Don't miss

Review: Ping S55 irons

by   |   November 8, 2013
ping s55
Review: Ping S55 irons GolfWRX
Performance
Looks and Feel

Summary: Longer, softer and more forgiving. Only dig is that these are still cast. These will be a top choice for many and a contender for Editors' Choice Iron of the Year.

4.5

Better without any added bulk


Pros: A little more forgiving than the S56 irons, with a slightly softer feel. They also fly a bit farther than the previous model. A lot of technology in a small package.

Cons: Purists will be disappointed that these aren’t forged, and their $999 price tag (with Ping’s CFS steel shafts) is steep for a cast iron.

Bottom Line: Ping found a way to squeeze a little extra forgiveness and distance out of the new S55 irons. They look almost identical to the S56 irons (which we think is a good thing) that have over 30 professional victories since fall of 2011. We wish they had more of a forged feel but after testing we can’t ask for much more than that. These are on a short list for editors’ choice irons of the year for 2014.

Overview

Ping engineers had to be a little nervous about reengineering the S56 iron, which is considered to be one of the best-looking, best-feeling players irons the company had ever created. It was also a favorite with professional golfers, who used the irons to win more than 30 professional tournaments across the globe since its debut in the fall of 2011.

That’s why few golfers will find fault with Ping for only making slight changes to the company’s newest S-Series iron, the S55. But those slight changes will be noticeable to discerning golfers, and makes the irons even better performers than their predecessors.

ping s55 review

Photo above: The new S55 7 iron (front) and the uber-winning S-56 7 iron.

The biggest change to the new irons is the Custom Tuning Port, or CTP as Ping calls it, which is positioned behind the impact area in the iron head. The CTP is now larger and made of a new thermoplastic elastomer material that better absorbs vibration at impact. That serves to soften the feel of the 17-4 stainless steel cast irons, and its larger size allows more weight to be moved from the center of the iron to the perimeter. As a result, the irons have a slightly higher moment of inertia (MOI), a measure of an iron’s forgiveness, and have a more precisely tuned CG locations for each club.

The 0.5 percent increase in MOI in the new S55 irons doesn’t sound like a lot, but according to Ping engineers, it adds 1-to-2 yards of distance to shots that are struck 0.5 inches from the sweet spot. And because Ping didn’t increase the size of the iron heads — they’re actually fractionally smaller than the S56 irons — they’re just as workable, a key selling point for accomplished golfers.

618825b1d2584683022cc3c92ef52447

The S55 irons currently sell for $999 (3-PW) with Ping’s CFS shaft, which is available in four different flexes: soft regular, regular, stiff and x-stiff.

Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 5.07.39 PM

Performance

Before the S55 irons hit our doorstep for testing, we knew something special had to be going on with them. Hunter Mahan and several top Ping staffers immediately switched including did Bubba Watson, who had been playing Ping’s S59 irons for almost a decade. Those guys just don’t change irons irons for the heck of it.

ping s 55 irons

What we found was that the four or so grams of weight Ping saved because of the larger CTP allowed them to move the CG of the long irons lower and deeper in the head, creating a trajectory that launched the ball fractionally faster, as well as higher and with less spin. That means that golfers will be able to hit their long irons slightly farther (probably about 3-to-5 yards) than the S56 irons, an important change for the special few who make their living with their ability to reach par-5′s in two and set up birdie putts on long par-3′s.

28dbf2d7450266441b591149ebcb0bb9

Photo above: Ping is known to have some of the most precise milling machines in the golf industry, and the milling marks on the S55′s faces are proof of the company’s attention to detail. Simply awesome!

Ping also modernized the lofts of its short irons, strengthening the pitching wedge 1 degree, the 9 iron 1.5 degrees, the 7 and 8 irons 1.25 degrees and the 6 iron 0.5 degrees. And thanks to the lower CG of the 4 iron, that club was actually weakened 0.25 degrees, helping golfers launch that club higher. The changes to the short irons resulted in an immediate distance gains of 3-to-4 yards, which we’re not going to complain about.

627083578db953302b0c4282c4898ad72db936a93311a6a9b1a2346ad014bdba

Photo (left): A high-density tungsten toe weight adds MOI to the irons. The expanded custom tuning port (right) was moved lower in the cavity to help lower CG. It is made from a thermoplastic elastomer material (TPE) to soften the sound and feel at impact.

We also found the leading-edge grind of the S55 irons to be just a bit more blunt than the S56 irons, which seemed to better help us control the depth of our divots. And we appreciated that the sole widths remained unchanged from the S56′s, giving accomplished golfers the ability to extricate shots from the rough with a knife-like ability.

e090f6fb6e9f674c8b2c5395a35ea3e6

Some golfers might appreciate the more progressive sole widths found on irons like the 714 AP2 irons, which are wider in the long irons for a higher launch and more narrow in the short irons for more versatility. But those companies offer more compact irons with narrower soles as well, and Ping does not. And Ping’s larger G25, i20 and 2013 Anser Forged give golfers plenty of options for irons with progressive sole widths.

s55 vs i20

Photo above: Notice how much more compact the S55 irons are than Ping’s larger-sized players irons, the i20.

ping 2014 irons

Photo above: Can see how much thinner and more “blade-like” the sole of an S55 7 iron (left) is compared to and i20 7 iron.

fb89afcacd2c81bfc55036100f6686aa

Photo above: Notice the shorter blade length of an S55 7 iron (left) and the reduced amount of offset when compared to an i20 7 iron. 

Looks and Feel

The S55′s score huge points for bag appeal, with a minimalistic milled cavity-back design with just the right amount of bling from their badging. And they look even better at address, where they’re almost identical the S56 irons. But that’s ok to us, because in our humble GolfWRX opinion the S56 and S55 irons look exactly as a modern players iron should.

ping s55 iron

One thing that we did notice was that the transition between the hosel and the top line in the S55 irons is a little beefier than in the S56′s, adding smoothness to the area and giving the appearance of less offset. That will please golfers who like a little bit of offset, but don’t necessarily want to look at it.

ping s-55 review

Photo above: Can see the smoother transition from hosel to top line on the S55 pitching wedge (left) compared to a S56 pitching wedge.

The most important thing about the new irons for many players will be the sound, which is noticeably less clicky than in the previous model. Many golfers will love the softer feel, but it’s just not comparable to the resounding “thud” that is produced from other company’s forged offerings. Then again, some players prefer a slightly clicker feel at impact, which helps provide them with feedback as to exactly where they contacted the ball.

cfc6b976762cf60e67e46840ef6f24be4d6527d81cbd8b0718c2915b137c8538

Photo above: The face of a S55 3 iron (left) and a 7 iron. Many better players demand these more compact heads for added workability and versatility.

Ping had us excited when the company released the 2013 Anser Forged irons, its second attempt at mid-sized forged iron. It was a hint that Ping might finally go forward with the forged S-Series iron that golfers have begged the company to produce. But at the end of the day, Ping’s designers decided that the main drawback of forged irons, needing to make the structure thicker, just wasn’t worth the extra performance they could pack into a cast club. Consider as well that a forged S-Series iron would have dramatically increased the cost of the irons (the Anser Forged cost between $1300 and $1500 for a set depending on shaft), moving them out of many golfers’ price range.

The Takeaway

Take sound and feel away from this review, and we’d be tempted to say that the S55′s might be the best performing players iron on the market today. But in the players iron category, which is geared toward golfers who rarely miss the sweet spot, sound and feel might be the most important part of making a buying decision.

2014 ping irons

There’s not enough differences between the S55′s and the S56 irons for us to recommend an upgrade, but for golfers who absolutely need a new set, we’re confident to steer them in the S55′s direction. Pound for pound, they’re one of the most forgiving tour-quality players irons a golfer can currently buy. And while they don’t feel as good to us as their forged competition, they still feel great.

Asking golfers to name their favorite players irons is a bit like asking them to name their favorite supercar. Some like the high-tech approach, while others like a more raw driving experience. With the S55 iron, Ping went the tech route, deciding that the performance benefits of a cast iron exceeded the sound and feel benefits of forged. And for a company who has built its name on performance, it’s hard for us to disagree with them.

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


57 Comments

  1. CT

    April 20, 2014 at 1:14 am

    These clubs are pseudo-forged. Better players leave your forged egos at the door.

  2. Charlie

    April 18, 2014 at 1:37 am

    These are the best “player’s” irons on the market. I work at a golf store and get to try them all. They are more forgiving than a CB or an MB. I could fool any customer by telling them they are forged and they would believe me. S55′s provide a neutral ball flight compared to the draw biased AP2. I tried every club in the store before I fell in love with these. There is no marketing or hype behind them. PING just makes the best irons.

  3. Chris

    April 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    I played the S56s for a while, the best iron I have played but then got out of golf for a year or so. I had been playing G20s but am going to get these S55s in Green Dot. I can remember all the kind of shots I could play with the S56s. I hope these are the same or better.

  4. Bobby Bottleservice

    March 17, 2014 at 3:36 am

    get over it….they’re not forged and they never will be.

    • Bob from Charlotte NC

      March 29, 2014 at 10:59 am

      I was playing Adams CMB forged and before that Mizuno MP-33, these clubs feel about 95% like those clubs but easily twice as forgiving and about 1 – 1.25 clubs longer than Adams CMB. The heads are lighter than forged so consider a more weighted shaft as opposed to a super light shaft for better overall feel and balance.

    • Michael

      April 19, 2014 at 4:45 pm

      that is a gofler with an ego who will pay something that appeals to people looking at him versus letting his scored to the talking, i just sold my forged blades and boughtthese. best iron out right now.

  5. Steve G - UK

    March 3, 2014 at 10:56 am

    I’m thinking of investing in the S55′s and was wondering what sand/lob wedges were most compatible with the feel?

    • Bob from Charlotte NC

      March 4, 2014 at 12:24 pm

      I just added three wedges from Ping Tour Gorge 50, 54, 58 as the PW is 46 from the set. I had the same KBS shafts installed and all of my wedges from the PW thru the 58 are the same length. You get about 5 yards more per club and when chipping you normally choke down anyhow. Feel is the same. Ping wedges come in TS, SS, WS for thin sole, standard sole and wide sole dependin on how much bounce your normal shot gets. If you put tape on bottom take note if the mark is on the leading edge or back of the bottom. If leading edge you should consider WS and vice versa.

  6. scott

    February 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    I can’t decide what flex to get in the s55 irons. The regular shaft is too weak and the stiff is too stiff. Would soft stepping be the correct answer? Are the cfs shafts any good? The ping CS person thinks they are which doesn’t help much.

    • Aaron Bieber

      March 4, 2014 at 12:05 pm

      Of course the CFS shafts are good, do you really think PING is going to put a junk shaft that won’t perform in their top of the line irons? I ordered my set with the Z-Z65 shafts because I hit it too high, but thought the CFS played very nicely when I demoed them.

  7. Joe G

    January 17, 2014 at 2:46 am

    Bought them tonight and traded in brand new 714 AP2s. The look, feel, distance was incredible. Small head, but so pleasing. I’m a 7.7 index and bought them with the stiff shafts that I believe are 109 grams. A bit on the light side, but I liked it. And I crushed them!

    • Michael

      April 19, 2014 at 4:46 pm

      i order mine as well coming from 120g kbs tour to 109 cfs, i added the cushin insert from ping which is 10 grams making them similar and hardstepped them once.

  8. ChrisP2773

    January 11, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    All I can say is WOW. I hit 150 balls today at the range in 45 degree weather with the S55 irons and they felt every bit as soft as a forged iron. I played the I20s this past year and thought they were great themselves, but the S55 is that much better. I have CFS X shafts and I would recommend anyone who plays stiff flex should consider an X flex. The shafts are very nice but play soft to flex. I am a 3 handicap with 102 mph driver club head speed. I had stiff CFS shafts in my I20s and had them hard stepped twice to get a true flex. But if your in the market for a new set of irons, give them a try, I really don’t think you will be disappointed.

    • richard

      January 12, 2014 at 12:00 am

      True to that. Great set of “blades” which I think the play like a blade with the forgiveness of a cavity back. This is a great next step to what many thought could not have been improved s-56. Softer insert and better sole grind.

  9. Flange

    January 9, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    I came, I hit, I bought!! lol

    went in to hit a few different types of irons thinking AP2 all the way . well after about an hour and lord knows how many balls . I was handing over the visa! really amazed at the forgiveness and feel . they look awesome too. I am curious as to how the stock shafts will work out but ill make that call after a few rounds.

    thanks PING!

  10. SBoss

    January 5, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    I tried the S55 irons inside a store and loved them right away. But, I wasn’t sure that as a 6 handicap, if they were the type of iron that I should consider. The irons are pretty small even though they were forgiving enough in the cage. Frankly, the size was a little intimidating.
    I saw that somebody had just returned a set and they were discounted by $200, so I thought I’d give them a shot just to see. I had the comfort of a 30-day return policy so I took the plunge. I’ve hit about 1,000 balls and played a round in 33 degree weather with them…and, these irons are going nowhere! They are forgiving for a players iron, they feel every bit as good as a forged to me, and my mishits still fly far enough with no bad feedback. I hit MP-64s in demo for awhile and my misses were much more harsh, they just weren’t as forgiving as the S55. And, during my round, another player asked what I was playing and said they were the best looking irons he’d seen.
    I don’t care how they look…when an iron performs like these S55′s, you just enjoy the ride. These clubs are transformative. I feel like they are lasers, that I can go right after my target with superb confidence. Again, the feel at impact on a flush, which is most of the time with these irons, is like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. If your looking for a very forgiving “players” looking club, with excellent feel and looks too…give the S55′s a shot. My guess is you’ll love them.

  11. MJ

    January 2, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    Hit these today. They are going in the bag. Too easy to hit! Look fantastic and feel fantastic. I have played forged for a long time and I cannot tell much of a difference. It is worth whatever difference there is due to the consistency of the shots I am seeing. Also experimenting with the G25 in the 3-5 iron. I am extremely impressed with these as well. I am a +2 and my eyes lit up when I saw how easy they were to hit. I would think it will save me a few strokes here and there.

  12. Ed

    January 2, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Granted, it was in the simulator…but tried the S55′s, 714 AP2′s & the MP54′s and the Pings to my surprise had the best results. They were by far better looking at address. Feel was great and the numbers as they say, don’t lie. I could care less they’re not forged. As Pings moto says…”Play Your Best”. Can’t wait to try these on the course.

    • James

      January 6, 2014 at 10:47 pm

      I tried the exact same clubs and had the exact same results. Didn’t go into the store expecting to buy a set of these, but I couldn’t resist.

  13. getitclose

    December 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    Got a chance to hit these yesterday. I play 712 AP2′s and love the Forged feel. But these were SO nice! Great look, even better feel. They are by far the best feeling cast iron…well second best lol. The i20′s are hard to beat lol

  14. LL

    December 19, 2013 at 4:38 am

    I may be biased because I love my S56s, but the elastomer on the S55s gives less feedback to me. With the S56 I feel exactly where on the face I hit the ball. The S55 gives you an elastomer feel -muted, and the feedback is IMO inferior.

  15. Pingback: Club War: Nike VR Forged Pro Combo vs PING S55 Irons | CHICAGODUFFER.COM

  16. Rich

    December 8, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Best value premium iron on the market. Who cares if they are not forged. While all those forged irons are dead in the water because they’re worn out, Ping S55′s will still be in the bags of players that appreciate Ping’s quality and engineering. Great irons.

    • Dan

      December 8, 2013 at 7:44 pm

      Not sure what it is about these clubs, but I really like them. I currently play the s57′s at about a 7HCP. The clubs felt more forgiving, longer and a pleasure to play.

      Not sure I’m ready to part with 1000 bones to change, but these would be in the top 3 clubs if I were going to change. The other two? it’s a tight competition, but probably the new AP2′s, the Apex Pros or MP64′s. (I know… that’s three, but there are A LOT of great clubs coming out)

  17. Brian

    November 29, 2013 at 5:21 pm

    Ping is known for their cast irons, that’s what they do. Why does everyone look for forged? The technology has come a long ways, most people couldn’t tell the difference anyways.

  18. Luis

    November 23, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    Forged is over rated unless your a 7HCP. The average golfer will benefit from the technology ping has engineered into the s55′s. When I tried them against mizuno’s mp54 I felt the immediate forgiveness whereas the 54′s where clankly.
    Yes if you pure a forged iron they feel like butter but I feel the s55′s had a tighter Dispersion.

  19. Willy

    November 19, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    Hit them yesterday. After hitting them needed to hit my i20′s to get the taste out of my mouth the s55′s left. Didn’t like em. I’m a PING loyalist, but the s56 is a better club. Stickin with the i20′s though.

    • CHARLIE

      November 25, 2013 at 8:30 am

      agree totally. i loved my s56. there a nice club, but when you are accustom to a certain feel, its tough to feel otherwise. There a great club. but not s56 at all.

      • Willy

        November 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

        I agree with you Charlie. They are. A good club, and it’s tough when you’re used to hittin something. The i20′s feel like butter to me, but I’m just used to them.

  20. Ake

    November 18, 2013 at 9:24 am

    I have tried them for a week. They are awesome. Sweet trajectory and great forgiveness for blade style. I think its not hard when u hit the ball at the center of club face. Definitely recommend for serious golfer 0 to 12 handicap.

  21. JEFF SMITH

    November 17, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    They feel rock hard! Sticking w/ my i20′s.

  22. Patrick

    November 14, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Played my first round with these yesterday. Had been swinging i-15′s and never had ventured into a blade-like player’s iron (hdcp 6). Incredible golf clubs. The feeling of control is fantastic. Super job Ping!

  23. CHARLIE

    November 12, 2013 at 9:42 am

    I hate them. s-56 a much better feeling club. The dampening of the clubs feel takes away from the blade like effort many players like.
    I have a brand new set of red dot with KBS tour 3-pw if interested. Im jumping back into the MB’s

    • Jeffry Young

      November 12, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      Red dot is perfect, I’ll purchase them from you if you don’t want them?!?

      I live in seattle WA if interested email me Jeffyoung1234@hotmail.com

    • Tim

      November 19, 2013 at 10:59 pm

      I’m interested!! Gonna buy a set just like these. How much?

  24. Jeremy

    November 11, 2013 at 8:09 am

    I ordered these in mid-October and got them in last week. I have been mainly a Titleist CB/AP2 guy for the last 5 years, but have always loved the thought of owning Ping’s. After playing with these this weekend, I LOVE them! I couldn’t believe how good they felt and I am a +1 HC. The ball flight is fantastic and I feel good about working them either way. Love that I am now a Ping iron player!

  25. goblue

    November 10, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    far better feel than the s56 ! if your a ping person these are a must !

  26. orangebang

    November 10, 2013 at 1:36 am

    I loved the article. it’s everything I wanted to know about the S55 in one concise review. That said, I’m really disappointed Ping put their CFS shaft as the stock offering. every players iron out there comes with DG or KBS, and that’s the way it should be. the CFS is a terribly flimsy shaft that doesn’t do anything better than any of the other 2 I mentioned. It’s like Callaway putting a Memphis 10 Uniflex in their new Apex Forged iron. LOL

    • Jim

      November 28, 2013 at 7:07 am

      Great point on the shaft selection. Which KBS or Project X shaft could anyone recommend?

  27. Mike M

    November 9, 2013 at 10:19 pm

    great looking club.

  28. Jeffrey Trigger

    November 9, 2013 at 6:19 am

    I love the forged argument. Even when they hit these, and find out that hey, these work well, they’ll pass because they aren’t forged. Isn’t golf a sport? Isn’t the idea to score as low as you possibly can? If these work for you, and you can afford them, uh, then put them in your bag. The reason I won’t play these has nothing to do with how they are created. I have a day job, and just don’t get to the course enough to game these.

    • R

      November 9, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Yeah. And we really needed to know this. Doh!

  29. FL

    November 9, 2013 at 3:14 am

    I think these are the irons to beat in 2014. I don’t think anybody’s going to top these in the way it feels off the face. They are amazing!

  30. Robert

    November 9, 2013 at 12:27 am

    Just went to Golfsmith hit side by side AP2 714, MP54 & S55. Going in I was thinking AP2, but I got surprised. Dispersion was a little better with S55. Ball speed was 2 to 3 miles slower with the S55, but the S55 launched higher with less spin. S55 was a little longer. New tech? Ball doesn’t go up in levels but straight up no spin see ya. Looking down at the iron I preferred the thinner look of the S55 over both the AP2 & MP54. Didn’t try Titleist or Mizuno blades…do I need to say why? I’m a weekend golfer who shoots in the 70′s and prefers to stay there.

  31. CW

    November 8, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    Those groves are awesssome!

  32. Jon

    November 8, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I have played several forged irons and have hit all the new irons as well. These feel almost identical (imo) to any of the good forged irons out there. I love the look of these clubs and cant wait to put them in play. I have them on order and will be picking them up tomorrow :)

  33. RG

    November 8, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Beautiful iron, but that does seem a little pricy for cast.

  34. Barry Goodman

    November 7, 2013 at 9:27 pm

    Spectacular Looking & Excellent Performance.
    What else would you want; in this age where we demand the latest greatest of high tech, we have here the best of both worlds.
    Time to step out of your dream world & into the real world folks.
    Few of you, who are looking for forged clubs, likely wouldn’t know the difference between forged & cast if you were able to hit them blind folded.
    An added bonus, unlike forged clubs, these will also look the same 10 years from now.

    • thumperaccuracy

      November 11, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      I have a set of S57′s. I play 40 times a year and practice often (8 hdcp). Most people who look at these irons mention two things, either “wow, I didn’t know PING made good looking clubs” and “they look practically brand new.” My clubs are 4 and a half years old, look and play great. If Bubba has switched, maybe I should give them a demo.

  35. Taylor

    November 7, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    I would have looked at these for purchase…if they were forged..after playing cast for most of my life, the switch over to forged was an eye opener

  36. chill

    November 7, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    I dont understand why every review of ping irons complains about them not being forged. Besides the anser series, ping has made their money on cast. No one should expect a new s line of pings to be forged; its just not what they do. If forged is what you want there are plenty of other OEMs that offer them.

  37. David Smith

    November 7, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    Like the editor says, $999 is very steep for a cast set and since I am in Canada that translates to a hefty $1099, I like these irons but I I’ll pass given the price.

  38. Billy

    November 7, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    Nice club, I hit it recently as well. But for sure a pass, not forged.

  39. Muff

    November 7, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    The softest feeling Pings ever! They are quite simply amazing. Beautiful to look at, soft feel at impact, small form factor, and forgiving. These might be the best Ping has ever made. It’s amazing how soft it feels at impact for a cast club. What an incredible job Ping did with these. I’m jumping all over them.

  40. Jay

    November 7, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    Review doesn’t seem based on course performance… just repeated attempts to let us know they aren’t forged. They don’t feel any different really than the 2013 Anser irons. PING’s golf pros are playing S series irons and PING clubs because they grew up playing them and enjoy that style club. Making the forged makes ZERO sense and if that’s what you want why even mess with S55?

  41. tyler

    November 7, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Hit these last night. Very nice. Should be about 100 cheaper though.

  42. froneputt

    November 7, 2013 at 10:55 am

    I think you mean to say “a little more forgiving than the S56 irons” in your headline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>