Connect with us

Equipment

PING i20 Driver Featured Review

Published

on

Editor Review By: topekareal

Pros:
Ping touts this driver as the low-spin , lower launching companion to the G20 driver. Check. Tungsten weights provide a higher MOI and increased forgiveness. At address, the 460cc head sets up much smaller and the matte black finish is wonderfully inconspicuous. This driver just begs to be hit…hard.

Cons:
This is the not the driver for someone who struggles to elevate the ball or wants adjustability. While delivering a nice penetrating trajectory, this is not the ball flight everyone likes to see and if you are in search of the high-launch/low-spin combination, other drivers might serve your needs better.

Bottom Line:
I’ve been waiting for this driver for quite some time. Reminiscent of other legendary deep-faced drivers, the I20 is more forgiving (thank you tungsten) and retains freakishly low spin numbers, while maintaining high ball speed numbers across the face. Given invention and innovation, driver technology is tending towards the later. Not by choice, but by necessity , our game was once filled with seemingly unlimited variables and is now being driven by the constants. OEM’s all offer drivers which are long, forgiving and come with a range of custom options. Where Ping hits the mark on the I20 is that they have produced a driver which is all business and somehow still all pleasure.

_________________________________________________

Full Review:
A low density titanium alloy saves weight to allow Ping engineers to strategically place tungsten weights to increase forgiveness while optimizing COG for low, penetrating tee shots. The classically shaped head is 460cc and utilizes improved aerodynamics to promote increased swing speed and ball velocity. The matte black finish is unique and purposeful. In a market dominated by adjustability, Ping makes quite a case that a driver doesn’t have to require a toolbox.

Looks:
The looks of the I20 driver are classy, classic and a bit raw. The matte black finish on the crown helps hide the 460cc head and displays a tough, industrial look. Because of this approach, the head does not glare and actually absorbs light. Players wanting a stark contrast between ball and clubface at set up might be a little disappointed as the I20 has ninja-esque qualities as you know it is there and you can sense it’s power, but it remains rather enigmatic.
Some larger drivers look like an orange on the end of a toothpick and I think are the impetus for OEM’s to reintroduce sub-460cc heads. If this club is any indication, you can certainly offer 460cc of forgiveness in a visually smaller package. The rounded profile suggests more of a 400cc-420cc head. The traditional half-moon alignment aid is something I’d rather do without, but it isn’t distracting. At address it is at most a subtle hint and nothing more. The white scoring lines on the face sit in nice contrast to the black face and form a U-shaped reminder as to where the sweet spot on the club sits.

Performance/Playability:
One great leap for man….uh, I digress. As we know, great leaps are not the modus operandi in the driver world right now. Two custom-fit drivers should yield similar results and should differentiate themselves based on playing characteristics and other subtle refinements. I tested the 8.5* I20 at 45” in length, SW at D2, and had the GD-DI 6x tipped ½”. The face was dead square and lie angle was 1* upright (59*) After several range sessions the most noticeable points of comparison were feel (more in the next section) and launch angle. The I20 didn’t want to go left, ever (insert political joke here __________), and it took me a bit to get used to the more boring trajectory. Despite the difference in launch angle, on course results (with the 2012 Bridgestone B330) confirmed my range experience. The I20 did a phenomenal job taking the left side out of play for me. In terms of distance, the I20 was as long as anything I’ve had in the bag. Depending on how firm the fairways were I was pushing 300 quite often . Finally, I took the I20 to the launch monitor to see if we could put some hard numbers to provide empirical evidence:

I20 – SS – 110 – Ball Speed -158 Launch Angle – 12.2 – Back Spin – 3000 Carry – 264-268

Some like the performance of a BMW, some like Mercedes – Either way, you’re driving something special.

Feel:
I did not hit the I20 with either of the stock shaft offerings and we all know how much a shaft can alter the feel of a particular club. With the DI-6x at D2 the club felt perfectly balanced and I could feel the head during all portions of my swing. I really abhor clubs which are too light and at D2, this club felt poised and secure. At this point, I should probably try and objectify “feel.” I like a driver with a bit more Cee Lo Green and an ounce less Blake Shelton…that is, a bit more soul and a bit less twang. The solid “thwack” of a wooden bat is always preferable to aluminum. Again, I digress. The I20 is exceptionally solid and offers a feel of substance sure to please even the most discerning player. It may not be in my all time top 5 for feel, but that’s like being a step below Kate Upton. Are you willing to “settle” for Sofia Vergara? Anywho, this driver is a hot-knife-through-butter pure and the sweet spot is money (and there is a possibility it might not even know it) What’s more, is while both heel and toe hits lacked the feel a pure strike (as you’d expect), ball speed was still more than you’d hope for…or deserve! In summation, the feel is solid and hot, while resisting the urge to be too metallic or clincky. Think liquid metal.

Overall bottom line:
Ping driver fans have long lamented the passing of the Rapture V2. The 120 has everything needed to make them forget. Low spin with a piercing trajectory for the stronger player, this driver is forgiving, sufficiently workable and as deep as anything on the market. Paired with either stock offerings or a host of wonderful upgrades, the I20 might be the darkest place you’ve been hoping to be. Back in black…most definitely.

CLICK HERE TO DISCUSS THE PING I20 IN THE FORUMS

 

 

 

 

Your Reaction?
  • 9
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Rob is a golf junkie that has been involved with GolfWRX since its inception in 2005. From designing headcovers, to creating logos to authoring articles to social media management to sales and marketing, Rob has done it all. Born and bred in NJ. Favorite golfers: Phil, Freddie. Favorite club: Driver.

Continue Reading
10 Comments

10 Comments

  1. Christopher

    May 2, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Hey

    I have tried this driver and absolutly love it! Can someone tell me where I can still buy them brand new, stiff shaft; 9,5° loft and in mat black?

    Much appreciated

    • john mcbride

      May 23, 2014 at 11:19 pm

      Just got one at rend lake golf in Mt Vernon Il and they had a few left for 179.00 golf Galaxy had them for 189.00

    • caleb

      Jun 17, 2014 at 11:58 am

      I have a I 20 stiff shaft played with twice wanting to sell 10.5 loft … got the titleist 913d2

  2. Paul

    Nov 6, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    i bought the I20 with a 707D stock shaft in it. I find it a little harsh on anything not dead center, thinking of switching the shaft to something a bit smoother.

    • paul

      Feb 3, 2014 at 7:34 pm

      I swapped the shaft to a ust axiv core tour green stiff and like the feel a lot better. Ss105. Definitely eliminates the hook. Hook is a pull and old draw swing is straight. Straight became a nice fade. 18 hdcp hit all fairways last round.

  3. ANTON

    May 23, 2013 at 11:22 am

    These reviews are meaningless. You must review the club with the stock shafts which I would buy. Adding a$300 – $400 shaft which I would not buy is just another way to fool the playing public. And you wonder why less people play now because of the costs !!

  4. Ron

    Apr 16, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    I have the Ping I20 but i had a Nuchuk 110 gram extra stiff shaft put in it and i would not trade it for the worl. It is amazing.

  5. Ben Taylor

    Oct 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

    currently playing a g10 7.5 with fujikura 70 tour vista shaft, but looking to sell if anyone is interetesed?

  6. Jayr

    Oct 7, 2012 at 1:49 am

    Just demo’ed the i15 9.5 driver with prcrofoe shaft, one very serious golf club, was going for Titleist 909 now cant make up my mind.Fairway and rescue equally impressive.BTW Jez just doesn’t get through the ball(sorry) you will not benefit from these clubs.

  7. Wayne

    Aug 14, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Last year I had the i15 driver, great club. This year I tested and purchased the i20, great feel, LONG, and easy to hit straight and shape right. I bit more difficult to draw but it can be done with some work. It’s a monster.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Whats in the Bag

Austin Cook’s Winning WITB: The 2017 RSM Classic

Published

on

Driver: Ping G400 LST (8.5 Degrees)
Shaft: Fujikura Speeder 661 Evolution TX-Flex

3 Wood: Ping G400 Stretch (13 Degrees)
Shaft: Fujifuke Motore Speeder VC 7.2 TX-Flex

Hybrid: Ping G400 3 Hybrid (19 Degrees)
Shaft: Matrix Ozik Altus Tour H8 91X

Hybrid: Ping G400 4 Hybrid (22 Degrees)
Shaft: Matrix Ozik Altus Tour H8 91 X

Irons: Ping S55 Orange Dot (5-PW)
Shafts: KBS Tour S-Flex

Wedges: Ping Glide 2.0 SS (50-12, 56-12), Ping Glide 2.0 WS (60)
Shaft: True Temper Dynamic Gold S400 Tour Issue

Putter: Ping Sigma G Tyne 
Grip: SuperStroke Mid-Slim 2.0

Golf Ball: Titleist Pro V1

5095fce33e880406a172796becbc64f8 6900daf1b0d2a2751ffa5557ac3865f7 2340677acd0b3c6d0f53ae8fa46c2024 80f602716821fd9518f148951913c9c0 4df372aac347ad61f031f519a1fd1edb 48039d9dfced6272ba047b51e6265d03 6fecf1d551cb1559587f1f17392ba7c8 0519679f5fdaaae2ffbaf2d97c0def72 5445ea5d9987cddfda04efba5d2f1efd

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW2
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Whats in the Bag

Jon Rahm’s Winning WITB: 2017 DP World Tour Championship

Published

on

Driver: TaylorMade M2 2017 (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Aldila Tour Green 75X

3 Wood: TaylorMade M1 2017 (15 degrees)
Shaft: Aldila Tour Green 75TX

5 Wood: TaylorMade M1 2017 (19 degrees)
Shaft: Graphite Design Tour AD-DI 8X

Irons: TaylorMade P-750 (4-PW)
Shafts: Project X 6.5

Wedges: TaylorMade Milled Grind (52 and 56 degrees), TaylorMade “Hi-Toe” (60 degrees)
Shafts: Project X 6.5

Putter: TaylorMade Spider Tour Red

Golf Ball: TaylorMade TP5x

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 43
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW2
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Equipment

See what GolfWRX Members are saying about Mizuno’s new ST-180 driver

Published

on

Mizuno has recently released a new ST-180 driver that we spotted on Tour at the 2017 RSM Classic. The company’s “wave sole” technology makes an appearance for the first time in a Mizuno driver; the design is used to push weight low and forward to reduce spin rates, and the construction contracts and expands during impact to increase energy into the golf ball. The result is a lower-spinning driver, especially for those who hit down on the golf ball, and increased ball speeds across the face.

The ST-180 drivers have a new Forged SP700 Titanium face insert that allows the faces to be made thinner — saving weight from the face while increasing ball speeds — and they feature what the company calls a “Internal Waffle Crown” that saves weight to help shift CG (center of gravity) low and forward in the head.

There’s a slew of custom shafts available for no upcharge. The stock grip is Golf Pride’s M31 360, and the drivers are selling for $399.99, available in stores now.

Below is a collection of early feedback from GolfWRX members, and make sure to join the full discussion. See more photos of the ST-180 driver here.

Note: The posts below have been minimally edited for grammar and brevity.

GolfWRX Members comment on the new Mizuno ST-180 driver

TeeGolf: I’ve seen the ST180 driver [in person] and it looks like it sits perfectly square to me. And this is coming from someone who has been playing a Titleist driver set 1-degree open for the past 3 years. It doesn’t look closed at all. 

trhode: I’ve been playing the M2 all year. In comparison at address, the ST is very closed. I had 3 customers look at it yesterday too and they all had the same reaction: closed. That being said, I did play 18 on the simulator and hit some monster drives. The head, with the Raijin shaft, seems to be just a little lower spin than my TaylorMade M2. The blue finish doesn’t bother me either. 

akjell: Hit this yesterday at the Mizuno demo day yesterday at Eagle Ridge in Gilroy, CA. Far from a hook machine but definitely a bomber. The Mizuno’s reps put me in a Mitsubishi Tensei White 70X and I could hit this this driver on a string possibly a bit better than my M1. Of the Mizuno drivers of late, this has to be the best one.

odshot68: Ordering it today. Was fit and played a round with it. Optimal launch and spin. Tensei Blue 70x at 9.5 degrees. This is definitely not left bias; first Mizzy driver ever.

nmorton: Hit this today and it’s going in the bag. Just a classic head shape that suits my eye. Been messing around with a number of drivers over the past year and haven’t singled one out. Last long term driver I had was the 850. The ST checks all of the boxes for me…looks great down by the ball, sounds solid and performs as good as any other. What really sold me was how well slight mis-hits performed. I had the 12.5 dialed down so it definitely sat open a bit. Didn’t hit the fairway but it looks sharp as well. 

evoviiiyou: Had a chance to test the driver with a couple shafts last night. The head is definitely deeper than the JPX900 and the footprint seems bigger from he set up position, very confidence inspiring like the JPX900 but a little improved. Finish and graphics are very similar to the 900 which is very nice if you like the satin Mizuno blue and I do love it just like the satin black I recently had done to my JPX driver and 3 metal. 

regiwstruk: My current gamer is a Titleist 917D3, and this is definitely replacing that. I used a JPX 900 from November 2016 through June 2017 — biggest differences are the sound and that the distance is up there with at least one of the leaders in the market. Anxious to see how it does on the course! 

Paul065: It is high launch, low spin yes but I wouldn’t say it was targeted at the average golfer. It’s basically their version of Callaway Epic Sub Zero. Rory used the Sub Zero. 

Tommyj: I went down to Carls yesterday specifically to look at the ST180. I’ve read some comments that the face looks closed. When I picked it up it was in the 10.5D position and did look slightly closed but then looked perfectly square at 9.5D and also square at 10.5D which seemed sort of odd. The shape is not for me, I had a Cobra F6 and while the ST180 footprint isn’t that big its still substantial. I like blue on drivers and the ST180 has a real quality look to it with the matte finish, having said that I’m not sure I’d want to be looking at that shade of blue all the time. The sound was an absolute killer for me, it was completely unexpected because I always associate Mizuno with being traditional and understated… ST180 launch was lower than G400 in the neutral setting, about the same when I lofted the Ping down.  ST180 was noticeably lower than D2. Longest driver of the three was G400, followed by ST180 then D2. For me the ST180 had the widest dispersion with G400 being the most accurate (by a wide margin).

Discussion: Read more comments about the ST-180 driver here

Your Reaction?
  • 80
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW7
  • LOL4
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP4
  • OB2
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending