Connect with us

Apparel Reviews

New Balance NB574 Golf Shoe Review

Published

on

Pros: The comfort and fit you’d expect from New Balance. They’re waterproof, and at $129, very affordable for their level of quality and comfort.

Cons: Only one width and two colors available.

Bottom Line: If you like New Balance shoes already, you’ll love the NB574. If you don’t like New Balance already, a round in these may make you a convert.

Overview

Acclaimed shoe manufacturer New Balance is entering the golf footwear marketplace with six unique styles for this golf season. The Massachusetts-based company is bringing both cleated and spikeless shoes to market this year. New Balance’s mid-level offering at $129, the NB574, is between the Minimus and NGB2001 models in price ($119-$159).

Based on the popular New Balance 574 shoe, the offering is described as the 574 shoes plus golf technology. In other words, it is the application of New Balance’s technological understandings about footwear to golf with a premium on comfort, fit, durability, balance and stability.

As New Balance Product Director Carey Langley said, “We were with one of our [Tour] players this weekend, and he said ‘This is the shoe I wear every day.’”

nbg574wrd_nb_14_i

The NB574 and the other shoes in this collection are built from high-quality waterproof leathers and innovative water-resistant mesh fabrics. The 574s, in particular, come with a two-year waterproof warranty.

Reduced midsole drop and lower heel stack height positions the golfer’s foot closer to the ground. The shoe is designed with a wide midsole to enhance lateral stability, and its midsole is built from REVlite material, which enhances lateral stability and support.

Additionally, the Champ Zarma state-of-the-art One-Lok cleat system, the market’s thinnest and lightest cleat receptacle system, positions the outsole platform closer to the ground than other cleated systems.

Screen-shot-2014-05-07-at-11.59.08-AM

Speaking with Mr. Langley, he indicated that the company’s emphasis is on creating light, stylish looking shoes that get a golfer lower to the ground that offer all-day comfort. Repeatedly, he said the NB574 is the shoe for the golfer looking to walk 36 holes in a day.

  • Price: $129.99
  • Sizes: 8–12, 13, 14, 15
  • Widths: D
  • Weight: 11.7 oz
  • Colors: White/Red and Grey/White

Performance

What do we expect from our golf shoes at a minimum? Comfort, stability, reasonable waterproof-ness and style, I think. Perhaps there are shoes out there that will take five strokes off your game. However, I’m yet to see said shoes.

Certainly, the NB574s clear the low bar we’ve set. They are light and comfortable as advertised, and there is a distinct sensation of being low to the ground. Between that and the style of the shoes, it’s easy to forget you’re wearing golf spikes at all.

nbg574wrd_nb_16_i

Certainly, there’s no drop off in traction from what would be expected as a function of the lower spikes and height. The additional cleating on the bottom of the shoes beyond the screw-in spikes provides plenty of grip throughout the swing.

Overall, the sensation when walking the course is one of walking in a quality pair of sneakers that happen to have spikes in them.

The One-Lok spikes are easy to remove and install as advertised, and an amateur test of the 574’s “waterproof-ness” proved the shoes are quite impervious to water. Throughout the swing, the shoes perform as one would expect a quality golf shoe to, with the appropriate balance between flexibility and stability.

Looks and Feel

Aesthetically, the NB574s follow in the recent trend of sneaker-style golf shoes with an appealing blend of leather and mesh and prominent New Balance “N” logos. A simple white/black/gray scheme with red accents creates what would be a relatively conservative sneaker. In the world of golf shoes, however, the design hits all the right notes and is a balance between the overwhelmingly plain golf shoe of yore and today’s busier models.

nbg574gr_nb_14_i

From a comfort standpoint, the 574s are immensely easy on the feet. Upon sliding your flippers in, this will be immediately discernible. While walking, too, the shoes are in the upper-tier of comfort among golf shoes, fitting well in both the heel and toe.

The Takeaway

If you’ve worn and liked New Balance shoes casually/for other sports, you’ll likely love the 574. And if you want a golf shoe that is similar in appearance to a sneaker, the 574 will surely appeal to you.

nbg574wrd_nb_15_i

This is a great shoe for the casual golfer and the golfer who isn’t looking for something incredibly dressy or expensive that will sustain him (or her) through multiple weekend rounds.

Ultimately, the 574 offers the comfort, style, and stability golfers want and New Balance has done a first-rate job with their initial effort in the golf sphere.

Your Reaction?
  • 90
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW5
  • LOL2
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK36

20 Comments

20 Comments

  1. Gerry

    Jul 16, 2015 at 7:42 am

    Im in Canada, where do you buy the the replacement one-lok spikes???

  2. Dave C.

    Jul 7, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    I’ve been wearing NB sneakers for years. I’ve always worn dress shoe type golf shoes for almost 50 years, but I thought I’d try the NB golf shoes. Just received them yesterday, and was on the course 8:00 AM today. I walk exclusively. I didn’t get halfway down the first fairway, and my feet felt wet. A couple holes later, I took off on shoe, then the other. Both feet were soaked. Water resistant, my rear.
    I’m very disappointed in these shoes after one round. I guess golf today is expected to be played riding carts on perfectly groomed courses. I bought them online, so to try to return them will require additional loss for postage.
    Pathetic shoes.

  3. Dave S

    Feb 25, 2015 at 5:24 pm

    I don’t get the new fad of wearing golf shoes that look like regular shoes… you just look like a scrub on the course. I’m not an old curmudgeon either, I’m right within the target demographic. I don’t have an issue with more athletic looking shoes (i.e. Nike Lunar control), but some of these are just ridiculous.

  4. Nately18

    Feb 10, 2015 at 6:58 am

    Worst golf shoes I’ve ever had. Wore them twice and got blisters on both feet, toes on the left foot and bottom front on the right. They’re supposedly the same size as the NB running shoes I’ve been buying for 20 years, 11 4E. Just looked at the tag again. Says Made in China. Doesn’t New Balance always tout Made in US?

  5. Joseph Thibodaux

    Jan 29, 2015 at 11:29 am

    I wish I still had the response email received from newbalance two years ago that said they had no plans for a golf shoe. I knew they would be a great company for it, and I really didn’t believe them then. I look forward to stepping into a pair.

  6. Manfred Jusko

    Oct 1, 2014 at 5:57 am

    Hi there,
    I am looking for a shop in Europe or Germany who sells NB golf shoes?
    best regards
    Manfred

    • Michael

      Mar 4, 2015 at 4:47 am

      Hi Manfred,

      having worked in the sports industry in Germany for a couple of years, I still have some guys, I can contact. The man in charge at NB Germany told me last year, that they don’t have any plans for adding golf shoes to the German line. Not sure, if that changed in the meantime, but that’s what I heard last year.
      Regards,
      Michael

  7. Shad Rafferty

    Sep 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Is it possible to get a pair of size 11 wide of the New Balance 2001 in either black or white, or do I understand correctly that New Balance doesn’t make those shoes in wide widths?

  8. Randy Behrmann

    Jun 8, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    Hello,
    I love the New Balance NB574 golf shoe, but where can I buy “one-lok” replacement spikes? Can’t find listed online nor in golf stores?
    Thanks!

    • Andy

      Jul 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      Can’t find replacement one-lok spikes anywhere!!!!…and the link doesn’t work. Does anyone know where to find replacements??

  9. Pingback: Wanna Shop Adidas Golf 2014 Mens Adicross III Golf Shoes – White – UK 10 Wide Review | Mens Golf Shoes UK

  10. Jeremy

    May 22, 2014 at 10:14 pm

    You haven’t found a pair of shoes that can take 5 strokes off your game? Then maybe you aren’t using them right. #footwedge

  11. Gary ODell

    May 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I just bought a pair in a different style from the NB Store in Shreveport LA and played 27 holes in them yesterday. Mine are 2E wide. They are Oxford style with molded built in spikes. I absolutely love them. They are as light as a feather and the most comfortable golf shoes I have ever owned!

  12. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 3:14 pm

    Please follow up and review the NB NBG2002 golf shoes. They seem better in looks and fit, but maintain the performance mentioned above.

  13. Jim

    May 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    New Balance shoes have fit me like a glove for over 30 years. I just bought another pair of gray “country walking” shoes which I have hit balls with, very comfortably at the range. Glad to know they are now making golf shoes and will likely pick up a pair of the gray shoes pretty quickly. I also look forward to their introduction of black shoes – the color I normally wear.

  14. Neil J

    May 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    I really wanted a pair of the 574’s.

    But being in between width’s in most shoes, these fit on the narrow side, and thus prevented me from owning 574’s.

    On the flip side – the New Balance 2002 shoes do fit slightly wider, and are just as comfortable. I bought 3 pair of NB2002 (all 3 colors they make) and have been more than pleased in fit, looks, and performance.

  15. Billy

    May 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    I’ll get a pair, good thing I am “Medium” width in all my golf shoes.

  16. Mike

    May 20, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    The white definitely have my interest. Wish they had a black version instead of the grey though.

  17. Ben

    May 20, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    the lack of ‘wide’ options is concerning, especially considering NB’s availability of such sizes have always been a hallmark of their company.

    • Peter

      May 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm

      I agree. I am a long time NB fan because of their width selection. I’d buy a pair this minute if they had wide sizes available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Apparel Reviews

Adidas introduces new Go-To Adapt Jacket

Published

on

“Fall temps could be all over the place.” –Weather Channel

Adidas’ new Go-To Adapt Jacket is designed to be worn when the weather can not make up its mind. The Go-To Adapt Jacket has a polyester top portion of the chest, shoulders and back which allows for better range of motion and body heat release. The bottom portion is made of fleece to help keep your core warm during the cooler morning tee times. Available for both men and women, this jacket has telescoping sleeves, allowing for the sleeves to be rolled up without stretching them out. The sleeves also feature an articulated elbow region, allowing for full range of motion.

Christine Cowan, global director of apparel, Adidas Golf says, “Golfers are used to having apparel that works for the two temperature extremes. But there are days when you need to be able to transition, for example, from a cooler morning to a warmer afternoon. That’s why we created the Go-To Adapt Jacket, to be the ideal mid-weight option that provides optimal stretch where you need it as well as enhanced breathability. It’s that reliable and perfect piece that can take you through your day, on course and off.”

Designed with the golf swing in mind, some of the key features include

  • Quarter Zip (men’s)
  • Full Zip (women’s)
  • Internal headphone pockets
  • Front-zip pockets
  • Telescope cuff (women’s features thumbholes)
  • Articulated elbows for freedom of movement
  • Water-resistant fabric combined with fleece-lined shell for all weather protection
  • Droptail hem for extra coverage
  • Women’s jacket features a more feminine cut and design
Your Reaction?
  • 29
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW0
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Callaway Golf releases 2018 Fall Weather Series

Published

on

While the cooler weather is fast approaching us, there is no need to put away your clubs and leave the golf course so soon this year! With a stylish, performance-driven collection for both men and women, Callaway Golf is here to help extend your season and keep you comfortable out there regardless of the weather this fall and winter. The 2018 Fall Weather Series is diverse, with multiple products that were designed for you the golfer to be at peak performance at a time of the year when all of your buddies will not.

Greg Hemphill, Senior Director Global soft Goods at Callaway Golf said, “We are excited to bring the 2018 Fall Series to market…from mid-layers to puffer vests, to waterproof jackets and trousers, the Weather Series marries the latest in fiber technology and construction with a sophisticated, aesthetically pleasing design to provide golfers with the new standard in performance outerwear.”

Take a look below at a few selected products that are in the 2018 Fall Weather Series.

Dual Action 1/4 Zip Pull Over & Vest

Callaway chooses an insulated thermal fabric for its heathered fleece sweaters and vests. A Water-repellent exterior and UV Block UPF 50 combine to keep you dry and protected.

Full-Zip Puffer Jacket & Vest

These lightweight garments feature insulated thermal fabric and SWING-TECH shoulder panels for an enhanced range of motion.

Waterproof Seam-Sealed Jacket

With this breathable 3-layer membrane full-zip waterproof jacket, Callaway again includes SWING-TECH mechanical stretch fabric. seam-sealed construction with splash proof zippers are designed to keep you dry.

Waterproof Performance Pant

Callaway’s new rain pant is designed for both breathability and protection from the wet stuff. adjustable snaps, drawstrings and toggle hems on the pant cuff meet a 3-layer waterproof membrane in this performance pant. 

Women’s Quilted Thermore Jacket

Thermore© thermal fabric lines this jacket for maximum on-course warmth. Callaway includes SWING-TECH construction  here as well in a more feminine silhouette. 

More about the new 2018 Fall Series on Callaway Apparel’s website.

Your Reaction?
  • 18
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW4
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK13

Continue Reading

Apparel Reviews

Bubba Watson’s Winning Outfit: 2018 Travelers Championship

Published

on

Bubba Watson took down his third career Travelers Championship on Sunday after firing a final-round 63. Like his golf swing, and his golf clubs, Bubba has his own style. He wears a visor, colored gloves, a watch while he plays, and always has his polo buttoned to the top button.

See exactly what Bubba was wearing on Sunday at the 2018 Travelers Championship below!

Bubba’s Winning Outfit

Your Reaction?
  • 3
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending