Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Edel E-Series Putters

Published

on

Pros: The torque-free, weight-balanced design will free up the release of any stroke. Pixl technology provides golfers with mini sweet spots away from the center of the face; little homes away from home.

Cons: The putters start at $295, which doesn’t include the cost of a fitting, and Edel’s weight changing kit sells for an additional $60.

Who’s it for? Edel E-Series putters are golfers who struggles with pushes, pulls and inconsistent contact. That means just about everyone. Those worred about cost should remember that a custom fit putter may save them money in the long run.

Overview

According to David Edel, founder and president of Edel Golf, 80 percent of golfers struggle with the transition of their putting stroke, creating too much tension in the hands. Translation? Most golfers aren’t very consistent with their flat sticks.

That’s why he engineered the new E-Series putters with a “torque-free” and “weight balanced” system to combat those issues. With Edel’s design, the club face won’t wobble open or closed relative to the player’s natural path, he says, as the putter has a toe-up toe hang.

An easy way to measure the toe hang of a putter is to hold the shaft parallel to the ground and balance it on your finger roughly three-quarters of the way down toward face. A normal, anser-style putter has a toe that faces downward (between 3 o’clock and 6 o’clock) and face-balanced putters have a face that points skywards (toe at 3 o’clock).

The E-Series toe points straight toward the sky (12 o’clock), which Edel says will help golfers naturally release the putter face.

IMG_2931

Edel carved out portions from the 304 Stainless Steel head, which began as a block of solid metal. He gutted most of the toe area and back portion from the sole and drilled holes in the back of the head. This put the mass of weight directly behind the face and in the heel.

The putters have heads that are on the heavy side, but due to their balanced design they do not feel any heavier. In fact, they actually have a lighter swing weight.

“If you took a similar putter with the same specs and the same head weight, the normal putter would have a swingweight of D6, while the toe up putter would be 6 swing weights lighter,” Edel said. “It has a lighter swing weight, but it’s not actually lighter.”

IMG_2926

The face insert utilizes Pixl technology. Each individual pixel is its own sweet spot that diffuses energy outwards, according to Edel, producing a trampoline effect using rebound energy.

Also, Edel’s fitting system measures set up, alignment, lie angle, loft and length, among other specifications. Click to browse Edel fitting events or to find a custom Edel fitter near you. Edel also allows golfers to purchase the E-Series putters “off-the-rack” through its website. The putters start at $295, with additional charges for further customization.

The Review

IMG_2932

For my review, I tested an E-2 E-Series model, which I was fit for at the PGA show in January 2014. Since receiving the putter, my lag-putting performance, and putting from 15 feet and in, have noticeably improved.

The balanced weight allows me to LET the club release instead of FORCING it to release. Therefore, the club head and face angle don’t seem to waver during my stroke as much as with my previous gamers, so I feel connected with the putter throughout the stroke.

Also, the Pixl technology claims to help with distance control by reducing the impact of off-center strikes, and it delivers. As long as impact occurs somewhere on the insert, I suffered no distances losses on mis-hits.

IMG_2927

Is this the most beautiful looking putter I’ve ever seen? No, it’s not. But its design has helped marry the putter face to my stroke.

I tested the 365-gram putter with a 12-gram weight, making it heavier than the standard 320 or 330 gram putters I’ve used in the past, but again, it doesn’t feel heavier. In that sense, I’ve found Edel’s description of the putter having a “lighter swing weight” than its true mass to be accurate.

IMG_2937

Although it is cut from a block of steel, the putter has enough visual design to be flattering. Cut out circular holes on the back of the club head, and sharp cut-outs on the bottom of the putter add imaginative artistry.

The Takeaway

Getting fit will be a smart move, but getting fit into an E-Series putter will allow you to not only have a club matched to your stroke and specs, but to take advantage of impressive engineering.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://edelgolf.com/edel-torque-balanced-putters” oemtext=”Learn more from Edel” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00TYXLCII/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00TYXLCII&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=ETHVSXVI2FYECV7U”]

Your Reaction?
  • 93
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW5
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK19

He played on the Hawaii Pacific University Men's Golf team and earned a Masters degree in Communications. He also played college golf at Rutgers University, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.

12 Comments

12 Comments

  1. Obee

    Jun 26, 2016 at 10:47 am

    These putters are just not for me. They are the least solid feeling putters I have ever hit. They feel light, and impact with them is not at all satisfying. Off-center hits feel just awful–especially anything hit near the toe. I have tried several versions and the technology of the toe-up putter is just not something I see sticking around for long.

    If I remember correctly, there was a “toe up” putter company many years ago back in the 80’s or 90’s that quickly went the way of the dinosaur–and for good reason….

  2. Matt

    Feb 8, 2015 at 11:01 pm

    Living in the Midwest with the closes fitting center nearly 250 plus miles away is a disappointing. I would love to try their product but Edel product penatation is very shallow. If their product is that good. Perhaps applying as much effort in reaching new customers as they do in product development, maybe I could have one of these custom putters in my bag.

  3. Noahlevine2145

    Sep 8, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    I really like these edel putters and have a friend who has them i am 13 years old and have a 13 handicap do you think this would be a good purchase? right now i am gaming the new ping anser 5 and i really like it but i feel that a custom putter will be cool and permanent.

  4. j.a.

    Sep 4, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    There is some talk about torque, balance, player’s path, etc. For reviews like this, a video would be great to watch.

  5. Dave

    Sep 1, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    Wouldn’t removing all that weight from the toe to make it “torque free” move the sweet spot significantly towards the heel?

  6. Desmond

    Aug 29, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    Well, you do get a free Edel shag bag with a purchase of an e-series. Ask them about it.

    I would try before you buy with this putter. If you’re spending $300, you should also get a full fitting and customization of an Edel for $100 more; and see what fits.

  7. steve

    Aug 29, 2014 at 10:19 am

    I have a pixl putter in the garage with the metal pixl’s. Face looks just like this one. Ping used to make something like this also

  8. Pingback: Putter Review: Edel E-Series Putters | Golf Gear Select

  9. DB

    Aug 28, 2014 at 10:47 pm

    “The face insert utilizes Pixl technology. Each individual pixel is its own sweet spot that diffuses energy outwards, according to Edel, producing a trampoline effect using rebound energy.”

    “Comprised of 93 individual Pixls, or independent circular components, the PIXL insert turns mis-hits into gimmes by dramatically enhancing putter roll and performance when the golf ball is struck off center.”

    Have read about this Pixl insert multiple times now, still have no idea how or why it supposedly works. It does look cool.

  10. LorenRobertsFan

    Aug 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    Edel makes some gorgeous putters. This is not one of them

    • Desmond

      Aug 29, 2014 at 12:03 pm

      Agree

    • SpellingBean

      Apr 4, 2016 at 3:02 pm

      Certainly agree with the “Looks” comment. I have been testing this putter, and it’s super science in my book! Form follows function. I hope nobody on my AM Tour is using this, because I’m lighting up the scorecard with this wand. It’s Frankenstein for sure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW4
  • LOL6
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK35

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 119
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL8
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK29

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending