Ping G25 irons: Editor Review

by   |   June 29, 2013
2Y9G9915 copy
Ping G25 irons: Editor Review GolfWRX
Performance
Looks and feel

Summary: The best game-improvement iron Ping has ever made

4.5

Extremely long and forgiving


Pros: The G25′s are more compact than the G20′s in every way — especially the short irons, which our reviewer called “downright svelte looking.” But despite the smaller size, Ping managed to make the G25 irons longer and more forgiving. The long irons also fly higher than previous models, and do so without adding too much spin.

Cons: The G25′s soles are narrower than the G20′s, but they’re still oversized. That means they’ll have a tendency to snag in the rough. And while they G25′s offer improved feel, we’re still talking about an oversized cast iron from Ping — not a buttery forging.

The Bottom Line: The G25 irons look, feel and perform better than the G20′s, which was no small accomplishment considering how many golfers love their G20 irons. These are worth the upgrade, particularly for better players. They’ll get a lot more performance from the narrower soles and higher-launching long irons, as well.

Overview

G Series irons from Ping  are traditionally game-improvement irons, which means they’re designed to help average joes hit higher, farther and straighter shots.

ping g25 irons

But Ping’s last two renditions, the G15 and G20 irons, were trending toward the “super game-improvement” category. Their extremely wide soles and large amount of offset was too much for many golfers, particularly those who enjoyed the look of Ping’s smaller irons but didn’t have the game to play them.

ping g-25 irons

That’s why this year’s G25 irons are considerable more compact than the G20′s. But here’s the thing — typically, when irons get smaller they also become less forgiving. But the G25′s actually perform better than the larger G20′s. In the words of our reviewer, they’re “rainmakers” that are “sinfully forgiving.”

2Y9G0118

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

The G25′s sell for around $700 for a set of a set of eight irons, and are available with Ping’s CFS shafts in Soft R, Regular, Stiff, X-Stiff flexes or Ping’s lighter, higher-launching TFC 189 shafts in Soft R, Regular and Stiff flexes. Check out the spec sheets below for more information.

g25-shaft-specs1

Performance

Rarely are we able to say that a new iron has considerably more forgiveness and feel than a previous model, but that’s exactly what the G25 irons deliver. The biggest change Ping made to the irons was positioning the CTP, or custom tuning port, lower in the head. It was positioned so low, in fact, that Ping had to make it smaller because it now collides with the sole.

ping g 25 iron

What that change did was line up the center of gravity with the line of force at impact, which results in a more efficient transfer of energy (aka more ball speed) on center strikes. But because Ping is Ping, and its engineers strive to make each iron as forgiving as the size of the head will allow, the G25′s also have more perimeter weighting.

g25-iron-specs

Where did that extra weight come? Well, Ping made the faces of the G25 irons thinner. That didn’t necessarily make the faces any springier, but what it did do was free up a few extra grams of weight for Ping to sprinkle around the cavity, which makes the club more stable on off-center strikes to make those shots fly close to the same distance as solid hits.

Click here to read our full tech story on the G25 irons.

Our reviewer summed it up nicely when he said:

“These G25s are more forgiving than your favorite grandmother.”

But what might be more important to better players than the extra forgiveness and ball speed are the G25′s narrower soles, which will perform better from the rough and improve turf interaction on tight lies.

IMG_3731

According to our reviewer, there’s even more good news for better players. The G25 3 iron is so long and high-launching that golfers might be inclined to trade out the troublesome hybrid in their bag.

Slide1

Looks and Feel

The great thing about positioning more mass behind the line of force at impact is that it not only boosts performance — more mass behind the ball at impact boosts feel as well. But Ping went even further to dial in the feel of the G25 irons — engineers changed the materials, shape, size and adhesion of the multi-material cavity badge to soften the blow, resulting in subtle, yet powerful sound at impact.

ping g25 iron review

Visually, the reduced offset, thinner top lines and more progressive sole widths look beautiful at address, and pair nicely with a graphite finish that makes the irons look even stealthier over the ball.

2Y9G9943

“Can I say the G25′s are more blade like than the G20′s in the short irons?,” our reviewer said. “It’s crazy to use that comparison, but much of what appeared to get in the way — a bit too much meat on the bone — has been redistributed out of the way. You’re unlikely now to see the back of the PW standing over it at address. The soles are narrowed significantly, and play effectively even narrower as there is an added trailing edge relief grind. The sense is, if we were to put the G25′s and the G20′s in a wind tunnel … the G25′s look like they’d win with a lower coefficient of drag.”

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

The Takeaway

The Ping G25′s aren’t the best looking irons on the market, and they’re not the best feeling, either. But that’s not what Ping was after.

Our reviewer found that his shots were often flying the right distance and on the right line, even when his contact wasn’t in the right place. In a game of misses, that might be the most a golfer can hope for, and that’s why Ping designed them that way.

Ping isn’t claiming that the Ping G25′s are going to fly farther than everyone else’s game-improvement iron, but they’re plenty long. And after hitting a few of these thin, on the heel and on the toe and still watching them fly long and straight, we know that Ping squeezed every ounce of forgiveness possible from the smaller size of these new irons. And that’s what modern iron design should be all about.

Click here to read his full review in the forums.

Reviewed by GolfWRX Moderator Todd Hibbert (Asleep in the forums)

About

GolfWRX is a leading source for news, information and resources for the connected golfer. It's staff, featured writers and members report on the latest golf news and how it inspires golfers around the world. GolfWRX’s 3.1 million monthly visits is the world's largest and best online golf community. It surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process with original photographic and video content, peer-to-peer advice, camaraderie, technical how-tos and more.


20 Comments

  1. Ken Christy

    July 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    Went in and got fitted. The golf shop sold me on the G25′s. I like the 8,9.W and U. The 7,6 and 5 blah. I told the retailer that I used to ‘play’. But had been raising my family but wanted to ‘play’ again. I told him I was as low as a 2 handicap but he said that I should use today’s technology. When my clubs arrived, they were blue dots and I questioned that because they were too upright. A waste of 800 bucks !! Bought a used set of old black dot Ping Eye 2′s for $100 bucks off Craigs List and had them regriped Hit them straight and 10-12 yards farther than the G25′s. So much for technology.

  2. Bill Duryea

    May 29, 2014 at 6:58 am

    The new Scottsdale Craz-e true roll is awesome! I have made more putts this year so far than I have ever made. Keep up the good work.

  3. Nick

    April 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    I have played many Ping irons the last 30 years (eye2, zing, isi, i3, …) and these are outstanding if you want a forgiving iron that looks ok. Extremely easy to hit and a soft feel for a cast iron. Only one downside, I find it difficult to control a fade with the g25.

  4. Ted

    April 11, 2014 at 4:08 am

    You have to laugh when you read some of these comments. Ping Zings & Ping Eye Two are so far behind in technology and performance. I personally have owned Ping Zings, G15′s and now G25′s and the step in performance is sensational. Well done to the engineer’s behind the development of the newer clubs.

  5. Brian Weller

    April 8, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Played the the G25′s as a rental set at the Biltmore in PHX and I cannot believe how good these clubs are ! I am going home and buying a set ! Straight, true and forgiving. Have to to retire my Ping Eye 2 irons :)

  6. Jason

    February 3, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    Extremely happy with my purchase. Went to the golf shop over the weekend looking to purchase new irons. This is my 3rd season of golf and had been currently playing a set of hand me down taylormade supersteel irons. Currently I range anywhere from an 11-17 handicap. I went in with an open mind for my fitting. I wanted to hit all the new irons and I did. Hit the new speedblades last years rocket blades, callaway x-hots and the x-hot 2′s. Also the new AP’1′s and the Ping G25′s. After a few swings I knew the callaways were not the clubs for me. Although the taylormade’s may be the longest irons I’ve ever hit just didn’t seem to be that consistent with them. I narrowed it down between the G25′s and the AP1′s. The AP1′s were the best looking club in the game improvement irons in my opinion. I just loved the explosion and feel of these G25s very forgiving on miss hits and get the ball up in the air in a hurry. Now I can’t compare them to the other pings as these were the only ones I hit. And they were not as long say as taylormade. But if your looking for great feel forgiveness and exceptional length I would recommend these irons to any mid to hi handicapper! I think it’s safe to say these irons won’t be leaving my bag anytime soon!

  7. Pete

    December 2, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Soon receiving a large retro check and need new irons. Are the Ping G25 worth it or something cheaper like the Mizuno JPZ 800?

  8. Kav

    September 10, 2013 at 3:45 am

    I just got the G25, black dot. Steel Shaft.

    I used to own a custom i15 but my entire golf bag got stolen!!

    a few weeks back, i tried the G25 and i20′s.. i felt the G25 gave me a better feel and further distance.

    i really miss my old i15′s. my handicap is about 20.

    All i can say is, i can forsee myself getting better with the G25 as there is an increase in distance as before.

    i would recommend this for people who want more distance. The feel is pretty good too.

  9. SirShankAlot

    August 4, 2013 at 10:42 am

    I love my Raptures but am certainly interested in the G25s. Think i have to wait some time til the first G25´s go second hand cause i haven´t got the money for new clubs. Never had and probably never will ;) Thanks for the review !

  10. mfrank999

    July 29, 2013 at 8:53 am

    I just received my G25 irons in graphite sr flex.
    They are red dot and 1/2 inch short.
    On the mat in the store I hit them pure but when I went to the outdoor range and hit off the grass I never felt I hit the sweet spot although they went pretty much in the direction I was aiming.
    I have always played standard lie and regular length even though I am 5′-7 1/2″.
    Do I have to just get used to the shorter length, is it in my head????
    By the way I am a picker.

  11. purkjason

    July 24, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Best Irons Ping ever made were and still are the Ping Eye 2′s. Mine are still working just fine and I have no reason to ever change. I do admit that the G25′s are the best looking irons Ping has ever created hands down.

  12. Carrlos

    July 22, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    I would pay money to read a comparation; G25 “vs” PingZing2. I really belive there is no significant improvement.
    Top class booth of them.

  13. wrx143

    July 5, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Bought the G25s with PXi shafts that brought the ball flight down a bit and lowered spin, not that the G25s spin too much. Yes, I love these irons and the main reason is the feel I get from a well struck shot. The ball seems to stay on the face for a split second longer, similiar to my MP30 Mizunos. Unlike my MP30s, there is a distinct crispness as the ball leaves the face in a hurry that is addictive. Also, the turf interaction is nothing short of perfection. I have one beef with Ping, and that is the lie on their irons rarely arrive to specifications. They are great about fixing the problem, but why not do it right the first time?

  14. jim

    July 5, 2013 at 2:07 am

    There was a day when Ping made the best equipment in the business. Now though, they churn out new stuff like they are taylor made Jr…. mostly crap.

  15. Jay Smith

    July 2, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    There is nothing special about them. If your a high handicapper it will not make a bit of a difference what !you play with. If your a good player you will hate the things. Sales and marketing

    • Bart

      July 4, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Hi,Jay,

      I have to totally disagree with you. I own the Ping G20′s and after playing with them for a year I can say they deliver results as promised.

      I have only been playing for 2 years and I currently have a 22 handicap. My first set was a basic starter set. Once I realized how much I loved playing I started replacing the clubs. When I was shopping for irons I tried irons on the driving range from titliest, Callaway, and tailormade. I couldn’t find one that stood out from the other. Then on a whim I tried the Ping G20. I had initially passed over them because I didn’t like the way they looked in the store. But on the driving range they produced a high and consistent ball flight. I thought maybe I was now warmed up so I shuffled the clubs around and randomly selected a brand. Every time it I kit the G20 it produced that beautiful consistent flight.

      Next I took it on the golf course. And the results were confidence building. My favorite shot is hitting my 7 iron and seeing it land softly on the green. I have 2 friends who have since bought the G20′s whose handicaps are in the low teens .

      Ping doesn’t make empty promises. They promoted the consistent gaping between irons, forgiveness across the face, and a higher ball flight. They deliver on all 3.

      • Jason Bice

        August 13, 2013 at 10:27 pm

        Clubs and engineering do matter. I too, was fitted at the PGA superstore for G20 blue dots. I ended up buying Mizuno JPX-800pros because of looks. I wasted a year with the Mizunos. I should have left with the G20s. I now sold the JPXs and bought the G25s and am really lowering my handicap.

    • Dwaine McKeen

      July 4, 2013 at 7:43 pm

      I don’t think so, fitted forged MX200 Mizuno irons for 5 years, 15 handicap, now Ping G25 steel shaft irons, straight, high, equal distance and forged feel….12 handicap.

      Must be magic.

    • Dwaine McKeen

      July 4, 2013 at 7:45 pm

      I don’t think so, fitted forged MX200 Mizuno irons for 5 years, 15 handicap, now Ping G25 steel shaft irons, straight, high, equal distance and forged feel….12 handicap.

      Must be magic.

  16. Tommy

    June 30, 2013 at 10:31 am

    The G25 line from Ping is awesome! I have the G25 driver, 2 fairways, and G25 irons with graphite shafts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>