Connect with us

Iron Reviews

Review: Miura MB-001 Irons

Published

on

Pros: Unmistakable Miura feel. Very workable, and knife-like out of the rough.

Cons: Righties only, and each iron costs $235 per head. Like all muscleback irons, they’re not forgiving.

Bottom Line: If you’re a blade lover, these are some of the best. But the market can’t be big for a 3-PW iron set that costs $1880. That’s nearly twice the price of new muscleback irons from TaylorMade ($1100) and Titleist ($1000).

Overview

Unlike many golf equipment companies, Miura does not release new product every calendar year. The company has resisted trends such as oversized clubs and casting processes, only bringing new irons to market when they feel that they have created a truly special product. Miura’s use of master craftsmen throughout its small-batch manufacturing processes leads to tighter tolerances, the company says, and better control of important factors such as clubhead balance.

The design of the Miura MB-001 irons was carefully led by Katsuhiro Miura’s eldest son, Yoshitaka, and is the product of years of study and collaboration within the Miura family. The MB-001 is also the first release of a new Miura blade in six years, making it a huge event that the fervent Miura fans have been waiting for.

IMG_0020

Miura new MB-001 (top) and Tournament Blade irons. 

According to the company, the MB-001’s were designed with “intelligent shaping.” The sole’s shape and design was subtly adjusted from successful designs of earlier models to get through the turf more efficiently and keep the face square longer.

Yoshitaka Miura also designed the shape of the MB-001 to look more upright at address to give the player a better view of the ball without having the club look overly long from heel to toe. That allows the MB-001’s to have plenty of face space, yet still look as compact as a blade should.

The MB-001’s are available from authorized Miura dealers and fitters worldwide. They carry a suggested retail price of $235 a club though the prices may vary with different shaft options.

Performance

My initial test with the MB-001’s left me very impressed and at the same time actually surprised. I’ve played several sets of Miura’s for the past 20 years. The feel has pretty much been ingrained in my hands, and I’m usually not left examining the club head after a shot wondering what’s going on.  But the MB-001’s performed differently to me, especially compared to the last two blades offered, the Tournament Blade and Small Blade.

IMG_0029

Miura’s new MB-001 (top) and Small Blade irons. 

Each of those irons at first glance were the prototypical “blade” with no built-in forgiveness. The MB-001’s are far from being game-improvement iron, but they’re a different type of animal from Miura.

The addition of the leading edge grind on the MB-001’s performed very noticeably for me. I’ve never been one that takes very big divots, but I do tend to get steep with my shorter irons.  There have been moments with past blades from Miura — as well as with my current set of CB-501’s — that I found myself digging a bit too much. Many reviews and Miura players that I know have also commented on how Miura’s tend to dig a bit too much. But I haven’t found any problem with digging as of yet after a few months playing the MB-001’s.

I realize some fans of Miura blades may not like the wider soles on the MB-001’s, but with the addition of the leading edge grind the MB-001’s performed with zero clunk. This in my opinion enhances the forgiveness, yet also allows golfers a cleaner feel at impact versus a club with just a thick sole and no leading edge grind.

The MB-001’s performed much more similarly in forgiveness to my CB-501’s than the Tournament Blades, which they more closely resemble.  This was particularly noticeable from the rough and first cuts. Where the CB-501’s offered more forgiveness than the Tournament Blades, the MB001’s played similarly. The MB-001’s were still able to knife through the rough, but they seemed to travel more smoothly through it. If I dare say, although the spec numbers don’t reveal this, the MB-001’s almost played as if there was bounce assisting the shot in the rough. The sole cut and glided through the turf very well. I thought the MB-001’s were also much easier to hit out of the rough than my CB-501’s.

IMG_0017

The soles of Miura’s MB-001 (left) and CB-501 irons. 

The long irons also felt easier to hit than the past Tournament Blades. The sole definitely was a factor in this allowing a bit of error room in shots. Although from address they still could be a bit intimidating looking, the shots produced were superior over the Tournament Blades in trajectory and turf interaction. 

I found the MB-001 short irons — 8 iron through pitching wedge — to be incredible. They made working the ball and flighting it so simple. Where the CB5-01’s take a little more work to do this, the MB-001’s were pretty effortless. It was almost to the point where if I thought the shot in my head, the club head would perform it. I definitely feel that my accuracy has been much greater with the MB-001’s from 165 yards and in versus my CB-501 set. I attribute much of this to the greater ability to work the ball allowing me a much greater amount of shots from those varying distances.

Distance control was great with the MB-001’s throughout the set. I felt the MB-001’s sweet spot seemed a bit more generous than the past Tournament blade on mishits. Although they were still misses, there seemed to be a bit less sting in the hands with them over the Tournament blades.  As anyone who has played muscle back irons knows, that’ a great thing!

Looks and Feel

IMG_0016

Miura’s MB-001 (top) and CB-501 irons. 

Like any other Miura club, the finish is incredible. I absolutely adore the satin silver finish the company applies to its clubs. It screams of a richness that’s evident without even having to look at the brand on the head. The simple logo, brand, model number and no other superfluous stampings and paint fill colors are a class above the competition.

The head looks quite a bit different than past Miura offerings, however. When you examine the sole, you’ll find that it’s much more generous than past blades/muscle backs from Miura. It’s not in a way that looks clunky, but the soles of the MB-001’s are a tad wider than the Tournament Blades, although they are shorter heel to toe. If you’re familiar with Miura sole grinds, the leading edge grind on the MB-001 will quickly catch your eye. It’s very clean, and along with its performance benefits it serves to visually narrows the sole.

IMG_0014

I found the topline and the offset a joy to look at. Miura never ceases to amaze me in how the company can make a club head look so clean regardless of the vantage point. Yoshitaka Miura is said to have designed this head to look more upright to make the head look shorter from heel to toe, and he succeeded at that. Although the MB-001’s share similar dimensions to the CB-501 and the Tournament blade, I prefer the look from address better in the MB-001’s. And I really like that the toe doesn’t point so sharply like the Small Blade.

The transitions between each iron head are seamless as well. The first clubs I look at in any set are the pitching wedge, 8 iron and 7 iron heads, which are impeccably designed. None of the irons heads stood out from each other, which is the goal for any good set of musclebacks.

The MB-001’s muscle shape is also a bit different than the Tournament Blade and Small Blade offering from Miura. It’s a tad thicker, and instead of running straight across the back from heel to toe, it reached a bit deeper towards the sweet spot area.

IMG_0015

The addition of the leading edge grind and the different muscle on the MB-001’s immediately told me prior to hitting it that they would play differently and feel different than the last two blade offerings. Having played the Small Blade and Tournament Blade in the past, I always felt that the Small Blade had a livelier feel over the Tournament Blade. The MB-001 seems to be a great combination of those two heads, with a more forgiving head size that’s similar to the Tournament Blade and a great lively feeling that I got from the Small Blade.

The MB-001’s have an incredible feel — even for a Miura iron — when well struck. It’s a clean and crisp feeling with a distinct click. On mishits, they give golfers immediate feedback in their hands about how they struck it, which is one of the reasons so many of the game’s best ball strikers still choose to play musclebacks.

The Takeaway

Miura again has listened to its players wishes and developed a club that incorporates the greatness of their past clubs with improvements for today’s game. The MB-001’s to me are superior in looks, playability and forgiveness than the company’s past blade/muscleback irons.

IMG_0034

Don’t get confused into thinking that I’m saying these irons are for everyone. The MB-001’s are still blades, and you will still need to be a better-than-average ball striker to use them effectively. I will say though that compared to the Small blade and Tournament blade, the MB001’s are the most forgiving of the three sets without looking like they are game-improvement clubs. The small design additions like the leading edge grind, thicker muscle and slightly wider sole greatly assist on mishits.

The looks are top notch and honestly I think these are the best blades Miura has ever made. Just when I think Miura has done all they could in making a beautiful and incredible feeling club, the company tops itself.

If you’re a blade lover or just want to try a blade for the first time, I highly recommend the Miura MB-001 set to you. The design features, the physical looks and the incredible feel will not only appeal to your golf demands but show you why Miura has always been one of the greatest forging houses in the world.

Your Reaction?
  • 103
  • LEGIT17
  • WOW16
  • LOL5
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP25
  • OB4
  • SHANK12

Reid's been an avid golfer for more than 40 years. During that time, he's amassed quite a putter collection and has become one of GolfWRX's leading equipment nuts. Reid tries all the latest equipment in hopes of finding the latest and greatest of them all to add to his bag. He was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii where the courses are green and the golf is great!

58 Comments

58 Comments

  1. Ballzo

    Jan 12, 2015 at 1:25 pm

    Now that might be a muira I could hit. Love the muira feel and quality but the few that I have tried all dug like crazy for me. I really play better with something that has a blunted leading edge. Might give these a try some day.

  2. STEVE

    Dec 1, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    PICKED UP MUIRA USED HEADS 50 DOLLARS 5,000 YEN IN JAPAN THEY WERE 12 YRS OLD.SETS WITH SHAFTS START AT AROUND 200 DOLLARS IN USED SHOPS THERE, LATER MODELS 500–700 DOLLARS FEW YEARS OLD.

  3. STEVE

    Dec 1, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    jack nicklaus visited muira factory a month ago.Did he visit t/made to see rebirth of WILSON REFLEX, couldnt say.

  4. Tyler

    Aug 20, 2014 at 11:34 am

    To the guys questioning why would you play a blade; most cavity back and hallow irons out on the market right now are so incredibly hot that it is almost impossible for me at least to control my distance. I am not a pro in regards to hitting it dead center every time but I can get it within 0.125in. Hitting a blade gives you REAL feedback on your shot and regardless of what everyone tells you, shaping a shot with cavity back irons does not even come close to shaping one with a precise blade shot.

    I am not trying to be smug about this; people who truly want to get better at golf should try to get some blades (you don’t have to buy a new set there are THOUSANDS of nice used ones out there) and really work on your shot. Don’t allow yourself to “dumb down” your game by letting your swing get out of wack using a forgiving but too hot iron set.

  5. Barry

    Jul 1, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Had the 202’s, the 501’s, the tournament blades and the baby blades to say nothing of practically every mizzie iron put out. Have these now for the present season and I will say with pretty much certainty the 001’s are going to stay in the bag. Love ’em.

    • Matt

      Oct 1, 2016 at 9:51 am

      I play the small blade and hit small draw, but find them a bit hard to work left to right for some reason. Are the mb001 a bit easier to work in both directions?

  6. jaybo4@mac.com

    May 15, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    I really enjoyed your review of these and I have to ask you your opinion. Since you currently game the 501’s and have had a good amount of time spent with the 001’s, if you were to rebuild your bag would you opt for the 001’s or would you do a combo 001/501 with the leading edge of the 501’s to be the same as the 001’s or another set of 501’s with the leading edge relief to match the 001’s?

  7. Miked

    Apr 11, 2014 at 6:11 am

    Tried the 6 iron head to head with my 501 6 iron at Joel’s golf etc in nc.
    The mb was surprisingly more forgiving and felt so nice. Ordered
    a pw the 7 iron to match with my 501 6 thru 4 iron. Can’t wait.

  8. stephen

    Feb 13, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    So would the editor use the mb001 in 8-pw and the 4-7 in cb501

    • Reid

      Feb 14, 2014 at 2:54 am

      That combo could work and I’ve seen sets made like that at the shop I go to. I’ve also considered it as I’ve got both sets but for the moment my ball strikings been pretty darn great with just the full MB001’s.

  9. mhendon

    Feb 12, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Look alot like my Mizuno mp33’s. Been gaming them for almost 13 years and to the commenter above I’ve yet to cave in the face! Lol

  10. paul

    Feb 9, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    I always read articles in the forums about blades being a waste and difficult to hit. I tried one, loved it. Bought a set of titleist CBs because I wimped out and couldn’t take the worst mis hits. Took me about a week to hit them well and then regretted not buying blades instead. Knocked several strokes off my game.

  11. Kevin

    Feb 9, 2014 at 12:52 am

    I don’t understAnd why anyone plays “blades” . With other technology today you can get feel/workability of a blade in a forgiving iron such as ap2 or s55. In my opinion there is no reason to play any blades whatsoever

    • RG

      Feb 11, 2014 at 6:15 pm

      Your wrong. I’ve hit a lot of irons and nothing feels like and is as workable as a blade. Feel is important because your mind searches for that good feeling.

      • ok

        Apr 20, 2014 at 2:18 am

        I’m with RG. The ONLY club that’s mimicked a blade that wasn’t one is the J40, and there’s an awful long list of wannabe’s. Sorry, but I’ve hit them all, and a flush shot can feel quite similar on many irons, cast or forged, but when you play forged blades you know the difference. The look, the sound, the ball flight – all of it. Since we all play golf for the feeling, not just a number at the end of the round, we gravitate towards the clubs, balls, courses that do this for us.

    • Jon

      Nov 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

      Blades give instant feedback and the workability on these types of sticks is superior. For me it is all about looks and feel. I started playing blades years ago and have not looked back.

      I’m on the other side of the fence on this one, why wouldn’t you play blades 🙂

    • Nicolai

      Dec 2, 2014 at 7:34 pm

      Because blades are beautiful, and that looks for a lot of people are very important. When you look down on a slim, shiny blade, you know you’ve got the real deal. The feel when striking a blade 2 iron crisp is the best fealing ever. I have played both cast and forged blades, and a pair of forged blades are for me the best. Yes of center hits can hurt, but then improve your game. I play Titleist 690MB and have since 2004. Not changing them any time soon… althouh those Muira does look and sound simply perfect.

      And lastly. How can you even comment on this, if you have never tried blades yourself=?

  12. nik dallos

    Feb 7, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    I never understood why anyone would say why a club digs too much. Why should that matter? If you hit the ball first, there should be no problem. I dont get it. Can someone explain that to me?

    • dan

      Feb 8, 2014 at 12:56 am

      Because you are creating more backspin on the ball which will make the ball go higher, and lose distance not creating the penetrating flight that every golfer strives for.

      • nik d

        Feb 10, 2014 at 10:47 pm

        ive been striving for that penetrating ball flight for years living on the windy shores of lake superior fighting 30mph winds . hitting a 4 iron 190 yards into the teeth of the wind. never found a club that has a low ball flight. even with worn out grooves on 40 year old macgregors. maybe my popeye arms are to blame for that 😛 being a digger has its “disadvantages”

    • the dude

      Feb 8, 2014 at 10:28 am

      I had the tournament blades…..they needed more bounce for me….the sole was also too narrow. I’m a +1 that is not a digger and my wrists were sore after hitting 20 balls (they dig too much…after the “ball divot effect”)

      • Roy D Tousley

        Jan 12, 2015 at 3:35 pm

        the dude,
        A custom grind can/and maybe should be done to the leading edge of your tournament blades, this would all but eliminate the excessive digging (of course discounting too steep of an attack angle). Enjoy those great works of art called Miura.

  13. Jason

    Feb 7, 2014 at 10:02 am

    Does anyone know if you can by these by the club and if so, does anyone have the short irons in their bags? Carrying the 8 through PW could fit my budget and leave me with my more forgiving AP2’s for the lower irons. I’m that two handicap that plays to a six and when I’m hitting it well thinks he’s a +1.

    • Felix

      Feb 7, 2014 at 7:26 pm

      I think they do. In Canada, we can order from Golf Town and they accept order of individual iron. I play half set, 5, 7 and 9. So I am saving now for my set. 😉

  14. Craig

    Feb 7, 2014 at 8:38 am

    I only wish they’d make them for left handers as well. Too bad.

    • Martin Völker

      Feb 10, 2014 at 8:29 am

      They do have some models for lefties 🙂 You’ll find them on their website

    • ken

      Feb 12, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      They do, they are called Titleist MB’s. The MB’s are modeled after the Miura and I will tell you I do not miss blades anymore. The way I look at it if they were so good, half the tour would be playing them. They are for those who want the best (maybe in name only), S class Mercedes, 7 series BMW, Italian leather shoes or Charmin toilet paper. I wouldn’t give you 100$ for them because at a 2 handicap I can’t hit them anyway.

      • Fred

        Feb 15, 2014 at 4:03 pm

        Ken: If I’m wrong, then I’m wrong… but I’ve always been under the impression that the majority of the PGA players today (do) use blades. At least that’s what I heard Jack say once.

  15. Ola Scholander

    Feb 7, 2014 at 4:33 am

    regarding the price: people who play blades can certainly afford it because they probably don’t change clubs more than every other decade, compared to us game improvement hacks who searches for new fixes every season

    • A

      Feb 7, 2014 at 12:08 pm

      NOT TRUE at all. Good players strike the ball better in the same spot of the face, and they play a lot more, and therefore the face caves in quicker due to the soft forging, therefore, the clubs last even shorter. Hacks just need to take lessons and get their swing sorted so that they can actually play the clubs that they really want.

      • Pure Ball Striker

        Feb 7, 2014 at 2:11 pm

        lmao “face caves in”. yeah, ok.

        • the dude

          Feb 7, 2014 at 3:10 pm

          LOL!!!…..that’s funny.

        • Martin Völker

          Feb 9, 2014 at 5:23 am

          This is actually true. Most AM’s call that the golden spot, it’s due to striking the center and flatting out the grooves. That’s also the reason Tour pros change their wedges every 6 months. Do your research

          • Ben Dover

            Feb 9, 2014 at 6:15 pm

            I did my research and my research tells me that I cannot cave in the face of my soft forgings by hitting golf balls. However, my research tells me that if I take a hammer to the face I might be able to cave it in.

          • Martin Völker

            Feb 10, 2014 at 3:04 am

            Here’s a video where Mark Crossfield explains this issue
            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45vMIxNVSoE

          • ml43

            Feb 12, 2014 at 2:45 am

            tour pro’s change their wedges out every six month due to wearing out the bounce/sole.

            it’s the reason the XFT wedges/technology never really took off.

            You could play with brand new milled/cut grooves, but if the bounce is being worn away, it makes it that much harder to make effective wedge shots(i.e. sand shots, basic pitch shots, shots out of the rough, lob shots, etc.) Basically any shot except off a firm tight lie requires bounce.

          • Fred

            Feb 15, 2014 at 4:08 pm

            Martin: You’re right. Titleist recommends that wedges be changed every 60-70 rounds of golf due to the wear on the grooves. I’m sure there are pros who change their wedges sooner than that, especially since they’re free.

          • Christian

            May 6, 2014 at 11:27 pm

            *research* In what part of the world is it called the “golden spot”?

      • Josh

        Feb 7, 2014 at 3:07 pm

        Really has to be about the funniest thing I’ve read on here in a long time…and that is saying something.

  16. Tyler

    Feb 6, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    One of the most overrated club companies out there.

    • Peter

      Feb 7, 2014 at 2:49 am

      is this a typo, you really mean ‘over’ rated? i think if there was no equipment sponsorship $’s you would see a lot of this brand on tour.

      • Pat

        Feb 7, 2014 at 10:41 am

        I’m pretty sure that a bunch of pros use Miura forgings but have their sponsors logo punched in.

    • Fred

      Feb 16, 2014 at 12:59 am

      Not according to Matt Kuchar, who was very impressed that I had a set.

  17. Jason Burge

    Feb 6, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Have to love a company that only releases a new set of irons when they truly believe they’ve made an improvement. Taylormade could learn something from it.

    • J Duf

      Feb 7, 2014 at 9:22 am

      but Taylor Made comes up with something “revolutionary” every 3-6 months? Every club they come out with adds 15 yds to your shots. Im hitting the ball 714 yds off the tee now because I always buy the newest TM product!

  18. gocanucksfan123

    Feb 6, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    I cringed when I saw the last photo… Hope it didnt get scratched up!

    • Lewis Burnett

      Feb 7, 2014 at 4:19 am

      +1 Ha ha ha. I just scrolled down to pot the same comment.

      Miura make great clubs. As peter said “if there was no equipment sponsorship $’s you would see a lot of this brand on tour.”

  19. George L

    Feb 6, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    Won a set of these on twitter through KBS with Ctaper shafts… will post my own review in the forums as well

  20. Tony Lopez

    Feb 6, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous!
    Will start saving immediately..

  21. John

    Feb 6, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    Oh, I cringe whenever I see pics of beautiful blades resting atop granite… I would never be able live with myself looking at a mar on the topline for the sake of a photo shoot…

    • nick

      Feb 10, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      just about to post that. what were they thinking?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iron Reviews

Review: Honma TW737-Vs Forged Irons

Published

on

Your Reaction?
  • 134
  • LEGIT18
  • WOW7
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP4
  • OB0
  • SHANK21

Continue Reading

Equipment

GolfWRX Member Reviews: TaylorMade 2017 M1 and M2 Irons

Published

on

One of the many benefits of being a GolfWRX Forum Member is exclusive access to Giveaways and Testing Threads. For Giveaways — we give away everything from golf clubs to golf balls to GPS units — all it takes is a forum name. Enter any Giveaway, and we select winners randomly. You’re then free to enjoy your prize as you wish.

For Testing Threads, the process a bit more involved. GolfWRX Forum Members sign up to test the latest and greatest products in golf, and then they provide in-depth reviews on the equipment. Being the intelligent golf-equipment users they are, GoflWRX Members are able to provide the most-informed and unbiased reviews on the Internet.

df5745825623a9697f92315cd9d8f1d7

In this Testing Thread, we selected 75 members to test a TaylorMade M1 2017 7-iron and TaylorMade M2 7-iron. Each of the clubs were built with the stock lofts and shafts — M2 2017 (28.5 degrees) with a TaylorMade Reax shaft, and M1 2017 (30.5 degrees) with a True Temper Dynamic Gold S300 shaft — and the testers were instructed to post their review of the clubs here.

Below, we’ve selected what we’ve deemed the most in-depth and educated reviews out of the 75 testers. We have edited each of the posts for brevity, clarity and grammar.

Thanks to all of those involved in the testing!

Brock9007

To be honest, looking down on the TaylorMade M1 and M2 irons at address, there is really not much difference. I would have to pick one up to see which is which.

The first 10 balls I hit were with M1 and 6/10 felt great, while the other 4 were toe hits, which I felt and the distance reflected that. Kinda what I expected with a club design for lower-handicap players. Distance was about 1/2 longer than my Srixon iron and dispersion was close, as well. I will say they did not feel as good as the Srixon on center hits.

Next 10 (ok, 15) balls were with the M2. Wow, can you say “up, up and away? The ball really popped of the club face, but wasn’t a ballon flight. Waited for the ball to come down and WTH, with the roll out it was 5-8 yards longer than balls hit with M1, and that is with a few toe shots. I did some smooth swings and then very aggressive swings and was a little amazed at this iron. Just like the M1, it does not have the forged feeling and does have a clicky sound (which I hate).

Bottom line: M2 is the longest iron I have ever hit. I love my 545s, but I could see myself playing M2 very easily. Matter of fact, I will be taking this M2 7 iron in my bag and play it more head-to-head against my Srixon 545 on the course.

deathbymuffin

These are both beautiful clubs. What surprised me the most is how much alike the two clubs look at address. I was expecting a chunky topline and significant offset in the M2, but it’s footprint looked almost exactly the same as the M1, outside of the chrome finish on the M2 versus the frosted finish of the M1. The M2 could almost pass as a player’s iron to my eye at address. These clubs both get A’s from me in the looks department.

The M1 felt a tad thicker than most player’s irons I’m used to, but it seemed to come with a bit of added forgiveness too. Well-struck shots felt good, with a nice mid-trajectory and with the workability that I’ve come to expect from a player’s iron. But true to TaylorMade’s claims, the M1 seemed more forgiving than a traditional player’s iron. Had a nice soft feel at impact, mishits didn’t sting and left you with a more playable result. A really nice combination of the better attributes of both player’s and game improvement irons. I’ve been playing with an old set of Tommy Armour blades, but I’ve been recently wanting more forgiveness for when I’m stuck with my B or C swing. Based on the early returns, I could definitely see myself bagging these.

I’m not sure if it’s the shaft, the design of the clubhead, or a combination of both, but the M2 is definitely a different animal than the M1 at impact. This club launches the ball high, arguably ridiculously so. I was hitting Jason Day moonbombs with this bad boy. Didn’t seem to matter what kind of swing I put on it, the ball launched high, flat and dead straight. The club was super forgiving and if not for the insanely high ball flight, I would love to have a set of these for when my swing is out of sorts. I didn’t really try to flight it at all, so I’m not sure what it’s capable of at this point. One other note was that the M2 had a clicky feel at impact. It didn’t bother me since it still felt so sweet… so strange as it sounds, clicky, but smooth and sweet at the same time. I think these clubs will be big winners with the mid-to-high handicap set.

The M1 is a fine iron, but doesn’t really stand out in any way from other irons of its class.

The M2, on the other hand, is an iron on steroids. I’m really starting to love this thing. It’s super forgiving and just goes and goes. According to my laser, flush shots were going 195 yards (my usual blade 5 iron distance) and very high. I can’t help but think golf would be a whole lot easier, particularly longer courses with long par 3s, with a full set of these in my bag.

poppyhillsguy

M1 feels softer than the M2 and I felt the ball flight was more consistent and what I want in an iron. The M1 did have a harsher feeling in my hands than I typically like, but I’m going to credit a lot of that to the range balls.

M2 flies very high. It was a windy afternoon and about 100 degrees. I love the high ball flight on the range, but I have a concern what that ball flight would be like on the course. I like to hit the ball different heights for different shots and I don’t think I could do that confidently with the M2, but I could with the M1. I don’t like the sound of the M2. It sounded “clicky” to me.

Fourpar18

Initially on the range I was scared because the M1 had a regular flex in it, so I took it easy for my initial 10-15 swings with it. Ball SHOT off the face, loud crack (didn’t care for it, but not too bad) and ball just kept rising and rising but didn’t balloon. I thought, “whoa,” that’s not what I expected…did it again…another CRACK and the ball just flew. I set another down and I paid attention to how it looked behind the ball, not much offset for a game improvement and I thought…”I could actually play this club!”  The 5-7 were EASY swings, aimed at a target of 170 yards away (my normal 7 iron distance) and with a EASY swing I was flying it by 20 yards or so. The next 5-10 I really went after it, same CRACK and ball just flew but to my surprise it was a nice draw, harder draw than the first but it was a nice 10-yard draw. This time the balls were landing just short of the 200 yard marker. Damn, 200 yards with a 7 iron! I know they are jacked lofts but it feels good to say “my 7 irons just few 190-200 yards!”

P.S. LOVE the Lamkin UTX grip!

Now, this was interesting, the M2 was quieter then the M1… weird!  Now, there is more carbon fiber added to this one and there is a “Geocoustic” label on the back. I am sure that it has something to do with all that carbon fiber but it does have a better sound. Other than the sound, it played exactly like the M1: long and straight. The REAX shaft felt a little weaker than the True Temper shaft and it flew a little higher but nothing else I could pick up.

noahdavis_7

Finally got out to the range after getting these bad boys in on Friday. My first impression of them is that they look really sharp. The graphics and design really stand out and really give these clubs a cool, modern look.

They were both a little to big IMO, as I am currently bagging Mizuno MP-68s. The M2 isa definite “game improvement iron”, while the M1 was similar in size and shape to my previous irons, Titleist AP1s.

They both really launch it, high and far. Ridiculous for 7 irons. I don’t have access to a launch monitor, but it was about a 20-yard difference between my gamer 7 iron and these (stronger lofts, as well).

The M1 definitely was more suited for my eye, and produced more consistent ball flights. It felt much more smooth and solid as the M2 had a clicky, cheap feel.

The M2 just isn’t for me. I felt like it was launching too high and ballooning, which could be due to the shaft (the M1 had the S300, while the M2 just had a stock “Reax” shaft). The feel off the face of the M2 just turned me off, to be honest.

While I don’t think I’ll be putting either model in play, I can definitely see the appeal for mid-to-high handicaps. Both irons were super forgiving, and they should be a dream to the average weekend golfer who has trouble with ball striking consistently.

golfnut5438

Looks: As expected, I preferred the M1 with less offset, slightly smaller sole and a smoother finish. Less glare looking down on the iron. I must say the M2 did not look as bulky, or have as much offset as I thought it might have.

Feel: This was a close race, probably due to the shafts as much as the heads. The M1 was just a slight bit smoother feeling on solid shots. But the M2 was not bad at all, just not quite as smooth.

Distance and performance: Our range has a slight incline up the length of the range, so specific yardage gains or losses were difficult to measure. Both irons had a higher trajectory than my gamer 7 iron. Neither sole dug onto the turf either. The lofts for both irons are a degree or two stronger than mine, so I would think they probably flew a little further than my gamers. Neither iron flew “too” high, however. Might be a little harder to hit knock down shots, though.

Final thoughts: I had hit both the M1 and M2 irons last year during a fitting day, but did not like either. This year’s model were both better in my eyes. I asked a fellow member at our club to hit both and he felt the M1 was his preferred model, and he is a 20-index player. So coming from both a single digit, and a high double-digit, the M1 won this battle of wills. I will try and see if I can locate both a 5 iron and 9 iron to see if a full set might be a winner for me.

DblEgl

I was surprised that the M2 was the winner in this brief session. It felt better, flew higher, easier to hit and about 1/2 club longer that my gamer Apex CF16. The feel/sound was better than I thought it might be, but really not up to the CF16. I could, however, easily game the M2’s.

Bstein74

Feel: I hit the M2 first, and found it to be very solid when hit on the screws. There was almost no feel off the club face at all. When I mishit it, you knew it was, but it wasn’t harsh at all. Hit the M1 next, and same type of feel when hit solid. Much more harsh when mishit though, but I knew that was coming.

Distance and performance: This is was where I was curious to see how they would play. The M2 went out high in the air, and just kept going forever. Now granted my eyesight isn’t that great anymore, but it looked like I got about 10-15 yards more from the M2 compared to my Wilson D300. The only thing I didn’t like about the M2 was how much I was able to turn it over. Got a lot more hook compared to my D300. Don’t know if that was from the REAX shaft, but would love to find a less spinning shaft to correct that.

The M1 wasn’t a great performer for me. Same height as the M2, but much straighter off the club face. Didn’t get any great distance advantage as compared to my D300. Can’t game a player’s iron anymore, and testing this one just reaffirmed that.

Final thoughts: Was very happy with the distance I gained with the M2 compared to my current gamer. Very good-performing iron for me, and something I would definitely consider changing them out if I could reduce the spin off the face. If you’re looking for more distance, you need to try these out. The M1 just wasn’t for me, but as a player’s iron, I can see it as a great option.

Bobcat271

Like the other testers, I found the M2 to launch the ball much higher and is 10-to-15 yards longer than my Adams XTD forged 7 iron. Of the two 7 irons I prefer the M1. I like the design of the M1 and its visual appearance at address. I feel more confident in trying to work the ball with the M1. The M1 gave me more feedback as to where the club head was in relation to my swing plane. If I had my druthers I would put the M1 in the bag as it stands now. Will continue to test, what a treat to compare the two irons.

myurick2

Once I started making solid contact with a decent shoulder turn, the M2 really came alive in my hands. Towering flat height, for me, and very long. No more clacky hollow feel, just a very mild pleasant sensation… then zoom. Once I started making better swings, back to the M1, which was a very nice iron. Shorter than the M2 (though not short) and a little lower ball flight. Felt nice and substantial without being heavy. Very forgiving on slight mishits.

But the M2 was the star for me. High trajectory and very long. Club felt lively and fun. Frankly, unless a player wanted a lower trajectory, or likes to hit a lot of knock downs or feel shots, I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t choose the M2. They are very attractive and a very fun iron. I think folks who say that the M2 feels and/or sounds clicky, clacky or hollow may be mishitting the iron toward the toe. I am not judging — I mishit a lot of shots at first. I agree on toe mishits the iron did not feel great. It almost felt like plastic. The ball still flew pretty well, but it wasn’t a very enjoyable experience. Not painful, just felt very dead. But when hit nearer the center, the iron felt fantastic. Light, springy and very lively. 

hammergolf

They are both good-looking clubs. Not too long heel to toe and toplines were not that distracting. M1 is more what I like to see shape wise, but M2 was not bad at all. Personally, not a fan of seeing the face slots. But I could see how some people may like how they frame the ball. 

Ace2000

M1 

– Has a very odd sound on contact, almost sounds a tad like a fairway wood “ting. Not a fan
– Looks very good at address with the brushed finish
– Most shots I hit with it seemed to fall out of the sky (very likely a lack of spin). Ball flight was much lower than I would have expected (not super low, just not much different than my 7 iron)
– Inconsistent misses. Next to no distance gains vs RocketBladez Tour 7 iron

M2

– Doesn’t look as good at address as the M1. Chrome finish at address is not an issue in even direct sunlight for me
– Feels and sounds quite nice to my ears at impact. Not a classic sound but very good considering what type of club it is
– Ball flight is very strong (comes off hot). Ball stays high in the air for awhile. Very high and lands soft
– 10-12 yards longer on average vs my 7 iron, it even had the horsepower to hang with my 6 iron
– VERY forgiving on thin strikes. Couldn’t believe how a near-top still traveled to nearly the front edge in the air and still went as far as the M1 did on a good strike
– Shaft is too light

Even though I’m a 2-handicap and don’t fit the M2 “mold,” I could see myself playing this club from 4-6 iron (although gapping would be a major issue mixing these with almost anything else) if it had a heavier shaft in it (I can only imagine how far this 4 iron must go… yikes)

M1 = 2.5/5 stars
M2 = 4.5/5 stars

tpeterson

Visual first impressions: The M1 7-iron is visually appealing to me as far as the finish and overall look. Even though it is classified as a player’s iron, it doesn’t seem so tiny that it would be tough to hit. I am not a huge fan of the bright-yellow badging, but I probably could get over it. The iron inspires confidence with its topline and a little bit of offset. The “rubber” piece on the hosel is a little bit funky to me.

I thought the M2 7-iron would look clunkier than it really is. Besides the finish being a little bit different, the difference between the M1 and M2 is actually pretty small. The M2’s topline and sole are a touch wider, but not by much. Not a huge fan of the fluted hosel since it can be seen at address. The M1’s fluting is only on the rear of the club.

I did notice that the sole’s finish did scratch pretty easily. Overall, I thought the M1 and M2 are pretty good looking, but I would definitely give the edge to the M1. I also preferred the stock Lamkin grip on the M1 vs. the ribbed M2 grip.

On course action: They both feel solid. I tried hitting both irons in all different types of on-course situations over a two week period. Both clubs launch the ball high but I would not say they balloon. For me, the M2 was about 10 yards longer and higher than the M1. Compared to my Cleveland irons, they are 1 to 1.5 clubs longer.

M1 loft = 30.5
M2 loft = 28.5
Cleveland TA7 loft = 33.5

I know this accounts for the distance gain but the ball definitely comes off hot compared to my set. I was hoping I would hit the M1 better since I like the appearance better, but that was not the case. The M2 definitely felt better for me and I felt more confident with it in my hands.

Discussion: Read all 75 reviews and the responses in our Testing Thread

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Irons of 2017

Published

on

To help golfers find the best irons for them in 2017, we enlisted the services of GolfWRX Members, the most knowledgeable golfers on the internet. They not only understand the technology used in the latest golf equipment, but they also test new clubs extensively. Following their detailed experiences and words of wisdom about the latest products is the perfect starting point for anyone interested in purchasing new golf clubs.

To gather their votes and feedback, we as a company first needed to properly sort the irons into categories. We aimed to keep the categories as simple as possible with 2017’s crop of irons, and we broke them down into three general categories:

  • Players Irons: Basically, small-sized irons. These irons have sleek top lines and soles. They place workability and control over distance, and for that reason they’re irons you can expect to see in the bag of a professional golfer.
  • Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, medium-sized irons. This category includes a wide-range of clubs that blend distance, forgiveness, good looks and workability.
  • Super Game-Improvement Irons: Basically, large-sized irons. These irons are juiced with hot faces, wide soles, thick top lines, big offset and a low center of gravity, among other engineering feats, that are often unique to each company.

Note: Because of the abundance of Players Irons currently available, we divided that category into two categories: Players Irons and Exotics Players Irons. The Exotic Players Irons list included players irons from companies such as Epon, Fourteen, Miura, PXG, and Honma, which are not as widely available for testing in the U.S.

Below you can access the full results of our Members Choice 2017: Best Irons lists, as well as feedback about each iron from the GolfWRX Community. We’d like to sincerely thank all the GolfWRX Members who participated in the voting and provided feedback on the irons. We also want to thank those of you who provided feedback on the voting process itself. We assure you that we read and consider everything, and we’re going to continue to improve our process in order to provide the best and most useful information about the latest golf equipment.

Members Choice: The Best Players Irons

Mizuno_JPX_900_Tour_Feat-1021x580

Vote Leader: Mizuno JPX-900 Tour

“WOW! Great mix of buttery feel and forgiveness.”

Overall, the Mizuno JPX-900 Tour irons earned nearly 15 percent of votes on the Players iron category, giving them top billing for players irons. One GolfWRX member said he was “weak in the knees from first look at the satin finish and compact size,” and that the “feel is excellent, and there’s just enough forgiveness.” Another said the JPX-900 Tour irons are the “best irons out there right now in terms of blending feel, forgiveness, and the ability to shape shots.”

Full List: The Best Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: The Best Exotic Players Irons

PXG0311t-600x377

Vote Leader: PXG 0311T

“I can’t say I have ever hit anything that feels as good as the PXG.”

With more 21 percent of votes for the Best Exotics Players Irons of 2017, PXG’s 0311T irons were described by GolfWRX members as “a great looking club,” and that they “felt unbelievable.” When comparing the irons to Titleist’s 716 MB irons, one member said, “The fact that you can barely tell if it has or doesn’t have more offset than the MB 7 iron just shows how little it has.”

Full List: The Best Exotic Players Irons of 2017

Members Choice: Best Game-Improvement Irons

CallawayApexMembersChoice

Vote Leader: Callaway Apex CF ’16 

“Apex CF is simply the most explosive, best feeling iron I’ve ever hit in this category.”

Acquiring nearly 20 percent of votes of all models in the Best Game-Improvement Iron category, GolfWRX Members described the Callaway Apex CF ’16 irons as “simply the most explosive,” and that they “perform very well on center hits and almost as good on mishits.”

Full List: The Best Game-Improvement Irons of 2017

The Best Super Game-Improvement Irons 

PingGironsWRX

Vote Leader: Ping G

“The Ping G takes what Ping has done for years and added in increased ball speed, improved feel and much better looks.”

An iron that “will appeal even to Ping haters.” GolfWRX Members described the Ping G as “stupid easy to hit,” providing a “high and straight ball flight,” and “an eye opener.” The irons also accumulated more than 22 percent of the total votes in the category.

Full List: The Best Super Game-Improvement irons of 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 243
  • LEGIT31
  • WOW11
  • LOL12
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP10
  • OB3
  • SHANK86

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending