Connect with us

Fairway Reviews

Review: TaylorMade SLDR fairway woods and hybrids

Published

on

Pros: The SLDR fairway woods and hybrids offer a low-spinning trajectory in a clean and refreshingly understated package. The next generation of “speed slot” technology is marginally better, and the “real deal” TP shaft options are big selling point for better players.

Cons: These are not the most forgiving options available, even within their better-player categories. The SLDR moniker is also potentially misleading, as moveable weight technology isn’t a feature on this generation.

Bottom Line: If you’re looking for versatile, low-spin fairway woods or hybrids, SLDR should be at the top of your list to try. They’re fantastic off the tee, and their compact shapes make them very good from the fairway and rough, provided you have the swing speed and talent.

Overview 

TaylorMade’s SLDR fairway woods and hybrids use the company’s much touted low, forward center of gravity (CG) and the company’s Speed Pocket, a polymer-filled slot cut all the way through the head. The clubs carriy the same SLDR name as the driver, but unlike the bigger dog, this smaller sibling has no sliding anything, which if nothing else is confusing to the consumer.

Gone (for now) is the distinctive white paint of the R11 and RBZ lines, and in its place is a charcoal crown juxtaposed with a silver face. The slot technology is improved both in terms of aesthetics and performance. The Speed Slot, though smaller than it was in the RocketBallz and RBZ Stage 2 models, offers increased ball speed across a larger area of the club face. More ball speed means more distance, and the polymer filling means less to clean up after, which is a welcome change.

3cb50bda285aeca53151c0929c5df04e

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 5.28.14 PM

Both standard and TP model fairway woods and hybrids have a 3-degree range of adjustability (1.5 degrees up or down from standard in 0.5-degree increments). The fairway woods come in lofts of 14, 15, 17, 19 and 21 degrees. The base models ($249) are equipped with a Fujikura 77 shaft (R, S and X flexes), while the TP models ($349) has a Fujikura 8.3 Tour Spec shaft. Both are available in R, S and X flexes.

216f56aff34394552acd55dcfbdc069e

The hybrids are offered in lofts of 17, 19, 21 and 24 degrees. The base model hybrids ($219) comes with a Fujikura Speeder 82 shaft (R,S, and X flexes), while the TP model ($289) has a beefier Fujikura Motore Speeder 9.3 shaft (S and X flexes).

Performance

In testing, the SLDR fairway woods and hybrids launched slightly higher than previous models with lower comparative spin. The result was a longer carry and more total distance. Distance gains were largely a function of reduced spin, and with a slightly higher initial launch angle, the ball stayed in the air longer.

16833212bdce06ec561b0d90c6c8da1e

In adjusting the loft, both up and down, ball flight changed as expected. Many players will likely find they can go up in loft at least 1 degree without losing any distance. I found that a 1-degree increase in loft actually allowed me to hit the ball higher without losing any distance. This is particularly helpful when trying to reach a par 5 in two or hold a firm green on longer par-3 holes.  In fact, it wouldn’t be surprising at all to find players going up in loft and actually gaining distance.

The club wasn’t noticeably straighter than other models, but it wasn’t any more crooked either. I had no problem working the ball up, down, right and left, but I had to make a more conscious effort to hit a sweeping draw or big slice. That said, players who like to work the ball either direction might actually find it a bit more difficult to do so given the reduced spin.

With a more forward CG, one would think that the clubs would be less forgiving on shots hit on the heel or toe. My suspicions proved correct, as heel misses were punished fairly significantly and toe misses weren’t a lot better. Shots off the heel just never elevated and toe hits generally came out low and “hooky.” This is definitely a club for the player who can find the center of the club face routinely.

Perhaps the most redeeming quality of this club is its unyielding versatility. The relatively shallow face of the fairway woods makes them a monster off the fairway and tight lies. However, given the launch and spin characteristics (especially with the Fujikura TS 8.3 in the TP model), there is no ballooning on the tee ball. The hybrids are an equal opportunity performer. They’re like hitting mini fairway woods off the tee, and they elevate very easily off the deck. Playing from the rough is just as fun, but I had to be a bit careful as the ball generally came out hot and a bit lower that I expected.

90bf09b432dc4c4dd68c4c98f03a6daf02f513cb9dd769f29f0fc699d735240c

Above: Both the SLDR fairway woods (top) and hybrids have relatively shallow faces to give the club more playability from the fairway and rough. 

It’s important to keep in mind that performance is always a function of the player swinging the club. Clubs with a low, forward CG and low-spin launch conditions are going to perform best for players who tend to have a pretty active and late release. If you have an early release and moderate-to-little wrist hinge, you should probably look elsewhere. And if you do go with an SLDR product, don’t expect to see significant performance gains.

If you’re a medium tempo, mid launch, early-to-mid release player, the stock shaft offering will likely suit you well. For me, I found it to be loose and spinny. If you swing more than 100 mph, have a mid-to-late release and like your fairway woods to have an 80-gram or heavier shaft, the Tour Spec 8.3 will be phenomenal. I’m sure some will balk at the $349 price tag on the TP model, but when you consider the aftermarket cost of the Fujikura Tour Spec 8.3 shaft is around $350, it’s almost like getting the head for free.

Looks and Feel

The SLDR fairway woods have a nice small footprint and traditional pear shape. The hybrids are more wood-like in appearance than some others, but they certainly don’t appear bulky or cumbersome.

9ec486ecbfbfdf123d42d823cbc680250643006d84c7a389f71ce4fe597017d2

Above: A SLDR fairway wood (top) and SLDR hybrid at address. 

The charcoal grey head with silver face produces a nice contrast at address and honestly, I think the return to a bit less caffeinated color scheme is a solid move. Anything that conjures up reminders of the legendary 200 Steel and hallowed V-Steel will certainly attract buyers.

The “chrome button back” and crown graphics were added to help golfers with their alignment, TaylorMade says. But I think their main purpose is to “pop” on the television screen and ensure golfers know that they’re buying a 2013-2014 fairway wood that will never be confused with the charcoal-colored Titleist models. Moreover, the TaylorMade enthusiast who bagged the RBZ and/or RBZ Stage 2 for purely performance reasons will love the SLDR, where they can get all of the performance (and then some) in a bit more traditional package.

That said, the graphics and “button back” were more distracting to me than anything else. If the entire scheme were louder, it might not appear as awkward. I’m honestly not certain if the chrome portion is trying to get me to line up the ball in the center of the face or if it is trying to get me to take an inside path towards the ball. Either way, it’s a minor blemish in what is otherwise a very refined and well-proportioned package. A large serving of classic with of a side dish of “techy.”

The stock Fujikura Speeder 77 shaft, a “made-for” model, is decent, but it’s nothing to write home about. It will likely fit a majority of consumers and is on par with other stock shaft offerings from other OEMs. On the other hand, the Fujikura Motore Speeder Tour Spec 8.3 (9.3 in the hybrid) that comes in the TP models is reason enough to buy the entire club. It is tight, explosive and smooth like a marble rolling down a greased stimp meter.

In so many cases, sound is feel and the SLDR is like an anvil crushing a pop can. It’s solid and significant without being hollow or “tingy.” Well struck shots simply feel awesome.

The Takeaway 

b77c0e97a54f3fab7107aa05b8800757

What’s old is new. A classic-shaped TaylorMade wood paired with a high-end shaft (in the TP model) results in a premium offering for better players. The low spin the club creates is achieved by an extremely forward and low COG. The result is an extremely high-performing club that will offer a certain segment of talented players increased performance.

At a minimum, players will likely increase loft by at least a full degree without losing any yardage. If you go this route, you’ll want to tinker with the 3-degree range of adjustability to dial in your yardage gaps. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself hitting the ball a bit higher and a bit further that whatever you’re playing now. You may also have to rework the transition from hybrid/5 wood to your longest iron.

If you’re trying to decide between the TP and standard models, the shaft options in the TP line make it a no brainer, especially if you have a fairly high swing speed or place a lot of load on the shaft. If you’re simply looking for an uber-forgiving, distance-oriented fairway wood or hybrid, there are other options out there.

TaylorMade has dominated the metal-woods portion of the industry for the last decade and then some. With offerings such as the SLDR, that reign isn’t going to end anytime soon. The year of loft might just take a bit longer to complete.

Fairway woods

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/SLDR-Fairway/DW-SQ073.html” oemtext=”Learn more from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00G2M7KT4/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00G2M7KT4&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=DN3CLTRHCHXHVHXR”]

Hybrids

[wrx_buy_now oemlink=”http://taylormadegolf.com/SLDR-Rescue/DW-SQ075.html” oemtext=”Learn more from TaylorMade” amazonlink=”http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GB3SDO0/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00GB3SDO0&linkCode=as2&tag=golfwrxcom-20&linkId=ZDRWTG66I6TQ4WGW”]

Your Reaction?
  • 63
  • LEGIT20
  • WOW8
  • LOL6
  • IDHT6
  • FLOP3
  • OB2
  • SHANK13

I didn't grow up playing golf. I wasn't that lucky. But somehow the game found me and I've been smitten ever since. Like many of you, I'm a bit enthusiastic for all things golf and have a spouse which finds this "enthusiasm" borderline ridiculous. I've been told golf requires someone who strives for perfection, but realizes the futility of this approach. You have to love the journey more than the result and relish in frustration and imperfection. As a teacher and coach, I spend my days working with amazing middle school and high school student athletes teaching them to think, dream and hope. And just when they start to feel really good about themselves, I hand them a golf club!

Continue Reading
4 Comments

4 Comments

  1. Mike

    Dec 6, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    I change my clubs every few years except my 3 and 5 woods … Taylormade vsteel, no one has ever made fairway woods this good again.!

    • Jeffrey Trigger

      Dec 7, 2013 at 8:42 am

      Fairway woods are like the teddy bear we had as children. Once you find one, you don’t let it go. I switched mine out last year. I too loved the V Steel. I know have an RBZ Stage 2 Tour HL and a 4 hybrid. Both are good off of the tee, and the fairway. I’d be nuts to look at something else.

  2. Keith

    Dec 5, 2013 at 11:19 am

    I’m a 2hdcp with an avg 3w swing speed of about 102mph. I bought the stock version of the 3w w/ the Fujikura 77. I’ve played 3rds and banged quite a few balls with it already. I’m not having any issues with the stock offering, no ballooning or excessive spin. Thus far, I’m in love with this club. It replaced a original RBZ 14.5 that had a Black Tie SM3 in it. I’ve found that a 15.5-16d setting is ideal for me, launching a little bit higher and getting more carry. Carrying it roughly 250 on the 16d setting…getting total distance at 14.5d of around 265 (245-ish carry).

    I will also second the reviewers statement that it’s difficult to steer it hard one way or another. I found it very easy to hit a little fade if I wanted to, a little more difficult to draw it, but very easy to hit it straight. Definitely a “players” head. If you’re looking for a lot of forgiveness, you won’t find it here.

    My advice is to at least try the stock offering before paying up, as the Fujikura 77 offering is very adequate.

  3. Carlos Danger

    Dec 4, 2013 at 9:56 am

    I have only hit these in the store into net simulators but they feel really good and look awesome at address…this coming from someone who doesnt get too excited about the new line of TM stuff that comes out every three months (still cant get the R9 Superdeep out of my bag). Simulator was saying the TP 17 hybrid was going 270, which is awesome…but I will take the net simulator results with a grain of salt

    I am pleasantly surprised by the shaft options. The “heavier” TP shafts (80g + Fwy, 90g+ Hybrid) is something I have always played and when ordering new clubs was something I often times had to piece together or custom order. I am surprised however by this being that lightweight clubs seem to be all the jazz right now. Most Fwy woods out there (non tour versions) have the 60-65 g or less. This might scare some people away.

    None of this matters because these will be in the discount pile in 3 months when the next rd of TM clubs come out

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Equipment

Members Choice: The Best Fairway Woods of 2017

Published

on

In this edition of Members Choice, we attempt to answer the question, “What’s the best fairway wood of 2017?”

Admittedly, it’s a bit of a loaded question since golfers use fairway woods for different reasons and in different situations on the course. Some use a fairway wood strictly as an alternative to their driver off the tee; other golfers use them almost entirely as approach clubs from the turf on long par fours and par fives; the rest use fairway woods for some combination of both situations. So are we looking for the longest and straightest fairway wood, or simply the most accurate and forgiving?

The best way to determine the best fairway wood, therefore, is to pose that question to golfers who have hit them all and let them decide. Thus, we have Members Choice: The Best Fairway Woods of 2017, where GolfWRX Members describe their experiences with the latest fairway woods. With in-depth descriptions from their testing, GolfWRX Members illuminate the pros and cons of each fairway wood, providing the real information you need when making your purchasing decisions.

Related

Our advice when reading through this story is to think about what you want from your fairway wood. Do you want max distance, max forgiveness, or a combination of both? The feedback from GolfWRX Members on each fairway wood will lead to toward a few models that match your needs and desires. Then test them out for yourself. Everyone interprets the performance of golf clubs differently, so personal testing and professional fittings are imperative, especially in this particular category. View the full results from the poll testing here

Note: Responses from GolfWRX Members have been minimally edited for brevity and clarity. 

Callaway Steelhead XR (4.08 percent)

069c87adb0c126e95bf2a5595d59a274

  • SwingMan: I recognize that the Steelhead XR is late to the game, having just entered the market, but for a club that does everything well for GI and Players (the + models), they are long rocket launchers. Light, hot feel with pleasing metallic crack, deep face for ease off the tee, low CG (center of gravity) for ease off the deck, rounded sole gives you versatility from rough and bunkers. Forgiving and long. J36 carbon weave crown moves weight low. Because of the deep face with lot of bulge you need to lay it on the ground and it sits square. Take care when you pick it up so as not to close it. I hit it long off the tee with an R-Flex, obtaining 260-270 yards under favorable conditions — this club produces an urgent, direct trajectory with loads of roll in the lower lofts. Off the deck, 220+ with light wind; against a strong wind, 200. This club is surprising. Even the 7 wood off the deck with a higher trajectory gives you great yardage. Only caveat is that if you are in low speed range and insist on a 3 wood, you may want to order a high launch shaft instead of the mid-launch Tensei. But that’s the same advice with all 3 woods — you must be able to launch them. Callaway has several no cost shaft options. Otherwise, go with the 5 and 7 woods, which are loooong and versatile. The + models, for players and pros, are more weight forward and fade bias and arrive with a 65 Tensei CK Blue fairway shaft — smoother than the CK Blue driver shaft.
  • DWtalk: I just finished testing the 15-degree Callaway Steelhead with the Tensi Blue shaft, and it’s a great club. It’s long and my misses are either a little right or left, but very solid. I also have a 15-degree M2 that is very good also with the stock shaft but I’m going to reshaft it with the Tensi blue. You couldn’t go wrong with either club.

Further Reading: Callaway upgrades a classic, introduces Steelhead XR fairways

Titleist 917F3 (5.28 percent)

e5b8f57429bd93d25c4727f12cad20e9

  • Peanut191: I thought the Titleist F3 was the best combination of looks and feel, but they didn’t offer a 16.5 version, so I ordered the M2 Tour HL. I thought the M2/M2 Tour were the best distance wise, with the Callaway Epic, then the Titleist 917F3 just behind.
  • II PigBimpin II: I used to be a Taylormade loyalist when it came to woods, but I recently switched to a Titleist 917F3 15-degree and it has single handedly put me in prime position to make three eagles within two weeks. Very predictable ball flight and distance, easy to hit off the deck.
  • DuckHook02: I did try the Titleist 917F2, and if I was using it off the deck more, I’d probably gravitate towards the F2 and it’s shallow profile. However, I like the more compact look of the F3 and the lower ball flight it produces.

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

Cobra King F7 (6.40 percent)

Cobra_King_F7_fairway_wood

  • Steveko89: I didn’t do nearly as much testing for my 3 wood after going up and down the racks picking out my Cobra F7+ w/ Hzrdus Yellow shaft. After settling on the driver, I said, “That 3 wood that matches looks pretty slick, let me hit a few with it.” and immediately fell in love. Has a nice traditional note at impact and the ball just flies off the face, especially with the weight forward. Probably could’ve tried a few different shafts, but the stock-stiff shaft works well enough and was able to find one used-mint on the bay for $150. Unfortunately, this was before the Cobra BOGO promo. Most of the positive shots that stick in my head from this season have come with the 3 wood, won’t be seeking out a replacement for a while.
  • carcharodan1977: Cobra F7 fairway, currently playing at 4 wood loft… it’s fantastic. Easy to swing, impact sounds great and it’s a rocket from the fairway and even bad lies. The baffler rails really work well. Such a forgiving club.
  • herbst20: Have played the Titleist 910 fairway woods since they came out. The Cobra F7 finally kicked them out of the bag. I have had an easier to hit whether it be off the team, fairway, or especially out of the rough. I love the baffler technology. I play it at 13 degrees because I am sporadic with my driver.

Further Reading: Cobra’s King F7 and F7+ drivers, fairways and hybrids

Callaway GBB Sub Zero (7.39 percent)

GBB_Epic_Sub_Zero_Fairways

  • Warrick: The (Sub Zero) 3+ was the first Epic in my bag, and it is never leaving. I have never hit a long club so consistently.
  • Dobbs983: This is a fantastic year for fairway woods. I game the Epic Sub Zero 15-degree, set to 14 degrees. Easy distance, mid launch and penetrating flight. Easy to hit off the deck and a tee. I can move it left and right, if I need to, but why bother when straight and long is so easy. The Titleist 917’s are both very close to the Epic SZ, but not quite as forgiving. They are the best looking of the bunch. The Exotics EX10 Beta is amazingly long and straight and the sole is fantastic out of the rough.
  • belacyrf: I currently game the TaylorMade SLDR fairway woods as I’ve never seen enough improvement from any new woods to make a change. However, IF I were to make a change, I would definitely move to the Callaway Epic Sub Zero. They are so forgiving and their flight is exactly what I like, plus they are long.
  • PreppySlapCut: I was very pleased when messing around with the Epic Sub Zero this week. I was able to launch the 13.5 degrees off the deck, which has literally NEVER been a strength for me. Very impressive stuff from Callaway. The Ping G400 also just seems like the next wonderful iteration from Ping.
  • kejoal11: I put the Epic Sub Zero 3+ in my bag and love it. Long off the tee, long from fairways. I love the ball flight and the fact that it doesn’t balloon on me. Very consistent with the club and by far my best purchase of 2017.
  • golftech: If you like smaller, traditional shaped fairway woods, then Callaway’s Epic Sub Zero 15-degree is the best I’ve played. For that matter, it’s the best 3 wood I’ve had since my Toney Penna persimmon in the early 80s. It’s versatile off the tee and the fairway. I’ve been hitting career shots all season including the 18th at the famous Monterey, CA course.
  • ago33: I’d choose the Epic Sub Zero over the M2 Tour. Adjustable hosel is better, looks better behind the ball and more forgiving.

Further Reading: Callaway GBB Epic and Epic Sub Zero Fairway Woods

Ping G400 (7.67 percent)

2c3897a81b330ab77066f311a9f212e9

  • Mwiseley10: Love my Titleist 917, I hit it so well off the deck I use it without a tee!
    The Cobra Baffler felt great and has good sound but didn’t purchase. Hit the Ping G400 this morning, it hits great but d*** that profile is low!
  • DNice26: I tried the Ping G400 against my Ping G, both using my own shaft… little to no difference. The G400 looks and sounds better, but any performance benefit seemed negligible from the Trackman numbers I saw. My swing speed is about 109 mph with the driver.
  • PrettyGood: Hit the new Ping G400 fairway this morning. My current 3-wood is the 2016 PING G series, at 14.5-degrees. So, between the two models: Turbulators on the G400 are definitely more pronounced. Footprint of the G400 looks bigger, and it’s a rounder shape somewhat (PING.com says G400 is ~12cc larger). Sole of the G400 does look a bit flatter, but no difference hitting shots. G400 face feels more lively, and it’s louder… but no more or less pleasing to hit, just different. Switching my own shaft between the two, performance looked pretty close… G400 maybe a shade higher, if anything. G400 headcover much nicer, big improvement. That’s about it.

Further Reading: Ping introduces new face material with its G400 Fairways

TaylorMade M1 2017 (7.88 percent)

66f064e40bdfe5b74d1885d31fd8976c

  • lowball5732: My TaylorMade M1 15-degree is a wonder! Either off the deck or on the tee — optimal performance for me. My wife swears by her M2. She’s straight and true!
  • Rdarling18: I really hit Taylormade’s entire M family pretty good. I went with the M1 because it was most consistent for me. However both M2 models (M2 and M2 Tour) are very long.
  • AWD430: TaylorMade’s M1 was giving better distance than M2 when I hit them. I do agree that the M2 head on this year’s model seems very big when hitting off the deck.
  • gpleonard: My two cents is the TaylorMade M1 HL 2017 is a monster both of the deck and from the tee… It is a go to club for me on long Par 5’s and on short Par 4’s off the tee.
  • Mob: I have the TaylorMade M1 2016 and tried it against the M1 2017 and preferred the 2016 model for some reason. I know that I am supposed to prefer the newer model, but I consistently hit the 2016 straighter. Distance was a wash.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M1 Fairway Woods

TaylorMade M2 Tour (8.94 percent)

TaylorMade_M2_Tour_Fairway_Woods_2017

  • AThompson_3: Best fairway wood by far is TaylorMade M2 Tour. Exceptional feel, workability, and forgiveness. Great off the tee while also able to launch the ball off the fairway very easily. Fantastic club. Expecting it be in my bag for years to come.
  • Bomber_11: TaylorMade’s M2 Tour would get all 3 of my votes if I could do that. Wins out on distance, accuracy, forgiveness, versatility, and feel.
  • Roadking_6: M2 Tour HL is an absolute beast this far (in my testing).
  • halfsumo: M2 Tour: best look, sound, feel and performance. M1: awesome look and feel, I just decided to go with a 3HL version and since the M2 Tour spins less, I went with that to counteract the extra loft. Mizuno JPX900: second best look and feel and best stock shaft of anything out there by far.
  • DeCuchi: M2 Tour. Higher launch and less spin makes it an excellent choice. Forgiveness is on par with other top fairways makes it the cream of the crop.
  • Scratchat50: M2 Tour HL with a Project X HZDRUS 75g shaft (6.5-flex, -1 inch under std). Been searching for a great 3 wood for over 10 years. This is it!
  • john443: M2 Tour is THE 3 wood of 2017.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M2 Tour Fairway Woods

Titleist 917F2 (10.13 percent)

8fcb175e48ccb351107fde2d208ed7e3

  • bazinky: I’ve spent years searching for a fairway wood that I could hit with a consistent shot shape/pattern, and I finally found it in the Titleist 917 F2.
  • tleader: I went from the Titleist 915F to the Titleist 917F2. Found them very similar, perhaps a slight increase in launch and more consistent across the face on mishits. Went with the 16.5-degree so it was an easy decision.
  • MJL313214: I’ve hit the 917F2 at 16.5 degrees a good bit. It’s crazy long compared to the previous fairway woods. I like the slightly bigger look than the 917F3.

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

TaylorMade M2 2017 (12.60 percent)

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Woods_2017

  • Gnomesteel: (The TaylorMade M2 2017 fairway wood is) long off the tee and easily hit off the deck with control. Best of both worlds.
  • kush614: My vote is for M2 2017, as well. Gaming a 15-degree M2 2017 with an Oban Kioyshi White shaft. Mid launch, low spin monster.
  • venturagolfer87: There’s nowhere even remotely close to me that has the M2 Tour, but my 3HL normal M2 is as close to automatic as I’ve ever been. I’ve never been able to hit 3 woods, to the point where for the last few seasons, the next club in my bag after driver was a 5 wood that was shortened an inch. The M2 2017 is somehow just as easy to hit, and looooooong.
  • johnnylongballz72: M2 3HL with AD DI 7X; probably the single best golf club I have ever owned.
  • qwetz: I’m playing a 3HL M2 with a Mitsubishi Tensei CK Blue and it’s just a bomber from the deck or the tee.
  • lordemsworth: How do those that have hit Epic fairway feel about the sound? That dull thwack is awful. As another opinion, I found the M2 2017 easier to hit consistently than the Epic fairway. Both from tee and deck.
  • Porsche928: I had the M2 2017 and it was huge too hard off the deck. Never hit the M1 2017 but had the old M1 2016 for a demo and loved it.

Further Reading: TaylorMade 2017 M2 Fairway Woods

Callaway GBB Epic (13.37 percent)

GBB_Epic

  • mcgem: Hands down, without a doubt, Callaway’s GBB Epic fairway is the best of this year’s crop.
  • Sean2: I have three Callaway Epic fairway woods and am quite enamored with their performance at 16/20/24 degrees. I am comfortable standing over the ball with any of these woods in my hands. I have no problem hitting the 16-degree off the turf and I find it a very good club on tight driving holes. The 7 and the 9 fly high and land soft.
  • aussieb: Tested the Mizuno JPX-900 fairway wood on a few occasions now and it’s really the best off the deck, adjustable from 13-17 degrees and the sliding weight dials it in, has a great stock shaft and sounds as good as it looks. Ping’s G400 was really solid and forgiving, didn’t spin too much and set up well for my eye. A bit of adjustability and stock Tour shafts are great. Callaway Epic had the smallest head and best ball speeds off the tee. I didn’t really care for the sound and lack of forgiveness compared to the previous two, was dead feeling but that’s mostly shaft I think.
  • leftshot: I went through a thorough fitting at Club Champion last month and had access to most of the heads on this list. So I know the answer FOR ME. Notably none of the top fits involves a club head with the standard shafts offered off the rack.  The results of my testing was:
    1. Callaway GBB Epic: Distance #1 (Tied), Dispersion #1, Off-center hits #1
    2. Titleist 917F3: Distance #1 (Tied), Dispersion #2, Off-center hits #3
    3. TaylorMade M2 2017: Distance #3, Dispersion #3, Off-center hits #2
  • rony10: Epic. Accuracy, forgiveness and flight, distance is very good to.
  • Benkross: I just put an Epic in the bag. I tried the M2, M2 Tour, M1 (2017 and 2016) and was playing a Titleist 915F and prior a 913Fd and 909 F3 before that. The Epic sounded the best and feels awesome. The 2016 M1 was the worst feeling 3 wood I’ve ever played. I’m replacing the shaft in the Epic so I’m excited to use it this weekend.
  • kgeorge78: The Epic looks much smaller than the M2 2017 for some reason and easier to hit off the deck.

Further Reading: Callaway GBB Epic and Epic Sub Zero Fairway Woods

Your Reaction?
  • 177
  • LEGIT28
  • WOW12
  • LOL11
  • IDHT3
  • FLOP2
  • OB3
  • SHANK35

Continue Reading

Equipment

Review: Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 Fairway Woods

Published

on

Pros: Dialing in trajectory and spin is more in the hands of the player than ever with SureFit CG adjustability. Feel and sound have improved, and 915 users will likely see a jump in distance.

Cons: If you preferred the black finish, you’re out of luck with the return of silver.

Who they’re for: Everyone who plays a fairway wood should give the Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods a shot. They provide everything most golfers want from a fairway wood.

The Review

  • Models: 917F2 (13.5, 15, 16.5, 18, 21 degrees), 917F3 (13.5, 15 degrees)
  • Release Date: Oct. 21
  • Price: $319 (MAP)

Right off the bat, you’ll notice a number of changes to Titleist’s new fairway woods: name, color, center of gravity (CG) adjustability, and if you’re really attentive a change in the Active Recoil Channel. I break down each of the major changes below.

Related: See the results from the Ultimate Titleist Driver Fitting Experience

45553844ca762713334d52991ad023be

What’s in a name?

In its most recent fairway wood releases — the 913 and 915 models — Titleist used the F and Fd naming system. “F” was a larger, more forgiving fairway wood that launched higher and spun more, while “Fd” was a smaller, deeper-faced, lower-launching fairway wood that reduced spin. It was a bit confusing, and didn’t mesh well with the D2 and D3 naming system the drivers were using, so Titleist went to F2 and F3, which is what Titleist used in previous models such as the 909.

If you’re confused: F = F2, Fd = F3 (easy to remember since this rhymes).

Now, the F2 (179 cubic centimeters) is the larger, higher-launching and more forgiving model, while the F3 (169 cubic centimeters) is smaller, deeper and more workable. The relationship hasn’t changed, just the names.

Sure thing

As with the 917 drivers, the 917 fairway woods have SureFit CG technology to give golfers the ability to tweak the draw/fade bias of the clubs. In the fairway woods, the SureFit CG system is also positioned slightly crooked, as seen in the driver, which has the same purpose; lower-spinning fades and higher-spinning draws. When in the draw position, the weight system will add spin to keep the ball in the air longer, and will decrease spin in the fade setting to keep shots from ballooning. The design also maintains the moment of inertia (MOI) of the fairway woods, keeping forgiveness high regardless of the weight setting.

In the SureFit CG system, weight is changed using interchangeable weights* or tubes, made of a mixture of different materials. The neutral weights have a uniform weight throughout, while the draw-fade tubes have a heavier side.

dcf3245b0a6d5114a07d9f29b280810c

A Peek Inside: A 14-gram, neutral SureFit CG fairway wood weight.

When adjusting the system, golfers should look for the “+” sign, which indicates a fade setting, while a “-” sign indicates the draw setting. Note that this is opposite of the 917 drivers, as the entry port is on the opposite side (toe side) of the club head in the 917 fairway woods. A solid red circle indicates a neutral setting. Like the 917 drivers, the 917 fairway woods also have Titleist’s 16-way adjustable SureFit hosel, which offers independent adjust loft and lie settings.

*Note: SureFit CG driver weights cannot be used in fairway woods, and vice versa, due to their different sizes. 

Active Recoil Channel 2.0

While the 915 fairway woods had an Active Recoil Channel behind their faces, designed for higher ball speeds on off-center hits, the area was hollow. The channel in the 917 fairway woods is filled with elastomer, helping produce more ball speed across the face and lower spin, according to Titleist. There’s is also a face insert with variable thickness for increased speed on off-center hits.

Another change for the better is the sound and feel of the 917 fairway woods. They have more of a muted sound and softer feel at impact, which is no doubt helped by filling the Active Recoil Channel. Another benefit is that golfers won’t need to frequently clean the dirt out of the channel, as they needed to do with 915 models.

Color

03c054da7f3fa3f4c5e6ea81c7a21ae4

Titleist’s 917F2 (right) and 917F3 fairway woods at address.

The “liquid slate” finish on the crown is a throwback to Titleist woods of yesteryear, which is something Titleist fans may very much appreciate. Some of the classic Titleist fairway woods, such as the 980F, had a similar gray finish.

Overall performance

So what’s to be expected of the 917F2 and 917F3 in terms of performance? According to Titleist, golfers hitting the 917 versus a 915 should expect higher ball speeds, a higher launch, slightly lower spin and 4-7 yards in increased distance. It just so happens I hit the 917F2 and 917F3 versus the 915F and 915Fd, and you can see the numbers below.

The Numbers

2017TitleistFairway

I took the 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods to the Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland in Bloomfield Hills, Mich., where I tested them against Titleist’s 915F and 915Fd models on Trackman with premium golf balls. The fairway woods were set to my specifications (C2 hosel setting, neutral weight setting in the 917 models) with the same Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana Limited D+ 80X shaft. Shots were hit with each club — order was constantly rotated, and outliers deleted — until 10 shots with each club had been recorded.

917F2 v. 915F:

  • The 917F2 generated slightly less spin (-60 rpm) and a slightly higher launch angle (+0.7 degrees) than the 915F.
  • The 917F2 offered more ball speed (+1.5 mph), more carry distance (+1.6 yards), and more total distance (+3.6 yards) than the 915F.

917F3 v. 915Fd:

  • The 917F3 offered slightly less ball speed (-0.8 mph), a slightly higher launch (+0.3 degrees), and a little more spin (+74 rpm) than the 915Fd.
  • The 917F3 increase carry distance (+4.3 yards) and offered more total distance (+6.3 yards) than the 915Fd.

Specs, pricing, availability

acd3f6ec76999ec0d6e51f0356ff2711

Titleist 917F2 and 917F3 fairway woods ($319 MAP) will be available on Oct. 21 with the following stock shafts: Aldila Rogue M-AX, Fujikura Speeder Pro Tour Spec and Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana Limited D+, S+ and M+.

With the purchase, consumers will receive either a 10, 12, 14, 16 and 18-gram neutral weight (the 12-gram is stock) and a matching draw-fade weight. Additional weights can be purchased for $40, or SureFit weight kits are available for $180 with every weight.

The Takeaway

Titleist_917_fairway_woods_review_917D2_917D3

Any golfer with an older version of a Titleist fairway wood, especially one with a silver finish, will find the switch to a 917 fairway wood an easy and valuable transition.

Not only do the fairway woods offer CG adjustability for fine tuning trajectory, but they also have a softer feel and more muted sound than the 915 versions while providing more carry distance and more total distance. You’d be hard pressed to show me an all-around better fairway wood in the current market.

Related

Your Reaction?
  • 189
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW5
  • LOL2
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP2
  • OB4
  • SHANK25

Continue Reading

Fairway Reviews

Review: TaylorMade M2 Fairway Woods

Published

on

Pros: Driver-like ball speeds in a fairway wood that’s forgiving, workable, and the more affordable option in TaylorMade’s 2016 lineup.

Cons: No adjustability. The sound and feel is different than other fairway woods.

Who’s it for: The M2 fairway woods can be played by golfers of all skill levels, from beginners to PGA Tour players.

The Review

  • Available Lofts: 15, 16.5, 18, 21, 24
  • Stock Shafts: REAX 65 (X, S, R flexes), many custom shafts available free of charge.

“1.49? Really? Again? Man, these new fairway woods are amazing.” That was me during my launch monitor testing for this review. I kept getting pretty high smash factors for a fairway wood. To quickly explain, smash factor is ball speed divided by swing speed, and the average PGA Tour smash factor for a 3 wood is 1.48.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_1

I am not a PGA Tour player, so getting a 1.49 the few times I did was pretty impressive, and shows an advance in technology — not that my swing has actually improved.

To say there’s been a revolution the past five years in fairway wood design is an understatement. Hotter faces are the norm now. I’ve actually heard people say they hit their 3 woods “too far,” which sounds absolutely insane. But with fairway woods the way they are now, many are providing the same relative ball speeds as drivers, and just as much distance.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_crown

When TaylorMade released the M2, there was some chatter that it was a price-point fairway wood, and it wouldn’t be as good as the company’s M1 since it didn’t have the moveable weights and changeable shafts. This is simply not the case. The M2 contains every bit of technology as the M1, and while I didn’t test them head to head, the feedback from most golfers has been that the M2 launches higher, spins less and offers more ball speed than the M1. For that reason, it will be the longer-flying TaylorMade fairway wood for most golfers.

When viewing the clubs in the address position, it’s hard to tell the difference between the M1 and the M2. The M2 has the “ball” grooves, where there’s a centering point of no grooves in the shape of a ball. The only other difference is the M2 has a new “fluted” hosel construction, which moves a few grams of weight lower in the club head, and is said to improve sound and feel. I’m also a fan of the black-and-white painted composite crown. It seems to give off a more compact feeling to me, and makes it easier to line things up.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_hosel

The face also sits square, which is a major requirement for me as well. I’ve bought and immediately sold 3 woods that have faces that are closed. I was actually worried about this, as in years past TaylorMade has sold a TP line of fairway woods, which have a more open face angle than standard models. There is no TP model in the M2 line, and what TaylorMade seems to have done is focused on making the M2 sit perfectly square.

The Results

M2v.VaporFairway

To do my testing, I took the M2 out to my course and played a few rounds, and then took it to the range and also had a couple of simulator sessions. The data above is from The Professional’s Golf Shop using Trackman and premium golf balls. The M2 was 15 degrees with a Fujikura Pro Tour Spec 73X shaft at 43 inches (untipped).

On Trackman, I was attempting to hit fade shots off the deck each time. The results are the 10 shots that best represented the fade. Overall, the numbers are pretty consistent. There were a few really good hits that made me say, “WOW!” But there were also several shots in this bunch that I hit thin, and I expected them to come up much shorter. That is until I got the results and was impressed that the shot still carried 225-230. I left those in, as I wanted to show how forgiving this club can be.

On The Course

On the course is where the M2 fairway wood really shines. Off the deck, I was getting great numbers on the simulator, but on the course I was hitting the M2 places where I have never hit a 3 wood before.

I came close to muttering those words “too far” at one point. I used it on a par 4 to stay short of water, and I ended up only a foot short of the hazard. We’re talking 280 to the water! And distance isn’t even the best thing about this club. Well, maybe … the distance IS pretty awesome. But there’s something else that’s really good, too. It goes back to the shape, sole design and face angle. I’m able to work this club with ease around the course. I can draw, fade, hook, slice, everything really easily with this club. Whether it’s from the tee box or behind 40 trees, I’m able to do some really fun things.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_faceBut I do have one negative. It has the same sound and feel as TaylorMade’s other M2 woods, and it’s something I don’t love. It almost feels a little hollow, and not as solid as other fairway woods. After awhile you do get used to it, and honestly I don’t think about it much now unless I hit another 3 wood right after it.

Comparison

As you might have seen in the data above, I was able to compare the M2 to my gamer, a Nike Vapor Fly (15 degrees with the same shaft, measuring the same length) both on the course and on the simulator. The only difference between the two clubs was that the Nike Vapor Fly’s shaft was tipped 0.5 inches.

Overall, they are pretty similar fairway woods. When hitting the fade shot on the simulator, they were almost identical. Both have great ball speeds, both are forgiving, and both pretty easily hit that shot.

TaylorMade_M2_Fairway_Wood_address

But on the course, the M2 ended up being a better club for me. The Vapor Fly has an open face angle, and it is harder for me to work shots both directions. I can hit fades with it all day, but I struggle to square the face and hit draws with it. The best hits on the simulator showed the M2 as the longer of the two, and that showed up on the course as well, especially off the tee. I thought I loved an open face, but it ended up not being good for me overall and my testing proved it.

Conclusion

The M2 is a fairway wood that anyone can play. It’s built with a square face, neutral weighting, and offers incredible distance. It should absolutely be on a list of fairway woods for any player to check out. It has a great combination of everything that I look for in a fairway wood. The feel and sound is the only knock I have.

[wrx_retail_links productid=”98″]

Your Reaction?
  • 127
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW1
  • LOL3
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP4
  • OB1
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending