Connect with us

Accessory Reviews

SkyCaddie WATCH: Editor Review



Pros: Very accurate. Simple and intuitive to use. Auto hole locator works great. Scoring built in. Good battery life.

Cons: Yearly subscription (cost) required. Non-watch wearers may take time to adjust to wearing the unit during a round.  Initial search for nearby courses seems like it takes a longer than it should.

Bottom Line: A great unit that covers all the basics of using a GPS unit plus some extras. Accurate distance and scorecard capabilities make this a solid choice for most golfers not looking for a complicated unit.

Access to courses requires membership, which costs less than $20 / year on average. Rechargeable battery makes it easy to get ready for the next round.

Overview: Rangefinder units have gotten more advanced over the years, incorporating more features in smaller packages.

The SkyCaddie WATCH does pack a good amount of features into a small package.

  • Big, easy-to-read front, center and back of green distances
  • High precision, ground-corrected basic green course maps*
  • Stores 29,000 preloaded, updatable course maps
  • Track distance, time, speed of any run, walk or bike ride
  • Water resistant to 30 meters
  • Odometer, Lap Counter, and Calorie Counter
  • Available in Black and White
  • Extras: Clock, timer, alarm, English and French, pace-of-play timer, and backlight

The SkyCaddie WATCH promises a lot in a small package. Per SkyCaddie:

The SkyCaddie Watch isn’t just another golf GPS watch! It’s an attractive, lightweight, flexible and comfortable everyday sport watch that just happens to provide superior performance on the golf course.


So yes, it’s a sporty-looking GPS Watch packed with useful features.  But, do those features perform?  Read on. When starting your round, the watch will need to acquire satellites first.   For some reason, ‘Finding Courses Nearby’ will always take a few minutes and feels a little longer than it should.   This is essentially the only issue we had.  Once that wait was over, nearby courses appeared in a list.  Select your course/tee combo and you’re on you way. What separates SkyCaddie from others is ground-verifying their readings:

SkyCaddie differs from other GPS technology in that they ground-verify their maps.  Called CGT (Core Golfer Technology) SkyCaddie claims this ensures accuracy in their units, whether it’s the top-of-line rangefinder or this watch, they promise the most accurate results.

We verified the SkyCaddie WATCH next to other GPS units during our testing and found its accuracy excellent. Most likely this is the number one reason to buy a GPS device and should be heavily weighted when selecting one. It’s hard to knock SkyCaddie here as it does an excellent job. On the display, the yardage to the center of the green is displayed in big, bold font in the center.

Distances to the front and back appear below this yardage in smaller typeface.  We noticed a slight lag between reading the next yardage when walking from shot to shot, but nothing different than other GPS devices we’ve used.

skycaddie watch


Once you complete a hold, the SkyCaddie WATCH will allow you to keep your score with a few simple button clicks.  The auto-hole functionality will advance the display to the next hole without a button press (don’t worry you can manually forward / rewind if needed).

Of course, this is a watch, so other functionality such as pace of play,  time of day, pedometer and calories burned are there as well.  It’s a lot of functionality built into a small unit on your wrist.

Looks and Feel:

SkyCaddie WATCH has a simple, sporty look and is available in both black and white color combinations (we tested the black). Its thickness is deceiving, and creates a bit of a bulky appearance.  You’d think it was heavy or cumbersome, but that’s not the case.


On one swing we did accidentally press a button on the watch accidentally with the back of a wrist.  This never happened again, however.  Perhaps the wristband was too loose.

Whether you like wearing a watch during play is personal preference. Some take them off.  Some leave them on.  If you are bothered by something on your wrist, it may take some getting used to, but not because of weight.  This is simply personal preference.


The Takeaway:

Overall, the SkyCaddie WATCH is an excellent performer.  It has all the basics a golfer needs in a GPS unit, plus some nice extras like scoring, pedometer and calories.  It is a bit large (maybe deep is the correct word) but does not feel that way due to its light weight.

Pace of play is an issue in golf (see the new USGA ‘While We’re Young’ initiative), and GPS units can help speed that up.  Having one on your wrist helps even more. No need to drag a GPS unit out to your ball in the middle of the fairway (or woods).  It’s always on, ready to give you an accurate yardage.

Data can be uploaded to the Club SkyCaddie website:, where you can track your rounds and stats if you’d like.  We won’t dive deep into it here, but there are additional benefits you can take advantage of. It’s important to note that SkyCaddie does require an annual membership to allow you to download courses and use its website.

skycaddie watch

You can view plan overviews here, but plan on an additional expense of roughly $20 per year (some plans will get you a slight discount).  While this is a bit of an expense, it’s a guarantee that SkyCaddie is committed to continually update their apps, firmware and ground mapping of courses.  Accuracy is priority #1, and there is a slight cost involved.

SkyCaddie WATCH is available now with an instant $50 rebate!  Take advantage of this special here: SkyCaddie WATCH Father’s Day Offer

Your Reaction?
  • 24
  • LEGIT6
  • WOW1
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP6
  • OB0
  • SHANK16

Rob is a golf junkie that has been involved with GolfWRX since its inception in 2005. From designing headcovers, to creating logos to authoring articles to social media management to sales and marketing, Rob has done it all. Born and bred in NJ. Favorite golfers: Phil, Freddie. Favorite club: Driver.



  1. Kyle @ TGG

    Dec 17, 2016 at 5:16 pm

    This is a pretty solid entry level watch, but there are far better options on the market for the money. The subscription fee is real downside.

  2. coleshil

    Aug 17, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    I would not recommend this watch battery life is poor and cannot be replaced technical help is non existent they want you to trade in and waste even more of your money.
    Very disappointing will never buy another one from them

  3. Linda Shelton

    Jul 28, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    Watch band broke. How or where to replace it. Oherwise great watch.

  4. Mick Lowbridge

    Dec 30, 2015 at 4:15 am

    Had the watch for 12 months and all okay until the battery started to take 18hrs to charge. It also lacks a lot of the functionality of competitor watches (Hazards etc). I dont think it will be too loong before battery packs up and I will not bother replacing it.

  5. Fred

    Aug 11, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    If I take the back off of my sky caddie can I replace the battery?

  6. Truth Teller

    Jun 28, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    The charging clip is poorly designed. I it does not simply plug in to the watch. You have to seat it so four prongs align with four receptors. Twice now in two seasons the clip broke on me for some unknown reason. At $30 plus shipping it is pretty expensive due to a design flaw. I have not had problems with the watch itself, only charging issues. Battery does not last very long. If I use the other features it will not last a full round. And it takes all night to charge up. So overall I would warn to stay away from this product for a better watch option.

  7. dave blasiak

    Jun 14, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    battery lasted one season and warranty is only 6 months. Bottom line watch doesn’t last a full round year two. Customer service states out of warranty and you need to purchase a new product.

  8. Pingback: Skycaddie Courses | Garmin Approach

  9. Mike sweeney

    Jan 22, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Send map of courses available we are going to Kauai hi what courses are listed ? Thanks mike

  10. Larry Dickman

    Jan 4, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    This is the second watch that they have sent me and still unable to make it work. They want to take control of my computer to fix it or give them the access to arrange my computer. Not comfortable with their repair ideas of given control of computer to some remotely.

  11. Allan

    Nov 13, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Thinking of buying a used skycaddie. Concerned that the battery will not take me through a full round before too long. I heard the only option was to trash it and buy a new one. Is this correct?

    • coleshil

      Aug 17, 2016 at 6:24 pm

      Yes battery life is poor my club is full of guys who are all having the same problem very disappointing and waste of money

  12. Sandy anderson

    Sep 6, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    The battery takes way to long to charge. Only had this for a week. It’s been on charger for 2 hours and it’s at 30%. That’s what it said when I started!!
    It worked great for two rounds. I charged it to FULL.
    IF YOU WANTRD TO PLAY 36 holes in one day, you wouldn’t have enough time between rounds to charge.

  13. rolex watches

    Aug 13, 2014 at 2:16 pm

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am in fact impressed to read all at alone place.|

  14. Alex Chan

    May 11, 2014 at 5:21 am

    Is it include my home course of mission hills in Chine? Unfortunely, I can’t find it in your course library.

  15. Dennis

    Apr 25, 2014 at 12:40 am

    How do I convert my Sky Caddie Watch to measure courses in metres and NOT yards?

  16. Ed McElroy

    Mar 13, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    Have watch. Have trouble. Cannot find out how to return for service. Other brands better

  17. Derek

    Dec 23, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Just picked up the watch for Christmas, and it won’t charge up…..leaving the screen blank.
    Customer support has been good (online guys very quick). Unfortunately, I have to replace the watch (even though it is brand new in the box), but Jancor Agencies in Canada is closed for 3 weeks. BRUTAL!

  18. Bob Ramey

    Oct 8, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    Careful about buying this… I have one and am having lots of problems with it. My computer will not recognize it and it will not come on now. SkyCaddie customer service is an absolute JOKE.

  19. Marc b Rubin

    Sep 9, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    I am a member of the Sao Paulo golf club and would like to be sure Brazil.s golf courses ,at least the principals are preloaded before I buy the Sky Caddie watch.
    Thank you very much
    Marc b Rubin

  20. Will Logan

    Jul 10, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Overall good experience, easy and convenient to use BUT battery life is POOR , barely 1 round with auto-hole advance switched on.
    Disappointed that only front/center/back green measurements shown, surely they could have included major hazards also ?

  21. RocketBladez

    Jun 19, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    great review. I now need to decide between the bushnell, skycaddie and garmin watch!

  22. Joe Golfer

    Jun 19, 2013 at 2:18 am

    My brother-in-law was thinking of getting one of these, but he doesn’t bother to read golf reviews or golf websites.
    I’ll have to send him this link and make sure he reads it.

    Once again, thanks for a good, honest and thorough review, GolfWRX guys.

  23. Kridian

    Jun 16, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Meh. I just use my good ‘ole Jedi focus to get yardage.

  24. Dave Ziemann

    Jun 14, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    I’ve been using a free app for my Android phone to do pretty much all that and more – getting satellite mapping of the courses I play. As I understand GPS technology, the accuracy of the position given is a function of the size of the antenna, so any hand-held or wrist-mounted GPS will have the same accuarcy. I’ve played many times with guys using a dedicated golf GPS and the yardages I get on my phone are the same or within 1 yard of their $250 unit.
    I’d be interested to see a GolfWRX review of this low-cast alternative to a dedicated unit.

  25. pablo

    Jun 14, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    at $150 with the rebate that’s a good deal! my expresso / igolf gps watch cost a little more that 18 months ago and it has the same features, although no annual fee. wonder if the skycaddie has better hazard info – my expresso will often show the greenside bunker hazard distances and completely ignore the closer and more immediate fairway bunker distances, which means i need to bust out my galaxy phone for golflogix or my rangefinder. anyways, if i was buying a gps watch today i’d buy this for sure.

    • ebenny10

      Mar 18, 2014 at 3:34 pm

      My Skycaddie watch does not show any hazard but my SG5 will show all hazards on any given hole even a big tree in the fairway as long as it was mapped.

    • roddy

      May 25, 2014 at 12:07 am

      What’s with the annual fee? My friends have other GPS watches and do not pay any fees at all after the original purchase. Why does Skycaddie require an annual membership fee to keep the courses on the watch?

  26. J

    Jun 14, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    Battery life is not good.. Less than two rounds.

    Several competitors products, watches mind you, have better battery life.

    The Bushnell for example will actually function as a watch for about a year before it requires charges..

    I charge mine before rounds and wear it everyday… Not once have I had an issue.

  27. Tim Liddy

    Jun 14, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    Be careful if you have a Mac, as it will not allow for needed software for SkyCaddie to load on computer. Skycaddie technical support is non-existent. Be on technical support line for 1/2 hour waiting for a response. I would not recommend this product.

    • John Pierce

      Jun 14, 2013 at 3:34 pm

      I run Skycaddie software on my Macbook Pro with Mountain Lion OSX ver 8.3 with no issues whatsoever. I use it every weekend.

      You might check what version of Java you are running on your Mac, the latest versions of their runtime, particularly the 64 bit versions don’t play well with Skycaddie.

    • ebenny10

      Mar 18, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      I used Skycaddie’s online support and within a minute had an answer to a question on a new product. Don’t think I’d bother calling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Accessory Reviews

Review: FlightScope Mevo



In 100 Words

The Mevo is a useful practice tool for amateur golfers and represents a step forward from previous offerings on the market. It allows golfers to practice indoors or outdoors and provides club speed, ball speed, smash factor, launch angle, spin rate, carry distance and flight time.

It also has a video capture mode that will overlay swing videos with the swing data of a specific swing. It is limited in its capabilities and its accuracy, though, which golfers should expect at this price point. All in all, it’s well worth the $499 price tag if you understand what you’re getting.

The Full Review

The FlightScope Mevo is a launch monitor powered by 3D Doppler radar. With a retail price of $499, it is obviously aimed to reach the end consumer as opposed to PGA professionals and club fitters.

The Mevo device itself is tiny. Like, really tiny. It measures 3.5-inches wide, 2.8-inches tall and 1.2-inches deep. In terms of everyday products, it’s roughly the size of an Altoids tin. It’s very easy to find room for it in your golf bag, and the vast majority of people at the range you may be practicing at won’t even notice it’s there. Apart from the Mevo itself, in the box you get a quick start guide, a charging cable, a carrying pouch, and some metallic stickers… more on those later. It has a rechargeable internal battery that reaches a full charge in about two hours and lasts for about four hours when fully charged.

As far as software goes, the Mevo pairs with the Mevo Golf app on your iOS or Android device. The app is free to download and does not require any subscription fees (unless you want to store and view videos of your swing online as opposed to using the memory on your device). The app is very easy to use even for those who aren’t tech savvy. Make sure you’re using the most current version of the firmware for the best results, though (I did experience some glitches at first until I did so). The settings menu does have an option to manually force firmware writing, but updates should happen automatically when you start using the device.

Moving through the menus, beginning sessions, editing shots (good for adding notes on things like strike location or wind) are all very easy. Video mode did give me fits the first time I used it, though, as it was impossible to maintain my connection between my phone and the Mevo while having the phone in the right location to capture video properly. The only way I could achieve this was by setting the Mevo as far back from strike location as the device would allow. Just something to keep in mind if you find you’re having troubles with video mode.

Screenshot of video capture mode with the FlightScope Mevo

Using the Mevo

When setting up the Mevo, it needs to be placed between 4-7 feet behind the golf ball, level with the playing surface and pointed down the target line. The distance you place the Mevo behind the ball does need to be entered into the settings menu before starting your session. While we’re on that subject, before hitting balls, you do need to select between indoor, outdoor, and pitching (ball flight less than 20 yards) modes, input your altitude and select video or data mode depending on if you want to pair your data with videos of each swing or just see the data by itself. You can also edit the available clubs to be monitored, as you will have to tell the Mevo which club you’re using at any point in time to get the best results. Once you get that far, you’re pretty much off to the races.

Testing the Mevo

I tested the FlightScope Mevo with Brad Bachand at Man O’ War Golf Center in Lexington, Kentucky. Brad is a member of the PGA and has received numerous awards for golf instruction and club fitting. I wanted to put the Mevo against the best device FlightScope has to offer and, luckily, Brad does use his $15,000 FlightScope X3 daily. We had both the FlightScope Mevo and Brad’s FlightScope X3 set up simultaneously, so the numbers gathered from the two devices were generated from the exact same strikes. Brad also set up the two devices and did all of the ball striking just to maximize our chances for success.

The day of our outdoor session was roughly 22 degrees Fahrenheit. There was some wind on that day (mostly right to left), but it wasn’t a major factor. Our setup is pictured below.

Outdoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our outdoor testing are shown below. The testing was conducted with range balls, and we did use the metallic stickers. The range balls used across all the testing were all consistently the same brand. Man O’ War buys all new range balls once a year and these had been used all throughout 2017.  The 2018 batch had not yet been purchased at the time that testing was conducted.

Raw outdoor data captured with range balls including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

You’ll notice some peculiar data in the sand wedge spin category. To be honest, I don’t fully know what contributed to the X3 measuring such low values. While the Mevo’s sand wedge spin numbers seem more believable, you could visibly see that the X3 was much more accurate on carry distance. Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our outdoor session when separated out for each club. As previously mentioned, though, take sand wedge spin with a grain of salt.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (outdoor testing).

The first thing we noticed was that the Mevo displays its numbers while the golf ball is still in midair, so it was clear that it wasn’t watching the golf ball the entire time like the X3. According to the Mevo website, carry distance, height and flight time are all calculated while club speed, ball speed, launch angle and spin rate are measured. As for the accuracy of the measured parameters, the Mevo’s strength is ball speed. The accuracy of the other measured ball parameters (launch angle and spin rate) is questionable depending on certain factors (quality of strike, moisture on the clubface and ball, quality of ball, etc). I would say it ranges between “good” or “very good” and “disappointing” with most strikes being categorized as “just okay.”

As for the calculated parameters of carry distance, height and time, those vary a decent amount. Obviously, when the measurements of the three inputs become less accurate, the three outputs will become less accurate as a result. Furthermore, according to FlightScope, the Mevo’s calculations are not accounting for things like temperature, humidity, and wind. The company has also stated, though, that future updates will likely adjust for these parameters by using location services through the app.

Now, let’s talk about those metallic stickers. According to the quick start guide, the Mevo needs a sticker on every golf ball you hit, and before you hit each ball, the ball needs to be placed such that the sticker is facing the target. It goes without saying that it doesn’t sound like a whole lot of fun to spend time putting those stickers on every ball, let alone balls that will never come back to you if you’re at a public driving range. Obviously, people are going to want to avoid using the stickers if they can, so do they really matter? Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls with and without the use of the stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you use the metallic stickers and when you don’t

The FlightScope website says that the metallic stickers “are needed in order for the Mevo to accurately measure ball spin.” We observed pretty much the same as shown in the table above. The website also states they are working on alternative solutions to stickers (possibly a metallic sharpie), which I think is wise.

Another thing we thought would be worth testing is the impact of different golf balls. Below is a table of data showing the percent difference between the Mevo’s data and the X3’s data of what we collected outdoors with a driver and range balls as compared to Pro V1’s. All of this data was collected using the metallic stickers.

Table showing how the percent difference of each parameter changes between Mevo and X3 when you switch from range balls to Pro V1’s

As shown above, the data gets much closer virtually across the board when you use better quality golf balls. Just something else to keep in mind when using the Mevo.

Indoor testing requires 8 feet of ball flight (impact zone to hitting net), which was no problem for us. Our setup is pictured below. All of the indoor testing was conducted with Titleist Pro V1 golf balls using the metallic stickers.

Indoor testing setup with FlightScope X3 (foreground) and Mevo

The results of our indoor session are shown below.

Raw indoor data captured with Pro V1’s including metallic stickers. Mevo data (blue) and X3 data (orange) were both generated from the same exact shots.

Below is a quick summary of the percent differences between each of the parameters as presented by the Mevo and the X3 in our indoor session when separated out for each club.

Table showing the percent difference of each parameter between Mevo and X3 grouped by club (indoor testing)

On the whole, the data got much closer together between the two devices in our indoor session. I would think a lot of that can be attributed to the use of quality golf balls and to removing outdoor factors like wind and temperature (tying into my previous comment above).

As far as overall observations between all sessions, the most striking thing was that the Mevo consistently gets more accurate when you hit really good, straight shots. When you hit bad shots, or if you hit a fade or a draw, it gets less and less accurate.

The last parameter to address is club speed, which came in around 5 percent different on average between the Mevo and X3 based on all of the shots recorded. The Mevo was most accurate with the driver at 2.1 percent different from the X3 over all strikes and it was the least accurate with sand wedge by far. Obviously, smash factor accuracy will follow club speed for the most part since ball speed is quite accurate. Over every shot we observed, the percent difference on ball speed was 1.2 percent on average between the Mevo and the X3. Again, the Mevo was least accurate with sand wedges. If I remove all sand wedge shots from the data, the average percent difference changes from 1.2 percent to 0.7 percent, which is very, very respectable.

When it comes to the different clubs used, the Mevo was by far most accurate with mid irons. I confirmed this with on-course testing on a relatively flat 170-yard par-3 as well. Carry distances in that case were within 1-2 yards on most shots (mostly related to quality of strike). With the driver, the Mevo was reasonably close, but I would also describe it as generous. It almost always missed by telling me that launch angle was higher, spin rate was lower and carry distance was farther than the X3. Generally speaking, the Mevo overestimated our driver carries by about 5 percent. Lastly, the Mevo really did not like sand wedges at all. Especially considering those shots were short enough that you could visibly see how far off the Mevo was with its carry distance. Being 10 yards off on a 90 yard shot was disappointing.


The Mevo is a really good product if you understand what you’re getting when you buy it. Although the data isn’t good enough for a PGA professional, it’s still a useful tool that gives amateurs reasonable feedback while practicing. It’s also a fair amount more accurate than similar products in its price range, and I think it could become even better with firmware updates as Flightscope improves upon its product.

This is a much welcomed and very promising step forward in consumer launch monitors, and the Mevo is definitely worth a look if you’re in the market for one.

Your Reaction?
  • 169
  • LEGIT14
  • WOW3
  • LOL10
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP7
  • OB3
  • SHANK31

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Choose Your Tartan: Enter now to win a Sunfish Tartan headcover



Sunfish, well known for its stylish headcover designs, is offering up free Tartan-style headcovers to five GolfWRX Members. All you have to do to apply is become a GolfWRX member, if you’re not already, and then reply in the forum thread with your favorite the Tartan pattern.


The five winners will receive a free headcover in the pattern that they select. Winners will be selected on Friday, so don’t wait.

Click here to enter into the giveaway and pick your favorite style.

Reminder: Commenting on this post WILL NOT enter you into the giveaway.

Your Reaction?
  • 7
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK7

Continue Reading

Accessory Reviews

Review: Golf Simulator Software for SkyTrak



SkyTrak is a personal launch monitor packed with impressive features and accuracy. It sells for $1995, and is aimed at golfers looking for a high-quality, personal launch monitor and golf simulator. I’ve recently hit more than 1,000 golf balls on SkyTrak and tested it head-to-head against Trackman to find out if it truly is as good as it sounds.

Spoiler alert: It is. You can read the full review here.

In writing my SkyTrak review, I felt that I could better serve the GolfWRX Community and the greater golf world with an additional SkyTrak review that focused specifically on SkyTrak’s golf simulation partners. This… is that review.

Golf Simulation Partners

Out of the box, SkyTrak comes with an impressive driving range app, which golfers looking to hone and refine their swing will really appreciate. But one of the ways SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors, especially lower-priced ones, is by integrating with five leading golf simulation software packages.

This is where SkyTrak starts to widen its appeal. Serious golfers will enjoy playing a full round, but you can also get casual golfers involved. My wife and kids will enjoy playing a round of golf, and I won’t have to worry about holding up the group behind me. As my kids get older, having a simulator at home will be invaluable, allowing them practice at any time… assuming they want to play golf, of course.

SkyTrak Simulation Partners

Data Provided to Each Software

SkyTrak provides each simulation partner with the exact same, five directly measured data points which include: ball speed, launch angle, backspin, side spin and side angle. Each software applies their own ball flight model. For that reason, I did see differences in the ball flight and data displayed.

WGT (World Golf Tour)

Almost every golfer with a mobile phone or a Facebook profile has played or heard of WGT (World Golf Tour). The same game that has been played on mobile phones for years can now be played with SkyTrak. The most obvious difference is the visuals. Their patented, photo-realistic imagery and terrain mapping has created some of the most realistic course simulation available. What’s more interesting is that WGT is included at no additional cost when you purchase the $199.95 per year SkyTrak plan. This is great news for people interested in playing full courses, but not yet ready to commit to another simulator package.

There are 10 full courses that can be played. They include St. Andrews, Chambers Bay, Bandon Dunes and others. Closest-to-the-pin challenges can be played on 18 total courses.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight model is very accurate and similar to what I see in the SkyTrak app. It also calculates my wedge shots correctly, which is typically a slight fade that I cannot seem to fix. Total distance is a bit strong, with some clubs flying an average of five yards farther than normal.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

It is hard to beat the photo-realistic visuals of WGT. It took me a minute to get used to them after playing rounds on the other simulators, but the courses look amazing, especially on a large projector screen. With the combination of the photos and terrain mapping, these courses are spot-on representations of their real-life counterparts.

WGT SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

I wish there were more courses, but WGT is continuing to add to its roster and I value the realism of the courses it has. I would rather higher quality courses over quantity. They also have some “Best Of” bundles, like playing the Best of Bandon Par 3s, which is a lot of fun.

The gameplay is solid, although the options are limited. You don’t have a lot of fancy camera angles or the ability to view a replay of your shot. In fact, some of the starting camera angles aren’t even from the player’s point of view, which is a little weird and hard to get used to. The SkyTrak data presented has everything you would want, except carry distance. The interface is clean and easy to use.

Reliability of the Software

Although the specs say an iPad is required (and preferred if you’re not using a projector), I didn’t experience any issues connecting to either my iPad or my iPhone 6s.


Included with SkyTrak’s Play & Improve Package

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf

I want to love Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf, and I almost do. The main game includes really nice, quality courses, and you can purchase add-ons such as Muirfield Village or PGA National for $5.95. Additionally, its Course Forge Software, which is the same software used by Jack Nicklaus Golf course designers, can be used by anyone to create an unlimited number of courses that you can download and play.

You can adjust almost any setting you can imagine, from camera angles that allow you to walk freely around the golf course to video and audio settings that adjust everything from the sky effects to the way the grass looks. This is critical to helping dial in the settings to maximize gameplay for your specific PC setup.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight was similar to what I saw on the SkyTrak range, but the distances were consistently a bit shorter. There is a good chance I could mess around with the various settings and get the numbers to match up, but out of the box, I felt like the distances were slightly shorter across the board.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I really like the quality of the courses. There is an almost unlimited combination of settings you can use to dial in the visuals to create a very realistic experience. The real courses I downloaded look, appear and play very accurately. The textures of the tee boxes and greens are very realistic.

Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The included courses are a mix of fictional, user-created courses, and real courses with fake names. For example, you can play Florida Glades, which is actually modeled after TPC Sawgrass. I played Muirfield Village while watching coverage of the Memorial last weekend, which was fun.

With the exception of the occasionally shorter distances, the gameplay is excellent. Shots on the fairways and into the greens follow the real-life contours of the course. Just check out the video above to see what I mean.

The game really shines with the smooth camera movements and replay options. I love being able to watch each shot from the player point of view, but also angles like the spectator view. It feels just like TV and is a lot of fun to see my shots from different angles.

Reliability of the Software

This is where Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf falls short, at least for me. During testing, I was never able to get through an entire round without the simulator connection crashing, which meant that SkyTrak was no longer connected to the simulator software. This is an issue with Perfect Golf reported by others, too. As of June 1st, the company provided an update that has solved this issue for me, and I can now get through a full round, but it is something to keep in mind.


Multiple packages starting at $99.95 per year for the driving range package. It’s $199.95 per year for the simulation package, and $249.95 per year for everything including the ability to play user-created courses or compete in online tournaments.

TruGolf E6

TruGolf E6 feels and plays like the most solid of all the simulator options. Each of the 87 total courses are mapped using precise terrain and course data, and you can tell they spent a lot of time making each course feel as realistic and accurate as possible.

The app has numerous settings to control time of day, wind, lighting, camera angles and more. Course elevation is accurate, and factored into the ball flight. The base software includes a driving range with target practice, chipping area, and a putting area.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight, carry and total distance are almost identical to what I see in the SkyTrak app.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

The quality of each course is impressive. Fairways and greens are responsive and variable, mimicking the actual terrain of the course. The textures, shadows, and lighting are realistic. And the camera movements to follow the ball or during replays are natural. The overall graphics are not quite as good as Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf or The Golf Club, but still very solid.

TruGolf E6 SkyTrak Partner

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The main package includes 15 championship courses, including Pinehurst  No. 2, Bay Hill, Gleneagles and others. You can also buy seven other packs of courses, each for a one-time fee.

The actual gameplay is very realistic. The standard camera angles feel like I am watching a shot from my actual point of view, but I can also watch the replay from various other camera angles. Putting is realistic, even if I haven’t yet mastered putting on SkyTrak. And if you’re looking to practice a specific hole on a course, you can choose to play only that hole.

Reliability of the Software

Rock solid. Throughout my entire testing, I never had any software issues.


$299 per year in addition to the SkyTrak Game Improvement Package. Additional course packs can be purchased for $240-500 each.

The Golf Club Game

There is so much to like about The Golf Club.  The graphics are quite possibly the best of any of the simulators (up to 4K Ultra HD) and allow you to move around the course in real-time. There are 100,000+ high definition courses, you can create your own courses, and TGC has live tournaments. There is even an announcer who gives you the play-by-play.

Ball Flight and Data

Just like TruGolf E6, the ball flight model and key data points are very similar to what I see on the SkyTrak range. I have noticed some deviation, more total distance for example, but for the most part, the results are very similar and accurate.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

I can’t deny having access to 100k+ courses isn’t a strength, but it is also a weakness. You will never get bored if you own this software, but if you like playing realistic golf courses, it can be difficult to navigate. With so many “Augusta National” or “St. Andrews” courses listed, it is hard to find one to play that truly feels realistic. I selected an “Augusta National Sunday Pin Position” course and saw white-capped mountains in the distance teeing off No. 1. There certainly aren’t mountains around Augusta.

The Golf Club SkyTrak Partner

I’ll say it again, the HD visuals are outstanding, especially if your system can max out the settings.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

You’ve got access to a ton of courses for free, which will be  huge for many people. The gameplay is also excellent, with realistic bounces and rolls on the fairways and greens. The rough and sand are penalizing, and putting and chipping around the green is accurate.

Reliability of the Software

I have had some minor connectivity issues with TGC. But other than that, the rest of the software has worked great.


$479/year or a one-time fee of $895.

Creative Golf 3D

Creative Golf 3D, the newest integration with SkyTrak, offers some unique twists on the traditional simulators by focusing more on entertainment than pure simulation. Sure, there is a range and you can play up to 100 courses located in Europe, but more importantly, you have access to 20 different entertainment-focused games including island targets, mini-golf, and abandoned factory demolition.

I can see playing mini-golf with my kids even before sticking them on the SkyTrak range. Fun is the real power of Creative Golf 3D, and yet another way that SkyTrak differentiates itself from other launch monitors or simulators on the market.

Ball Flight and Data

The ball flight and data matches up nicely with the SkyTrak ball flight model. I haven’t noticed any issues with distances or other data points not lining up.

Course Accuracy and Visuals

All the courses are based on real elevation and satellite data, which is evident when you play a round. While I’ve never played golf in Europe, I love watching the European Tour partly because they play courses in beautiful parts of the world. Creative Golf 3D captures that beauty by focusing only on courses throughout Europe.


The reason I would buy Creative Golf over the others is not for the course play; it’s for the entertainment options. I really enjoy hitting knock down wedges to smash windows of an abandoned building and playing mini-golf in Europe.

Depth of Included Courses and Quality of Gameplay

The base package includes five courses. You can buy add-on packages for $99 per package (one-time fee) and get access to up to 100 courses. I enjoy hitting shots with snow-capped mountains in the background and the standard camera angles and replay are smooth. The visuals are good, don’t get me wrong, but they feel a little more like a computer game than an actual simulation compared to the other software options.

Reliability of the Software

So far, so good. I haven’t experienced any issues with connectivity to this point.


$199.95 per year or a one-time fee of $499.95. I like that Creative Golf 3D offers a one-time fee. For those of us who plan to have this simulator for many years, it makes a lot of sense. You can also buy additional course packs for $99.95/one time.

Bottom Line

If I had to choose my favorites so far, one would be Jack Nicklaus Perfect Golf for the overall high quality of courses and smooth, realistic gameplay. I also will keep Creative Golf 3D on hand for entertainment options like mini-golf to play with my kids and friends.

But the good news is all of SkyTrak’s five simulation software partners offer high-quality gameplay, realistic and accurate 3D ball flight, and the ability to play 18 holes anytime, anywhere, on some of the best courses around the world.

Further Reading: A Review of the SkyTrak Personal Launch Monitor

Your Reaction?
  • 68
  • LEGIT5
  • WOW6
  • LOL4
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB2
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

19th Hole