Worth Invitational below.

Tuesday’s Photos

Special Galleries

Discussion: See what GolfWRX members are saying about the photos in our forums

Your Reaction?
Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK5

Continue Reading

Popular Photo Galleries

Tuesday’s Photos from the 2018 Fort Worth Invitational at Colonial

Published

on

GolfWRX is live this week from the 2018 Forth Worth Invitational at Colonial Country Club (par 70; 7,209 yards). The event has now been hosted here for 73 straight years.

Headlining the field this week are Jordan Spieth, who’s currently ranked No. 3 in the Official World Golf Rankings, Jon Rahm (No. 4), Justin Rose (No. 5) and Rickie Fowler (No. 6). Joining them are notables Webb Simpson, who’s coming off his win at The 2018 Players, as well as Wesley Bryan, Jason Dufner, Bryson DeChambeau, Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Pat Perez, Adam Scott, Charl Schwartzel, Jimmy Walker, and last week’s champion, Aaron Wise.

Related

Last year, Kevin Kisner captured the second PGA Tour victory of his career after shooting a final-round, 4-under 66.

Check out our photos from the 2018 Forth Worth Invitational below.

Tuesday’s Photos

Special Galleries

Discussion: See what GolfWRX members are saying about the photos in our forums

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

News

Aaron Wise’s Winning Outfit: 2018 AT&T Byron Nelson Invitational

Published

on

The 21-year-old Aaron Wise pulled off a three-shot victory at the 2018 AT&T Byron Nelson Invitational — his first win on Tour. If you want to see the clubs he used, click here.

In addition to our Winning WITB series, where we show the clubs, shafts and specs from the winning player every week, we will also highlight the apparel they wore in our all-new Winning Outfit series. This is the first edition, and we hope you enjoy!

GolfWRX’s Resident Fashion Expert Jordan Madley says:

“First off congrats to Aaron Wise on his first win on Tour, but even more on his outfit choice for the final round. From a lady’s perspective, if you train hard, show off the hard work! Aaron, a Nike athlete neck to toe, showed off his lean physique in a Nike Zonal Cool polo, their slim-fitting flex pant, a stretch woven belt and finished it off with Lunar Command 2 kicks. The dark tones meant he was ready for war on Sunday and it worked!”

GolfWRX’s non-fashion-expert (but occasional fashion designer) Editor Andrew Tursky says:

“Wise went pretty conservative for his Sunday outfit. He was probably a little nervous trying to get his first victory and didn’t want to be too loud. Don’t get too fancy when it’s winning time; a good lesson for the folks at home. That’s not to say this outfit wasn’t sharp, though. White hat and white shoes is a great look, especially paired with the grey shirt and black pants/belt. Hits of white on the shirt with the Nike Swooshes bring it all together. Solid look here.”

Aaron’s Winning Outfit

Hat: Callaway Tour Authentic

Polo:  Nike Zonal Cooling Polo Framing (unreleased)

Belt: Nike Stretch Woven

Pants: Nike Flex Pant Slim

Shoes: Nike Lunar Command 2 Boa

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending