Connect with us

Putter Reviews

Review: Cleveland Classic Collection HB 1 Putter

Published

on

Pros: The Cleveland Classic HB 1 costs only $99, yet it offers the clean look and soft feel of more expensive putters. It’s available in two finishes, black pearl and the satin chrome.

Cons: No removable weights, but what do you expect for less than $100? The 340-gram head weight is trending on the light side for modern putters, particularly in the the 33- and 34-inch lengths.

Bottom Line: Have you read those stories about a tour pro pulling a putter out of a bucket, putting it in play and playing their best golf? The Cleveland Classic HB 1 is not a bucket putter, but it just might be the one that pulls your game up when you need it. You don’t need to save up for one of these, so if you’re desperate to try something the Classic Collection putters are a great place to start.

Overview

The HB 1 Black Pearl has a plumber’s neck hosel, in contrast to the other cavity-back blades in the line, the slant-neck HB 4.5 model and flare-neck HB 7. Other models in the line include a half-mallet HB 2 (think Phil Mickelson’s putter), the HB 6, which is a more traditional mallet with a double-bend shaft, an HB 3 (think Ping Zing) and the HB 10, a mallet with a plumber’s neck.

The HB 1 comes in three shaft lengths (33, 34 and 35 inches). It comes stock with a 70-degree lie angle and a 3 degrees of loft. The head weighs in at 340 grams and the grip adds an additional 60 grams to overall weight. The HB 1 comes in left and right-handed models. A black head cover (the type that cloaks the head from toe to hosel, and seals with velcro) comes standard.

Performance

d9c9a0813d5f2a8c8f588c7dfe0636f4

I suspect (but cannot prove) that the Cleveland Classic HB 1 Black Pearl is one of the most solid blocks of metal on the business end of a putter. Try as I might, I could not find a hot spot nor a weak one. Mind you, aberrant toe and heel hits will certainly result in diminished returns, but any strike near the center line will come off with consistency.

In this age of metrics, equipment companies use numbers to differentiate their product lines from the competition. In the case of the HB 1 putter, this involves a curious elaboration of the lie, loft and weight numbers on the sole of the club. Other than drivers and wedges, loft and lie of clubs matters little to not-at-all to the vast majority of golfers.

33d276b80becc1715a1c859ebefa5e7d

Don’t be distracted by the words “face milled” on the heel of the putter face. Face milling is nice, but it is used to cover a cast head. Truly high-end putters are 100 percent milled from a single block of steel. If given a choice between face-milled or not, I’ll gladly take the face milled. If Cleveland offered a 100-percent milled HB 1, I might be even more impressed with the putter. But then again, the manufacturing process would likely drive the price up two or three times its current amount: a huge price to pay for a putter that may or may not feel any better than the HB 1.

Looks and Feel

e92e105cec9b8124f1ad1b2ecb6a2970

One thing that I like about this golf club is the top-to-bottom consistency in color choices. The only things not black or white are the shaft, the shaft label (gold writing) and the word “Golf” on the back of the club face (unseen at address). The grip is primarily black, with a white-piped Cleveland logo near the top. The club head is all black, save for the white alignment line and the word “Cleveland” on the rear of the club face (also unseen at address). This minimalist consistency strikes a chord with me; unlike many of the futuristic mallet putters on the market, the HB 1 Black Pearl offers no visual distractions. Nothing sidetracks the eye from the grip and the putter head. Nothing distracts your eye from the task at hand.

The Winn grip issued standard on the HB 1 Black Pearl is very comfortable. It is soft (but not mushy) and tacky due to its cross-hatched line pattern. Avoiding the slickness of a smooth grip, the Winn grip emulates the milled face of this putter, suggesting that you will hold this club firmly, with great stability. The putter head consists of simple lines. Nothing is obscured by the plumber’s neck hosel and the single white alignment line serves to give the eye something to fix upon, contrasting with the blackness of the club head.

8f9d601b7e506d7c4c7023aad1908379

Perhaps the best adjective to describe the HB 1 club head is soft. There is no clunky feel at the moment of head-ball contact, nor is there a sound of any discernible volume. The gentle click at impact might be likened to the hiccup of Cindy Lou Who during a midnight water scamper; you hear nothing! For those who need some clatter at point of contact, this might prove to be a negative. For those who treasure the empty feeling of a sweet-spot strike, this putter should merit consideration for bag inclusion.

Takeaway

The price point of the Cleveland Classic HB 1 Black Pearl is far beneath the cost of typical tour-model putters. If you like this club as much as I did, it will enjoy a lengthy stay in your bag. What we don’t know is how long the grip will last, keep in mind two things: the softer the grip, the less durable it is. However, since putting involves little of the torque found in the full swing, this Winn grip should wear down much slower.

dbecd36a563efc9a4d14e80019b1dc3e

My suggestion is the same with all putters: test it out, leave it, test it a second time, leave it. If you still love it the third time out, buy it. A ben franklin is not a casual bill to drop, but it’s money well spent in the case of the HB 1 Black Pearl.

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://www.clevelandgolf.com/US_classic-collection-hb-1-black-pearl-putter__cchb_1_bpputter__viewProd_putters.html” oemtext=”Learn more from Cleveland Golf” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NUS90HS/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00NUS90HS&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=LL76442OSHW2MNKK”]

Your Reaction?
  • 83
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW10
  • LOL14
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP24
  • OB1
  • SHANK1

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

26 Comments

26 Comments

  1. Mike J

    May 10, 2015 at 4:08 am

    Ron,
    In terms of “apples to apples”, would you say this is Cleveland’s equivalent of a Ping Karsten TR Anser 2? I know their is a 5g different in weight, but wanted your opinion.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  2. X

    Feb 28, 2015 at 4:37 am

    I live in Okinawa, Japan and just picked up this putter in left hand from the used section at 5 Golf Shop for 2,900 yen ($25). I give it 9/10 in condition. There isn’t a scratch on it! This putter feels great on my hands. I currently have an Odyssey in my bag, but I will giving the Cleveland lots of use. GO GET THIS PUTTER!! SACE SOME MONEY!!!

  3. Mark

    Jul 30, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I got one the other day now when theirs a four mtr putt ppl say its in the cup I haven’t missed too many love this putter all I see is a white line that doesn’t miss and at the cup it goes love it

  4. Pingback: Cleveland Golf's HB1 Putter Big Add to Your Bag? - nextgengolf

  5. Jeff Moline

    Jun 5, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I’m heading to the golf store after work to pick up the HB 1. Matching it with either the Super Stroke 2.0 or 3.0. Thank you everyone for the great comments and recommendations.

  6. Frank

    May 2, 2014 at 7:20 am

    I am a Ping putter fan, hb1 far exceeded my expectations, I played 2 balls 2 putters. I like the heavier feel of the hb1 and very well balanced, sorry karsten! Hb1 is def a smart buy, ” livin large at half the price”

  7. JO

    Feb 2, 2014 at 12:29 am

    I purchased this putter earlier today at the DC Golf Show! I fell in love with it a few weeks ago at Golfsmith, and I was excited to see it reviewed so favorably on WRX.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Feb 19, 2014 at 10:03 pm

      I just returned from five rounds in Pinehurst and putted nearly lights-out with it. Great roll and perfect feel, which gave me great confidence.

  8. Pingback: Cleveland’s HB1 Putter Big Add to Your Bag? |

  9. Potty Cameron

    Jan 11, 2014 at 12:13 am

    That is a solid looking putter at a fraction of the cost of those overpriced cameron products. Sadly, people will continue to over pay for those camerons while potty cameron runs to the bank!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 11, 2014 at 5:19 pm

      Potty Cameron,

      Thank you for your contribution. The putter feels as solid as it looks. As always, the right putter in the right hands is a dangerous weapon! If you save some money for green fees, bonus time!!

  10. Rob

    Jan 10, 2014 at 11:23 am

    I picked up an HB1 in satin chrome last year for about $80, and it was a pretty good buy. I put a Super Stroke mid-slim 2.0 grip on and it’s a steady putter overall. I agree that there really isn’t a hot spot or weak spot, but just a pretty good feel as long as you don’t heel it too badly.

    This is by no means a Scotty or any other $300+ putter, but it’s not bad on fast greens and a nice addition to the collection.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 10, 2014 at 5:07 pm

      Key word is “collection.” Most golfers have experienced the ups and downs of a particular putter. They’re easy to swap in and out, and some people actually sell their used putters for us to buy. Nice price you got, Rob. Excellent observations.

  11. Ronald Montesano

    Jan 9, 2014 at 4:57 pm

    The voice of the people has spoken! Thanks, LiveWire, for your input. Simple, clean lines and off you go. Well said.

  12. A

    Jan 9, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Nice long-ish neck. Looks good. Their face milling feels awesome in everything, so this should be great.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 9, 2014 at 4:51 pm

      I like those observations, A. The long neck distances the apparently-small-but-not-really club head from the eyes, giving it a bit more size. It’s in my bag!

  13. CB712

    Jan 9, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    It is a great putter Newport 2 style looks great! Way underrated!

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 9, 2014 at 4:52 pm

      I’d like to swing the chrome model, to see if its head looks larger than the black one. I suspect its appearance would confirm that supposition.

  14. Merty Huckle

    Jan 9, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    sightline only? No thanks.

  15. Joel

    Jan 9, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    I got the pretty similar black belly the other day to cut down for a “near belly” counterbalance thing, and just received my never compromise gambler flush the other day and I couldn’t be happier with both of them. Cleveland putters deserve way more credit then they often get, especially at the price they offer them.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 9, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      Interesting tactic to employ, Joel. Keep us posted on how the cut-down works out. Agreed: can’t beat the price.

  16. LiveWire

    Jan 9, 2014 at 12:10 pm

    Love this putter. I have 2 Cleveland putters, and 1 Sub 30. The craftsmanship, weight, and design of the classic is great. I’m not one for flashy or spaceship looking designs as I believe they detract from my putting. A design like this is perfect for admiring results not fancy milling or paint work.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Jan 10, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      The voice of the people has spoken! Thanks, LiveWire, for your input. Simple, clean lines and off you go. Well said.

    • Shep

      Mar 3, 2014 at 12:26 am

      I totally agree with you. I went and tried the cleveland smart square putter but I found myself focusing too much on the squares. I then tried the hb1 chrome. I liked it alot. I was more accurate and more focused on making contact with the ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

WRX Spotlight: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Published

on

Product: Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Pitch: From Odyssey/Toulon: “The Odyssey Toulon San Diego Stroke Lab Putter is our take on on another classic putter. It’s an expertly crafted, premium milled blade, with our multi-material Stroke Lab Shaft, deep diamond milled cross hatch grooves, and a new Charcoal Smoke finish.”

Our take on the Toulon Design San Diego Stroke Lab putter

Toulon is the line of all milled putters from Odyssey, originally started by club designer Sean Toulon and his sons. Toulon putters have always featured their Deep Diamond Mill face, adjustable sole weight, and brazed (instead of welded) necks. That combination has created a great putter line that has become popular on tour as well as us amateur players. For 2019, there are some new head shapes, Charcoal Smoke Finish, Deep Diamond Milling across the whole face, and the Stroke Lab putter shaft.

I got my hands on the Toulon San Diego, a more squared-off blade shape, for this review. The shape, milling, and finish on the San Diego are great and really show off what a high quality piece it is. The biggest change visually is the full Deep Diamond Mill face, making the view from address more uniform. The face used to have the milling only in the center of the face and to some that was a distracting look while others liked the way it framed the ball. The new finish also looks great. I always have liked darker finishes and this looks high end while still reducing glare in the brightest conditions.

The Stroke Lab shaft goes well with the finish on the San Diego and the head cover is a plush synthetic leather that feels like it will hold up for years of use.

On the green the San Diego SL has a crisp sound and feel. If you like a little more click to your putter, then the San Diego SL will be right what you are looking for. And don’t take that as a negative thing, that crisp feel gives great feedback on face contact. You know exactly where the putter face and ball met by the sound and feel. The Deep Diamond Mill gets the ball rolling quickly on line with very minimal hop and skid, providing very consistent and repeatable distance control.

This is blade, so shots off the toe to tend to stray from your intended line a bit, the face does seem like it wants to rotate open a bit. Heel strikes defiantly stay online better, but tend to lose more steam and net get the roll out you might expect. The simple alignment line on the flange of the putter is easy to align, even for a guy who has been using mallets for years.

Like I have said before, I think there is something to the Stroke Lab tech, the lighter shaft and weight in the butt of the shaft do affect tempo for me; I noticed a slight calming of my backstroke and stroke through the ball.

Overall, the San Diego is a great putter for those who like a little firmer feel and more audible click on their putter. It is very responsive and putts a great roll on the ball. This isn’t a cheap putter ($450) and the fit and finish let you know that you are getting what you paid for.

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT3
  • WOW4
  • LOL6
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP5
  • OB1
  • SHANK35

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

WRX Spotlight Review: Miura MGP-NM1 Putter

Published

on

Product: Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Pitch: Limited to 300 pieces, the Miura MGP-NM1 is Miura’s first 303 stainless steel putter. Its appearance is in keeping with the bolder designs of the Miura Giken family.

Our take on the Miura MGP-NM1 putter

Miura Giken has become the brand where Miura can push some limits and try out designs and technology not really fit for the standard Miura line. And if doing something new and different is what Miura Giken is about, then the MGP-NM1 fits like a glove. When most people think of Miura, they think forged carbon steel and traditional, old school shapes. The MGP-NM1 is a long ways from that, being milled from 303 stainless steel, having adjustable weights and milled stepped pockets in the sole.

If you love mill marks, then the MBG-NM1 will fulfill all our needs because the head is covered with them. I really liked the top line where the mill marks go front to back but then get much finer around the alignment line. If you look close the milling is still there, but just much finer. It works great along with the alignment lines on the “fangs.” The MGP-NM1 is a great size: large enough to give you confidence that a mishit will stay online, but not too big to be distracting. Like most putters with this (Odyssey No. 7)  shape, it frames the ball really well and looks great to my eye. The way the shaft goes into the head is for sure unique, it is straight from address but does drop down into the head.

I will get my one con on this putter out of the way early: the way the shaft goes into the head from address. I love the shape of the head, but the way the shaft enters the head makes it harder for me to line up. At address you can see the the top line of the putter on both sides of the shaft and for some that might be helpful, but it took me a long time to get comfortable with my alignment. Also, the head cover isn’t up to standard for a putter in this price range.

But the good of this putter really outweighs that bad. The putter  feels and sounds great, much like the Miura KM-009 reviewed previously. Feel is very solid with, to me, the perfect amount of click on impact. There might be just a slight bit of vibration on contact, but very minimal and will probably vary with the ball you play. Contact on the toe and heel really stay on target well; you can tell this mallet has a fairly high MOI. Like any responsive putter should do, this really provides good feedback on mishits. Toe and heel shots are not punished as much as you would think, the ball still rolls out well with minimal distance loss. That solid, soft Miura feel really does come through with this putter.

Overall, I think the Miura Giken MGP-NM1 is a really great way for a mallet user to put a Miura putter into the bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 23
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB3
  • SHANK16

Continue Reading

Putter Reviews

Review: Optic Z Putters

Published

on

Pros: Point-and-shoot putting. Optic Z putters use a Z-neck design that can lead to a more consistent setup with your hands and eyes on every putt.

Cons: It could take a little while to get used to the design.

Who It’s For: Players looking to develop a consistent setup and stroke.

The Review

  • Model: Optic Z8
  • Head Weight: 365 grams
  • Material: Proprietary “Power 51” Alloy
  • Finish: Black “High-Tech Molecular” application
  • Face Milling: Deep Double Mill
  • Stock Lie: 70.5 degrees (rolled sole allows angles from 67 to 75)
  • Loft: 2.25 degrees
  • Stock Length Options: 35 inches (All lengths available custom order)
  • Stock Grip: Lamkin E.B.L “Optic” grip (Custom grips available)
  • Stock Shaft: True Temper Steel (Aerotech, Loomis, and UST available)
  • Price: $325 Base (Up to $500 with custom options)

Over the past decade, it seems like there have been as many new putter companies as there have been drivers released in the past year (I think another one just released since I typed that sentence). While many of them have come up with ways to re-create or re-design the classic favorites of the past 40-plus years, there are a few companies that are pushing the boundaries of what a putter can be and how it can help make putting easier. And a company called Optic Z Putters has done just that.

Z8Putter4

I reviewed the company’s Optic Z8 putter, which has a distinct batwing shape. It’s one of three putters the company offers — its Z3 is more blade-like in shape, while its Z7 is more mallet-like — and each putter sells for $325.

According to the company, Z Optic putters take the two main parts of putting and making them easy to reproduce. And with every putt, Optic Z putters are said to help golfers set their hands and eyes in the same exact position for every putt. “This has been done!” you say? Well, let’s find out if my experience with the Z8 was different.

The Look

back optic z8

When I first saw the Z8 putter with its Z-shaped hosel, I began to wonder, “What exactly is going on here?” It has a unique Z-neck that creates a “3D” effect when looking down over the ball at address. But when looking at the putter in any other view, it does look odd. It will take a little bit of time to get used to it, but like many putters that come out these days, after a while you simply get used to it and forget about it.

Z8putter1

The putter is 100 percent milled, U.S.A. made, and has a deep “double” milled face pattern that is familiar to most people. It offers an incredibly soft feel that is part from the milling, but also from the Proprietary Power 51 alloy metal that is used. The sole of the Z8 has 8 degrees of roll to it. This means that it can effectively play with a lie angle anywhere from 67 to 75 degrees. The new Z-neck hosel also makes the putter face balanced as if it was a center-shafted putter. And finally, there are several thick alignment lines, both horizontal and vertical, to help aim.

The Z Revolution?

3WayAlignment_grande

Once you set the putter down and see how everything lines up in a “3D” type of alignment, you get the point of the Z-neck. Instead of just giving one point of reference similar to other putters, the Z8 gives you three points of alignment.

You align the Z-neck bend with the toe of the putter, the heel and shaft together, and then make sure both are lined up together. Once you have this set, your hands and eyes will be in the correct position.

Z8Putter6

In addition to adding more reference points, the key difference with the Z8 is that it actually requires you to have forward press with your hands. The stated loft of 2.25 degrees is the loft with your hands in that forward-press position. The Z-neck is also supposed to eliminate the visual moment of impact of when the ball comes off the face of the putter. The theory is that it helps you relax more through the stroke by not seeing the point of impact, a similar theory to looking at the hole instead of the ball when putting.

Does it work?

Z8Putter5

I was skeptical of the putter when I first started using it, and it took me a little bit to get used to the 3D effect. After spending a good amount of time with it, I can say that it does what it is supposed to do. It really becomes a “point-and-shoot” kind of putting, and it makes the set up of putting incredibly easy. The ball rolls really well off the face, too, and the feel is incredibly soft. The alignment aids do a good job helping at address, and I’m someone who has moved away from alignment aids because I tend to aim them incorrectly.

The Optic Z8 putter performed the best for me on putts inside 10 feet. I struggled on longer putts, but it was more due to the weight of the putter. At 365 grams, it is much heavier compared to what I’ve been using, but I’ve always struggled with long-distance putting with heavier putters. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance. And the more I used it, the more comfortable I became and the more putts I made.

The Takeaway

Z8putter

If you struggle with consistency, especially at set up, this is one to try. It may take some time to get used to Optic Z putters, but most golfers should be able to adjust. These putters are well made, feel great and can truly help golfers in two areas that we know are important to putting.

To learn more about Optic Golf’s putters, visit the company’s website

Your Reaction?
  • 119
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW13
  • LOL8
  • IDHT9
  • FLOP6
  • OB6
  • SHANK29

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending