Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

Review: Club Crown

Published

on

Confidence and comfort win the day. It’s a simple partnership to envision, but not always a cinch to incorporate. When you tee up a golf ball, any number of notions serve to distract your thoughts from the immediate task. If you have a way to concentrate your thoughts on the tee shot, you just might bring about that desirable merger of confidence and comfort. A product called Club Crown encourages both moods.

Club Crown by VIVE debuted its high-tech film in 2013 to great notice. The film is affixed to a driver or wood crown and serves a functional purpose: it protects club tops from sky marks and other dings. The extremely cool element to the film is the variety of colors and logos that could potentially adorn your club. Club Crown offers collegiate mascots, armed service icons, family tartans and a host of traditional and eclectic patterns.

With all the talk about the sole and the face of a driver, the side viewed by golfers when it counts and when the match is on the line is the crown. Having a visual in that space is restorative and consolatory, which adds up to more confidence and better execution. In other words, why waste the space?

“I saw that a major item in golf that cannot be customized in an easy and economical way is the head of the golf club,” said Andrew Glaser, CEO of the company. “Balls, tees, gloves and a myriad of other items, yes, but how much does that customization directly impact your game?

Mario Clemens Club Crown

Mario Clemens, a member of the PGA Tour Latinoamerica, would certainly suggest a positive impact. Clemens recently tied for 4th place in the Chile Open (Abierto de Chile) after leading the event after three rounds. Clemens proudly displays the flag of Mexico on his driver head, courtesy of Club Crown.

“We’re thrilled Mario is using our product,” said Brendan Doyle, president of ClubCrown. “After a stellar collegiate career, he’s making a smooth transition into the professional golf arena. We look forward to many more years of success with him.”

The Club Crown brings about this transformation in a microscopic way. The film weighs 2 grams, increasing the heft of your driver head by one percent. This isn’t The Princess And The Pea, so I suspect that as sensitive a driver as you are, you won’t notice the slight weight gain. The Club Crown is removable, albeit in the same hands of the installer who put it on. It won’t slide off from common use, so smash away with fairway metals and driver with complete confidence. Each Club Crown costs around $40, making it accessible for golfers of various economic levels.

atomic bomb

Club Crown’s “Atomic Bomb” design.

Installation is a quick and thoughtless process. Trained installers are found in 30 states plus the District of Columbia. For the rest of us, it’s easy to send the club in via preferred shipping method. Turnaround time is quick, ensuring that the club will be back in your hands before your next golf escape, tournament or outing. For those with adjustable drivers, find a small box and send the head in. No worries about the shaft. I shipped my Adams driver head in and had it back within eight days. No fuss and no hassle are the operative words when it comes to a Club Crown installation.

Custom orders are available with a minimum of 12 pieces. The company currently works with each client to design the custom decal, but greater things are in the works. In the near future, Club Crown hopes to debut an engine that permits the upload of personalized images, be they family photos, favorite scenes or an individual monogram. Whether used as a marketing or recruitment tool, or simply as a keep sake, the potential is vast and encouraging.

It took less than 10 minutes to decide on the specific film for my club head. My eyes disquiet at the slightest interference, so I immediately discarded the diamond patterns, attractive as they might be. My options were reduced to dark and light. Since I bought a white-headed driver because it was, you know, white, it made sense to grab the lighter film. During my three to four rounds since the transmutation, I’ve stepped up to the tee with a swagger and let loose with all the confidence of a matador.

It has been 25 years since I was an undergrad, but I still love thinking,”GO Deacs!”

Wake Forest Club Crown White

Your Reaction?
  • 1
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK0

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.

46 Comments

46 Comments

  1. The General

    Dec 28, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    Good comment to kwoot. Any pro that’s worth a nickel will tell you the shaft is the most important part of the golf club so get that sucker right! ClubCrowns look great and I think the marketing possibilities are endless….enough variety to satisfy just about everybody! (must say I’m not much on the halloween skulls)

  2. Marko

    Dec 12, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    These have been out for awhile.Different company.
    And you can put it on yourself. I think they were about $10 each.

    • markb

      Dec 29, 2013 at 11:27 pm

      I can’t speak for the quality of a Club Crown, but I have tried the do-it-yourself competitor (bigwigzskins.com) and I found them to be difficult to apply and low in quality. Very hard to smooth out the wrinkles around the hosel completely and very easy to over-stretch, tear, or distort the skin. If you touch the adhesive at all it will lose its tack and fail to adhere well. I gave up after 2 failed tries. In my opinion, professional application is probably a very good idea.

  3. Whitey Nichols

    Dec 4, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    I have one with ball marks on it. It matches the ball marks I already have on the top of my driver. Works great !

  4. Dan

    Nov 30, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    I want mine to say “tour prototype” so I can sell it for double to some knucklehead like myself

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 30, 2013 at 5:12 pm

      Dan, et al…

      Leave the middle man out (but keep reading)!! Get in touch with the ClubCrown people directly (but keep reading) and let them know you want customizable crowns (but most of all, keep reading.)

  5. Jack L

    Nov 30, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    Good idea. I would like a one or two word swing thought on mine. Like “shift”.

  6. tinytim

    Nov 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    where to buy just a single customize one for my driver? dont wanna order 12 pieces with my name on it

  7. ClubCrown

    Nov 29, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for the review! As a reference, here is a demo video of the careful and concise steps we take in installing a ClubCrown http://www.clubcrown.com/demo/

  8. Benny Mac

    Nov 29, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    I’m on my tenth Club Crown. Major style points! I’d highly recommwnd the product. Nice write up too

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:05 pm

      Benny Mac…
      Are they all on drivers or do you have them on fairway metals and hybrids as well? What styles have you chosen? Have you switched any out for newer ones?

  9. Jim

    Nov 29, 2013 at 4:16 pm

    Nice review, I got a Clemson one at the World Amateur, amazing product, GO TIGERS

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      Jim,

      ACC baby! All the way. Congratulations on that new women’s golf team at Clemson. Go Tigers (and Deacs). Thanks for reading.

  10. paulmuehlboeck99

    Nov 29, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    How is it possible, that those “covers” fit every crown???

  11. Martin

    Nov 29, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    I think they are hideous.

    Sort of like Stars and Stripes or Union Jack pants.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      Martin,

      Some are outlandish, no doubt. Others are subdued. It’s personal taste and if it’s not you, don’t take that road. Do, however, continue contributing here.

      • Martin

        Nov 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm

        I generally like my golf clubs to look fairly subdued, drivers with very little on top of them.

        These are like the white R1 graphics on crack…grinning madly

        • Ronald Montesano

          Nov 29, 2013 at 11:06 pm

          I understand that premise, Martin. However…if you find that one look that brings it all together, it’s pretty cool. Thanks for your comments. Keep reading.

  12. ZJohnson

    Nov 29, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    If these are put on correctly, they look very good and only add a small amount of sw. Very simple option for those who don’t like the colored heads and want to make it black.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      “The film weighs 2 grams, increasing the heft of your driver head by one percent.”

      ZJohnson…what does the 2 grams translate to in swing weight? You’re right…it isn’t much. Thanks for pointing that out.

  13. t

    Nov 29, 2013 at 11:53 am

    the difference between club crown and bigwigs is who installs it. bigwigs is $12 and you put it on yourself with a blow dryer and scissors.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 2:47 pm

      t,

      Interesting! If you screw up the do-it-yourself, can you pull it off quickly? If so, it seems like a great system. Mine show no signs of coming off…but I’ll let you know after a year if that assessment still holds. Thanks for your insight.

  14. Tyler

    Nov 29, 2013 at 10:46 am

    I’ve seen these at my local shop. I can see some people liking them. Not for me though.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 11:19 am

      Understandable…not every thing is a thing for everyone. Is it the price, the look, or the absence of a look that you’d like on your driver?

  15. melrosegod

    Nov 29, 2013 at 8:13 am

    I replaced a driver this spring because of a skymark that just pissed me off everytime I saw it. A constant reminder of a horrible tee shot. For $40 i may just throw on a flat black crown and give it another go.

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 29, 2013 at 8:16 am

      You only had one? Man, I had my share and didn’t even think of that bonus when I said “yes” to the crown. Keep us posted on what you think, if you get it done.

  16. Billy

    Nov 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Saw these at my local golf shop, not bad.

    Lots and lots of designs to choose from. Maybe one day, i’ll give it a go.

  17. kwoot

    Nov 28, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    $40.00′ I’ll pass. I don’t keep a driver long enough to want something like this…

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 8:41 pm

      You should check your shaft fitting. If you get rid of drivers that quickly, my guess is it’s the fault of the shaft, not the head.

  18. Brian

    Nov 28, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    So, how are these different than those sold by bigwigskins.com?

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 7:32 pm

      I think the fact that bigwigskins dot com is not a functioning web site is one way in which they are different. If you find me a working URL, I will certainly take a look at the competition. Thanks, Brian. Keep on reading.

    • Kelly

      Nov 29, 2013 at 3:33 pm

      I don’t have any experience with either of these products, but I have looked at the Club Crown fairly closely, and just watched the promo video for BigWigs. From this limited perspective, this is a bit like comparing a low end car and a high end Lexus. They both get you to your destination, but the style and experience are quite different.

      Almost unbelievably, if you look at the promo video for BigWig Skins, even their demo result looks crappy/amateurish. Scissors around a round edge? Seriously? Look at where the film meets the front of the club — there’s a wrinkle. Not only does it look like crap, but that’s probably coming off real soon.

      Like I say, I’m not even sure that I would do this to a driver, but if I did, I think I would take the upgrade. Unlike the Lexus example, I can afford this one.

      • Ronald Montesano

        Nov 30, 2013 at 3:21 pm

        Nice comparison. Think I’ll run all future articles by you for editing purposes. Thanks for writing, Kelly. Keep commenting in the future.

  19. Matt

    Nov 28, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    I saw these at the PGA Show last year and was very impressed, good to see success

  20. Really?

    Nov 28, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Meh

    • Ronald Montesano

      Nov 28, 2013 at 7:34 pm

      Really?,

      You’ll doubt me, but I thought the same when I agreed to review and write this piece. The logo is extremely high quality and gives me a real confidence when I tee it up. I think they are worth a try, especially with the cost not being prohibitive. If you have any dings on your driver crown, this doo-dad will cover them up, too.

      • All Good!

        Nov 28, 2013 at 8:13 pm

        Just meant the product…. Not the review man… Good write-up

        • Ronald Montesano

          Nov 28, 2013 at 8:53 pm

          I figured that…I meant the product, too. I thought it would be some cheeseball thing and it was much more. It’s psychic improvement for a mental game, which is a good thing.

      • Jack

        Nov 28, 2013 at 9:30 pm

        I think it’s a good idea. Doesn’t always look the best, but why not? Soon people will put portraits of their dogs and beloved grandmothers on there. A Ferrari! Koi Fish! The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Uther Supply golf towels

Published

on

Product: Uther Supply golf towels

Pitch: Via Uther: “Uther cart towels use the highest quality material and construction which have been tested to perform season after season…Uther’s unique blend of moisturize wicking, soft microfiber is 3x more absorbent than cotton and 5x more durable…Waffle pattern to easily remove even the most stubborn dirt in club grooves and golf ball dimples…Uther is the creator of the fashionable golf towel. Features unique sublimated prints and designs that make a fun accessory for both men and women golf bags.”

Our take on Uther Supply golf towels

Most golfers have a “logo” towel hanging on their bag today. Typically you’ll see the name of a course the golfer has visited, or an OEM name. Uther Supply towels, however, are different. Uther (pronounced “other”) Supply Founder Dan Erdman described his inspiration for this unique line of golf towels in an interview with GolfWRX a few years back:

“When you work in the back shop and storage facility, you handle a lot of golf bags. I just noticed rows and rows of bags that all look the same and I thought it made a lot of sense to inject some personality into it. You know, people go crazy for how all the pros personalize their wedges and their bags. They buy towels and bag tags from courses like TPC Sawgrass and Pebble Beach to personalize their stuff, but in the end it all kind of blends together… I thought we could really add something to the marketplace.”

They have certainly succeeded in creating a new type of towel in the marketplace. We used them over several rounds of golf, in various conditions to put them to the test.

Meant to be shown off, Uther golf towel designs are creative and clever, with some of the most popular being the “Happy Gilmore inspired” Cart Towel and “90s coffee cup” Tour Towel. There of course, are many others to choose from.

Of course, let’s not forget that the primary function of a towel is to clean your golf equipment. That might seem easy but we at WRX have ordered some custom towels from other manufacturers in the past and were disappointed in the performance. Uther’s towels, however, succeed in both form and function. They’re stylish, but they also are an excellent functional towel. You’re like to be impressed at how light they are as well. These aren’t bath towels, but rather high-quality microfiber blends that Uther says are 3x more absorbent than cotton.

As far as cons, if we’re nitpicking, you may need to find a larger carabiner clip for some golf bags if you want to hang your towel in a more prominent place. These are made to show off, after all.

Prices range from $28-$35 USD and are available for purchase at uthersupply.com, Dick’s Sporting Goods and Golf Galaxy in the US and Golf Town in Canada.

Your Reaction?
  • 26
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP2
  • OB2
  • SHANK2

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Published

on

Product: Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Pitch: From Adidas: “Designed for protection from the elements, these golf shoes have enhanced cushioning to return energy on every swing. The shoes feature a spikeless outsole that flexes with your foot and has strategically placed lugs for outstanding grip and balance. An innovative closure system is built for micro-adjustments so you get the exact fit you need.”

Our take on Adidas Forgefiber Boa golf shoes

Golf shoes are curious creatures existing in a strange place? No? Finally free of the gravitational pull of traditionalism, shoe styles are finally at a place where form follows function. And while you may pine for the days of saddle shoes aesthetically, your feet (and likely your golf swing) surely do not.

While the shoes are also available in gray/white and black/white colorways, we tested the bolder dark marine variant.

Now, “good” footwear, as we are constantly wont to admit, is highly subjective. As of yet, you can’t test two pairs of kicks on a TrackMan and determine which is superior (rumored featured of TrackMan 5). So leaving aside aesthetics and how you like your shoes to fit, we provide the most valuable information, that is, regarding stability, cushioning, and traction. However, in this case, it’s also worth noting the closure system does allow for a more precise fit (and one that stays in place) than lace-up shoes do.

With respect to comfort, first of all, anything Boost is going to be comfortable, and these shoes are no exception. And whether you refer to the “Forgefiber in the upper features heat-pressed, TPU-coated fibers…stitched in” to the upper (as Adidas does), or merely the sensation that the Forgefiber Boas provide a solid foundation during the swing, the truth is the same: sound, stable here.

A look at the Puremotion outsole showcases some serious spikeless technology that also offers performance on par with the very best in spikeless footwear.

A final word: These shoes are no porous sieve, either, as you might be concerned they could be on first glance. Adidas’ Climastorm technology in the exterior yields a respectable level of water-repellency.

Your Reaction?
  • 74
  • LEGIT11
  • WOW6
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP9
  • OB2
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

WRX Spotlight: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Published

on

Product: Swag ball markers and divot tool

Pitch:  From Swag: “Swag is the brand that isn’t scared to push the limits in a conservative sport that isn’t evolving to meet changing styles. We like to listen to music on the course, we want to be bold, we love having fun, we love golf, and we’re going to express that both on and off the course. We aren’t going to try to sell you on how great our proprietary materials are and we don’t need to rely on clever marketing to sell more. We’re a no BS company. What matters is that our putters feel good and in turn make you feel good when putting. We have some crazy ideas, we love to tinker, and we experiment on how to perfect everything we do.”

Our take on Swag’s ball markers and divot tool

Swag Golf is creating some of the most sought after products on the market right now, with their funky headcovers and putters all being in high demand. Well, the companies ball markers and divot tool are no different, both of which are easily identifiable as coming from this emerging company who create high-quality products.

The Skull is the companies flagship symbol, and their Stainless Steel Skull Marker their most recognizable marker. The skull marker features black and fluorescent paint, with the bright sunglasses on the marker giving it a vibrant look. 100% CNC milled, the tool contains the companies name engraved on the back of the marker.

A variation on the Skull Marker is the companies Rainbow Skull Marker. Just in case the black and fluorescent paint job on the former wasn’t flashy enough for you, Swag’s Rainbow Skull Marker will make sure to get you noticed, containing the same features as their Skull Marker with a Rainbow PVD finish.

Moving away from their Skull Marker’s, Swag’s St Paddy’s Day Cap Marker is more than worthy of a mention. Identical in size to a bottle cap, the St Paddy’s Day inspired marker features a hand polished golden finish, with the word Swag in green written on the front, while on the back the words “Swag Golf Co.” as well as the company’s philosophy “Don’t give a putt” featured.

The company describe their bottle cap/marker as not being the first bottle cap/marker on the market but “the best one” out there. While I can’t confirm how true that statement is, I can certainly say it is an excellent one.

Swag’s first divot tool is the DTF Divot Tool. Get your head out of the gutter, that stands for “Down To Fix”. The device comes in a black and lime paint job, and an impressive weight of 49 Grams which should ensure that it doesn’t go missing on you.

The divot tool, like their ball markers, is 100% CNC milled and made from 303 Stainless Steel. For a Swag product, the writing and branding on the tool is quite minimalist, and it is as clean and sharp looking a divot tool as I’ve seen from the 2019 releases.

As always with Swag products, the only issue is the limited releases and how quickly the items go, which is no surprise considering the unique products as well as the quality provided. They are, however, continuing to create and release more and more products and their website, as well as their social media sites, are all well worth keeping a close eye on if you’re looking to snag some of the companies top gear in the future.

 

Your Reaction?
  • 21
  • LEGIT4
  • WOW2
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP3
  • OB1
  • SHANK14

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending