Connect with us

News

Mizuno MP-600 Driver Review

Published

on

Mizuno has long been known as one of the better iron manufacturers in the world. They are also innovators in the industry they have been a major part of.

There are a few little known facts about the manufacturer that include being the first company to offer a mobile workshop for the PGA Tour in 1984, and they were also the first company in the world to launch a titanium driver, the Mizuno Pro Ti-110/120.  Although Mizuno offers many selections in the game improvement arena, they are known for their equipment in the low handicap area of the market.  Their forged irons have been played on all of the tours and have won many majors and even more golf championships.

Their latest offering in the driver market is the MP-600 driver with Fast Track technology.  Is this just another driver geared toward the better player or is it a driver that can benefit both the better player and the high handicapper?  How does it compare with the other offerings that are currently out in the market right now?

Technology

The MP-600 with Fast Track technology is teeming with up to date modern advances.  The CNC milled, plasma welded CORTECH™ face insert will deliver the maximum USGA allowable ball speed across the entire area of the face for explosive distance, according to Mizuno. The size of the club head is 460cc, the largest allowable volume by the USGA.  This driver also possesses the classic, traditional head shape which is rare in comparison to some of the other high tech drivers that are out in the market today.

The Fast Track technology has to be the coolest feature of this driver. This 460cc Titanium driver will allow players to quickly tweak their ball flight through the use of the revolutionary Fast Track. It has two adjustable eight gram weights that the player can easily move into 15 ball flight settings to fine tune the center of gravity and achieve their ideal ball flight and shape, for maximum control.  This is a twist to the moveable weight technology that is offered by other manufacturers and allows for easier and faster movement of the weight around the perimeter of the golf club.

The stock shaft that is offered with the driver is the Exsar DS3 Driver shaft.  It is only offered in stiff, regular, lite, and ladies.  There are custom shaft options available and they include Fujikura Fit on 360, Aldila NV and NVS, Graffalloy Pro Launch Blue and Red, UST Proforce V2, Harrison Mugen, and the Tava for the ladies.  Despite not being the largest selection offered by a manufacturer today, it covers most of the neccesary bases. 

The driver is offered in three lofts, 8.5, 9.5, and 10.5.  It is not offered in a left handed version. 

Aesthetics

Mizuno has had a history of making aesthetically pleasing golf clubs, and this one is certainly no different.  The classic shape of this driver is visually appealing to the discerning golfer.  If you appreciate the look of a traditional driver this will be one driver that you should try.  At address it sets very square and tall.  The face is normal height but appears to be deeper than it actually is.  This is a classic, traditional, good looking golf club at address, something that you would come to expect from a company like Mizuno. 

The deep black paint on the driver goes perfectly with the traditional shape of the head.  The omission of an alignment aide was a plus for me.  Just a clean, classic looking head, that sits perfectly behind the golf ball. 

Performance

The driver that I received to test was the 9.5 version with the stock Exsar DS3, stiff flex shaft.  The shaft weighed in at 59 grams, and had a torque rating of 3.7.  This is a mid flight shaft.  I was actually quite surprised by this shaft, as it performed better than expected.  I am leery about some of the stock shaft offerings from manufacturers, as sometimes they are not exactly what they advertise to be.  But this one felt right on.  Was not overly stiff, yet not to whippy either.  Just a nice comfortable flex, that if need be I could go after on and not feel like the shaft would over-flex and I was going to snipe hook it.

The sound of the driver was great.  Unlike many of the offerings today, this driver does not sound like an aluminum baseball bat; it has a more muted sound to it.  It took me a few balls to get used to it, as my current driver is quite loud, and ear piercing at times.

Distance from this driver was impressive.  The ball flight with this set up was mid to high with fairly low spin.  So I was getting a great launch angle, with a good spin rate, and apparently (according to most fitters) this is an ideal combination for maximum distance.  Even on the miss hits I had, the results were very good and fairly good distance wise.  I would say that it is on par with most of the better drivers on the market today with regard to the potential distance of the driver.

After changing the weights on the fast track to get my desired set up and preferred ball shape, I then started to mess around with the settings to see if I could create some different ball flights and such.  This was actually the fun part of the review as I got to mess around a little bit and try and hit some different shots.  This did manipulate the spin of the ball a little bit and if you are looking for a driver that will allow you to fine tune your spin rate or desired shot shape, this could be one to check out.

Conclusion

Should you buy this driver or not?  That is not really for me to tell you, all I can do is give you my opinion on the driver and hope that helps or answers some of the questions you might have had about it.

If was going to purchase a new driver, this driver would be on, or right near the top of my list.  It accomplishes everything that I look for in a driver.  It has the adjustability aspect, great distance, appearance, and quality, that as a former professional, I expect from my current golf clubs.  This is a forgiving driver, but definitely is a better player’s driver, in my opinion.  I am not sure that a higher handicap player would reap the benefits of a driver like this.  But if you are a mid to low handicap golfer looking for a quality driver at a reasonable price, this might be the ticket.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 4
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. norberto bajandi

    Jun 17, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    I have in me Mizuno Ti-110 and I have read it’s the first Titanium Driver ever made.Am I lucky?.Yes sure I am.

  2. Charlie

    Dec 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    It’s helpful when reviewers and especially commenters mention their SS and/or typical driving distance, along with the shaft they choose. I know that custom fitting is ideal, but for most of us it’s nice to know what shaft MIGHT work better for us. Thanks.

  3. Al

    Jan 29, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Just got back from the range with the new 10.5. Perfect ball flight for me and very easy to hit. I like the set up and the sound.

  4. Al

    Jan 28, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    I received my 10.5 today and will be at the range tomorrow. I have hit the 9.5, so I will report on the 10.5 and see how they compare.

  5. Dan G

    Jan 24, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I think you will be very pleased with your purchase. Very solid driver.

    Dan

  6. Al

    Jan 24, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Hit this club today and was very impressed. Great look, sound, and control. I moved the weights and it did have a significant impact on ball flight. I’m buying this one.

  7. james

    Jan 22, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    i’ve just brought this club and its a fantastic club

  8. RJ

    Jan 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Also thanks for the review, it is very helpful

  9. RJ

    Jan 15, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I thought that the stock shaft was the Fit-On 360

  10. Dan

    Jan 14, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    In comparing this driver to other drivers in the similar market, such as the superquad, I feel that it is on par if not better than those drivers. The spin rate was better for me with the MP-600 than the superquad, and the TP460. Very similar spin rates to my tour issued TP 425 that was made for me by the Tour Dept. at TM. So in seeing that the MP-600 is basically off the rack, to have similar spin rates is outstanding.

    This driver is geared toward the lower to mid handicap player. It is not a forgiving high MOI driver like the sumo sqaured or the Titleist D1. Those drivers are geared toward the higher handicap player and are much easier to hit and gain better performance results than the MP-600. I am not saying that no high handicapper will enjoy this driver, all I was saying is that they could be better off with something that is designed to help a non-repetitive swing and off center hits (which is what alot of the square and high MOI drivers are aimed at doing).

    The weight system is good and one of the neat things about the driver. IF you are looking for the 8 gram weights to massively change your ballflight it is not going to happen. But if you want to slightly modify some spin (reduce a hook, enhance a slight fade…etc.) then they will help. These weights will not dramatically change the ballflight, which is true for most all of the moveable weight technology drivers.

    Hope that helps……

  11. ColinMB

    Jan 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Nice review, I only wish you could have compared it to something else…. anything like perhaps a superquad which is aimed at a similar market.

    One thing I like about this driver that I don’t think you mentioned is the standard shaft length! In an age where OEM’s are pushing harder to handle, longer shafts, this one is the standard 45″, is it not?

    I’m curious for what reasons did you find the club to not be a higher handicapper’s type of driver. Do the weights not compensate well for a slicer? Or is it simply punishing on misshits?

    Also I’ve heard the weighting system might be too insignificant to truly adjust ball flight. You mentioned ‘spin’ adjustments, but did -you- find the weighting system move your ball from draw to fade adequately?

    Thanks again for the review.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tour News

REPORT: Tiger Woods to play in the Genesis Open on Feb 15

Published

on

Last season, Tiger Woods withdrew from a press conference at the Genesis Open due to back spasms. This season, Woods will reportedly play in the 2018 Genesis Open at Riviera C.C. in Pacific Palisades, California from February 15-18.

By withdrawing from the 2017 Genesis Open — an event which his Tiger Woods Foundation hosts — Woods ensured that a promising comeback was not to be. At the start of 2017, Woods committed to play in the Farmers Insurance Open, the Omega Dubai Desert Classic, the Genesis Open and the Honda Classic… an aggressive schedule for Woods, who hadn’t played much competitive golf in the previous year due to back injuries and surgeries. Things didn’t go as planned, however, as Woods missed the cut at the Farmers, withdrew after an opening-round 77 in Dubai, and withdrew from the Genesis Open and the Honda.

Since then, Woods has had spinal fusion surgery, and he recently finished T9 at the 18-player 2017 Hero World Challenge. It was there he showed the golfing world — and probably himself, too — that he can still compete among the world’s best golfers when he’s healthy.

At the Hero World Challenge, Woods was consistently hitting 179 mph of ball speed off the tee with his driver, and despite some early concerns with the wedge, he showed prowess around and on the greens. He was yip-less, fast, healthy, and finished 8-under through four rounds. A Tiger Woods comeback seems more plausible now than it has in three years.

Woods will continue to test his game at the 2017 Genesis Open — a start that will come 26 years after competing as a 16-year-old amateur in the 1992 Nissan Open at Riviera. Much like 26 years ago, Woods comes to Riviera as a golfer who needs to prove himself… it’s just that this time around, he has 14 majors and 79 PGA Tour wins to his name.

Your Reaction?
  • 92
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW2
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK6

Continue Reading

Popular Photo Galleries

Thursday’s Photos from the 2017 PNC Father/Son Challenge

Published

on

GolfWRX is live this week from the 2017 PNC Father/Son Challenge at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club in Orlando, Florida.

The 20-team field includes some of the game’s legendary major champions, and their sons. Notable teams include John Daly/Little John Daly, Nick Faldo/Matthew Faldo, Tom Kite/David Kite, Bernhard Langer/Jason Langer, Greg Norman/Greg Norman Jr., Jack Nicklaus/Gary Nicklaus Jr., and Lee Trevino/Daniel Trevino.  The teams will compete in a scramble format over 36 holes to decide the winners of the Willie Park Trophy.

Last year, David Duval and his step-son Nick Karavites took home the trophy, and they are back in the field this year to defend.

Check out our photos below from this year’s event!

Thursday’s Photos

Discussion: See what GolfWRX members are saying about the photos

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

News

An instructor’s perspective on the Chamblee/Dufner Twitter controversy

Published

on

If you have not had a chance to read the latest exchange on Twitter between Brandel Chamblee and Jason Dufner — and his teacher Chuck Cook — you have missed a wonderful controversy brewing. As you may know, Brandel is never one to hide his feelings on his views of the golf swing (he’s against The Golfing Machine teachings). And when people disagree with him (Jason Dufner), he’s not hesitant to tackle his opposition head on.

I’d like to take the time to weigh-in on what I feel should be focused on from an instruction standpoint, instead of what has been said on Twitter in this controversy.

Brandel’s side

First of all, I consider Brandel to be a friend of mine and he has been nothing but gracious to me during my professional career; though we have differing viewpoints on certain things. I have often called or emailed him, asking his opinion on one thing or another, and he has never failed to answer me. In fact, I love hearing what he has to say, even if it’s the opposite of what I feel personally and professionally — he hardly speaks without research to back it up. When you have the kind of stage he has, you must be armed with facts.

As we all know, Brandel is not a fan of the new breed of instruction. He prefers the old school methods, and clearly from his initial Tweet that sparked the entire controversy, he prefers an upright backswing. He is not a fan of most technologies used on the lesson tee, and he is very vocal regarding the Golfing Machine book and the Trackman launch monitor. While I hold both these things dear to me personally, I do understand how he could not be as convinced as I am of their successes within the game.

People must understand his opinion is a matter of perspective, and though he has this perspective as a player, and as a player-turned-teacher, he does not have the thousands and thousands of hours on the lesson tee. This does not make him right or wrong, it just gives him a different viewpoint.

Dufner’s side

As a teacher myself, I admire Dufner’s rise to fame and to the top ranks as a player, and I applaud him for doing so in spite of the odds and the drama that has gone on within his personal life over the last few years. I am proud to see him step up on a public forum and defend Chuck Cook (his long time teacher) on this Twitter thread. It is refreshing to see! Though I don’t know Jason, I’d like to shake his hand for doing so. My biggest gripe with Tour Professionals, in general, is their failure to stand by their instructors when things are not going well.

The last time I saw a player defending his teacher this adamantly was in a text string I had with Kevin Kisner (who is a great guy and friend) and John Tillery (his teacher and also a friend), who was not picked as one of the Top-100 Teachers on the latest list by Golf Magazine. As I told Kevin and John, it is a matter of time before he is recognized by Golf Magazine. The lists are subjective and many things go into the selection process; they make good choices and other times they make mistakes. John is a heck of a teacher and will always be Top 100 in my book! So kudos to Jason and Kevin for standing up for their guys…they both deserve it 100 percent.

Chuck Cook’s side

How Chuck was dragged into the middle of this whole controversy is beyond me, because he is one of the nicest and most soft-spoken guys. I also consider him the top-1 percent of teachers within our business. Chuck was in Vail for many years while I was also teaching there, and we have been on many outings together. He has been nothing but professional to all of us and anyone he comes into contact with personally. When someone questions him or his ability to teach at the highest levels, I can only say look at the two U.S. Open Champs he has taught, as well as what he’s done with countless other people within the game of golf. He is a smart and stand-up guy and deserves nothing but respect from all of us.

Chuck, I wish I could be HALF the teacher and person you are and have always been! That is a fact.

The Golfing Machine

Now, we could write an entire article series on the book I call my bible within the golfing world. However, 99 percent of the people in the world call it a “method,” or too complex, although every top teacher uses its methodologies within their instruction. It is ONLY an encyclopedia of motion — that’s it. It tells you what will and will not work together during the swing. What the book lacks has been the proper messenger to get the word across and that blame is only on timing. That’s not a knock on the past teachers who have used it or the players on Tour who have employed it.

Homer’s great book was born in 1969, and sadly the world would not be ready to hear these type of ideas in this type of format until now. And, like anything, it has been grossly misunderstood. The book and teachings have been chastised and will continue to be until a few more generations realize the greatness of what is contained within its pages. Only time will help our cause.

The Conclusion

Its all good… it’s not a big deal people! Please understand we ALL come from different places within the game and have our own opinions based on our perspective. Remember that these are all subject to change and can at any time. Every one of the people in that string of Tweets have their own agenda to promote and have the basis to call themselves great in what they do for a living. As long as we all have a drink and a laugh together at the end of the day, I see no harm in a gentleman’s disagreement between friends as long as nothing was done out of malice.

Your Reaction?
  • 106
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW2
  • LOL7
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP20
  • OB7
  • SHANK170

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending