Connect with us

Equipment

Ping G25 irons: Editor Review

Published

on

Pros: The G25’s are more compact than the G20’s in every way — especially the short irons, which our reviewer called “downright svelte looking.” But despite the smaller size, Ping managed to make the G25 irons longer and more forgiving. The long irons also fly higher than previous models, and do so without adding too much spin.

Cons: The G25’s soles are narrower than the G20’s, but they’re still oversized. That means they’ll have a tendency to snag in the rough. And while they G25’s offer improved feel, we’re still talking about an oversized cast iron from Ping — not a buttery forging.

The Bottom Line: The G25 irons look, feel and perform better than the G20’s, which was no small accomplishment considering how many golfers love their G20 irons. These are worth the upgrade, particularly for better players. They’ll get a lot more performance from the narrower soles and higher-launching long irons, as well.

Overview

G Series irons from Ping  are traditionally game-improvement irons, which means they’re designed to help average joes hit higher, farther and straighter shots.

ping g25 irons

But Ping’s last two renditions, the G15 and G20 irons, were trending toward the “super game-improvement” category. Their extremely wide soles and large amount of offset was too much for many golfers, particularly those who enjoyed the look of Ping’s smaller irons but didn’t have the game to play them.

ping g-25 irons

That’s why this year’s G25 irons are considerable more compact than the G20’s. But here’s the thing — typically, when irons get smaller they also become less forgiving. But the G25’s actually perform better than the larger G20’s. In the words of our reviewer, they’re “rainmakers” that are “sinfully forgiving.”

2Y9G0118

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

The G25’s sell for around $700 for a set of a set of eight irons, and are available with Ping’s CFS shafts in Soft R, Regular, Stiff, X-Stiff flexes or Ping’s lighter, higher-launching TFC 189 shafts in Soft R, Regular and Stiff flexes. Check out the spec sheets below for more information.

g25-shaft-specs1

Performance

Rarely are we able to say that a new iron has considerably more forgiveness and feel than a previous model, but that’s exactly what the G25 irons deliver. The biggest change Ping made to the irons was positioning the CTP, or custom tuning port, lower in the head. It was positioned so low, in fact, that Ping had to make it smaller because it now collides with the sole.

ping g 25 iron

What that change did was line up the center of gravity with the line of force at impact, which results in a more efficient transfer of energy (aka more ball speed) on center strikes. But because Ping is Ping, and its engineers strive to make each iron as forgiving as the size of the head will allow, the G25’s also have more perimeter weighting.

g25-iron-specs

Where did that extra weight come? Well, Ping made the faces of the G25 irons thinner. That didn’t necessarily make the faces any springier, but what it did do was free up a few extra grams of weight for Ping to sprinkle around the cavity, which makes the club more stable on off-center strikes to make those shots fly close to the same distance as solid hits.

Click here to read our full tech story on the G25 irons.

Our reviewer summed it up nicely when he said:

“These G25s are more forgiving than your favorite grandmother.”

But what might be more important to better players than the extra forgiveness and ball speed are the G25’s narrower soles, which will perform better from the rough and improve turf interaction on tight lies.

IMG_3731

According to our reviewer, there’s even more good news for better players. The G25 3 iron is so long and high-launching that golfers might be inclined to trade out the troublesome hybrid in their bag.

Slide1

Looks and Feel

The great thing about positioning more mass behind the line of force at impact is that it not only boosts performance — more mass behind the ball at impact boosts feel as well. But Ping went even further to dial in the feel of the G25 irons — engineers changed the materials, shape, size and adhesion of the multi-material cavity badge to soften the blow, resulting in subtle, yet powerful sound at impact.

ping g25 iron review

Visually, the reduced offset, thinner top lines and more progressive sole widths look beautiful at address, and pair nicely with a graphite finish that makes the irons look even stealthier over the ball.

2Y9G9943

“Can I say the G25’s are more blade like than the G20’s in the short irons?,” our reviewer said. “It’s crazy to use that comparison, but much of what appeared to get in the way — a bit too much meat on the bone — has been redistributed out of the way. You’re unlikely now to see the back of the PW standing over it at address. The soles are narrowed significantly, and play effectively even narrower as there is an added trailing edge relief grind. The sense is, if we were to put the G25’s and the G20’s in a wind tunnel … the G25’s look like they’d win with a lower coefficient of drag.”

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

The Takeaway

The Ping G25’s aren’t the best looking irons on the market, and they’re not the best feeling, either. But that’s not what Ping was after.

Our reviewer found that his shots were often flying the right distance and on the right line, even when his contact wasn’t in the right place. In a game of misses, that might be the most a golfer can hope for, and that’s why Ping designed them that way.

Ping isn’t claiming that the Ping G25’s are going to fly farther than everyone else’s game-improvement iron, but they’re plenty long. And after hitting a few of these thin, on the heel and on the toe and still watching them fly long and straight, we know that Ping squeezed every ounce of forgiveness possible from the smaller size of these new irons. And that’s what modern iron design should be all about.

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

Reviewed by GolfWRX Moderator Todd Hibbert (Asleep in the forums)

Your Reaction?
  • 147
  • LEGIT27
  • WOW15
  • LOL14
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP3
  • OB5
  • SHANK84

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

22 Comments

22 Comments

  1. HENRY GARBARZ

    Aug 8, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    I have played with Ping G5/15 irons and loved them. The G25s are awesome when it comes to hitting greens. The 8/9/w/gw make the game easy. I seem to lose distance with the longer irons but my dispersion pattern is very good. As senior golfer I love the weight of the shafts. My hccp is 15.
    I would highly recommend these.

    • Terry Medlar

      Nov 6, 2014 at 10:11 pm

      I’m 63 and started playing (seriously) 3 years ago. I currently use TM RBZ irons and woods. I’ve taken lots of lessons, but have been struggling with consistency, especially with my fairway woods. I just tried and purschased a g25 3 wood and couldn’t be happier. I still made some bad shots but couldn’t believe how easy this wood hit off the tee and the ground. If the irons are as forgiving as this 3 wood, I want to buy a set. I just want to make sure they are worth the price.

  2. Ken Christy

    Jul 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Went in and got fitted. The golf shop sold me on the G25’s. I like the 8,9.W and U. The 7,6 and 5 blah. I told the retailer that I used to ‘play’. But had been raising my family but wanted to ‘play’ again. I told him I was as low as a 2 handicap but he said that I should use today’s technology. When my clubs arrived, they were blue dots and I questioned that because they were too upright. A waste of 800 bucks !! Bought a used set of old black dot Ping Eye 2’s for $100 bucks off Craigs List and had them regriped Hit them straight and 10-12 yards farther than the G25’s. So much for technology.

  3. Bill Duryea

    May 29, 2014 at 6:58 am

    The new Scottsdale Craz-e true roll is awesome! I have made more putts this year so far than I have ever made. Keep up the good work.

  4. Nick

    Apr 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    I have played many Ping irons the last 30 years (eye2, zing, isi, i3, …) and these are outstanding if you want a forgiving iron that looks ok. Extremely easy to hit and a soft feel for a cast iron. Only one downside, I find it difficult to control a fade with the g25.

  5. Ted

    Apr 11, 2014 at 4:08 am

    You have to laugh when you read some of these comments. Ping Zings & Ping Eye Two are so far behind in technology and performance. I personally have owned Ping Zings, G15’s and now G25’s and the step in performance is sensational. Well done to the engineer’s behind the development of the newer clubs.

  6. Brian Weller

    Apr 8, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Played the the G25’s as a rental set at the Biltmore in PHX and I cannot believe how good these clubs are ! I am going home and buying a set ! Straight, true and forgiving. Have to to retire my Ping Eye 2 irons 🙂

  7. Jason

    Feb 3, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    Extremely happy with my purchase. Went to the golf shop over the weekend looking to purchase new irons. This is my 3rd season of golf and had been currently playing a set of hand me down taylormade supersteel irons. Currently I range anywhere from an 11-17 handicap. I went in with an open mind for my fitting. I wanted to hit all the new irons and I did. Hit the new speedblades last years rocket blades, callaway x-hots and the x-hot 2’s. Also the new AP’1’s and the Ping G25’s. After a few swings I knew the callaways were not the clubs for me. Although the taylormade’s may be the longest irons I’ve ever hit just didn’t seem to be that consistent with them. I narrowed it down between the G25’s and the AP1’s. The AP1’s were the best looking club in the game improvement irons in my opinion. I just loved the explosion and feel of these G25s very forgiving on miss hits and get the ball up in the air in a hurry. Now I can’t compare them to the other pings as these were the only ones I hit. And they were not as long say as taylormade. But if your looking for great feel forgiveness and exceptional length I would recommend these irons to any mid to hi handicapper! I think it’s safe to say these irons won’t be leaving my bag anytime soon!

  8. Pete

    Dec 2, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Soon receiving a large retro check and need new irons. Are the Ping G25 worth it or something cheaper like the Mizuno JPZ 800?

  9. Kav

    Sep 10, 2013 at 3:45 am

    I just got the G25, black dot. Steel Shaft.

    I used to own a custom i15 but my entire golf bag got stolen!!

    a few weeks back, i tried the G25 and i20’s.. i felt the G25 gave me a better feel and further distance.

    i really miss my old i15’s. my handicap is about 20.

    All i can say is, i can forsee myself getting better with the G25 as there is an increase in distance as before.

    i would recommend this for people who want more distance. The feel is pretty good too.

  10. SirShankAlot

    Aug 4, 2013 at 10:42 am

    I love my Raptures but am certainly interested in the G25s. Think i have to wait some time til the first G25´s go second hand cause i haven´t got the money for new clubs. Never had and probably never will 😉 Thanks for the review !

  11. mfrank999

    Jul 29, 2013 at 8:53 am

    I just received my G25 irons in graphite sr flex.
    They are red dot and 1/2 inch short.
    On the mat in the store I hit them pure but when I went to the outdoor range and hit off the grass I never felt I hit the sweet spot although they went pretty much in the direction I was aiming.
    I have always played standard lie and regular length even though I am 5′-7 1/2″.
    Do I have to just get used to the shorter length, is it in my head????
    By the way I am a picker.

  12. purkjason

    Jul 24, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Best Irons Ping ever made were and still are the Ping Eye 2’s. Mine are still working just fine and I have no reason to ever change. I do admit that the G25’s are the best looking irons Ping has ever created hands down.

  13. Carrlos

    Jul 22, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I would pay money to read a comparation; G25 “vs” PingZing2. I really belive there is no significant improvement.
    Top class booth of them.

  14. wrx143

    Jul 5, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Bought the G25s with PXi shafts that brought the ball flight down a bit and lowered spin, not that the G25s spin too much. Yes, I love these irons and the main reason is the feel I get from a well struck shot. The ball seems to stay on the face for a split second longer, similiar to my MP30 Mizunos. Unlike my MP30s, there is a distinct crispness as the ball leaves the face in a hurry that is addictive. Also, the turf interaction is nothing short of perfection. I have one beef with Ping, and that is the lie on their irons rarely arrive to specifications. They are great about fixing the problem, but why not do it right the first time?

  15. jim

    Jul 5, 2013 at 2:07 am

    There was a day when Ping made the best equipment in the business. Now though, they churn out new stuff like they are taylor made Jr…. mostly crap.

  16. Jay Smith

    Jul 2, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    There is nothing special about them. If your a high handicapper it will not make a bit of a difference what !you play with. If your a good player you will hate the things. Sales and marketing

    • Bart

      Jul 4, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Hi,Jay,

      I have to totally disagree with you. I own the Ping G20’s and after playing with them for a year I can say they deliver results as promised.

      I have only been playing for 2 years and I currently have a 22 handicap. My first set was a basic starter set. Once I realized how much I loved playing I started replacing the clubs. When I was shopping for irons I tried irons on the driving range from titliest, Callaway, and tailormade. I couldn’t find one that stood out from the other. Then on a whim I tried the Ping G20. I had initially passed over them because I didn’t like the way they looked in the store. But on the driving range they produced a high and consistent ball flight. I thought maybe I was now warmed up so I shuffled the clubs around and randomly selected a brand. Every time it I kit the G20 it produced that beautiful consistent flight.

      Next I took it on the golf course. And the results were confidence building. My favorite shot is hitting my 7 iron and seeing it land softly on the green. I have 2 friends who have since bought the G20’s whose handicaps are in the low teens .

      Ping doesn’t make empty promises. They promoted the consistent gaping between irons, forgiveness across the face, and a higher ball flight. They deliver on all 3.

      • Jason Bice

        Aug 13, 2013 at 10:27 pm

        Clubs and engineering do matter. I too, was fitted at the PGA superstore for G20 blue dots. I ended up buying Mizuno JPX-800pros because of looks. I wasted a year with the Mizunos. I should have left with the G20s. I now sold the JPXs and bought the G25s and am really lowering my handicap.

    • Dwaine McKeen

      Jul 4, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      I don’t think so, fitted forged MX200 Mizuno irons for 5 years, 15 handicap, now Ping G25 steel shaft irons, straight, high, equal distance and forged feel….12 handicap.

      Must be magic.

    • Dwaine McKeen

      Jul 4, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      I don’t think so, fitted forged MX200 Mizuno irons for 5 years, 15 handicap, now Ping G25 steel shaft irons, straight, high, equal distance and forged feel….12 handicap.

      Must be magic.

  17. Tommy

    Jun 30, 2013 at 10:31 am

    The G25 line from Ping is awesome! I have the G25 driver, 2 fairways, and G25 irons with graphite shafts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Equipment

Members’ Choice: The top-5 drivers that golfers want to test in 2018

Published

on

Golf’s “off-season” is upon us and the PGAM Show in Orlando is quickly approaching in January, which means it’s time to start thinking about the upcoming driver releases.

We’ve seen a few companies launch their “2018” lines already — such as Cobra with its new King F8 and F8+ — while speculation swirls around the companies who have yet to announce their newest products. For instance, we’ve spotted a new “TaylorMade M4″ driver, and a new “Rogue” driver from Callaway. If history repeats itself and Titleist remains on a two-year product cycle, then we’ll see a replacement for the 917 line sometime in 2018, as well.

The question we posed to our GolfWRX Members recently was, which new or unreleased driver has you most excited heading into 2018? Below are the results and a selection of comments about each driver.

Click here to join the discussion!

Note: The comments below have been minimally edited for brevity and grammar. 

Titleist (7.39 percent of votes)

BDoubleG: I know it’s well down the road, but the Titleist 919 is what I’m most looking forward to. I played the 910 until this year and loved it, but I realized that I wasn’t getting much in the way of distance gains with the 915/917, and I was just leaving too many yards on the table. I know it’s a cliche, but I was seeing considerable gains with my G400LS, then my M2 I have now.

I feel like Titleist has been hurting in the driver market share category (and probably elsewhere), as I think a lot of people think that the 913, 915 and 917 have been minor refreshes in a world where almost everyone else has been experimenting with structure (jailbreak, turbulators) or with COG (spaceports, SLDR, G-series extreme back CG). I think if Titleist is going to recapture some of their market share, they will need to start taking an interest in stepping outside of their comfort zone to catch up with everyone else. Maybe I’m hoping for too much, but a D2-style head with ample forgiveness and low-spin (maybe a back-front weight), with the same great sound of the 917, and hopefully getting rid of the “battery taped to the sole” look would be a huge hit in my book.

I’m really looking forward to seeing what they come up with…and I hope I’m not disappointed.

Mizuno GT-180 or otherwise (8.87 percent of votes)

mrmikeac: After thoroughly testing the Mizuno ST-180 and seeing the distance gains I was getting from my Epic, I can’t wait for the GT to get here. Cobra would be next in line for me, but Mizzy really did something special with that JPX-900 and it seems to look like they’re going the same route with these drivers. Excellent feel, forgiveness and simple but effective tech. 

Callaway Rogue, Rogue Sub Zero or otherwise (17.73 percent of votes)

cvhookem63: It seems like we’re not getting a lot of “NEW” this time — just some same lines “improved” on a little. I’m interested to try the Rogue line and M3/M4 line to see if they improved on their previous models. The Cobra F8+ is intriguing to me, as well. I’d like to compare those three to see how they stack up. 

tj7644: Callaway Rogue. It’s gotta make me hit straighter drives right? It sure can’t be my swing…

Equipto: Callaway Rogue Sub Zero, and that’s about it. Most of my testing will be with shafts I presume. 

bangabain: Excited to give the Rogue a shot, although with the hope that there’s a little more fade bias despite the lack of sliding weight.

TaylorMade M3, M4 or otherwise (27.09 percent of votes)

DeCuchi: TaylorMade M3 of course, and the F8+. I’m more interested in the fairways this year though. TaylorMade M4 fairways and Rogue fairways are top of my list. 

elwhippy: TaylorMade M3 and M4. Not owned a TM driver for several seasons and want something with a bit more power than the Ping G Series…

cradd10: M3. Still rocking an OG M1. Super solid driver. Curious to see if the updated version can beat it. 

Cobra F8/F8+ (33.66 percent of votes)

WAxORxDCxSC: I sure want to like the F8 based on looks (I understand I’m possibly in the minority on that one at GolfWRX).

TWshoot67: For me, it’s three drivers: the Cobra F8, F8+ and TM M4. 

The General: Cobra F8 is going to dominate everything, just wait, on the F8

Ace2000: Definitely F8/F8+. Love my Bio Cell+ and can’t help but wonder if these perform as good as they look. 

Click here to join the discussion!

Your Reaction?
  • 37
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW1
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB1
  • SHANK10

Continue Reading

Equipment

True Linkswear goes back to its spikeless roots

Published

on

True Linkswear is getting back to its roots, while expanding the singular golf shoe brand’s reach at the same time.

The Tacoma, Washington, company’s Director/Partner, Justin Turner, told us that with the release of the two new models, the company is course-correcting from a move toward the mainstream, spiked golf shoes, and a loss of identity.

In addition to durability issues, Turner said the core True Linkswear customer didn’t appreciate the shift — or the deluge of models that followed.

So, in a sense, the two-model lineup both throws a bone to True devotees and casts a wider net.

Turner and company asked: “If we wanted to restart the brand….what would we value?” A commitment to the brand’s core outsider identity, style as articulated in early models, and an emphasis on quality led Turner on multiple trips to China to survey suppliers in early 2017. Eventually, the company settled on a manufacturing partner with a background in outdoor gear and hiking shoes.

“We’ve spent the last few years scouring the globe for the best material sourcing, reputable factories, advanced construction techniques, and time-tested fundamentals to build our best shoes yet. No cheap synthetics, no corners cut.”

Eventually, True settled on two designs: The Original, which, not surprisingly, has much in common with the zero-drop 2009 industry disrupting model, and the Outsider: a more athletic-style shoe positioned to attract a broader audience.

True Linkswear Original: $149

The company emphasizes the similarity in feel between the Original and early True Linkswear models, suggesting that players will feel and connect to the course “in a whole new way.”

  • Gray, White, Black
  • Waterproof full grain leather
    2-year waterproof guarantee
  • thin sole with classic True zero-drop heel
  • 12.1 oz
  • Sockfit liner for comfort
  • Natural width box toe

True Linkswear Outsider: $169

With the Outsider, True Linkswear asked: “What if a golf shoe could be more? Look natural in more environments?”

  • Grey/navy, black, white colorways
  • EVA midsole for lightweight cushioning
  • Full grain waterproof leather
  • 13.1 oz (thicker midsole than the Original)

The company envisions both shoes being worn on course and off.

True Linkswear introduced the more durable and better-performing Cross Life Tread with both models. Turner says the tread is so good, you can wear the shoes hiking.

Both models are available now through the company website only. True Linkswear plans to enter retail shops slowly and selectively.

Your Reaction?
  • 54
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK17

Continue Reading

Equipment

Sean O’Hair and Steve Stricker’s Winning WITBs from the 2017 QBE Shootout

Published

on

The team of Steve Stricker and Sean O’Hair closed the QBE Shootout with an 8-under 64 for a two-shot win over Graeme McDowell and Shane Lowry. O’Hair made a timely eagle on the par-5 17th hole at Tiburon Golf Club to lock up the first place prize of $820,000 ($410,000 each).

Here’s a look at their bags.

Sean O’Hair

Driver: Titleist 917D2 (9.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White Prototype 60TX

3 Wood: Titleist 917F2 (15 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Diamana S+ Limited Edition 70TX

5 Wood: Titleist 915F (18 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana S+ Limited Edition 80TX

Irons: Titleist 716 T-MB (4-iron), Titleist 718 AP2 (5-PW)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100

Wedges: Titleist Vokey Design SM7 prototype (50, 54 and 58 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold Tour Issue S400

Putter: Scotty Cameron Concept 2 NB

Golf Ball: Titleist Pro V1

Related: Sean O’Hair WITB

Steve Stricker

Driver: Titleist 913D3 (8.5 degrees)
Shaft: Fujikura Motore Speeder VC 8.2X

3 Wood: Titleist 915F (13.5 degrees)
Shaft: Mitsubishi Rayon Tensei CK Pro White 80TX Prototype

Hybrid: Titleist 816H1 (17.0 degrees)
Shaft: Fujikura Motore Speeder VC 9.2X

Irons: Titleist 718 CB (3-9)
Shafts: KBS Tour Prototype

Wedges: Titleist Vokey Design SM6 (46, 54 and 60 degrees)
Shafts: True Temper Dynamic Gold S400 w/ Sensicore

Putter: Scotty Cameron T5W

Golf Ball: Titleist Pro V1x

Related: Steve Stricker WITB 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 56
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT2
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending