Adams Super S and LS Drivers: Editor Review

by   (Senior Writer I)   |   June 20, 2013
Adams S Driver Review
Adams Super S and LS Drivers: Editor Review Ronald Montesano
Performance
Looks and Feel

Summary: Adams did a great job creating two high-performing drivers for two different types of golfers.

4

Great looks


Pros: Both drivers are very long and low-spinning, with good looks and a robust sound. The Super S is great for golfers looking for more forgiveness off the tee, while the Super LS will control launch and spin for high-speed bombers. Adams did a great job at hitting the mark for both types of players.

Cons: The sound might be too loud for some. Neither driver is as adjustable as other models on the market, such as the Nike Covert and TaylorMade R1.

The Bottom Line: The Super S and LS models will reach a wide spectrum of players who have liked the performance and looks of Adams drivers in the past. They’re great drivers, but might get lost in the competitive driver market of 2013 due to a lack of tour use.

Overview

Adams Golf introduced two drivers in 2013, the Speedline Super S and the Speedline Super LS. The S comes set as a 10.5-degree driver, but it is adjustable up or down 1 degree. A fourth setting, 10.5F, flattens the lie. Its head measures 460 cubic centimeters and the club is fitted with a 46-inch Matrix Radix shaft that weighs about 50 grams.

The LS head also measures 460 CCs, but its standard shaft (the Mitsubishi Kuro Kage) weighs about 10 grams more (this will matter later in the review). The shaft has a stock length of 45 inches, but it is able to be made 0.5 inches longer with an included spacer that fits into the head. To compensate the for added weight, the LS comes with two weight screws (one heavy, one light), which will allow golfers to make the swing weight a few points heavier or lighter.

The loft, face angle and lie of the LS are also adjustable, allowing for variances of up to 2 degrees in lie and 1 degree either way in loft. Unfortunately, unlike the Nike Covert and TaylorMade R1, there’s no way to adjust loft and face angle independently.

The LS is viewed as the flagship model, based on its $399 suggested price point. The S comes out as the more economical alternative, listed with a $299 price point. Adams is targeting its LS model to the more serious, probably lower-handicap golfer, equipping the club with a higher-end shaft and giving it greater adjustability. Sometimes more is too much, and it will likely behoove middle- and high-handicap golfers to purchase the less-adjustable S model.

Performance

post-1-0-23975900-1355945364_thumb

This tester’s swing speed with driver inhabits the 95 to 100 mph region. There was quite a noticeable difference between the two shafts, which is attributed to the weight difference. The Matrix Radix in the S weighs 18 percent less than the Kuro Kage in the LS. When shafts were swapped between driver heads, the Matrix Radix again proved easier to control.

Both driver heads are low spinning, but the construction of the LS head, along with its stouter shaft, makes it lower launching than the S.

Both driver’s feature Adams’ VST technology, which means that there is a slot cut in the sole of the driver that Adams says creates more spring-like effect for “consistently longer drives.” The technology obviously has merits, and has worked wonders in the company’s fairway woods and hybrids, but I didn’t notice that much of an impact with the LS. The S driver, on the other hand, seemed to provide quite a bit more speed off the face on mishits, particularly shots hit low on the face.

Looks and Feel

post-1-0-21013400-1355945361_thumb

Much ado was made about the first white driver heads a few years back. Evidently, plain white wasn’t enough, so manufacturers went forward with designs that mimicked NASCAR-style racing stripes. A bit of orange here, some yellow there. Many called this intrusion distracting, but Adams got it right. While the heads for the S and LS drivers are not pure white, their pipings and stripings are hazy gray, barely noteworthy as they blend into the dominant club head color.

You’re going to prefer one head over the other for its shape. The LS has a traditional pear shape, while the S pushes its toe out a bit in the modern, pseudo-triangular way. The sound the ball makes is loud, but not a cannon blast. If you like a softer concussion, you may be put off a bit by the resonating sound.

Ultimately, these two clubs offer as much confidence as you’ll find on the range or the tee. There is a reason that many women and senior professionals trust the Adams name. The swing characteristics of the women’s pro line up with those of the average male. The senior professionals have been around the block many times over and have little reason to play a club that offers no confidence nor performance.

The head covers that Adams fits to its drivers are pretty cool. With such a large head, it’s hard to imagine you could just slide the cover in, as you do your foot into a shoe, but you can!

The Takeaway

post-1-0-90808100-1355945368_thumb

The S driver is touted as a long driver’s war club. The insinuation is that it will give all golfers a few extra yards. The longer shaft is one reason for distance gains, and the more forgiving club face represents another. It reasons that a longer arc and more balanced face contact will translate into consistently longer flight and roll.

For me, the S was the right choice. I loved the look of the LS, but it proved to be a little too much driver for me to handle.

About

Ronald Montesano writes for GolfWRX.com from western New York. He dabbles in coaching golf and teaching Spanish, in addition to scribbling columns on all aspects of golf, from apparel to architecture, from equipment to travel. Follow Ronald on Twitter at @buffalogolfer.


31 Comments

  1. Jameson

    April 12, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    I got a good deal on the Super LS, and figured I would give it a shot. After my first 18 with it yesterday, I could not be happier. The first nine were a little rough, but that could have been because I hadn’t golfed since last year. After teeing it up a bit higher and making some adjustments with my swing, I was just killing the ball on the back nine.

    In the past, I normally drove the ball around 240-250 yards. Now with this driver I am averaging 275 yards, with one drive even reaching 290.

    I used to also have a decent slice in my shot with my old driver, but with the super LS, I was hitting everything dead center down the fairway.

    I absolutely love this golf club!

  2. Cwayne

    April 5, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    Bought super s speed line 10.5 senior shaft (77 years old). I hit it 10 to 20 yds. Longer than my
    Titlest 910d, about 200 yds. Last time played hit 12 fairways with 2 drives long but I right rough.
    Like that driver does not have closed face.

  3. Benny

    January 28, 2014 at 5:11 am

    Great driver upgraded from the xp titanium 10.5 didn’t touch anything else till now I’m getting at least 300 yards on average every drive.

  4. Matt

    November 4, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    Going to buy just the Super S head and install a Excalibrr 6+ tour stiff shaft on it. I currently am hitting a Cobra Amp Cell and am able to crush the ball on average 290-310 using an x6+ shaft. Want an Adams driver to match my irons, hybrid and 5 wood. Nothing will take over the permanent spot in my bag though ad my Amp Cell is deafly accurate and long but I do love my other Adams gear and please do yourself a favor and get fitted like I did, most stock made for shafts are bad and they are most likely not as marked I.e. stiff, regular act.

  5. lookingforpar

    September 25, 2013 at 4:19 pm

    I recently purchased the Speedling S. I previously used the Callaway Diablo and I must say when I connect with the S it really goes! My playing partner swings the Nike Covert, and when I let him swing the Speedline S he was inpressed too the accuracy and distance he got with it.

    The sound does take a bit to get used to, but I also had the Adams speedlind and it to make a ping sound when correctly struck. That sound lets me know to look down range for my ball, I like that feature. One thing I noticed I do have to hit a few practice balls with it to get a groove before going to the links. When I dont it takes a swing or two to get started. So far so good, I hope to do a follow up in a month or so.

  6. Golfer X

    September 6, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    nice looking club, but is it worth the price of admission? Wife thinks paying the mortgage is more important…

    • paul

      September 30, 2013 at 5:26 am

      Same boat here dude. i liked the distance numbers but i like a softer feeling crushing sensation instead.

  7. Jarrett

    September 4, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Has anyone else had problems with the super s cracking inside the velocity slot? I cracked the first one less than two weeks after I got it after only 3 rounds and a couple visits to the range, and just got back from the range where I cracked the replacement that they sent me.

    • Kevin

      September 4, 2013 at 11:00 pm

      Jarret,
      I used mine for about 6 rounds and it cracked in the slot. Adams sent me a replacement but I’m afraid to use it.

      • Jarrett

        September 9, 2013 at 10:59 pm

        I just had my second one sent in for a new one. Called Adams and the guy that helped me said he had never heard of this happening before, but luckily they would replace it anyway. I’m thinking I will just trade the replacement in for something else when it comes in so I won’t have to worry about this happening again.

      • Jarrett

        September 9, 2013 at 11:01 pm

        I’m wondering if my swing speed might be the cause of it. Do you mind me asking about how fast you swing your driver?

        • Kevin

          September 15, 2013 at 6:18 pm

          I average between 98 and 100
          Is that close to yours ?

          • Kevin

            September 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm

            How did you like it before it cracked ?

          • Jarrett

            September 17, 2013 at 12:04 am

            I’m actually around 120 on average…I’m pretty tall with long arms so I can get quite a bit of speed when I really crank it up

          • Jarrett

            September 17, 2013 at 12:06 am

            I really liked the feel and the large look at address was good for confidence…I also really liked the lightweight shaft but I’m starting to realize a little bit heavier might be better suited for me

  8. Daniel

    August 11, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    I agree to getting fit by a professional…i got fitting and after an hour of tesing 8+ clubs, I settled on the Super S 3 wood (I tried the driver as well to ensure i liked it). My carry with the 3 wood was as long as my Burner SuperFast driver (although the driver rolled more due to the 9.5 loft). I purchased the driver and hit it for the first time last weekend. I”m still getting used to the differences but when i strike it right, my carry (using 10.5 loft) is longer than my previous driver and overall straighter and longer. Feel more confident than I have in a long time.

    I haven’t figured out what the 10.5F (flat I presume) setting would be used for…thoughts?

  9. Jake

    August 8, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    Ronald:

    I have a Super S Speedline 15 degree 3 wood that I hit about as long as my Taylormade Superfast driver(180-200 yards average)and I hit it straight. I think that my 3 wood has a shaft weight about 60 grams and its length is 43 inches. My Adams Ao 12 hybrid iron shafts,I believe, are 55 grams. What is the weight of the senior shaft for the Super S Speedline driver? And second, will the 46 inch driver make it more difficult to keep this driver in play? Thanks for you feedback. concerning these questions.

  10. Ronald Montesano

    August 5, 2013 at 7:35 pm

    The black ring is a hosel extender, I believe. It allows you to add an extra 3/4 of an inch to your arc.

  11. Neal

    August 4, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Ronald – thx for the analysis. I just bought the S (my first driver, I haven’t played very long) and I can’t seem to figure out what tool that is at the bottom right in picture 11. I know how to adjust the loft, and length, but I have no idea what that small piece is.

  12. Ronald Montesano

    July 29, 2013 at 7:36 pm

    Pieter,

    I would suggest that you speak with a club fitter in your area. If you have someone you trust, she/he will apply your fitting cost (or a portion of it) to the purchase. I am not a trained club fitter and would hate to give you bad information. Good luck. Let us know how it works out!

  13. Pieter

    July 20, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    I like to buy a S or LS. What club and What flex should i buy?
    My swingspeed with 6iron is 83 mph.

    Thx

  14. Ronald Montesano

    July 14, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I’m a fan of the mittens…easy on and off, but they don’t sloppily fall off. That LS driver comes with a longer stock shaft, which might partly explain the increase in distance.

  15. Lars hj

    July 5, 2013 at 4:10 am

    I just purchased the LS driver and 3wood based on my club professional’s recommendation. Still need to figure out both but when I hit the driver well, I hit it 30 yards past my my Titleist 910D. It is silly long even with a stock shaft in it. Once I adjust to a more open lie, these will be always in the bag. Head covers kinda suck though….I like more traditional design instead of mittens. Better option than the thr R-1 in my opinion

  16. Ronald Montesano

    June 30, 2013 at 1:13 am

    Samuel, that’s quite the in-depth profile of your journey to fit the perfect driver! Shaft and head must work together, so kudos to you for employing the “seasoned” shaft and the new Adams Super LS head. Thanks for sharing your story.

  17. samuel torian

    June 26, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    i love my super LS!!!!!! i bought the taylor R1 with a attas t-2 shaft and a diamia blueboard. i also purchased the adams super ls with the stock kuro kage and i bought 2 extra shaft end pieces and installed 2 older aj tech shafts that i had loved in the past in my taylor r7 super quad. the adams LS with the aj tech shafts ended up in my bag as it was not only longer but provided a higher launch angle and a tighter dispersion on my miss hits. my swing speed is 103mph and the super LS gives me the confidence to pull the driver when i used to hit 3 wood to find fairways.

  18. Ronald Montesano

    June 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Rich,

    Which do you like less? Have you demoed the clubs? Thanks for your comment. I’ll pass on the spoon test.

  19. Rich

    June 26, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Gag me with a spoon ! I don’t like the performance or the looks.

  20. Ronald Montesano

    June 25, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    I agree, James. Both drivers have much to offer to the layman golfer. With as much $$$ a folks sink into the purchase of a driver, it makes sense to consider all the equipment companies before making the investment. Thanks for your thoughts and thanks for reading!!

  21. James

    June 25, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    I own the S model and also the F11. I found the most noticeable difference was how well the S performed on off center hits. I found the S to be pretty impressive.

  22. Ronald Montesano

    June 25, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Different strokes, brands, looks for different folks, Jack. As you indicate, you had a favorite before your Adams. Some folks have a favorite as well and might fear a switch/upgrade. Thanks for your comment…keep reading!

  23. Jack

    June 24, 2013 at 2:40 am

    I guess people aren’t that interested in these drivers? I actually like mine. Still debating whether I like it better than my old trusty Razr Hawk Tour though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>