Connect with us

Hybrid Reviews

Adams Super Hybrid XTD Review

Published

on

GolfWRX editor review-

Pros:
The Titanium face and crown brazed to the stainless steel sole make this hybrid the hottest hybrid we have tested. Long is an understatement. Low spinning cannon!

Cons:
Has a slot on the crown to maximize the launch conditions. Some traditionalists will not like the feature visually.

Bottom line:
Longest hybrid I have ever hit to date. This is in the bag and early predictions I say we have a hybrid of the year here. Long, lower spin, great sound and this tester loves the silver paint and sign me up for the slot on the top that some might not like! Wow!!!

Review:

The first time we pulled this baby out of the box we were a little apprehensive. There is clearly a slot carved out of the top of the head. Very unique look and not what you want to see looking down at a club. However that is about all we will say against this super car. We have our self a super car, super model or super golf club here. This is a unique launch and this GolfWRX editor is drinking all the cool aid and asking for more. I have had it in the bag now for 2 months. We received it early for a review and needed some stick time to make sure it was as good as we noticed in week one. Well it is.

We tested a 17* Adams Speedline Super XTD Hybrid on and off the course. We compared it on flightscope and trackman to verify what we saw on the course. For 17* model the launch was higher than we expected and higher than the normal 17* hybrid. Based on the high launch we expected the carry to be shorter but that was far from the truth. This head produces so much ball speed and lower spin we were hitting the ball close to the distances of our gamer Ping i20 3 wood that are made of steel. While the 17* hybrid was shorter than the Ping i20 15* 3 wood and the Tour Edge 3 wood that is Titanium, is was getting very close to them in distance. Yes we said close. We were only 5 yards less on carry and 14 yards back on total distance from the mighty 3 woods. The Adams XTD Super Hybrid is 2* higher in loft and many inches shorter yet almost went as far as the lower lofted 3 woods. Good knows what the XTD 3 wood will test like in a few weeks. The spin numbers on trackman for me were only 400 rpm’s greater with the 17* XTD than the 15* 3 woods.

When I was hitting balls I could see the ball speed coming off the face hot. You can see it. In play I knew it was going to be long and allowed me to slow the swing down. I was more balanced as a result and hit some great shots. My playing partners were also amazed I was hitting the hybrid as long as they were hitting their 3 woods.

Adams claims they have the highest CT in a hybrid of 240 and has the lowest center of gravity that increases ball speed and lowers spin. There is a “velocity slot” on the top of the crown and the bottom of the sole. These slots increases the spring effect across the entire face for added ball speed and more forgiveness. GolfWRX says WOW. No we are saying WOWOWOWOW. Not that was mature right? Not it wasn’t but there are some products that just make us want to yell out to all of our readers to come on in and try this out!!! This is one of those heads.

The silver paint job looks great. I really liked the flat paint and the new look. Headcover was also designed with care. Has a very functional velcro flap that wraps around the shaft making it easier to take the cover on and off.

What can you not like about this hybrid. Well here is something… $300.00 beans for this hybrid from the local superstore. This is a lot of cash for a hybrid but to get the Ti (Titanium) technology that always will cost you more.

As the spring and summer of 2012 rolls out we are excited to hear and see some comparison data from any and all against this mighty Hybrid. Early call is the hybrid of the year.

Click here to see more information and discussion in the forums

Also you can watch this great technical video GolfWRX did with Adams golf about the XTD Hybrid and 3 wood…

Here are some photos…

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

22 Comments

22 Comments

  1. Eric

    Aug 13, 2012 at 10:32 pm

    I love my super xtd. It’s probably the hottest face in my bag. I have the fast 12 LS driver and rocketballz 3 and 5 woods and rocketballz irons but the xtd is by far the best club in my bag.

  2. Alan Steinger

    Jul 18, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Absolutely love my 19, 22 and 25 nothing but good stuff to say however i am very disappointed in the quality of the head covers. My previous Adams hybrids – Pro Idea came with fantastic head covers with a magnetic closure which prevented them from falling off and really made you feel like you had a quality product. These head covers are garbage and i am shopping now to replace them.

    Whoever handled that aspect of this product line needs to step it up quickly.

  3. Jimmy

    Jun 25, 2012 at 5:18 am

    Bought the 17 and 21 in stiff flex. 21 goes 215 on a good hit the 17 only goes about 225..go figure.

    The 21 is a hell of a club.

  4. bill

    Jun 17, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Bought the 17 today. Was 212-220 on the range with range balls. Face is somewhat closed; went home and marked a line on the top to aid me in alignment. I’m 63 years old, my Cleaveland 270 driver (10.5) is just over 240 for comparison.

  5. Pingback: GolfWRX.com – Adams Super Hybrid XTD Review | Golf Products Reviews

  6. Para

    May 14, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Craig
    I am interested in having the Adams hybrid XTD . Could you tell me an address where I can order it because this product is hard to find in France.
    Cheers
    Para

  7. trkirsch

    Apr 26, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I just ordered my 14.5′ Super XTD 3 wood the other day without ever hitting it. I’ve hit the 17′ Super XTD hybrid on the launch monitor and was SHOCKED at how long it was! I was consistently hitting it 250 and easy too. Great club, can’t wait to get my hands on the 3 wood.

  8. pinhigh18

    Apr 19, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Playing the 21* XTD hybrid with an S-Flex Diamana Thump shaft. Loving it from the tee or the fairway. Long and workable as well.

  9. Phil

    Apr 18, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Craig can you let me know when you get the Adams xtd 14.5 3 woods in stiff shafts and how much they will be I play in south Wales ( machynys g c).

  10. Craig Gardner

    Apr 18, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Kev,

    I have the rep coming next week as we are looking to stock the Adams stuff (particularly fairways and hybrids). I am based at Sedbergh Golf Club in Cumbria. Let me have your details and I’ll keep you posted.

    Cheers

    Craig
    Sedbergh Golf Club

  11. Paul Harte

    Apr 17, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I took it out on Demo from Martins PGA in the stiff shaft. I was on holidays from Ireland and OMG, I used it in the stiff shaft and it is the most amazing club i’ve ever used. I hit it 270 Yards… Never ever hit anything like it in my life. Only problem I can’t get it over here in Ireland. If you live in the states buy it. You don’t know how lucky you are.

  12. Kev

    Apr 14, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    where in the UK can they be bought? located in Scotland

  13. Metal-X-Man

    Apr 7, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    I have the 17 degree version. It is very long… almost as long as my strong R11 4 wood. Easy to swing and better than my RBZ out of the rough. I highly recommend this one.

  14. Fred H

    Apr 4, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    I bought the Adams XTD Super Hybrid 17′ after hitting it straight down the middle of the driving range 3 times in a row. I traded in my Adams 15′ 3 Wood & my TaylorMade Recuse club!
    Out on the course, I hit a 209 yd fairway shot slightly downhill to middle of green on a par 4.
    The Adams Super Hybrid replaced “two clubs” which brought me back to 14 clubs again !

  15. thegolfingboy

    Apr 2, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    If you have never hit this hybrid, and are thinking about getting a hybrid, GO HIT IT. Best hybrid on the market.

  16. Mark

    Mar 24, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Have the 21, Best Hybrid around. Never could find anything to replace my trusty old Titliest 585h til now! The difference is easy to notice high long accurate all true

  17. Cass

    Mar 23, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Guys, just try it, its like someone has turned a light on. There has not been a hybrid or fairway wood like this. To compare like for like, the difference in trajectory and distance is just so noticable its untrue, you don’t need a launch moniitor to tell you

  18. skip

    Mar 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    Chris,
    Just go hit it.
    I’ll even send you a straw for the kool-aid you’ll be drinking.
    It’s stupid good!

  19. chris

    Mar 22, 2012 at 1:15 am

    Nice infomercial Rick. Doubt it is that good!

  20. Rick

    Mar 20, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Could be the best club I have ever hit! Hot as my driver, sounds and feels great and is deadly accurate and very long. Buddy of mine hit the 19 degree 248 yds over water in Palm Springs to 3 ft for eagle! The ability to execute all types of shots with this club allowed all of us in the group to go after pins and distances we have never thought possible… Worth every penny!

  21. Foz

    Mar 20, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Nice review……nice hybrid….way too much cash required…..think I’ll pass on this one…..until it hits the discount stores.

  22. Nate S

    Mar 19, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Pretty cool! I love hybrids and would love to take this one for a test drive. Er, not out of the tee box persay, but I think the top slot won’t matter as long as it gets near the pin!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hybrid Reviews

Review: Callaway XR and XR Pro Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: The hottest hybrids in golf. The XR and XR Pro are also exceptionally well-rounded, with pleasing looks, feel and performance from the tee, fairway and rough.

Cons: Not adjustable.

Who are they for? Golfers who desire a more iron-like hybrid will likely prefer the XR Pro, whereas those seeking a slightly larger, more forgiving club that plays more like a fairway wood will find the standard XR a better fit.

The Review

Copy and paste. By that I mean, copy the review for the XR and XR Pro fairway woods and paste it right here. Everything I loved about the XR fairway woods applies to the hybrids, and the criticisms are nearly identical as well. Essentially, these clubs are long, forgiving and visually appealing. The only knock? No adjustability.

0fa7fbabbfbe3b1c016f15bfa0ee3273

Callaway’s XR and XR Pro (right) hybrids.

Sometimes an equipment manufacturer will redesign a product in hopes of invigorating sales. Sometimes the redesign provides tangible benefits for the player. With the XR and XR Pro hybrids, Callaway has done both.

A redesigned internal standing wave, which boosts MOI, a measure of ball speed retention on mishits, offers golfers more distance regardless of where they hit shots on the face. Couple that with a center of gravity that is as low as Callaway has ever engineered in a hybrid (for a higher launch and less spin), and you have one bad mama jama.

Generally, golfers who opt for a hybrid do so for one of two reasons. They either want a club that performs a lot like a long iron, but is more forgiving… or they want a club that launches high like a fairway wood, but offers more control. Either way, the XR series has you covered. In both on-course and launch monitor testing, both hybrids launched higher than previous models. So if you prefer to see a flatter ball flight, going down in loft or pairing the head with a lower-trajectory shaft will help.

I’ve never hit a hybrid so high while still maintaining an ideal trajectory. Don’t be shocked if you demo either club and find that it launches higher and carries farther than what’s currently in your bag — especially if you currently carry a long iron or driving iron.

With these hybrids, the sweet spot is gone. It’s more like the sweet zone. As long as you can make semi-solid contact, the results are acceptable. If you’re an above average ball striker, you’ll likely find your misses to be decidedly more consistent.

In testing, both clubs excelled as secondary options off the tee, and more than held their own from the ground — even in light and deep rough. That said, where both clubs differentiated themselves for me was on long approach shots or second shots into a par 5. Being able to hit a club high enough (and far enough) to hold a green from 220+ is something the XR series does better than any other hybrid I’ve tested.

5fd7e50be88d80238fef5802bb90b580

The XR and XR Pro (right) hybrids at address.

A note for better players: The smaller profile of the XR Pro is not indicative of its forgiveness. In fact, I found it to be pleasantly forgiving — much more so than other hybrids with similar shape and playing attributes. Ultimately, if you select the XR over the XR Pro it will be because the XR gave you better trajectory and distance numbers, not because one model was significantly more forgiving than the other. In fact, both models exhibit the holy grail of exceptional distance, hardy forgiveness and precise workability. It’s why no hybrid did better than the XR in GolfWRX’s 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids List. 

The XR and XR Pro hybrids come in a variety of lofts. The XR Pro is offered in lofts of 16, 18, 20 and 23 degrees, whereas the XR is available in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees. Stock length on the 20-degree XR Pro is 40 inches, whereas stock length on the 19-degree XR is 40.5 inches. If you do get fitted and ultimately select one of these models, be sure to discuss length, as the iron you’re replacing is likely at least 0.5-inches shorter.

f127cc66effe1ce8fa42db912c1bb813

The XR hybrid (bottom) has a larger face area than the XR Pro, making it slightly more forgiving.

For people who might only look at the number associated with the club (i.e. 3H = 19 degrees), caveat emptor. In testing, the 3 hybrid had carry distances closer to a 5 wood than a 3 iron. As such, if you’re looking to replace a specific iron, I’d suggest starting at a number one higher than the iron you’re looking to replace. Specifically, if you’re dropping a 3 iron, start by testing the 4 hybrid. In addition, I found the 19-degree XR hybrid to launch nearly identically to the 20-degree XR Pro, albeit with less spin. I can’t help but think that was intentional on the part of the Callaway engineers.

Again, I’d like to see both models with the same array of shafts, as some might look at the stock shaft in the XR and presume the club is geared toward slower-swinging or less demanding players. This simply isn’t true.

The Numbers

Head: Callaway XR (19 degrees)
Shaft: Project X LZ (Stiff)

  • Average Ball Speed: 145 mph
  • Average Backspin: 5400 rpm
  • Average Launch Angle 22 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 237 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 214 yards

Head: Callaway XR Pro (20 degrees)
Shaft: Project X LZ Pro 6.0 (Stock)

  • Average Ball Speed: 145
  • Average Backspin: 5100 RPM
  • Average Launch Angle 21.5 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 239 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 215 yards

Gamer Head: Callaway Alpha 815 (20 degrees)
Gamer Shaft: Veylix Rome 988 (Stiff)

  • Average Ball Speed 143.8 MPH
  • Average Backspin 4975 RPM
  • Average Launch Angle 19 degrees
  • Average Carry Distance (at 5000 feet): 238 yards
  • Estimated Carry Distance at Sea Level: 215 yards

The Takeaway

fc814b59bb8f96204a752212c9b1200c

Callaway’s XR Hybrids received top ratings for distance and forgiveness on GolfWRX’s 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids List.

The XR and XR Pro hybrids from Callaway, with apologies to Tina Turner, are “simply the best” — at least for me. The lone shortcoming is a lack of adjustability, and depending on where you fall on this topic that may not be a significant weakness.

In describing the XR series, one quickly runs short of superlatives. Selecting either model as an upgrade to what’s currently in your bag is akin to throwing a rock into the ocean and hoping it gets wet. It’s nearly a can’t-miss proposition.

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 141
  • LEGIT24
  • WOW7
  • LOL5
  • IDHT4
  • FLOP6
  • OB3
  • SHANK9

Continue Reading

Hybrid Reviews

2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids

Published

on

Following the trend of new drivers and fairway woods, hybrid clubs have become much lower spinning than their predecessors in recent years. It’s a change that has widened their target audience from golfers looking to replace their long irons with clubs that fly higher and stop quicker on the greens, to… just about any golfer.

How do you know if you should consider a new hybrid? If you’ve ever wished that your current long irons or hybrids carried farther, that’s a pretty good indication that an updated model could be good for your game.

Our 2015 Gear Trials: Best Hybrids are plenty long, but they’re also very forgiving. So even if you’re not interested in hitting your clubs farther, you could still find more consistency from one of the six models below.

The Winners

composite_hybrids_v2

The clubs and subsequent ratings were selected by our Gear Trials Panel, six of the top-rated custom golf clubs fitters in the world. Our 2015 Gear Trials Panel includes:

Learn more about our Gear Trials: Best Clubs Lists

The Ratings

chart_geartrials15_bar_hybrid_v3

While reviewing each of the 2015 Best Hybrids below, remember the purpose of the clubs. They bridge the gap between a golfer’s shortest fairway wood and the longest iron they can hit consistently. Some golfers can make that transition without a hybrid, while others may need several hybrids.

The best way to learn if a hybrid is good for you, or how many hybrids you might need, is to go through a professional fitting — but if that’s not an option for you, you can use our rating to your advantage. The hybrids that scored highest in our Distance Ratings tend to work best for golfers looking to shed spin, while the clubs that score high in our Forgiveness Ratings tend to be more consistent on mishits.

Along with our six winners, we’ve also listed three lower-spinning alternatives: Callaway’s XR Pro, TaylorMade’s AeroBurner TP and Titleist’s 915Hd. These clubs will work best for a smaller percentage of golfers than our six best hybrids, but they’re fueled by the same technologies as our winners.

Note: The list below is in alphabetical order.

Callaway Big Bertha

geartrials_slider_hybrids_callawaybigbertha

  • Headsize: 126cc (3 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 3-degree range
  • Price: $249.99

You might be surprised to see Callaway’s Big Bertha hybrids, which were released alongside the company’s Big Bertha irons in the Fall of 2014, make our list. If so, you probably haven’t hit them.

[quote_box_center]”The Big Bertha is hard to miss,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

The reason to play a Big Bertha hybrid over the higher-rated XR hybrids are:

  1. Their larger size, which makes them appear more fairway wood-like than any other hybrid on this list.
  2. They’re adjustable, which allows golfers to dial in the exact loft and lie angle they need to get the most out of the clubs.

Like the XR hybrids, the Big Bertha hybrids use Callaway’s Hyper Speed Face cups to boost their ball speeds and forgiveness. They’re slightly higher-spinning than the XR, however, which will work very well for their target audience of slower swing speed golfers. But higher swing speed players shouldn’t count them out — particularly the 3 hybrid when adjusted to 18 degrees.

The Big Bertha hybrids are offered in lofts of 19, 22, 25, 28 and 32 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolf.com/golf-clubs/hybrids-2015-big-bertha.html” oemtext=”Buy it from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NURXJHG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00NURXJHG&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=AJVRSOTPPURINDGU”]

Callaway XR

geartrials_slider_hybrids_callawayxr

  • Headsize: 122cc (3 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $219.99

Callaway’s XR is likely the longest hybrid on this list, receiving the highest possible rating of 10 in distance, and thanks to Callaway’s slick engineering, it also ties for first in forgiveness (9.5) with Ping’s G30 hybrid.

[quote_box_center]”This should be the first hybrid you test,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

Like Callaway’s XR fairway woods, the XR hybrids set themselves apart from the competition with a mid-sized club head that offers a high launch, relatively low spin and more forgiveness than its predecessors. They’re offered in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees.

Our lone request for 2016: Can you make future models adjustable, Callaway?

Want a more iron-like hybrid? Callaway’s XR Pro hybrids ($229.99) measure a slim 98cc at 20 degrees, and offer a lower-spinning trajectory that many better players prefer from their hybrids. They’re offered in lofts of 16, 18, 20 and 23 degrees, but we recommend the 20- and 23-degree models in particular as 3- and 4-iron replacements. We wouldn’t be surprised if you carried them as far, if not farther, than your older, lower-lofted hybrids

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.callawaygolf.com/golf-clubs/hybrids-2015-xr.html” oemtext=”Buy it from Callaway” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QRJBY44/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QRJBY44&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=TWFKUSUCISU34PQ7″]

Cobra Fly-Z

geartrials_slider_hybrids_cobrafly-z

  • Headsize: 105cc (3-4 hybrid)
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 4-degree range
  • Price: $199.99

Cobra’s Fly-Z hybrid is sized like a better-player hybrid, but packs the forgiveness we’d expect from a larger model. That’s thanks to its rearward center of gravity (CG), which boosts consistency.

[quote_box_center]”Fly-Z, like [Cobra’s] Bio Cell last year, will still perform for the average player,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists. [/quote_box_center]

If you’re a high-spin player, however, the Fly-Z might not be for you. It’s one of the highest-spinning models on this list, which is the reason for its relatively low Distance Rating (8).

Like the Fly-Z fairway woods, the strength of the Fly-Z hybrids is their versatility. They’re offered in three models: a 2-3 hybrid that adjusts from 16-19 degrees, a 3-4 hybrid that adjusts from 19-22 degrees and a 4-5 hybrid that adjusts from 22-25 degrees. Its wide-ranging adjustability is a great tool to have if you need to fill a specific yardage gap in your bag.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.cobragolf.com/fly-z-hybrid” oemtext=”Buy it from Cobra” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00R4ADF3S/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00R4ADF3S&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=E2QEQHVEQB22TUEP”]

Ping G30

geartrials_slider_hybrids_pingg30

  • Headsize: 110cc
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $229.99

[quote_box_center]”G30 gets the ball up in the air easy, and is on par with the G25 with slightly more ease to height,” said one of our Gear Trials Panelists.”[/quote_box_center]

The G30 hybrids use a new heat-treated 17-4 stainless steel face that boosts their characteristic time (CT), a measure of spring-like effect, 20 points higher than the G25 hybrids. They’re still not as long as other hybrids on this list, but they offer a noticeable improvement in ball speed over past G-Series hybrids, and with their similar trajectory that means they’ll likely carry a few yards farther for most golfers.

There’s no turbulators on the G30 hybrids, due to their smaller, more aerodynamic size, but the shape of the hybrids was tweaked from the G25 to include a flatter top rail and a higher heel section that gives them a more square appearance at address. We like the look, and see it as a change that will be enjoyed by the majority of golfers.

We wish the G30 hybrids were adjustable, but they are offered in five lofts: 17, 19, 22, 26 and 30 degrees. The higher-lofted models, because of the G30’s higher-spinning nature, are great for golfers looking for more stopping power on the greens, while the 17-degree model will be enjoyed by better players seeking a replacement for a pesky driving iron or a troublesome 4 or 5 wood.

TaylorMade AeroBurner

geartrials_slider_hybrids_aeroburner_v3

  • Headsize: 112cc (19 degrees)
  • Adjustable Hosel: No
  • Price: $229.99

What the AeroBurner lacks in forgiveness, it makes up for in horsepower. Golfers may or may not be able to hit it as far as Callaway’s XR, but the AeroBurner offers a unique shape that’s intriguing for those who haven’t found much success with traditional hybrid shapes. It’s also one of the highest-launching, if not the highest-launching hybrid on this list.

The calling card of the AeroBurner, however, is speed — from its Aerodynamic crown shape and its lighter weight, which will convert to more swing speed and more distance for some golfers. The AeroBurner hybrids are not adjustable, but they are available in lofts of 19, 22, 25 and 28 degrees.

Need more fade bias? TaylorMade’s AeroBurner TP hybrids ($269.99) offer golfers a more traditionally weighted hybrid. They’re the same size as the standard versions, but come with heavier heads and shafts that tend to give better players more control over trajectory. They also have a 2-degree flatter lie angle and a 1-degree more upright face angle that will please golfers who have struggled with the hybrid hooks in the past. They’re available in lofts of 19 and 22 degrees.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/AeroBurner-Rescue/DW-WZ206.html” oemtext=”Buy it from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVP7JG/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVP7JG&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=O5BLTFF3VXFAZFYA”]

Titleist 915H

geartrials_slider_titleist915H

  • Headsize: 118cc
  • Adjustable Hosel: Yes, 2.25-degree range
  • Price: $249.99

Looks aren’t a factor in our Best Hybrids list ratings, but if they were, Titleist’s 915H would likely be the winner.

The 915H’s pear-shaped head is large enough to inspire confidence, but not too large as to limit versatility. While the 915H is not the longest hybrid on this list, or the most forgiving, it’s great in both areas, and offers noticeably more ball speed than previous hybrids from Titleist thanks to the company’s new Active Recoil Channel — a deep slot that extends across the entirety of the club face. For that reason, we recommend trying a higher-lofted version of your current hybrid, if you carry one.

Titleist’s 915H is fully adjustable, and is available in lofts of 18, 21, 24 and 27 degrees. It comes stock with the best selection of stock shafts on this list: four “real deal” models from Aldila and Mitsubishi Rayon that are available in a wide range of weights, bend points and flexes.

Need less spin? Titleist’s 915Hd ($249.99) offers the same technology as the 915H hybrids, and is roughly 100-200 rpm lower spinning. It also has a slightly smaller club head (107cc) that many better players will prefer. The 915Hd hybrids are offered in lofts of 17.5, 20.5 and 23.5 degrees. We recommend the 20.5-degree model as a 3-iron replacement for better players looking for more carry distance and consistency.

Related

GT_15_B

Your Reaction?
  • 135
  • LEGIT22
  • WOW4
  • LOL6
  • IDHT5
  • FLOP5
  • OB3
  • SHANK29

Continue Reading

Hybrid Reviews

Review: Taylormade R15 and AeroBurner Hybrids

Published

on

Pros: The R15 and AeroBurner hybrids offer faster ball speeds and more distance than the SLDR or JetSpeed hybrids.

Cons: The smaller, peanut-shaped R15 might turn some golfers away who like to see more meat behind the ball. Like the driver and fairway woods, the AeroBurner offers no adjustability.

Who are they for: The R15 is aimed at better players looking for a more compact hybrid that still delivers fast ball speeds across the face. The AeroBurner is aimed at any golfer looking for more forgiveness and more ball speed from their hybrid, even on slight mishits.

The Review

8da6f846e7c29f2e447abdd4c74bd7c7

The moment you pick up an R15 hybrid, you’ll know that this club was built for versatility. The smaller, tour-inspired shape is designed to maximize playability from virtually any lie. I found the club to be equally good from tight lies, off a tee and out of the rough.

f89729faef0ddb8a2241fb6ebc064077

At Address: A TaylorMade R15 hybrid (19 degrees).

The smaller shape, which better players will appreciate, sets up square behind the ball and like the fairway woods, feels like you’ve got a powerful, precision mallet in your hands. Even with the smaller footprint, an open channel at the front of the sole increases ball speeds across the face.

Like other hybrids on the market with adjustable hosels, the R15 also has a 3-degree loft sleeve, which allows golfers to optimize launch conditions. The standard setting promotes a neutral ball flight, something I confirmed during testing.

0b5d2c3969e7d84022c539b0c7babbff

The AeroBurner Rescue is a blend of performance and forgiveness. Like the other AeroBurner metal woods, the Rescue has an aerodynamic shape with a raised center crown, the company’s new hosel fin, and a low, forward center of gravity, all working together to deliver maximum speed and distance.

The sweet spot is up to twice as large as previous models thanks to an improved Speed Pocket and Thru-Slot technology, according to TaylorMade, and instead of trying to gain clubhead speed with a longer shaft, the AeroBurner hybrids actually have a shaft that is 0.5-inches shorter the company’s previous hybrids, which will give most golfers more control.

e9351ca626c8b85e76a38f570b4a424d

At Address: TaylorMade’s AeroBurner Hybrid (22 degrees).

Unlike the R15, the Aeroburner Rescue is also available in 5 (25 degrees) and 6 (28 degrees), giving golfers the freedom to drop their 4, 5, and 6 irons from the bag and replace them with more forgiving and easier-to-hit clubs. Even if you want to keep your 4 and 5 irons in the bag, the AeroBurner might fill that gap giving you the chance to hit shots you might never have tried before.

Testing

To this point, I’ve been split between the R15 and AeroBurner metal woods, with the R15 driver and AeroBurner fairway woods performing the best for me during testing. As I always do, I started the testing at the driving range. Just as I saw with the fairway woods, the launch angle, distance and peak height of both clubs appeared to be slightly higher than my current gamer. This time however, the R15 was the stand out. The feel at impact, a stable, neutral-to-slight-draw shot shape, and good distance was exactly what I was hoping to see.

That said, the AeroBurner didn’t disappoint. The flight was slightly higher and with more draw bias, but the distance was extremely close.

Unfortunately the weather has been hit or miss in Georgia, so I had to complete my launch monitor testing indoors. I headed to Golfsmith Extreme in Smyrna, Ga., where I tested the R15 and AeroBurner hybrids with a GC2 launch monitor and an Ernest Sports ES14 Doppler-based launch monitor simultaneously using premium golf balls. To get comparison data, I also tested TaylorMade’s SLDR and JetSpeed hybrids from 2014.

The Numbers

R15_Chart
Launch monitor testing confirmed my initial impressions on the driving range that the R15 was outperforming the AeroBurmer, but not by much. In fact, the margin between these clubs when you look at the numbers alone is razor-sharp.

The R15 produced 1 mph more ball speed and 1 more yard of carry on average over the AeroBurner, with slightly more spin and a slightly lower launch. The shot shape bias was neutral to a slight draw, which is what I was expecting. The AeroBurner on the other hand, produced consistent draws for me.

106c1b73e64a1e021a07b91088d646be

The R15 hybrid has a 3-degree adjustable hosel, allowing golfers to dial in launch, spin rate and trajectory bias.

While the margin between the R15 and AeroBurner was extremely close, both clubs outperformed the SLDR and Jetspeed hybrids. The R15 was 5 yards longer than the SLDR and 6 yards longer than the JetSpeed. Looking at the best shots with all the clubs, the longest during the testing session came with the R15 — even though the SLDR and JetSpeed produced very similar ball speeds.

Distance isn’t the only reason we should buy a golf club, and with the R15 and AeroBuner hybrids producing similar numbers, I also wanted to look at the consistency of the two clubs. I did this in two ways.

First, I assessed the dispersion of the shots. In this case, the AeroBuner edged out the R15 with a slightly tighter dispersion, albeit further left of target.

Second, I took a look at the difference between the best shot and the average shots of the clubs. We all love stomping on a shot that ends up flying further than we expect, but the majority of golfers, myself included, prefer reliability and consistency to the rare bomb. In this case, the R15 was more consistent than any of the 3 clubs in every category except spin and peak height, where the AeroBurner was slightly more consistent.

30601208ce04f15947e6f0f943d927b5

We found the AeroBurner hybrid (above) to be slightly more forgiving than the R15 hybrid.

With more consistent distance, a compact and versatile head shape, and the ability to adjust the loft with the 3-degree loft sleeve, the R15 rescue has found a place in my bag. That said, the AeroBurner Rescue also comes in a TP version which has a flatter lie angle and a slightly more open face, which might give the R15 a run for its money.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/AeroBurner-Rescue/DW-WZ206.html#start=3″ oemtext=”Buy the AeroBurner hybrid from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVP7AU/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVP7AU&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=I37VEEWUWBLIISTJ”]

The Takeaway

The R15 hybrids have a 3-degree Loft Sleeve and come in lofts of 17, 19, 21 and 24 degrees. The stock shaft is Fujikura’s Speeder 77 Evolution hybrid (X, S, R and M Flexes). A TP version is also available for $279 with Fujikura’s Speeder 869 Evolution Tour Spec shaft.

The AeroBurner hybrids ($199) are offered in the following models: 3 (19 degrees) 4 (22 degrees), 5 (25 degrees) and 6 (28 degrees).

For the better player looking for versatility from a classically-shaped club, the R15 is a great option. The larger, more forgiving AeroBurner is an excellent choice for golfers looking to maximize forgiveness.

Also, for those golfers looking to replace their long irons with hybrids, the AeroBurner will allow you the consistency to play the same model hybrid from your 3 all the way to your 6-hybrid.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/R15-Rescue/DW-WZ150.html#start=1″ oemtext=”Buy the R15 hybrid from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QLVM1JK/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00QLVM1JK&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=HZKLNWIIIMZAKKNW”]

Related

cf51d6550539b02863e12d2d5bf881c0

Your Reaction?
  • 72
  • LEGIT10
  • WOW1
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK15

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending