Connect with us

Equipment

SCOR Golf: Editor Review

Published

on

The first thing that you notice about SCOR Golf is that these folks are serious about doing something different with what they call the “scoring clubs” (traditionally known as wedges).

Terry Koehler, the founder, club designer and chief philosopher of SCOR, saw all the advancements in drivers, woods, hybrids, irons and putters, but didn’t see the same focus on the short end of the set. In his estimation, the clubs that golfers use from within 130 yards are where all of a golfer’s scoring is done. He said that the time has come to put golfers closer to the cup from 130 yards so that they can shave strokes and lower their scores. And, you know what? After testing out their clubs: I agree. I made several tough shots using my “SCOR-ing” clubs, and scored well.

SCOR Fitting

The first step in getting a hold of these babies is to visit SCOR’s website. There, golfers can go through a 10-to-15 minute questionnaire that provides the SCOR team with all of the info it needs to both suggest and build a custom set of wedges…errr scoring clubs, that fit a golfer’s needs.

In my case, I started playing graphite shafts in my irons several years ago and had fallen in love with the feel. However, my wedges were the last clubs in my bag that still have steel shafts. I carried a true Frankenstein set of three different wedges from three different manufacturers representing my sand wedge (56 degrees), gap wedge (51 degrees) and pitching wedge (48 degrees).

[youtube id=”QR0mIMvslL0″ width=”620″ height=”360″]

Koehler said that my hodgepodge of wedges was doing my game a disservice, and he explained that the different types of wedges caused me to need three slightly different swings to match the different swing weights. First and foremost, he told me I needed to get some stability with these clubs. I carry a 6.6 index, and admit that wedge play is truly the weakest part of my game.

Koehler suggested building me a set of clubs that matched my current set of irons. So, SCOR built five clubs all with graphite shafts. Since I currently use 90-gram graphite shafts in my irons, Koehler suggested the company’s 90-gram Genius 9 shafts, made for them by UST Mamiya. The clubs built included a 44-degree (to replace my 9 iron — I begged him not to!), a 48-degree (PW), a 52-degree (GW), a 56-degree (SW) and a 60-degree (LW).

Delivery Day

After I spoke with Koehler, I was promptly provided tracking info and the shipping was quick. I was stoked to come home and see that the “Shipping Santa” had left a beautiful box of clubs all snuggled up on my doorstep. The box was smaller than expected, and inside the clubs were laid out comfortably and neatly tucked into foam and separated from one another. The presentation was top-notch and really made me feel like I was staring at a truly custom set of sticks.

The first thing that struck me was how compact the heads looked. I am used to large, clunky heads on my wedges, and was pleasantly surprised with how closely the heads resembled player’s irons. The shaft weight felt perfect in my hand, and I loved seeing the custom-made grips that include two circles on the lower part of the grip designed as “reminders” for choking up when trying different types of shots.

I love this about SCOR: The company genuinely wants its customers to experiment with different types of shots to help them hone their skills. Also in the box was a SCOR bag tag designed to allow golfers to make notes about the results of their different types of shots: choked-up, stance-open, stance-square, full-swing, etc. This card came in handy on the range (read on).

Range Day

a03e9534eb612c7f0f8efb0d6ec9495e

Above: SCOR wedges come in one standard grind (SCOR’s V Grind), which company founder Terry Koehler said can work for just about any golfer from any lie.

I raced out to the driving range the following day with five brand new clubs in my hands. I took my practice swings and was immediately struck by how much my new clubs felt like my current set of irons. It was the shafts.

The fact that Koehler took the time to make sure that the shafts in the SCOR clubs matched my set of irons is a cornerstone of their philosophy. Koehler said that he doesn’t want his customers to need a different swing for every club in their bag. He believes in a philosophy of consistency with golf equipment, which allows the target to be focus, not the swing.

I launched crisp shot after crisp shot with just a few shots that ballooned on me. The ones that did balloon were slightly weaker and flared right. But, when I felt my swing dialed in, the shot trajectory was slightly lower than I am used to. That built my confidence, as I felt the shots were tracking nicely at my target. With range balls, there didn’t seem to be much bite when my shots landed, but I knew the real test of spin would come in game conditions.

Next, I began experimenting as SCOR suggests their customers do with their clubs — I tried a variety of different shots to see if each wedge was up to the challenge. Lastly, I decided to exit my “comfort zone” and instead of picking my shots clean as I usually do, I experimented with hitting down on the ball a bit steeper. I knew that it was more practical for me to work on “picking” my shots — it’s just the way my swing works — but I was pleased to find that when I needed to hit down steeply on a shot, as I’m often forced to do from bad lies, the SCOR sole design could handle it.

According to Koehler, the main part of SCOR’s “V Sole” is considered to be low bounce by today’s standards — it has 3 to 7 degrees of bounce. But front quadrant of the sole is high bounce to prevent digging for golfers with steep angles of attack and/or those who play on courses with soft conditions.

Once the practice session was done, I made some notes on my “SCOR card” with my results and I headed to the course armed with my five new weapons ready for some destruction!

Play Day

c5f4d2a15d5178299a82409730433ac0
dacc014389ff3815663002fd0a942a4e

Above: Scor’s lower-lofted clubs have more perimeter weighting to help golfers with forgiveness on off-center shots, while the higher-lofted clubs have more weight behind the sweet spot for more control. 

My first shot in competition came from a sandy-pebbly desert lie where I had pulled my drive left on relatively tame 380-yard par 4. I had 120 yards with some wind in my face, which convinced me to hit a choked-up 9-iron. Since the 44-degree SCOR iron was my 9-iron for the day, I had no choice but to break in the new club. I hit a perfect shot to within 10 feet (and missed the putt). The first test had been passed: tough lie, tough shot, but SCOR came through. Due to the lie, I didn’t notice that much spin when the ball landed.

On the next hole, I executed a picture-perfect pitching wedge from 120 yards. I used the 48 degree and this time, the ball bit just long of the hole, but with a little “tour juice.” With the assist of a back-to-front sloped green, the ball spun backwards about 15 feet to just under the pin giving me a good look for birdie, which I did drop. That was a big test passed for me, as I usually have a bit more trouble from what seems like such an ideal yardage for many players.

I really liked lower ball flight that the pitching wedge produced — Koehler said it’s thanks to the company’s SGC3 weighting, which positions the center of gravity higher in the head to drive the ball lower and with more spin. That weighting works together with SCOR’s CNC milled grooved and faces to provide the zip many golfers like me crave.

Later in the round, I used the 56-degree for a greenside chip that got me up-and-down for par. The ball checked nicely from the less-than-perfect lie, and at impact it felt like the ball stayed on the face for a very long time.

But I didn’t hit all my shots perfect. My next opportunity came on a par-5 from 112 yards. I chose the 52-degree and choked up slightly. I didn’t put my best swing on it and ended up about 25 feet short, which I two-putted for par. I blame myself, as “a craftsman doesn’t blame the tools.” The second test was passed — despite my mis-hit, I still finished with par.

The highlight of the day came on No. 16, a critical par 3 where my opponent and I were vying for the “three-pars-in-a-row” coin (you “ka-ching” players know exactly what I’m talking about!). My opponent landed in water (and got a coin for his troubles), while I landed in a greenside bunker. The bunker had a steep lip, and I was short-sided. I took out the 60 degree and landed one of the nicest sand shots in recent memory, leading to a critical up-and-down and more importantly, sole ownership of the coveted coin.

At the end of the round, I found that I didn’t feel I skipped a beat with the clubs. Shot after shot felt crisp, controlled and comfortable. I finished right around my expectation and deemed it a successful run with the new clubs considering how hard it can be to incorporate one new club into the bag for a round, let alone five!

Results

8b9ec14e13ae22684da043f684258f8d

Above: SCOR clubs are cast from 8620 carbon steel, but before polishing they are heated to more than 1000 degrees and put into a forging tool, where they are hit with an 800-ton forging press. According to SCOR, the process better aligns the club’s molecules, making the club heads denser and providing a better feel. 

I believe that over a short amount of time, SCOR’s clubs will reduce my handicap and allow me to hit a wide variety of shots from about 130 yards and in. My thanks go out to the fine folks at SCOR, and I recommend that you give these a shot to join your bag.

Your Reaction?
  • 52
  • LEGIT13
  • WOW6
  • LOL0
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB0
  • SHANK24

Chris Hibler is an avid golfer, writer and golf gear junkie. If he's not practicing his game with his kids, he's scouring the GolfWRX classifieds looking for a score.

15 Comments

15 Comments

  1. Chris

    Nov 27, 2014 at 2:15 am

    Played my first round with them today and these wedges are outstanding. I saw some reviews regarding low bounce and steep angles of attack being an issue for a couple of people. I have a similar swing and found moving the ball position up slightly helped me utilize the higher bounce on the back of the V groove. I really like how you can use a higher bounce on the back and a lower bounce on the front with this club depending on what situation calls for. I have a set of vokeys and a set Cleveland 588’s but the Scor wedges will be taking their place. I was also really glad to see these we’re made in the USA.

  2. RP Jacobs II

    Nov 20, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    I’m a tad late to the party, though what’s new?

    Nice review Chris!!

    Though I’ve played Mizzy since 1986, I played Staff wedges from 1967-1997 and Mizzy from ’98-2013. I also did a five SCORing iron review and fully expecting to go back to my Mizzy 11s after completing the review. Well, the Mizzys are still in the closet(along with 2 more new sets of 11s, lol).

    The SCORs are Very Special. While they may not be for everyone, I would definitely take advantage of their 30-Day trial. You don’t like it, send it back. No harm, no foul.

    Regarding the Form Forging, all that does is tighten up the molecular make-up of the metal, to provide more consistency in the metal, though with today’s casting processes, well, all the guys playing Ping certainly have no problem with the cast feel, and let’s not forget that with feel being probably the most critical factor in a wedge, and 80% of the wedges on Tour are cast, well, you see where I’m goin with this, lol.

    The biggest difference I’m feel that I notices was between the SCOR 43° & 47° Irons and my MP-68 9i & PW. It was incredible, as in the 68s felt like s*** after hitting the SCORs. I took me out 3 more days to make sure what I was experiencing wasn’t a fluke.

    If anything, while I’m by no means a Mizzy fan boi, as I couldn’t tell margarine from butter, I played the 14s for 9 years and the 33s for 8, then the 68s, and I lie their feel however the SCORs, for me, had better weighting and feel than the comparable 68 iron.

    Terry & Barry did it right!!

    Thanks for reading

    Have a Great Holiday Season 🙂

    Fairways & Greens My Friends,
    Richard

  3. Brayan

    Sep 29, 2014 at 4:33 pm

    Men’s clubs may still be a bit long and stiff for you. I think they’d be more for someone who’s teallr, like 5’8 to 6 . See if you can hit some of the clubs before you buy. Most pro shops or golf stores have a place you can hit the clubs. You will still be growing, so I wouldn’t spend too much. They make good junior/teen sets that would fit you for a few years.

  4. Anthony Maccioli

    Oct 2, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Great wedges. Absolutely love them, but the only problem I ever have had with them is that the chrome all on the toe of the face has began to literally peel off. Not exactly sure why this is, never had another wedge due this. Anyone else have this problem ever?

    • JP SCOR Golf

      Nov 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm

      Anthony,

      What you have experienced is not normal and is covered under warranty. I have tried to call you but the number we have on file does not work. I sent you an email as well.

      Please contact me so that we may resolve this issue. jp@scorgolf.com

      Thank you,

      JP Sourdellia
      Sales Operations Manager
      SCOR Golf

  5. MJBrown11

    Aug 25, 2013 at 10:32 am

    I put a 3 club set (51*, 55* & 59*) in my bag back in June. I loved them from the fairway, where the ball would just drop and stop. Also liked the fact they didn’t gauge my ball like my vokey’s. Ultimately though I have returned back to my vokey’s as I prefer the green side check that I get with them and more confidence on up & down shots, while the Scor wedges had more of a runout feel. Good product, just like the feel of my Vokey’s better.

    On a side note, I dealt with Barry of their sales/customer service dept and was a bit disappointed in his lack of communication and follow thru. When I placed my order, he included free shipping, but it took over 5 days for them to even ship my order and I eventually had to pay for 2 day air to get hem within 8 days of my original order. He also did not respond to 3-4 emails I sent directly to him over the course of my transaction.

    • JJ

      Mar 24, 2014 at 4:47 pm

      MJBrown11

      August 25, 2013 at 10:32 am

      I put a 3 club set (51*, 55* & 59*) in my bag back in June. I loved them from the fairway, where the ball would just drop and stop. Also liked the fact they didn’t gauge my ball like my vokey’s. Ultimately though I have returned back to my vokey’s as I prefer the green side check that I get with them and more confidence on up & down shots, while the Scor wedges had more of a runout feel. Good product, just like the feel of my Vokey’s better.

      On a side note, I dealt with Barry of their sales/customer service dept and was a bit disappointed in his lack of communication and follow thru. When I placed my order, he included free shipping, but it took over 5 days for them to even ship my order and I eventually had to pay for 2 day air to get hem within 8 days of my original order. He also did not respond to 3-4 emails I sent directly to him over the course of my transaction.

      Did you think that the consistency of distance is better with your Vokeys or Scor wedges. I play sm4 and was thinking about upgrading my vokies to sm5 but like what I see with the scor and the idea that they are consistent on distance vs Vokeys. Please share your opinion with me. thanks

  6. Rus

    Aug 24, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Put 3 in the bag after the PGA Show 2013(47,52,57)… We have sold 59 to date at the club since our first demo day 3/9/13. Can’t say that about the other 3 major brands combined.
    I did a little tweaking on the 57, ground of the trail edge for the firmer and deep bunkers green side at my club.
    The final verdict – These wedges are for real!

  7. Blakester

    Aug 23, 2013 at 7:28 am

    I’ve been playing Scor wedges for a few weeks now and really like them. I play 50, 55, and 59*. Really love how they get through the turf so well on all shots (especially chipping and pitching). I’ve played 9 holes twice with them and have been monitoring my ups and downs and seem to be getting closer to the hole from everywhere. Looking forward to taking them around for 18!

  8. Snowman

    Aug 22, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    I bought one (52 degree)… for me, in spite on the v-sole low bounce/high bounce versatility claim, I feel it plays like a low bounce wedge. I’m a 6 index with a steep angle of attack, so this was not what I was looking for.

    • DB

      Aug 24, 2013 at 11:18 am

      I had the same issue. They are fantastic wedges, I really love the design concept, the quality, and the ability to easily order custom-made.

      Yet, they played rather low-bounce for me as well. I could dig graves with my 54-degree from the fairway. I really liked the club, but ultimately just felt like I needed more bounce for my regular playing conditions.

    • Jeff

      Sep 29, 2013 at 11:11 pm

      I have had the same issue. I seem to dig a lot with these clubs. I will likely end up taking these out of my bag.

      • markb

        Aug 20, 2014 at 3:34 pm

        I have the same issue of “grave-digging” with fairway shots, but on the other hand those small, heavy Scor heads are superb for scooping shots out of the rough without twisting.

  9. Bob

    Aug 21, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    best wedges ever!

  10. Deaus7

    Aug 21, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    I dont get the Tru Form Forged, Cause form forging is just an investment casting that is finished with a single stamp so they can claim they are forged. Not quite the quality forging as say Mizuno or other JDM forgings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Equipment

Wunder: I’ve hit THESE new drivers this year…and this is what I think

Published

on

During this lockdown, I have done quite a few “Friday Q & A’s” on my IG, and one of the questions I get asked constantly is “have you hit this?” That, and “whaddya think?”

So, in the spirit of organizing my brain, it seemed like the right time to share what new drivers I have actually hit this year…and this is what I think.

Now, it needs to be said that there is a lot of new gear out there, but, to be honest, I’ve only actually hit a select few enough to actually build an opinion. “Enough” in this case is at least 20 balls. Some of these sticks I tested during our pre-launch preview with the OEMs, at the PGA show, a friend has one, or I actually have it in the bag.

Here we go.

TaylorMade SIM

Setup tested: SIM 9 @8.25 w/ Mitsubishi Chemical Kuro Kage XTS 70TX

LOOKS: The best way to describe how SIM looks behind the ball is “comfortable.” TaylorMade has always made drivers that just look correct. The lines are clean, the shape inspires playability, and I dig the paint job. They hit a home run with this one for sure.

FEEL: Best sound out there in my opinion. Heavy, dense, and if you get one dead-nuts center, it lets you know. The feel at contact is just as TaylorMade drivers have always done, center strikes feel like Thor’s hammer and mishits don’t kill your good vibes.

VS THE M5: I get asked this a lot. I loved the M5. Still do. To be honest the two drivers data wise were legit apples to apples. The only difference is my stock shot with M5 was a low spin straight ball and with SIM its a slight draw with a touch more spin and slightly lower launch. I prefer that.

OVERALL: In my opinion, the TaylorMade SIM is the cool kid in high school for 2020. Last year it was F9 followed closely by M5. TM knocked it outta the park on this one.

TaylorMade SIM Max

Setup tested: Sim Max 9 @8.25 w/ Mitsubishi Chemical Kuro Kage XTS 70TX

LOOKS: It has a bit more of a longer face at address, which makes the head appear shallow which inspires a bit more confidence to turn it over. That’s the main thing I noticed with MAX. Other than that its a tried and true TM shape.

FEEL: Like its sibling, it has a nice solid hit audibly at the impact. So, overall its apples to apples with SIM. However, due to the front weight missing on the MAX, the actual strike doesn’t feel AS meaty as SIM. Not a negative necessarily just something I noticed.

VS M6: Both of these sticks I launched a bit too high versus the weighted versions. That’s why they never got any serious consideration to actually put in play.

OVERALL: As a high launch, more forgiving option, it’s an ace.

Callaway Mavrik Sub Zero

Setup tested: Sub Zero 9 w/ Mitsubishi Chemical Tensei Blue AV 65TX

LOOKS: To my eyes, the newer versions of the Callaway drivers have looked a bit more compact than its competition. To me, this always looked “low spin” for whatever reason. The Mavrik has the same shape which is good.

FEEL: They really fixed the sound. The Epic Flash sounded like a pop can to me, and the Mavrik Sub Zero sounds like a sledgehammer. The good thing here is the sound now matches up with what the hit feels like. I think the Mavrik is the best feeling driver Callaway has made since Epic.

VS EPIC FLASH SZ: To me, a complete improvement on all fronts. Sound, feel, and performance for me were all substantially better. Now I must say that the Epic Flash Sub Zero was a great driver, I always got great numbers out of it, but the sound took me out of it. I’m sure there isn’t that much difference audibly between the two, but in this game, even something minor can represent so much. Sound to me is huge.

OVERALL: In all honestly, I haven’t given a Callaway driver a real hard look to actually put in the bag since Epic. The sound got louder wit Rogue and Epic Flash. The Mavrik SZ  however is a fantastic driver and will def get some more testing out of me.

Cobra SpeedZone

Setup tested: Cobra Speed Zone 9 @8.5 w/ Fujikura Ventus Black 7X

LOOKS: The F9 was a winner on all fronts. The only critique I had was optically it looked like the driver was a little too fade biased. The SZ with its milled in top line gives it softer look at address and for me, softer lines mean more workability, just what my eyes tell me.

FEEL: As with F9 and the earlier mentioned SIM, the Speed Zone sounds EXACTLY how a driver should sound. It has a very heavy hit audibly and that’s across the face. I love the sound of this driver.

VS F9: Apples to apples, it’s the same. Beyond the optics, it feels, sounds, and performs like the F9. Not a bad thing though, the F9 was the driver of 2019 in my opinion.

OVERALL: Nothing wrong with repeating an already awesome driver. SpeedZone will stand up to anything out there. If I’m being fair, I think F9 elevated things in 2019, and this year the competition caught up to it. Changes nothing about how good this driver is.

Cobra Speed Zone Xtreme

Setup tested: Cobra Speed Zone Xtreme 9 @8.5 w/ Fujikura Ventus Black 7X

LOOKS: Like the other drivers in this higher MOI category, it looks a little longer heel to toe.

FEEL: No different than the SpeedZone, sounds great, the impact is solid across the face, and even thin shots feel solid.

OVERALL: The Xtreme is the sleeper hit of 2020 and I’ve heard the fitters love this thing. It’s by far the easiest to hit and overall good time of any driver on this list. Is it longer? No. But is it Xtremely (no pun) playable and competitive? Hard yes. It’s a blast.

PXG Proto

Setup tested: PXG Proto 9 w/ Graphite Design Tour AD IZ 6 TX

LOOKS: Slick. Like all PXG gear, the look is there. The matte crown and elegant lines make it very pleasing optically. I also appreciate that although it’s designed to look high tech. The lines inspire playability, and who doesn’t love a driver that looks like a stealth bomber?

FEEL: I only hit about 20 balls with the PXG Proto in the short time I had with it, but, wow, did this thing surprise me. The sound oddly enough is a bit higher-pitched than the others on the list but for whatever reason, it’s not a distraction. It actually adds to the experience of the hit. I typically detest that, but this sound matched up with the solid hit I was getting. I’m not sure if this is the final version since its a limited tour proto but what is happening is definitely interesting.

VS GEN2: It’s just better. Feels better, sounds great, more playable across the face. The Gen2 did one thing better than everyone else, it destroyed spin. The problem I had was control. The PXG Proto is still low spin but with the new 4 weight system (no intel on the tech yet) seems to add quality launch to the low spin profile and puts the player in a situation where very few to any sacrifices are made.

OVERALL: I was a fan of Gen2. No doubt. But it never flat out beat M5, F9, or SIM. The Proto has elevated PXG’s driver game. I don’t think its a matter of whether or not the driver stands up with the irons, I believe PXG is on the right track to having a driver that eliminates any “yeah, but…” to the conversation. That’s a huge leap since Gen1. These guys are trending hard.

I hope this was helpful.

Your Reaction?
  • 56
  • LEGIT12
  • WOW8
  • LOL1
  • IDHT1
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK4

Continue Reading

Equipment

What GolfWRXers are saying about the final version of Bryson DeChambeau’s LA Golf ‘Texas Rebar’ wedge shafts

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing the final version of Bryson DeChambeau’s LA Golf ‘Texas Rebar’ wedge shafts. The look of the ultra-stiff shafts, which originated from Bryson wanting a “graphite shaft that was stiffer than the Dynamic Gold X7″, has impressed our members who have been praising the final version and sharing their thoughts on the concept.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • QuigleyDU: “Awesome.”
  • My2dogs: “Really coming out with some great new stuff.”
  • HateTheHighDraw: “MMT 125TX are absolute fire, but these must be much stiffer.”
  • Robkingasu: “Sweet!”

Entire Thread: “Bryson DeChambeau’s LA Golf ‘Texas Rebar’ wedge shafts”

Your Reaction?
  • 2
  • LEGIT0
  • WOW0
  • LOL2
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP0
  • OB1
  • SHANK0

Continue Reading

Equipment

Should I move to heavier iron shafts? – GolfWRXers have their say

Published

on

In our forums, our members have been discussing the strategy of moving to heavier shafts in irons. WRXer ‘Z1ggy16’ has been making swing changes lately, and the transition has been most challenging for his iron play. ‘Ziggy16’ says:

“Been making some swing changes lately, most notably working to really shallow my club into the downswing. I’m finding that I’m doing this well with my heavy wedge shafts and driver, but I’m struggling a bit in my irons. My strike pattern with my wedges is pretty good, but the irons are a bit all over. Driver is 80g raw, wedges are 132g raw, irons 120g raw. I don’t think I want to go any stiffer, but is there a chance I’ve “outgrown” this weight and need to move to something a bit heavier to help keep these feels going through my set? No idea what swing speed is at this point, but my 7i is normally a smooth/comfortable 175-180 for me.

I really like the feel of my Accra Tour Z Xtreme 475 and my S400’s in the GW-LW. I’m kind of leaning maybe soft stepping modus 120TX or X100’s.. Heck maybe even S200 straight in? Normally I’d just get a fitting, but with Rona still going around, I’m not than keen on it. 2020 is the year of the self fit for me. FWIW, I used modus 120TX 2xSS in my GW & SW last year and that was pretty good feeling. Perhaps a touch too soft… they seemed to really whip/bend hard when hitting from the rough on full swings.”

Our members discuss whether they feel a switch to heavier shafts in the irons will have the desired impact.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • Pepperturbo: “You’re not alone. Regardless of age, some of us swing better with heavier shafts. I went from 70g driver and 85g 3wd graphite shafts to 58g Ventus shaft in driver and 70g Ventus shaft in 4wd. In irons went from 130g X to 120g 6.0 PX steel shafts which lasted about fifteen years. Then last year made another downward weight change to Steelfiber (steel & graphite) 110g Stiff shafts, lightest I have ever played. Keep in mind as you transition, changing shaft weight is not the only answer. Increasing swing weight can make up for shaft weight. Though I really like them in 6-3i, not thrilled in SW-7i, so just ordered heavier Steelfiber i125g shafts for my PW-7i blades.”
  • Jeff58: “As someone who has gone through and continues to work on what sounds like a similar situation, your ideal iron shafts will likely change. Where they change to isn’t possible to predict with any degree of accuracy. Don’t change your current irons without knowing. It’s frustrating, expensive, and you won’t have any clubs while they’re being changed out. Instead, get a single club from dealsandsteals or similar and experiment with that. Also, the only relevant experience is outdoors under your actual turf conditions. Indoor and mat use can be grossly different.”
  • Red4282: “Just depends on your tempo and load and preferences tbh. My numbers are about identical to yours; I play 77g in the driver and 125 in the irons. I don’t think I could go lighter than 125.”
  • gvogel: “I have a set of hickory clubs. Of course, hickory shafts are darn heavy, maybe 150 grams or so. I probably hit straighter shots with the irons, and particularly hit better shots with the niblick (wedge). Driver and fairway woods, not so much. That might be a stupid insertion into an intelligent thread, but heavier goes straighter, lighter goes longer. You can go heavier, and it helps in transition, but don’t go too stiff.”

Entire Thread: “Should I switch to heavier iron shafts?”

Your Reaction?
  • 10
  • LEGIT1
  • WOW0
  • LOL1
  • IDHT0
  • FLOP1
  • OB0
  • SHANK3

Continue Reading

WITB

Facebook

Trending