Connect with us

Driver Reviews

Ping G20 Driver Editor Review

Published

on

Editor Review by: dlygrisse

Tested-Ping G20
10.5 loft
R flex TFC 169D shaft
Ping ID8 grip

Distance and accuracy are optimized by an external weight that optimizes the center of gravity position to generate high launch and low spin. The G20’s large, variable-thickness face generates faster ball speeds and increases MOI for maximum forgiveness

The 460cc clubhead is made fromTi 8-1-1, a lighter, lower-density alloy. Ti 8-1-1’s high strength-to-weight ratio allows for additional weight to be strategically placed for increasing the MOI on both the vertical and horizontal axes. Weight savings from varying wall thicknesses in the crown and body are positioned to optimize performance and durability.

Pros: Great looking club head that sits very square at address, muted dark grey color with a confidence inspiring head size that offers a fairly large “foot print”, with a high launch and low spin all at reasonable price for a new to the market club.


Cons:
Ping still does not offer adjust-ability in their drivers and woods, if you want a highly workable club this may not be the choice for you. I also question whether or not the average golfer needs a 45.75″ driver.


Bottom Line:
This is a really solid modern driver that will appeal to a wide variety of players, if you want forgiveness, high launch and plenty of distance just find the right shaft and loft and I think you will have a hard time finding a better club.

______________________________________________________

Tester Review:

Look: When the box arrived I couldn’t wait to get to the range to give it a test drive, I can usually tell within two to three swing whether I am going to like a driver or not, and this did not disappoint. I will say I have been a Ping fan for many years and generally like their stuff, however I am quick to dismiss equipment from anyone if it doesn’t fit my game.

The first thing I noticed was that it set dead square, the dark grey head color really appealed to me and the crescent moon alignment aid was a nice change from the full moon on many previous Ping drivers. The shaft is a little busy looking, bright red and gray colors with the Ping logo watermarked in the paint scheme, not something that really distracts me…overall a really good looking club that comes with a nice looking headcover to boot. The one thing you notice when looking at the sole is the large weight pad hanging off the back edge of the club, this is not noticeable at address and definitely adds to the high launch you receive from this club.

The head shape is a very classic modern look (if there is such a thing) with a very symmetrical shape that has no weird angles or shapes going on. It does have a much larger footprint than the Ping G10 I used to play, however the face depth is a little deeper than some clubs of this nature, like the Callaway Diablo Octane I have been playing. Overall I have no complaints about the look, it is the kind of club that appeals to me when shopping for a new driver.

Performance/Playability: If you want a club that launches high and flies straight then this might be the ticket, I noticed immediately the ball seemed to jump off the face and really get up in the air. At first I was concerned it was going too high and I was losing distance and getting no roll, but I soon figured out this club offers the proverbial high launch low spin type of shot that most golfer aspire to obtain.

The one thing I had to adjust to was the fact the ball didn’t curve much at all. I am used to aiming at the right side of the fairway and drawing the ball back to the middle, I soon found that for my stock drive if I aimed to the right the ball took off right and just stayed there. My first few drives on the course ended up on the right edge of the fairway or a few yards into the rough.

My first round on the course I played at time when the course was mostly empty and I could play several balls a hole, I hit several really long drives (for me) and some that were about average for me, overall I was happy with the distance, BUT the moment I knew I had a winner was on a long par 5 playing into a pretty stiff breeze and I hit a high bomb dead into the wind that hit an up slope that I usually have a hard time hitting when there is no wind, in my mind I 1/2 expected the ball to back up when it hit the ground, however the ball bounded forward about 15 yards. Not a career drive but a really solid one into the wind and a little extra roll with a high launch.

The club is forgiving as expected, shots low on the face still get adequate carry and heel and toe hits still get decent distance and dispersion, quite frankly I haven’t played too many 460 cc drivers that aren’t forgiving and this one sure doesn’t disappoint.

Workability-this is not the most workable club ever, as I said it likes to fly straight and high…..I know Bubba Watson can bend it with this club but I’m not Bubba….:rolleyes: Personally for most players I feel this is a good thing, and if you have the ability to curve it both ways you can certainly do so, you just might have to pay a little extra attention to making sure you get the face opened or closed the appropriate amount. My misses tended to be straight pushes and pulls, but mostly pushes since I tend to aim right and try to draw it back to the middle.

Feel: The initial sound off the clubhead is a little tinny, not a loud clank like some of the square drivers or a few from Cobra that actually hurt my ears but definitely not muted. Solid hits feel…well solid and miss hits feel as expected…you know you mishit it but the distance is still good as with most modern clubs. The shaft has a high balance point which I assume helps compensate for the slightly heavier head on this club, it had a different feel than most drivers I have used recently, it took me a few swings to get used to the feel, but once I got acclimated it gave me the feeling of easy power.

Bottom Line: This club is going in my bag, I am not even considering bringing my old driver to the course, high launch, straight flight….what’s not to like, plus it looks really stylish in my black Ping 4-Under sitting alongside my I15’s. In all seriousness the only reason I could think of not to give this club a look is if they just don’t have a shaft available that you like, you just have to have a white clubhead or you just have to have an adjustable club. Grab the G20, get fitted and head to the course….in my humble opinion you will NOT be disappointed.

Click here to see more photos and read the discussion in the forums… http://www.golfwrx.com/forums/topic/527977-golfwrx-review-ping-g20-driver/

Here is a great video from Ping that describes the technical facts behind this driver-

Your Reaction?
  • 17
  • LEGIT2
  • WOW4
  • LOL10
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK1

GolfWRX is the world's largest and best online golf community. Expert editorial reviews, breaking golf tour and industry news, what to play, how to play and where to play. GolfWRX surrounds consumers throughout the buying, learning and enrichment process from original photographic and video content, to peer to peer advice and camaraderie, to technical how-tos, and more. As the largest online golf community we continue to protect the purity of our members opinions and the platform to voice them. We want to protect the interests of golfers by providing an unbiased platform to feel proud to contribute to for years to come. You can follow GolfWRX on Twitter @GolfWRX and on Facebook.

Continue Reading
19 Comments

19 Comments

  1. Marc

    Nov 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    This is My Driver!!!
    I spent most of last winter hitting
    all sorts of Drivers
    Then All the Big Names were Ready
    To launch New Drivers for Spring 2013
    I Was looking forward to hitting
    The New Ping G25
    I went to a Demo Day & Really had a blast
    Ping Cobra Cleveland Nike Callaway and so on
    The Ping and Cobra were the best for me
    The Pro there suggested I try the G20 9.5 stiff
    I had my heart set on the G25
    Within a Few Swings I knew this was the Club for me
    Most of the time I Really do hit them long and straight!
    250-270 these are big numbers for me
    a bit high in launch but I’m working on that
    It has a really great sound as well
    & we All like to hear that
    I cant say enough good things about the Ping G20
    Give it a try

  2. trew10

    Oct 1, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    me and my buddy hit the course and out of no were he brought up that he had a spare driver if I wanted to use to play this round, my guess was I was going to like it and he would try to sell it to me so I told him no thanks, I usually average a little less that 200 yards on my drives since I tend fade my ball, so after a few holes I said what the heck let me try it, and oh boy was I surprised I was straight down the middle and almost 240 yards I thought it was a lucky shot but sure enough hole after hole I was hitting the longest straightest drives ever. so long story short I bought the club and now I own a ping G20 and couldn’t be happier.

  3. Rich

    Jun 18, 2013 at 8:19 am

    I purchased the G20 driver (10.5, reg flex) last year to complement my set of G20 irons and I must say, I have not been disappointed. As a fairly high (21) handicapper, my inconsistency is my main problem. Sometimes I drive the ball fairly well but play my irons poorly, or sometimes I have a shocker off the tee but I strike my irons pure (or as pure as I can, anyway!).

    Recently though I’ve really been putting the hours in at the range, refining my swing and I’ve started to see the benefit. Up until last week, I’d been focusing mainly on my irons (particularly the scoring clubs) because they seemed to be the clubs that I was having the most difficulty with. The other day however, I took the G20 driver out for a hit and all I can say is “WOW!!!” (I won’t say what I actually exclaimed at the time as there may be kids on here!). I have never hit my driver that far and that was just at the range with 75-80% balls!

    I went out to my course last night after work just to play the back nine and my first tee shot (admittedly with a slight following breeze and a kind bounce) ended up 297 yards from where I was standing! For the first time ever on the tenth, my second shot was a 3/4 sand wedge, where normally I’d be taking an 8 or 9 iron at the very least. Playing back down the 11th into the breeze, the distance wasn’t quite so far, but still around the 260 yard mark. Later on in the round, I hit another drive 276 yards! I’m not a big hitter by any means, so I’m amazed to be generating those kinds of distances. This is a great club.

    Like the reviewer above, the only real issues I had were with my alignment. If I was aiming right, then the ball would go straight and end up off to the right of the fairway. Aiming straight down the middle helps and as long as you give it a nice swing, the club does the rest for you. You can almost feel how ‘neutral’ the ball is as it takes off from the clubface. The noise it makes on a good hit is sublime too – maybe a bit loud for some people, but for me it makes a really satisfying ‘CRACK’, just to let that ball know exactly what you think of it. ūüôā

    Now, I’m not suggesting that this club is the best out there, or that I wouldn’t get similar results with any other driver, but it just seems to me to be so….EASY to hit! I couldnt even count the number of times I chuckled to myself as I walked the course yesterday. If anyone had heard me they’d have had me locked up in a secure unit!

  4. Phil Allen

    May 6, 2013 at 1:00 am

    I don’t really know what my spin numbers are but I heard a lot of great things about this driver and took a chance. I play in Okinawa Japan where the fairways are very narrow so you need something very forgiving. Let me tell you this is that driver! Consistent drives ranging 280-290. I have the 9.5 w/ Tour-stiff shaft. I play Titleist clubs but I couldn’t deny this one is definitely more consistent then my 913 D2.

  5. Ollie

    Apr 18, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    I was looking for a driver in the $200 range and Dick’s had the G20 for just that. I want straight to the driving range and I was very happy with the results. The guys I play with are going to be shocked with my drives this Saturday. I was always the shortest driver in the group but things have changed! Gonna win some skins this weekend ūüėČ

  6. AlexK

    Apr 14, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    I tried just about all the drivers within ‘my’ price range but was not happy with any of them until I tried the G20. From get go it felt solid and I liked how I could sense where the head was through my backswing. This gave me confidence.

    I ended up with 10.5 loft with a stiff shaft and although I was initially concerned about having too much loft (coming from a 9deg driver), I’ve found the extra loft has not only made the club more forgiving, I am getting the same if not more distance.

    I have to agree with the guys comments above, this thing is just dead straight. It seems to have killed my natural draw but I don’t mind. The high straight shots I’m getting are spectacular. (That said, by opening and closing the club face I have managed to fade and draw when really needed.)

  7. Telliott

    Mar 8, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    I just picked up a G20, 10.5 S-tour shaft for $199 @ Dicks. Last year I bought g15 irons and absolutely love them. This year is driver time. I really thought I would be walking out with a TM or Cobra, but after hitting the G20, DAMN!!!!!! The numbers do not lie! Lower spin #’s, 10-12 degree takeoff and a high, straight ball flight. Cannot wait until the snow is gone her is No. IL so I can get out and hit this monster!!!

  8. John Hood

    Feb 10, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    I`d like to know the total club weight of the Ping G20

  9. rahrah

    Jan 14, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    I recently bought this club at a local golf store, clearance sale!!! 9.5 stiff flex with the tour shaft. At first I was worried about hitting with a tour shaft, but the salesman who is used to seeing my swing and etc, convinced me its the one. I took it to the range, after about 50 balls, it clicked!!! I began bombing it long and straight, longer than my RBZ!!! I usually have a high ball flight, this did the trick and brought it down a bit. Now i”m hitting a nice mid trajectory ball and getting more distance. Love it!!

  10. Jim

    Nov 18, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    After an exhaustive search for a new driver, and test driving everything from Callaway to Cobra to TM I found the Ping G20 to be the best available. I picked up my new 9.5 tour stiff last weekend and its terrific. Launches high, straight and long – runs out great which is what I was looking for to get some more distance. Plus it looks great. Highly recommend this club – how can you argue with long and ridiculously straight.

  11. killerbgolfer

    Nov 11, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Just got my G20 8.5 with the PING tour shaft. It performed just as good as the Anser model on the computer at PUETZ. (plus I saved 150 on the price). Filthy long.

  12. Painter33

    Oct 30, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    One does not “hit the ball further”, but one can hit the ball “farther”. Think: FARther for physical distance and FURther for figurative or symbolic distance. “He further stated that he had hit his ball straight”, and “He was looking for his ball farther ahead than he really hit it”.

    I wish they would have included the sound of the club hitting the ball. I’m still hitting a G2 (why ruin success?) and looking for an upgrade. This may be the one.

  13. Chris Devine

    Oct 23, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Just replaced my 6 yr old Mizuno with the G20 in 10.5 (R) and I am lovin it, everything about long and straight is true, plus, a decent launch angle. A nice looking, well handling neutral driver that feels great. With a driver like this, any poor performance off the tee is down to your swing. Thanks Ping.

  14. johnny

    Sep 1, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    An absolute winner , stiff shaft with 9.5 loft , easier I swing the longer and straighter it goes. No false hype with this club , a howitzer !

  15. Andrew

    Jul 14, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Yup it’s all true, this is a big, forgiving, rocket launcher.

  16. Karah Sanford

    Jun 25, 2012 at 8:52 am

    I Just got the @bubbawatson Ping Pink G20 driver and I’m loving it :):):) !!!

    http://pic.twitter.com/HVaPbkGP https://twitter.com/karahsanford/status/216666279388528641/photo/1/large?tw_p=twt

  17. Alex

    Apr 19, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I hit a few balls with a G20 today. Boy, this thing can hit it steady long. I’ve been using an old G2 for over 8 years that I love, but this G20 stick is something really serious distancewise. I gained average 15 yards with this driver. Definitely, It’s going to be in my bag for a long time

  18. Jon Silverberg

    Feb 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    I was fit on a launch monitor at a Golf Galaxy 10 days ago, and this club was the longest for me (by 9 yards), with a change in my specs: this is the first time I’ve played a Sr shaft, and such a high degree of loft (12 degrees)…I’ve taken it out 3 times since I bought it (this season in the northeast should be called Winter-Spring), and I’m very pleased…high, long, straight…

  19. Will

    Feb 10, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I got a Ping G20 in 10.5¬į with the Tour X Stiff shaft late last year. It is the most consistently long and straight driver I’ve ever had. It hits high missiles. The ball jumps off the face and up into the stratosphere so fast and just goes for miles. The only problem with that is if it is really windy, especially a cross wind, you will need to adjust your aim accordingly. I can’t wait to play it this spring and summer when it isn’t so windy here in Georgia. I seriously tried 95% of all the drivers out there last year and the year before and this was by far the best and most consistent driver for me. I’m quite pleased.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Driver Reviews

Review: Ping’s G400 and G400 LST Drivers

Published

on

I still remember the first time I hit Ping’s G30 driver.¬†It was July 2014, and I was at Ping’s HQ in Phoenix. Super low-spin drivers were all the rage at the time. With their forward center of gravity, they were helping golfers optimize their launch conditions beyond their wildest dreams: crazy high launch, ridiculously low spin. Many in the business, including myself, had one of these drivers and spent many launch monitor¬†sessions trying to figure out how to get more distance from these high knuckleballs. The bad news was that forward-CG drivers, by nature, were really unforgiving. Bad shots were really short and crooked.

Before I knew the¬†G30 was a big deal,¬†Marty Jertson, Ping’s Director of Product Development, explained to me his vision¬†for the perfect driver inside a conference room at Ping Headquarters. In his eyes, the perfect driver didn’t have the low, forward center of gravity (CG) that was being touted at the time. Its CG was located as low and as rearward in the driver head as possible, which he¬†said would offer the best of both worlds: optimized launch conditions on good shots, as well as the best possible forgiveness on bad¬†shots.

Building the perfect driver was a long way off (and still is), but Jertson was excited where Ping had landed with the G30. When it was released, the driver was a powerful testament to his vision. Its rear-CG design created great distance on good and bad shots, and it was also a very straight driver. The G30 sold incredibly well and, as a result, the industry mostly shifted away from forward-CG drivers.

It’s been nearly three years since the release of the G30, and Ping¬†has just made another counterintuitive driver release. The company¬†shrunk the size of its new G400 drivers in a climate where full-size drivers have become the norm. Granted, it’s only 15 cubic centimeters smaller, but it’s noticeable at address. Compared to the Ping G drivers they replace (which replaced the G30), the G400’s look like they cut carbs.

Despite their slimmer frames, however, the G400 drivers are actually more forgiving than the G drivers (which were even more forgiving than the G30). That’s why Ping representatives¬†say smaller is actually better in the G400’s case. The drivers have the lowest, most rearward CG of any Ping drivers ever, and their smaller size¬†is said to improve their aerodynamics so golfers can¬†swing them¬†fractionally faster. The other big change is a new face material made of T9S+ titanium, which is thinner and more flexible to help golfers generate more ball speed.

Ping_G400_LST_2

For this review, I wanted to put the¬†G400 and G400 LST to the test against the G and the G LST drivers that they replace, so I took them to the¬†Launch Pad at Carl’s Golfland¬†in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. I hit five shots with each driver on Trackman IV, and to ensure as much of an apples-to-apples comparison as possible, I tested each driver head with the same shaft. Each driver head was adjusted¬†to the same loft, or as close as possible.

Note: The G, G LST, and G400 drivers I tested were 10.5-degree heads adjusted to 9.5 degrees. The G400 LST had a loft of 10 degrees, and it was adjusted to 9.4 degrees.

The Test

PingG400_2017

In my personal driver tests, I don’t usually see a huge uptick in distance or accuracy when comparing the latest drivers to the¬†most recent models from the same manufacturer. Improvements generally come in the form of improved head shaping, a better feel, or enhanced adjustability. That’s why I was surprised to see such a big change in my launch conditions and dispersion with the G400 drivers.

G400 Test Results: With the G400, I launched my drives an average of 1.6-degrees higher than I did with the G while dropping spin an average of 416 rpm. That led to a significant improvement in distance. With my swing speed and ball speed staying about the same, I added an average of 7.2 yards more carry distance and 8.7 yards more total distance.

G400 LST Test Results:¬†First, a note about the G400 LST. It has a CG that’s slightly lower and more forward than the standard G400 driver to help golfers reduce spin. Like the G30 LST and G LST, it’s still very much a rear-CG driver, but its design¬†helps high-speed golfers who can consistently find the¬†center of the club face maximize distance¬†without highjacking¬†forgiveness. When I test Ping drivers, the LST is generally the model that creates the best performance, and the G400 LST was no exception. I saw an average of a 1.2-degree higher launch angle with all other things staying about the same when I compared it to the G LST. The result was an average of 6.6 yards more carry distance and 3.1 yards more total distance. It was the longest and straightest driver I hit in the test.

Note: Ping also sells a G400 SFT (Straight Flight Technology) driver, which has added draw bias. To learn more about it, click through to tech story on the G400, G400 LST and G400 SFT drivers. 

Dispersion

G400_Dispertion

One way to explain the improved launch conditions is that I hit the G400 drivers more consistently. As you can see in the Trackman dispersion chart, I hit the G400 and G400 LST drivers straighter on average than the G and G LST. Is that its slightly enhanced forgiveness shining through? Maybe, maybe not.

To me, the changes Ping made to the look and feel of the driver were just as important as the¬†performance difference I saw on Trackman. I’ve always preferred smaller driver heads, or at least 460-cubic-centimeter drivers that appear smaller than their size. For that reason, I felt more confident with the G400 drivers in my hands. I didn’t mind that I didn’t see any added swing speed or ball speed from the smaller driver head.¬†I was sold on the looks alone.

I also preferred¬†the¬†sound of the G400 drivers to the G drivers. There was definitely¬†much more of a “thwack” than a “ping” at impact, which made the G400’s feel more powerful. Looks and feel are subjective, of course, but to me the improvement was night and day. I don’t think it’s a stretch to say that my¬†fondness for the looks and feel of the G400 was at least a contributing factor to my improved performance in the test,¬†if not the most important factor.¬†When I like the way a club look at address, I tend to hit it better, and I know I’m not alone.

I do want readers to keep in mind that this was a one-person test and I hit a limited amount of balls. Yes, it’s¬†a great indication that the G400 driver can be measurably better than a G driver, but it’s not a¬†guarantee.

I also want to address the weaknesses of the G400 drivers. While they’re few, they could push golfers into another driver model in a fitting. Unlike¬†Callaway’s GBB Epic,¬†TaylorMade’s M1 or¬†Titleist’s 917 drivers, the G400’s don’t have CG adjustability. That means there’s no way to fine tune ball flight outside of a shaft or loft adjustment. A bigger deal for some golfers might be the G400 crowns. Despite their smaller size, there’s still a lot to look at address, as was the case with the G drivers.

Ping_G400_LST_4

Aerodynamic features on the front of the crowns,¬†“Turbulators,” have been thickened for the G400 release. There’s also Ping’s “DragonFly Technology,” a geometry on the¬†back of the driver crowns that helps push CG lower and more rearward in the driver heads. I personally think the G400 crowns give the drivers an¬†old-school, muscle car-like look, but there’s no question they won’t fly with all golfers.

Whatever your thoughts about what’s on top of the G400 drivers, there’s no question that what’s under the hood can offer something the G and G30 drivers did not. Maybe you’ll like the smaller head. Maybe you’ll prefer the quieter sound. Maybe the improved forgiveness will show up on a launch monitor¬†or on the course. Or maybe you’ll just flat out rip a G400 farther and straighter¬†down the middle like I did.

If that last bit happens, try not to second-guess it.

Your Reaction?
  • 514
  • LEGIT60
  • WOW32
  • LOL11
  • IDHT7
  • FLOP19
  • OB10
  • SHANK47

Continue Reading

Driver Reviews

Members Choice: The Best Driver of 2017

Published

on

What determines the best driver on the market; is it the opinion of professional club fitters, professional golfers or testing results from a group of amateurs?

At¬†GolfWRX, we believe all three sources can lead golfers to an answer.¬†Being a website founded by passionate golfers with a mission to serve passionate golfers, though, we place a special emphasis on the opinions of our GolfWRX Members — the most knowledgeable group of golfers on the planet. No other group of golfers in the world tests golf clubs as frequently or as extensively as GolfWRX Members. So who better to poll to get an initial indication of the best performing drivers so far in 2017?

So we asked them,¬†“What’s the best driver of 2017?” They voted for the three drivers they felt most worthy of the title and provided feedback about their selections in our special forum¬†thread.¬†You can see the results below (as of the first three¬†weeks of voting), as well as quotes we pulled from¬†GolfWRX Members about the drivers from our forum.

Remember that our¬†polls will remain open for voting throughout the year, and we’re going to keep an eye on the percentages as more and more golfers have an opportunity to test these drivers. We’re also working on another Best Driver list, which will evaluate clubs in another important way. Stay tuned!

Keep in mind that there’s no single¬†driver on the market that is the absolute best option for every golfer: that’s why nearly every manufacturer makes at least two different models. As this list indicates, however, some drivers are working better than others this year. Happy Testing!

Note: Forum posts were minimally edited for grammar, style, spelling and clarity.

Cobra King LTD Black (3.00 percent of votes)

3f7f45629f386b15ed7bbbaa529e0826

  • The General: All-black LTD is really clean looking. I’m about to cover up the orange on my LTD with lead tape. Orange is played out
  • mh7vw:¬†Love my LTD, but wish the black finish (or even this gray) didn’t have that subtle checkering you see in some like. Prefer plain black.
  • dbleag:¬†I am a fan of the black/orange combo.¬†The performance and sound of the LTD is very appealing to me.¬†I also like that the standard length is 45 inches. For me, that helps it be super-accurate. With the low-spin design, I hit it longest of the current offerings and can’t remember the last time I missed a fairway. Straight, solid, low spin and nice.
Further Reading

Mizuno JPX-900 (3.20 percent)

Mizuno_JPX_900_Driver

  • johnnythunders:¬†JPX goes straight. Best real-deal shaft and is long and very adjustable.
  • KT35:¬†That blue head looks awesome sitting on the ground. I hit balls off the toe and heel and didn’t see the big drop off in distance like the previous models.
  • nmorton:¬†The JPX-900 is definitely more forgiving compared to the JPX-850, and sounds much better. Though they did sacrifice a bit by going with a little larger profile, but it’s easy to get used to. The graphics are so so, but this driver performs. I’m really digging the Evo II (shaft).
  • jay65:¬†I can see that Mizuno is¬†really making a decent effort with its¬†drivers/fairways in terms of tech and aesthetics, and they compliment the new JPX-900 line of irons really well, but if they’re going to make any inroads they really have to address this issue of their custom shafts options. It’s rubbish.
  • bok006:¬†The JPX-900, after being properly adjusted by the fitter, gave me an extra 20 yards just like that. My swing speed suggested I was borderline S to X (flex), but the fitter said unless I was fighting a hook I should stick with the S.
  • bubbagump: …the JPX-900, when properly fit, is just as long on a consistent basis than all the new models I tried in real life situations. It looks great, sounds solid and just knows the way to keep the ball in play.¬†¬†
  • Chazb:¬†I’m 69 years old, have a swing speed of 91 mph and played nine with the JPX-900 this morning. It was in the 40s¬†with a brisk wind hit it around 220 to 230¬†yards. It was a fairway finder, has great feel and is one of the easiest to control drivers I have ever hit. I can’t wait ’til it is warmer and can dial it in more. So far I have the two weights all the way forward for a lower flight and the other set with a draw bias with 10.5 degrees of loft. This driver is the real deal; it may not be the longest or the shortest, but it is a fairway finder which IMO makes it a winner.
Further Reading

Ping G (3.80 percent)

7adaa1412b79ca8c7cc5a0b788f55058

  • Wesquire: Ping G is the most forgiving so it wins.
  • bopper53: Ping G hands down. Great distance and the most forgiving.
  • Dannydubbbs:¬†The Ping G series is just too forgiving. The distance is comparable between most models, but Ping always seems to win out with forgiveness.
  • Bruin Bear:¬†The Ping G is going to be overlooked because it’s looked at as “game improvement,” but this driver is a beast. I liked the LS, but it requires a faster swing to get results and in the cold outdoors I just don’t have that all the time. I think the G is the perfect blend of performance and forgiveness.
  • cmrl1986:¬†Only reason I switched from the Ping G25 was that the G felt less harsh off the face. Same distance just about.
Further Reading

Cobra King F7+ (3.90 percent)

cec33621c8ab9450c778e79b3b280da1

  • EntourageLife:¬†Ball really flies off face. Driver head controls spin well. Not one drive “ballooned” and trajectory was high and best of all… very easy to work ball right to left for a confident draw.
  • Gollie:¬†The F7+ is another great offering from Cobra…¬†I didn’t get the “MAN, this is gonna take my LTD out of the bag” feeling, but it has very good sound, feel and performance.
  • J13:¬†F7+ is a great offering from Cobra and IMO is in the top-3 drivers this year. Epic is the standout for me numbers wise, then M series and F7+ are right behind it. Love the Agera (shaft) in there!!! Such a great shaft; I can’t seem to get mine out of the bag.
  • Golfer from MO:¬†Hit both Cobras lefty and as a lefty the LTD is the shizzle. Last year it was the LTD and Big Bertha down to the absolute wire… the F7+ is more workable than the LTD, but not longer and a little worse on mishits.
  • Boognish:¬†I took a few swings with the F7+ at Golf Galaxy yesterday. 9.5 degrees with heaviest weight forward. The stock shaft is actually the same model I play in my GBB (albeit in smoked black instead of yellow). Ball flight and distance were similar to my GBB with good consistent sub-3000 backspin. Sound was OK, feel was harder than the GBB.
  • thechief16:¬†Just from the range (no LM), I didn’t see a noticeable performance improvement with the F7+ over the original King LTD. And I like the look and sound/feel of the LTD better.
Further Reading

Ping G LS Tec (4.90 percent)

463210496f8e1487a5ff2fdcf38109a1

  • drvrwdge:¬†I played the G LS with the Ping Tour 65X (shaft) tipped an inch for about a year. Just put the HZRDUS Yellow 75 6.5 tipped an inch and never thought it was possible, but it’s longer and straighter. Best driver shaft combo I’ve ever hit. You can feel that HZRDUS throughout the entire swing. Really gives you a solid connected feel.
  • Mtngolfer1: I am not sure that I would consider this a 2017 Driver, but my vote went to the Ping G LS Tec. The fact that my G is still holding its own against the latest 2017 releases has me very excited to see what Ping will release later this year.
  • 3woodvt:¬†Fairway finder and plenty long.
  • pitchinwedge:¬†I’ve found the LS to be nearly as fade biased as the M family. I get pretty good results with the LS by making a conscious effort to make more of an in-to-out swing. Any lapse in concentration and everything goes right. The M’s require even more effort, which is the reason I stayed with the LS instead.
  • 3 Jack Par:¬†After an up and down year with the G LS, I’ve actually recently gone back to my G30 LS head. I only have a couple of rounds as a sample so far, so I can’t really draw a conclusion about whether one or the other is better, but with the same shaft it seems like my G30 head might be a little longer. Honestly, the performance differences are pretty minimal if you really compare the two generations.
Further Reading

Titleist 917D3 (5.30 percent)

f5830abf21efeb00cab7cbe4329a9972

  • Gava:¬†The 917D3 is in my bag now, and I’ve found it incredibly long with a recently purchased Graphite Design Tour AD MJ 7TX shaft. Feel and accuracy has been a real improvement as well.
  • Togatown22:¬†I find my 917D3 to be just as forgiving as my 915D2 was, and man do I prefer looking down at the head shape and color versus the 915. Very confidence inspiring.
  • NIxhex524:¬†I would definitely give the D3 a whirl. I feel like Titleist has made great strides at making the smaller head way more hittable for us ams.
  • KPH808:¬†So in conclusion, I was hitting the ball about 9 yards further on average and 3-4 mph faster ball speeds with the 917D3 vs. the 915 D4. The biggest thing for me was the forgiveness between the two; the 917D3 was more forgiving on mishits.
  • brushie:¬†The 917D3 head feels soft like the 910 and sounds great. I never had an issue with the 915 sound; it wasn’t great, but it didn’t bother me too much. This is much better, though. The 917D3 head shape is perfect to my eye as well. The area where the 917 shines is forgiveness.¬†

Further Reading

TaylorMade M1 440 (5.35 percent)

TaylorMade_M1_440_Feat

  • Tigermatt31: The¬†M1 440 is best driver I’ve had ever.
  • TollBros: The M1¬†440 is definitely lower spin than the M1 460 or M2 from last year. Launch angle isn’t really any lower, but spin is lower for sure.
  • specimania:¬†This year’s 440 is more forgiving.
  • MCoz:¬†Yes, this 440 is more forgiving, and yet it also appears to be more workable than both of the previous M1 and M2s.
  • nitram:¬†To save you a bunch of reading and crunching numbers, I quickly concluded there was a little more forgiveness and exactly +0.4 mph ball speed with the 440. By forgiveness I simply mean this: A 1.48 smash 440 will give you the same ball speed and distance as a 1.49/1.50 430. But if you get a 1.50 from both there is no measurable gain. Side-to-side dispersion was better by 4.7 feet with the 440. Workability was a wash between them, although the 430 seems a bit more fade biased whereas I’ll describe the 440 as a scosche more neutral.
  • tj24:¬†I hit the M1 440 with my Aldila RIP at an 80-gram X-flex. For me, the spin numbers were around 1700 rpm which is probably to low for my swing. I did, however, like the shape of the head and I felt like I could easily work the ball both ways.
  • halfsumo:¬†I really think they nailed it with the shape of this 440 head. Nice pear shape, no weird bulges or ridges that you have to get used to.
Further Reading

Titleist 917D2 (6.65 percent)

4edf1bce10b81caa57e8ccc4079bd3fd

  • tsletten: Love the sound of the 917D2.
  • bladehunter: No doubt the 917D2 is an accurate, forgiving driver that doesn’t look as big as it is and sounds fantastic.
  • JStang:¬†Maybe it’s just me, but I find the face to be more shallow (top to bottom) with the 917D2 than other drivers that I’ve tried lately.
  • LuckyLowbrow:¬†I was actually spinning it too low with the D4. Going up to the D2 normalized my spin rate, but led to such an improvement in consistency across the face.

Further Reading

TaylorMade M1 460 2017 (11.81 percent)

TaylorMade_M1_460-Feat

  • Ereim:¬†I ended up going with the M1 460. It gave me a slightly tighter dispersion, and I liked looking down at it slightly more.
  • jdenham15: The¬†2017 TaylorMade M1 is a great driver, but I tend to miss wide right and struggled to turn it over.
  • ZBigStick:¬†The¬†M1 460 gave me the best results. Was able to increase launch without much added spin with the (T-Track) weight. Feel is good and felt forgiving; dispersion results backing that up.
  • BillMurrayGolfing:¬†The face is hot, receptive, thin and makes a nice sound. I like that.
  • JStang:¬†Sound and feel were both fantastic. I couldn’t ask for much more in the sound and feel department than what this club offers. Plenty of feedback was provided based on impact as I would expect. I could easily tell where I missed based on feel.
  • tnord:¬†Just as another tester found, moving the weight back and forward absolutely does impact how the club sounds. I’m much more a fan of the weight back.
  • chickenpotpie:¬†Moving the slider to the draw position made the feel of the driver a little harsher. Feel was much much smoother with that weight in the middle. I didn’t see any such changes with the front/rear slider.
Further Reading

TaylorMade M2 2017 (11.86 percent)

M2_Speed_Pocket

  • ZBigStick:¬†I liked the feel of the new M2 but seemed to get better results and numbers with the new M1. Could be the extra 5 grams of head weight?
    It was dynamite with the GD TP-6 (shaft)!
  • erock9174:¬†On Trackman it didn’t put up the most ball speed, but counting all shots the M2 had the longest average distance.
  • gripandrip:¬†The M2 seems to have a little bit of a fade bias for me. And the head is HUGE. Maybe it’s a mental thing to be able to turnover a head that large.
  • Bomber_11:¬†M2 has very big shoes to fill, as the 2016 M2 was arguably one of the best drivers of the last 3-4 years.
  • LONG&STR8:¬†It’s hard to ignore the sound of the new M2. That may be TaylorMade’s biggest fail with that driver, as the sound and feel was one of the best things about the first version that I’ll have in the bag until something better comes along.
  • Z1ggy16:¬†The new M2 was terrible for me, not sure why. Unsure if it was the shaft I used but it spun up like a monster and ball speeds weren’t any better than previous M2.
  • Peanut191:¬†I don’t really think that the new M2 was much of a step backward, probably more that it doesn’t seem like a big step forward compared to last year’s model. I was hitting my 2016 M2 against a 2017 M2 indoors (which usually amplifies the louder, more obnoxious sound) and I didn’t notice that much of a difference in sound. It could have been that I might have just happened to get a hold of a head that was more muted than normal with the new one, but I just didn’t notice much difference.¬†Performance wise, I could tell that the 2017 was slightly more forgiving than the 2016 model, but I was basically getting the same ball speed and spin numbers, so I didn’t see the need to upgrade.
  • gioguy21: Played 54 holes this weekend. The M2 was as reliable as it could get. I hit 11/12 fairways Friday, 10/12 Saturday and 5/9 or so yesterday (windy). Controllable, just wants to go straight. The sound no longer bothers me. I think it’s when hitting indoors or in range bays that it gets unbearably loud. Makes a different sound when hit on the screws I’ve found, similar to last years M2/M1 with less high-pitched ring. The forgiveness is very obvious, as I hit a couple that were close to center of the face but either high or little out toward the toe that flew similar trajectory and distance to how a well struck shot would react. I think where this driver really shines is the ability to either tee it high and hit it with higher trajectory or the ability to hit it lower with a low tee (3/4 of the ball under the crown) and hit laser beams that don’t move left or right.
  • G-Bone:¬†From what I’ve seen on Trackman, 2017 M1 was a big jump from 2016; however, 2016 M2 was so good, 2017 is a minor jump.
Further Reading

Callaway GBB Epic (14.91 percent)

GBB_Epic_Hero

  • HDTVMAN: I hit both¬†the Callaway Big Bertha Fusion and Epic with a 44.5-inch UST Recoil F3 shaft and the results were very close. From customer testing, it appears the Epic is longer for those with higher (95+) swing speeds. I have also seen that 44.25-44.5-inch lengths promote tighter dispersion with customers, no loss of distance and better over-all drives.
  • mbbrewer:¬†Tried them all and for me Epic was the one. Fastest ball speed, lowest spin and tightest dispersion.
  • Ereim: Epic felt great, looked great and the numbers were basically 99.9 percent optimized for my swing.
  • johnnylongballz72:¬†There is Epic and there is the M series… then there is everyone else. The votes here show it, the PGA Tour use shows it and launch monitors everywhere show it.
  • misplacedtexan83: GBB¬†Epic/Sub Zero pushed the envelop in design and materials to produce increased ball speed and gains. For once a driver did what a company said it would do.
Further Reading

Callaway GBB Epic Sub Zero (16.91 percent)

GBB_Epic_Sub_Zero_Hero

  • jdenham15: I tested the Epic Sub Zero and Epic against my 2016 TaylorMade M1 and the ball speed was 5 mph higher on average, which gave me about 10 yards more carry disstance. That was great, but the part that sold me was the forgiveness. I love my Epic Sub Zero. I feel like it’s easier to turn over and I can work it both ways.
  • Z1ggy16:¬†Sub Zero was hands down the best, including my gaming M1 (yeah, not even top-3) due to the combination of lower spin, good forgiveness and feel and looks.
  • jimhaire: I had a 2016 M2 and went with the Epic Sub Zero. The look at address suited my eye and the feel off the face was better for me. And the club went straight.
  • Sef: I have tested a lot of these drivers and for me the Epic Sub Zero was so much better than everything else. I wish I could just apply all three votes to it.
Further Reading

Members Choice 2017

Your Reaction?
  • 582
  • LEGIT81
  • WOW33
  • LOL29
  • IDHT13
  • FLOP35
  • OB27
  • SHANK225

Continue Reading

Driver Reviews

GolfWRX Members Gain 7 Yards on Average with 2017 TaylorMade M1, M2 Drivers

Published

on

5 GolfWRX Members
Gamer vs. 2017 TaylorMade m1/m2 Drivers
+7.01 Yards Distance Gained on Average
-615 RPM Spin reduction on Average

What can the new 2017 TaylorMade M1 and M2 drivers do for your game?

Five GolfWRX Members found out last week when they pitted their drivers against TaylorMade’s¬†latest models at¬†The Kingdom, the¬†custom-fitting facility at TaylorMade’s¬†headquarters in Carlsbad, Calif.

The event was the first of #TaylorMadeTuesdays, a series of TaylorMade-sponsored events that are exclusive to GolfWRX Members. The five members¬†received Trackman 4 fittings for their drivers, which were¬†built immediately afterward¬†so that they could test the clubs the next day at Aviara Golf Club, home course of the LPGA Tour’s Kia Classic.

12_things_TaylorMade_2017_M1_M2_drivers-1021x580

Our editorial team was present¬†to observe and document the fittings, where they saw the five GolfWRX Members add an average of +7.01 yards to their drives with a new TaylorMade driver. Key to the success of TaylorMade’s 2017 M1 and M2 drivers was their ability to remove excess spin from the drives of each GolfWRX Member (-615 rpm¬†on average). As a result, each player was hitting¬†longer drives on their best shots, while achieving a straighter ball flight that¬†was less affected by wind.

Every GolfWRX Member gained yardage with a new TaylorMade driver; the largest distance gain was an impressive +10.1 yards, while the smallest was a very respectable +4.8 yards.

TMDrivers2017_groupshort

Our testers were better players, but they covered a range of handicaps (+1 to 7.1) and swing speeds (95 to 117.5 mph) within the better-player category. Learn more about the five GolfWRX Members, their new drivers and their experiences in our individual recaps below.

Andrew Harveson (drewtaylor21)

Andrew_WRX_Aviara-4864

  • Distance Gained: 4.8 yards
  • Handicap: +1
  • Swing Speed: 117.5 mph

New Driver: M2 D-Type (9.5 degrees, set to 9 degrees)
Shaft: UST Mamiya Elements Prototype PT6F5 (65X)

Old Driver: TaylorMade SLDR (9.5 degrees)
Shaft: UST Mamiya ProForce VTS 6X Silver

Andrew Harveson brought a TaylorMade SLDR (10.5 degrees) driver with him to his fitting, which was already optimized for his game. He fits into a group of golfers who are often hard pressed to see distance gains from new clubs. The former college golfer, now 34, has an ability to consistently contact drives in the center of the club face. He also has an upward angle of attack with his driver (+3 degrees on average) that helps him maximize the distance of his drives.

Nonetheless, TaylorMade’s fitters helped Andrew find an average of +4.8 yards with a new TaylorMade driver, but it took some experimentation and outside-the-box thinking.

TMDrivers2017_andrew

Andrew’s SLDR driver was set to a neutral loft and lie setting, but to combat his tendency to hit shots that slid¬†to the right his SLDR’s front weight track was shifted to the max draw setting. According to TaylorMade fitter Jason Werner, the SLDR is a more draw-biased driver¬†company’s current¬†M1 460, M1 440 and M2 models. After seeing the ball fade too much with those drivers, Jason had Andrew try the company’s M2 D-Type driver (9.5 degrees), which is designed with more draw bias to help golfers eliminate excessive left-to-right curvature.

Andrew’s Dispersion Chart

Andrew_Harveson_Dispersion

Andrew achieved slightly more left bias with the 2017 M2 D-Type, which was what he wanted for his tee game.

The M2 D-Type gave Andrew the confidence to play his preferred cut shot off the tee without fear that it would drift into the right rough. Actually, it created a bit too much draw bias for him, which is why the loft setting was lowered 1-click to 9 degrees. The change helped him lower his spin rate -553 rpm on average, while also opening the club face slightly to take the left side out of play.

“While the averages don‚Äôt really look better with the D-Type compared to SLDR, I had a few mishits in the D-Type grouping that, if removed, would have shown a more accurate picture of the results,” Andrew wrote in the forums.

The last piece of the puzzle for Andrew’s fitting was finding the correct shaft. He tried several low-launching shafts that proved to have too little torque for his swing, exacerbating his rightward miss. He ended up seeing the best performance from his gamer shaft, UST Mamiya’s ProForce VTS Silver 6X, which has a mid-torque design. TaylorMade’s Tour Department also¬†provided him with a similar alternative that they thought he might like, UST’s Elements Prototype PT6F5 (65X), which proved to be a winner on the course the next day.

“[TaylorMade] gave me the newer [better] UST Elements Chrome Platinum Prototype PT6F5!” he wrote. “Supposed to be a very similar profile to the [Aldila] Rogue [Silver] 125. I was a bit anxious to see if it would hold up as the right fit, but after just a couple swings on the range at Aviara, I was convinced! It‚Äôs a bomber.”

With the M2 D-Type, Andrew’s good shots got better. His peak ball speed went from 175 mph with his SLDR to 178 with the M2 D-Type, enhancing his distance potential. He was also seeing a lower ball¬†height from the new driver — his peak height was reduced from 135 feet to 122 feet — that he “really liked.”

“It was a bit amusing though, everyone at [TaylorMade] seemed shocked that I got put into the D-Type,” he wrote.

You wouldn’t expect the fastest swinger and most accomplished player in the group to be a fit for TaylorMade’s most draw-biased driver, as the model¬†is generally reserved for slower swingers. As a¬†traveling +1 handicap, however, Andrew’s needs were very specific and met perfectly by the 2017 M2 D-Type.

In Their Own Words: See what Andrew said about his experience. 

Brian Ussery (BCULAW)

Brian_WRX_Aviara-4252

  • Distance Gained:¬†5.5 yards
  • Handicap:¬†6
  • Swing Speed: 106 mph

New Driver: TaylorMade M1 460 (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Graphite Design Tour AD-DI 6X

Old Driver: Titleist 915D2 (9.5 degrees)
Shaft: Aldila Rogue Black 60S

Brian Ussery arrived at The Kingdom with a Titleist 915D2 (9.5 degrees) driver that he knew wasn’t right for him. The 43-year-old was aware of the fact that¬†his low-launching, high-spinning drives were costing him distance, but he wasn’t sure¬†how to improve.

As it goes in a lot of fittings, Brian didn’t swing as well as he wanted to at The Kingdom, but his outlook on the game of golf allowed the fitting to be a success. “Golf is my therapy and my chance to find peace, quiet, time away and fun,” he wrote in the forum. Spending time with the former minor league baseball player who’s now a lawyer,¬†his commitment¬†to improving his game was¬†immediately apparent. On this day, getting better required¬†patience with his swing and an open mind to the recommendations of his fitters. He was up to the task, and in the end he was¬†rewarded with a¬†new solution for¬†his tee game.

TMDrivers2017_brian

The TaylorMade fitters started Brian with an M2 D-Type (9.5 degrees) driver, but he struggled to hit it high enough to be effective. He found much more success with an M1 460¬†that had¬†more loft (10.5 degrees). Excessive spin was still an issue, however, especially with the added¬†loft, but the M1 460 had a solution. By sliding the driver’s Back Track weight all the way to the front of the driver, he¬†achieved a lower-spinning trajectory that¬†not only allowed him to hit straighter drives but achieve more roll-out, too. It helped negate his negative¬†angle of attack of -4.5 degrees, which was the main culprit for his low-launching, high-spinning trajectory.

It was at this point in the fitting that Brian had to make a decision. Did he want to continue to chase more distance or did he want a driver that would help him hit more fairways? With his busy work and family schedule, he’s only able to play nine holes of golf per week. That made the choice obvious; he was going to target consistency.

The TaylorMade fitters recommended Brian try a shorter driver. His 915D2 measured 45.25 inches on TaylorMade’s ruler, and he was advised to try a driver that measured 44.75 inches. With the shorter driver his consistency was immediately improved, and it was time to dial in the right¬†shaft.

Brian’s Dispersion Chart

Brian_Ussery_Dispersion

Brian hit most of his shots with Fujikura’s Pro Tour Spec 73X shaft, which produced good results, but in the end he made the decision to go with Graphite Design’s Tour AD-DI 6X. It provided the stiffness he needed for straighter drives, but offered a smoother feel (Note: since Brian hit limited shots with the AD-DI 6X, the data displayed in the chart above¬†shows his performance with the Fujikura shaft). His fitter, Jason¬†Werner, supported his shaft decision. And as Brian put it: “Based on my on-course play … it would seem he is pretty spot on.”

With the M1 460, Brian saw an additional 5.5 yards of total distance over his gamer, but more important to him was the increased accuracy. Even at a higher loft, he was able to reduce his spin rate an average of -744 rpm. So now when his drives hit the fairway, they will keep rolling. And Brian expects to be hitting a lot more fairways.

In Their Own Words: See what Brian said about his experience. 

Chris Scheeweiss (Schnee)

Chris_WRX_Aviara-4802

  • Distance Gained:¬†10.1 yards
  • Handicap:¬†3
  • Swing Speed: 112 mph

New Driver: TaylorMade M1 460 (8.5 degrees, set to 10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Project X HZRDUS Black 65 (6.0 flex)

Old Driver: TaylorMade SLDR (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Aldila Tour Blue 75TX

Chris Scheeweiss was the biggest gainer of the five GolfWRX Members, finding +10.1 yards on average when compared to the TaylorMade SLDR (10.5 degrees) driver he brought with him to the Kingdom.

Key to Chris’ success, a 3-handicap with ample¬†club head speed (112 mph), was reducing the spin caused by his big miss, which was high and to the right. While that isn’t Chris’ typical miss, it’s what showed up at the Kingdom. TaylorMade’s M1 460 proved that he could handle that miss, as well as any¬†other miss he might encounter on his journey to improve his game thanks to¬†its wide-ranging adjustability features.

TMDrivers2017_chris

During the fitting, the M1 460 scrubbed¬†-627 rpm of spin off Chris’ drives. To do so, TaylorMade Fitter Jason Werner gave Chris¬†a¬†8.5-degree M1 460, but he increased the loft of the driver to 10.5 degrees, maximizing the full range of TaylorMade’s 4-degree Loft Sleeve. Adding two degrees of loft closed the club face, which helped eliminate Chris’ slice spin.

Jason¬†made the adjustment without telling Chris, however, and he¬†was glad when Chris said he didn’t notice the change at address.

The reason Chris didn’t notice the more closed club face? The crowns of TaylorMade’s 2017 drivers are engineered to look as square as possible at address regardless of what setting is used due to their cleverly designed black-and-white graphics. Chris had recently been fit at a local club fitter for a 2017 M2 driver (10.5 degrees), but this setup was “much better than the combo I was previously fit for,” Chris¬†wrote in the forum.

Finding the right shaft was a faster process that Chris expected. Project X’s HZRDUS Black 65 (6.0 flex) offered him the lower trajectory and added stability he needed to hit his best drives.

Chris’ Dispersion Chart

Chris_Scheeweiss_Dispersion

“Jason … didn‚Äôt think we had to go much further,” Chris wrote in the forum. “I wasn‚Äôt completely sold on the combo, but I deferred to his knowledge. It wasn‚Äôt that I didn‚Äôt trust the combo itself, it‚Äôs that I wasn‚Äôt hitting ANYTHING all that well, so I didn‚Äôt know how it would perform on course when my swing was better. I‚Äôm glad I trusted him, because it was AMAZING on course.”

As Chris works to eliminate the right tendency in his swing, Jason recommended that he try lowering the loft of the driver, which will open to face to reduce left¬†bias. They agreed that at some point in the future Chris may be able to return to the 8.5-degree loft setting, which¬†could net him even more distance. And if he needs more spin to optimize his launch conditions at that point, he can gradually slide the Back Track’s weight rearward to achieve it.

In Their Own Words: See what Chris said about his experience. 

Darrin Sloan (DNice26)

Darren_WRX_Aviara-4675

  • Distance Gained:¬†7.1 yards
  • Handicap:¬†1
  • Swing Speed: 110 mph

New Driver: TaylorMade M2 (10.5 degrees)
Shaft: Project X HZRDUS Yellow 65 (6.0 flex)

Old Driver: Ping G (10.5)
Shaft: UST Mamiya ProForce AvixCore 69 Red (Tour-S flex)

Darrin Sloan, 36, knew exactly what he wanted from a new driver. He arrived at his fitting with a Ping G (10.5 degrees) that was giving him the height he wanted, but he was looking for a straighter ball flight.

The 1-handicap, former college golfer started his fitting with a TaylorMade M2 (10.5 degrees) with a Project X HZRDUS Black 65 (6.0 flex), a combo that significantly lowered his launch angle and spin rate. While it was giving him more distance, the ball flight was too low for his needs despite his 110 mph swing speed and average angle of attack of +2 degrees.

TMDrivers2017_darrin

Darrin told TaylorMade Fitter Jason Werner he needed a higher ball flight to cut the corners of the doglegs at his home course, where he plays 95 percent of his golf. So the two starting experimenting with different heads and different shafts in search of a more familiar trajectory, as well as more distance.

He actually preferred liked the look and the feel of TaylorMade’s¬†M1 460 driver, but there¬†was no denying the performance of the M2. It offered him nearly +4 mph of ball speed on average over his gamer, an incredible improvement.

Once the M2 (10.5 degrees) was linked up with a Project X HZRDUS Yellow 65 (6.0 flex) shaft, it was clear Darrin had a winner. The counter-balanced shaft helped him launch his drives higher, giving him the trajectory he needed to tackle his home course. It also helped him eliminate his miss to the right and easily execute his preferred right-to-left ball flight.

In terms of distance, Darrin was also able to sightly increase his carry distance (+0.6 yards) while significantly increasing his roll out (+6.5 yards). His total yardage gain with the new driver was +7.1 yards.

Darren’s Dispersion Chart

Darren_Sloan_Dispersion

The takeaway for GolfWRXers is that TaylorMade’s new M2 driver can¬†offer more ball speed than the¬†company’s M1 driver for certain players. And if you’re struggling with either a ball flight that’s too low or a rightward miss,¬†a counter-balanced shaft like Project X’s HZRDUS Yellow can¬†help.

In Their Own Words: See what Darrin said about his experience. 

George Cellette (GC70)

George_WRX_Aviara-4360

  • Distance Gained:¬†7.6 yards
  • Handicap:¬†7.1
  • Swing Speed:¬†95 mph

New Driver: TaylorMade M1 460 (9.5 degrees)
Shaft: Graphite Design Tour AD-BB 6S

Old Driver: Callaway XR (9 degrees)
Shaft: Fujkura Speeder Evolution 565 (S-Flex)

Like a diesel engine, George needed some time to warm up during his fitting. But once he did, he began pounding drives down the left center of The Kingdom’s range.

At first, it looked as though George might post a ridiculous distance gain with a TaylorMade M1 460. He increased his distance more than¬†30 yards over the¬†Callaway XR ’16 he hit at the beginning of the fitting. As he and TaylorMade Fitter Jason Werner dialed in the loft, shaft and CG setting, however, Jason noticed that George’s swing speed had jumped nearly 10 mph from 85 mph to 95 mph since he first started hitting balls. He asked George to retest his Callaway to make sure¬†that the final data would reflect a fair comparison of his old and new drivers.

TMDrivers2017_george

The result was a smaller average distance gain with his new TaylorMade, but still an impressive one.

George first tested TaylorMade’s M1 460 with¬†8.5 degrees of loft, but because George was fighting a slice he closed the face to 10.5 degrees to create a left bias. As George loosened up, however, his slice turned into a gentle fade. For that reason, he switched George from the 8.5-degree head to a 9.5-degree head in a neutral setting.

While George’s warmed-up swing was the biggest contributor to the improved trajectory, a new shaft and weight setting also helped. At first Jason gave George a Project X HZRDUS Black 65 (6.0 flex) shaft, a low-launch shaft with ample¬†stability to help him reduce spin. It¬†would have been a good combo, but George wanted¬†to test a few more shafts to¬†see if there was more distance available to him. The winning shaft ended up being Graphite Design’s Tour AD-BB 6S, which gave George¬†an even lower-spinning trajectory.

The adjustable weight settings of the M1 460¬†further optimized George’s¬†ball flight. Since he already had enough height on his drives, Jason was able to slide the M1 460’s Back Track weight all the way forward to decrease spin. He also slid the driver’s Front Track weight all the way to the heel to maximize draw bias. The two changes had George hitting high-launching, low-spinning bombs that barely had any curvature.

George’s Dispersion Chart

George_Cellette_Dispersion

When all was said and done, George was able to scrub an incredible -908 rpm of spin off his drives. And along with his straighter trajectory, he walked away with +7.6 yards of added distance.

In Their Own Words: See what George said about his experience. 

Your Reaction?
  • 115
  • LEGIT20
  • WOW12
  • LOL8
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP6
  • OB5
  • SHANK161

Continue Reading

19th Hole

Facebook

Trending