Connect with us

Equipment

PING i20 Driver Featured Review

Published

on

Editor Review By: topekareal

Pros:
Ping touts this driver as the low-spin , lower launching companion to the G20 driver. Check. Tungsten weights provide a higher MOI and increased forgiveness. At address, the 460cc head sets up much smaller and the matte black finish is wonderfully inconspicuous. This driver just begs to be hit…hard.

Cons:
This is the not the driver for someone who struggles to elevate the ball or wants adjustability. While delivering a nice penetrating trajectory, this is not the ball flight everyone likes to see and if you are in search of the high-launch/low-spin combination, other drivers might serve your needs better.

Bottom Line:
I’ve been waiting for this driver for quite some time. Reminiscent of other legendary deep-faced drivers, the I20 is more forgiving (thank you tungsten) and retains freakishly low spin numbers, while maintaining high ball speed numbers across the face. Given invention and innovation, driver technology is tending towards the later. Not by choice, but by necessity , our game was once filled with seemingly unlimited variables and is now being driven by the constants. OEM’s all offer drivers which are long, forgiving and come with a range of custom options. Where Ping hits the mark on the I20 is that they have produced a driver which is all business and somehow still all pleasure.

_________________________________________________

Full Review:
A low density titanium alloy saves weight to allow Ping engineers to strategically place tungsten weights to increase forgiveness while optimizing COG for low, penetrating tee shots. The classically shaped head is 460cc and utilizes improved aerodynamics to promote increased swing speed and ball velocity. The matte black finish is unique and purposeful. In a market dominated by adjustability, Ping makes quite a case that a driver doesn’t have to require a toolbox.

Looks:
The looks of the I20 driver are classy, classic and a bit raw. The matte black finish on the crown helps hide the 460cc head and displays a tough, industrial look. Because of this approach, the head does not glare and actually absorbs light. Players wanting a stark contrast between ball and clubface at set up might be a little disappointed as the I20 has ninja-esque qualities as you know it is there and you can sense it’s power, but it remains rather enigmatic.
Some larger drivers look like an orange on the end of a toothpick and I think are the impetus for OEM’s to reintroduce sub-460cc heads. If this club is any indication, you can certainly offer 460cc of forgiveness in a visually smaller package. The rounded profile suggests more of a 400cc-420cc head. The traditional half-moon alignment aid is something I’d rather do without, but it isn’t distracting. At address it is at most a subtle hint and nothing more. The white scoring lines on the face sit in nice contrast to the black face and form a U-shaped reminder as to where the sweet spot on the club sits.

Performance/Playability:
One great leap for man….uh, I digress. As we know, great leaps are not the modus operandi in the driver world right now. Two custom-fit drivers should yield similar results and should differentiate themselves based on playing characteristics and other subtle refinements. I tested the 8.5* I20 at 45” in length, SW at D2, and had the GD-DI 6x tipped ½”. The face was dead square and lie angle was 1* upright (59*) After several range sessions the most noticeable points of comparison were feel (more in the next section) and launch angle. The I20 didn’t want to go left, ever (insert political joke here __________), and it took me a bit to get used to the more boring trajectory. Despite the difference in launch angle, on course results (with the 2012 Bridgestone B330) confirmed my range experience. The I20 did a phenomenal job taking the left side out of play for me. In terms of distance, the I20 was as long as anything I’ve had in the bag. Depending on how firm the fairways were I was pushing 300 quite often . Finally, I took the I20 to the launch monitor to see if we could put some hard numbers to provide empirical evidence:

I20 – SS – 110 – Ball Speed -158 Launch Angle – 12.2 – Back Spin – 3000 Carry – 264-268

Some like the performance of a BMW, some like Mercedes – Either way, you’re driving something special.

Feel:
I did not hit the I20 with either of the stock shaft offerings and we all know how much a shaft can alter the feel of a particular club. With the DI-6x at D2 the club felt perfectly balanced and I could feel the head during all portions of my swing. I really abhor clubs which are too light and at D2, this club felt poised and secure. At this point, I should probably try and objectify “feel.” I like a driver with a bit more Cee Lo Green and an ounce less Blake Shelton…that is, a bit more soul and a bit less twang. The solid “thwack” of a wooden bat is always preferable to aluminum. Again, I digress. The I20 is exceptionally solid and offers a feel of substance sure to please even the most discerning player. It may not be in my all time top 5 for feel, but that’s like being a step below Kate Upton. Are you willing to “settle” for Sofia Vergara? Anywho, this driver is a hot-knife-through-butter pure and the sweet spot is money (and there is a possibility it might not even know it) What’s more, is while both heel and toe hits lacked the feel a pure strike (as you’d expect), ball speed was still more than you’d hope for…or deserve! In summation, the feel is solid and hot, while resisting the urge to be too metallic or clincky. Think liquid metal.

Overall bottom line:
Ping driver fans have long lamented the passing of the Rapture V2. The 120 has everything needed to make them forget. Low spin with a piercing trajectory for the stronger player, this driver is forgiving, sufficiently workable and as deep as anything on the market. Paired with either stock offerings or a host of wonderful upgrades, the I20 might be the darkest place you’ve been hoping to be. Back in black…most definitely.

CLICK HERE TO DISCUSS THE PING I20 IN THE FORUMS

 

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Rob is a golf junkie that has been involved with GolfWRX since its inception in 2005. From designing headcovers, to creating logos to authoring articles to social media management to sales and marketing, Rob has done it all. Born and bred in NJ. Favorite golfers: Phil, Freddie. Favorite club: Driver.

10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Christopher

    May 2, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Hey

    I have tried this driver and absolutly love it! Can someone tell me where I can still buy them brand new, stiff shaft; 9,5° loft and in mat black?

    Much appreciated

    • john mcbride

      May 23, 2014 at 11:19 pm

      Just got one at rend lake golf in Mt Vernon Il and they had a few left for 179.00 golf Galaxy had them for 189.00

    • caleb

      Jun 17, 2014 at 11:58 am

      I have a I 20 stiff shaft played with twice wanting to sell 10.5 loft … got the titleist 913d2

  2. Paul

    Nov 6, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    i bought the I20 with a 707D stock shaft in it. I find it a little harsh on anything not dead center, thinking of switching the shaft to something a bit smoother.

    • paul

      Feb 3, 2014 at 7:34 pm

      I swapped the shaft to a ust axiv core tour green stiff and like the feel a lot better. Ss105. Definitely eliminates the hook. Hook is a pull and old draw swing is straight. Straight became a nice fade. 18 hdcp hit all fairways last round.

  3. ANTON

    May 23, 2013 at 11:22 am

    These reviews are meaningless. You must review the club with the stock shafts which I would buy. Adding a$300 – $400 shaft which I would not buy is just another way to fool the playing public. And you wonder why less people play now because of the costs !!

  4. Ron

    Apr 16, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    I have the Ping I20 but i had a Nuchuk 110 gram extra stiff shaft put in it and i would not trade it for the worl. It is amazing.

  5. Ben Taylor

    Oct 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

    currently playing a g10 7.5 with fujikura 70 tour vista shaft, but looking to sell if anyone is interetesed?

  6. Jayr

    Oct 7, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Just demo’ed the i15 9.5 driver with prcrofoe shaft, one very serious golf club, was going for Titleist 909 now cant make up my mind.Fairway and rescue equally impressive.BTW Jez just doesn’t get through the ball(sorry) you will not benefit from these clubs.

  7. Wayne

    Aug 14, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Last year I had the i15 driver, great club. This year I tested and purchased the i20, great feel, LONG, and easy to hit straight and shape right. I bit more difficult to draw but it can be done with some work. It’s a monster.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Honma launches new XP-1 Series driver, fairway woods, and hybrids for 2020

Published

on

new 2020 Honma Driver

For 2020, Honma Golf is launching the all-new XP-1 line of clubs comprised of an entire family holistically designed to help players maximize forgiveness and get the most out of their games with one set. The new Honma XP-1 drivers, fairway woods, and hybrids, all the way to irons, is a new direction for the premium Japanese company that brings together ultimate craftsmanship with performance.

The highlight of the XP-1 line from Honma is the fact that they were designed from top to bottom to work as a comprehensive set of tool to achieve maximum performance. The technology in the metal woods flows from the driver to the hybrids with a seamless transition that creates consistency for feel and looks for the player.

Honma XP-1 driver

new 2020 Honma Driver

New 2020 Honma Golf Driver

Honma is known for its dedication to quality and craftsmanship, and every part of the XP-1 line was developed with the golfer in mind to both look appealing and perform to the highest standards. The XP-1 driver packs a lot of technology into a very classic looking club, and we’re here to take you under the hood—or in this case, the carbon fiber crown—to show you how it can help you hit better shots.

2020 Honma XP1 Driver toe

Honma XP-1 Driver Toe

It starts with a tour-inspired look from address, designed to inspire confidence for any level of golfer. Underneath ther gloss black crown, there is a lot of technology to generate faster ball speeds around the entire face and help get you dialed into the right setting. Speaking to the crown, it’s made from ET-40 fiber, making it one the lightest in golf. This weight savings helps engineers relocate an additional 15g of mass around the head towards the heel for increased MOI and greater ability to help players close the club face more easily.

Flip the driver upside down, and we have a lot more going on with the sole than initially meets the eye. Honma is introducing a new double slot in the sole for increased ball speed across a much larger area of the face. What starts off smaller in the middle increases in width and depth as it reaches towards the heel and the toe of the club. These slots, along with improved MOI, keep ball speeds up and misses closer to the intended target. The last part of the equation: How these wider parts of the face, flex around the more narrow middle to also increase gear effect—think of it like one more way to help the bigger misses stay in play.

New 2020 Honma Driver XP1

2020 Honma XP-1 Driver sole and shaft adjustment connection

The last piece key piece of technology in the XP-1 driver head is exclusive to Honma—the adjustable hosel that changes face angle, lie, and loft, but never changes the orientation of the shaft. This gives the player or fitter the ability to truly dial in hosel settings without having to worry about the constantly changing of the grip orientation. This, according to Honma, also keeps the shaft spine in the ideal location for consistent performance.

Honma 2020 xp1 driver shaft

Honmq Vizard 43g shaft

Honma is the only manufacturer that produces its own shafts from start to finish in house, and the XP-1 is getting its own custom-designed and built shafts to complement the technology built into the heads. The Vizard stock shafts are engineered to produce a smooth feel that promotes faster clubhead speeds, yet also remain extremely stable. For the XP-1 driver, the matching Vizard shafts will come in weights of 43g, 53g, and 63g, and flexes from senior to stiff.

Honma XP-1 fairway woods

The XP-1 woods bring the same level of craftsmanship and technology as the drivers to a club designed for use both off the tee and off the fairway.

New for 2020 Honma XP-1 Fairway wood

New for 2020 Honma XP-1 Fairway wood

The Honma XP-1 3-wood uses the same weight-saving ET-40 crown to position a large amount of the club’s total mass low and on the sole for greatest possible launch and spin consistency. The 3-wood is the second-lightest club in most players bags by total weight and head mass, and unless you are carrying a second driver, it’s also the second-largest by volume. By using the carbon crown designers get everything they can from the other technologies including the double slot sole and thin fast face without having to sacrifice the overall design of not just the head but the entire club.

New Honma XP-1 3 wood crown fairway

Honma XP-1 3 wood crown

The XP-1 fairways also include a 5  7-woods, but with the smaller volume of the heads and the reduced crown size, using a carbon crown would actually increase the mass higher in the head, so they instead utilize an extremely thin high strength steel crown.

New Honma 53g Vizard Fairway Shaft XP1

Honma 53g Vizard Fairway Shaft

All of the fairway woods come with the same made-in-Sakata, Japan 43g, 53g, and 63g Vizard shaft options as the driver to help every player get the most of each club in the set. If might seem like a minor detail, but being able to design an entire club in house from head to grip is a big advantage for Honma versus other OEMs. This holistic approach to designing an entire club/set is a big benefit to the consumer looking to get the most out of each club in their bag and not feel like something may be working against them.

Honma XP-1 hybrid

With the Honma XP-1 hybrid, forgiveness and flow from the fairway woods is the number one consideration for these club. The flow includes a wood-like shape that keeps the club shallow and the center of gravity as low as possible for higher launch and approach shots that fly higher and land softer. Considering the target player for the XP-1 line, the wood-like shape is also very confidence-inspiring.

New 2020 Honma XP1 hybrid

Honma XP-1 Hybrid

Honma continues the design philosophy of keeping the XP-1 both forgiving and fast by utilizing the double slot sole all the way into these hybrids that go from a 19-degree 3-iron replacement to a 25-degree 5-iron replacement.

Honma XP-1 specs & availability

The Honma XP-1 driver, fairway wood, and hybrids will be available starting in October.

New 2020 Honma XP1 Driver fairway hybrid specs

Honma XP-1 line club specs

Your Reaction?
  • 12
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Equipment

2020 Honma XP-1 Irons, featuring “fast” hybrid construction, launch

Published

on

Honma XP-1 Irons

Honma has unveiled its game improvement 2020 Honma XP-1 irons which feature a hybrid construction with low CGs and fast faces in the new 2020 Honma irons.

The XP-1 long irons (4-7 iron) are hollow and contain a tungsten sole weight in a bid to offer both higher launch and added stability on mis-hits. The short irons (8-SW) feature a cavity back construction and are designed for maximum forgiveness as well as providing straighter distance.

2020 Honma XP-1 Irons

The long irons also contain a wide sole which seeks to add forgiveness and also offer game improvement golfers greater turf interaction.

Honma XP-1 Irons

The XP-1’s, which are crafted in Sakata, Japan, feature a large profile with a traditional shape, with a thin face designed to maximize ball speed for greater distance.

Honma XP-1 Irons

Speaking on the release of the company’s entire XP-1 range release, Honma’s Vice President of Global Product, Chris McGinley stated

“We are thrilled to bring the many decades of club-making knowledge and shaping talent of Honma’s master craftsmen to game-improvement golfers with XP1. This product line is incredibly beautiful and exceptionally playable and will help golfers with a wide range of skill levels enjoy the game even more.”

Honma XP-1 Irons

The new additions from Honma come equipped with the brand’s VIZARD shafts. The shafts contain an ascending weight flow design and a graphite fiber in the tip, which, according to the company, helps to provide faster swing speeds.

Honma XP-1 Irons

2020 Honma XP-1 iron specs

Honma XP-1 IronsThe XP-1 irons, which arrive in both men’s and women’s models, are available in-store and online from the beginning of October and cost $199.99 and $174.99 per club for graphite and steel shafts, respectively.

Your Reaction?
  • 11
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Equipment

Forum Thread of the Day: “Scotty Cameron Teryllium TFB-1.5 (stainless) putter”

Published

on

Today’s Forum Thread of the Day showcases Scotty Cameron’s Teryllium TFB-1.5 (stainless) putter. Our members have been mightily impressed by the flat-stick, with the finish proving to be a massive hit with WRXers.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say on the putter at the link below.

  • ASN21: “Beautiful putter!”
  • WillyL: “That would go well with my black one!!”
  • deep18: “Yes please. Daddy like.”
  • noodle3872: “I typically gravitate to black finishes on putters, but the stainless looks amazing! The insert looks slick with a bit of shine to it as well.”

Entire Thread: “Scotty Cameron Teryllium TFB-1.5 (stainless) putter”

Your Reaction?
  • 30
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending